Decisions

CAT File No. O-1420-02
MoT File No. 6504-P-163189-028414

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Robert Glenn MacDonald, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, s. 6.9
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c.2, s. 536(5)

Landing on Water


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: July 3, 1997

I find that Robert Glenn Macdonald did not contravene subsection 536(5) of the Air Regulations on June 21, 1996. I therefore dismiss the allegations of the Minister and cancel the seven-day suspension imposed by the Minister.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held June 27, 1997 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in Toronto, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

Robert Glenn Macdonald was issued a Notice of Suspension as follows:

Pursuant to section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to suspend the above indicated Canadian aviation document on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Air Regulations, s. 536(5), in that on or about June 21, 1996, at or near Bradford Ontario, you as pilot-in-command of a Cesnna [sic] 180, registered as C-GEDL, landed on the Holland river when the landing path was not clear of all vessels.

On June 21, 1996, Robert Glenn Macdonald was the Captain of a Cessna 180 aircraft, registered C-GEDL. He landed on the Holland River near Bradford, Ontario at approximately 15:00 hours local time. Mr. Macdonald possessed current Transport Canada pilot qualifications and a valid medical certificate, which authorised him to operate that aircraft. These facts were agreed upon by the Minister and the Applicant prior to the Review Hearing.

The Minister's first two witnesses, Donald Cowie and Arthur Roberts, were in Mr. Cowie's boat on the same stretch of the Holland River at that time. They became alarmed that the aircraft would collide with another boat which was entering the river from Albert's Marina, some considerable distance up river. Mr. Cowie also expressed concern at the proximity of the aircraft to his vessel, and filed a report with Transport Canada. An investigation ensued, resulting in this Review Hearing.

THE LAW

Subsection 536(5) of the Air Regulations states:

(5) The pilot-in-command of an aircraft landing on or taking off from the water shall ensure that the landing or take-off path is clear of all vessels and aircraft.

THE EVIDENCE

All witnesses were excluded from the hearing at the outset until after they had given their testimony, except the Applicant, Mr. Macdonald.

The Minister's witnesses, Messrs. Cowie and Roberts, had widely differing estimates of the distance at which the aircraft passed their vessel: on the one hand, Mr. Cowie estimated that the aircraft touched down 80 to 100 feet behind his boat, and that its left wing tip passed two to six feet off the starboard side. On the other hand Mr. Roberts estimated that the aircraft touched down 70 to 100 yards behind their boat, and that its port wing tip passed 15 to 20 yards off their starboard side.

Mr. Cowie did not see the aircraft overfly the area before landing, but Mr. Roberts did. Although Mr. Roberts testified that the nearest point of approach of the port wing tip of the aircraft to their boat was 15 to 20 yards (45 to 60 feet) on a parallel track, he still expressed concern that the aircraft "damned near hit us."

Exhibits D-2 and D-3 highlight statements given to Transport Canada Inspector Jim Corbett by Messrs. Cowie and Roberts. These statements highlight their concern at the imminent danger of collision between the aircraft and the other boat which was sailing out of the Albert Marina. They estimated that it took some seven to ten minutes sailing time at 10 km/h, to reach the scene of the alleged near miss. Ten minutes at a speed of 10 km/h is 1.66 km, which is one mile. I cannot accept their (Cowie/Roberts) estimates of distance as being in any way accurate. Because their estimates vary so widely when the aircraft was nearest to them, their statements of imminent collision between the aircraft and "the Marina Boat" at a range of one half to one mile away, are likely to be even more inaccurate. Further, only one of the statements expresses any concern about the proximity of the aircraft to their vessel. This statement was that of Mr. Cowie, whose estimate of two to six feet is difficult to accept, when his colleague spoke of fifteen to twenty yards – 45 to 60 feet.

It is significant that the occupants of the other boat were not concerned about the incident, such that they could not be located by Transport Canada subsequently, and they did not see fit to file a report.

It may also be significant that Counsel for the Applicant advised the Hearing that Transport Canada only advised the Applicant, Mr. Macdonald, about the witnesses' intention to testify as to the proximity of the aircraft to Mr. Cowie's boat, on the Tuesday before this hearing. Mr. Clark drew this to my attention on two occasions.

The Applicant's witnesses and the Applicant himself gave consistent testimony that the aircraft overflew the alighting area and carried out a missed approach on the Holland River before finally touching down. This was substantiated by Mr. Roberts' testimony.

Although they saw the other boat coming out of the Marina unexpectedly, Mr. Macdonald had allowed enough of a margin within the performance limits of the aircraft to come to a safe stop such that the aircraft was safely clear of this unexpected boat.

They were all of the opinion that there was no compromise to safety and expressed surprise that an issue had been made of what they believed was a safe operation.

David Cobb stated that this was his first flight in a floatplane, and he was not concerned that his safety as a passenger had been compromised by Mr. Macdonald's actions on that day. He did not see the aircraft come threateningly close to any boat.

Paul David Cobb is an experienced helicopter pilot and is the Assistant Chief of Police in Pasadena Texas. He substantiated the Applicant's evidence that the aircraft never came near to any other boat on its landing run, let alone two to six feet away. There were boats in the channel, but none of them was in any way close to the landing path of the aircraft. He saw the boat coming out of the Marina when they were about 50 feet off the water. As the aircraft slowed down on its landing run, Mr. Macdonald applied right rudder to yaw the aircraft on the water to slow it up. By the time the aircraft approached the boat which had come out of the Marina, it was fully settled into the water at a slow taxi speed. He estimated that, at their closest point of approach, the aircraft and the "Marina Boat" were about 40 feet apart.

CONCLUSION

After careful consideration of all the testimony and having considerable water experience in seaplanes myself, I believe that Mr. Macdonald is a responsible pilot, and that his actions on that day were consistent with a high standard of airmanship: He overflew the alighting area first before attempting to land. He overshot the area on his first approach because of the presence of river traffic which would have endangered his aircraft.

I am satisfied that, on a balance of probabilities, Mr. Macdonald did not compromise the safety of his aircraft or of any vessel on the Holland River on June 21, 1996. I am satisfied that he did not violate subsection 536(5) of the Air Regulations.

The Minister's witnesses, perhaps well meaning in making a report, gave me the impression of a certain paranoia with Mr. Macdonald's aircraft, such that their judgement of distances, and what constitutes the safe operation of a floatplane were inaccurate. In the statements given to Transport Canada they seemed far more concerned about the safety of the boat which shot out of the Marina apparently into the path of the aircraft, than they were about any threat to their own vessel. I believe that they were not in a position to accurately assess the potential threat to safety, since they were too far away – by their own statements seven to ten minutes away from the Marina entrance at 10 km/h.

The question of a speed limit on the Holland River of 10 km/h cannot apply to an aircraft which is taking off or landing, since aircraft do not fly at those low speeds. Any reference to speed limits on the river is therefore irrelevant to the aircraft in this case.

DETERMINATION

At the conclusion of this Review Hearing, I have determined that Robert Glenn Macdonald did not contravene subsection 536(5) of the Air Regulations on June 21, 1996. I therefore dismiss the allegations of the Minister and cancel the seven-day suspension imposed by the Minister.

Philip D. Jardim
Member 
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-1420-02 (TAC)
Dossier no 6504-P-163189-028414 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Robert Glenn MacDonald, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., c. A-2, art. 6.9
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. de 1978, chap. 2, art. 536(5)

Amerrissage


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 3 juillet 1997

TRADUCTION

Je statue que Robert Glenn Macdonald n'a pas contrevenu au paragraphe 536(5) du Règlement de l'Air le 21 juin 1996. Par conséquent, je rejette les faits reprochés par le ministre ainsi que la suspension de sept jours imposée par le ministre.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le 27 juin 1997 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Toronto (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

On a délivré à Robert Glenn Macdonald un Avis de suspension qui se lisait comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de suspendre votre document d'aviation canadien mentionné ci-dessus parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Le paragraphe 536(5) du Règlement de l'Air, du fait que le 21 juin 1996 ou vers cette date, à Bradford (Ontario) ou près de cet endroit, en votre qualité de pilote commandant de bord d'un Cessna 180, immatriculé C-GEDL, vous avez amerri sur la rivière Holland alors que la route n'était pas libre de tout navire.

Le 21 juin 1996, Robert Glenn Macdonald était le commandant de bord d'un aéronef Cessna 180, immatriculé C-GEDL. Il a amerri sur la rivière Holland près de Bradford (Ontario) vers 15 h, heure locale. M. Macdonald possédait une qualification pilote à jour de Transports Canada et détenait un certificat médical en cours de validité, ce qui l'autorisait à piloter cet aéronef. Le ministre et le requérant ont fait un exposé conjoint des faits avant l'audience en révision.

Les deux premiers témoins du ministre, Donald Cowie et Arthur Roberts, étaient dans l'embarcation de M. Cowie sur le même tronçon de la rivière Holland à ce moment-là. Ils ont craint que l'aéronef n'entre en collision avec une autre embarcation qui empruntait la rivière depuis la marina Albert, à une distance assez considérable en amont sur la rivière. M. Cowie s'est également dit inquiet de la proximité de l'aéronef de son embarcation et a déposé un rapport auprès de Transports Canada. Une enquête a suivi et donné lieu à la présente audience en révision.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 536(5) du Règlement de l'Air dispose ce qui suit :

(5) Le pilote commandant de bord d'un aéronef qui amerrit, ou qui décolle de la surface de l'eau, s'assurera que sa route est libre de tout navire ou aéronef.

LA PREUVE

Tous les témoins ont été exclus de l'audience dès le début jusqu'à ce qu'ils aient donné leur témoignage, sauf le requérant, M. Macdonald.

Les témoins du ministre, MM. Cowie et Roberts, ont donné des estimations très différentes de la distance entre l'aéronef et leur embarcation; d'une part, M. Cowie a estimé que l'aéronef avait touché la surface de l'eau de 80 à 100 pieds derrière son embarcation et que l'extrémité de son aile gauche était passée de deux à six pieds de son côté tribord. D'autre part, M. Roberts a estimé que l'aéronef avait touché la surface de l'eau de 70 à 100 verges derrière l'embarcation dans laquelle il prenait place et que l'extrémité de l'aile de bâbord était passée de 15 à 20 verges de leur côté tribord.

M. Cowie n'a pas vu l'aéronef survoler la région avant d'amerrir, mais M. Roberts l'a vu. Bien que M. Roberts ait dit dans son témoignage que le point d'approche le plus près de l'extrémité de l'aile bâbord de l'aéronef de leur embarcation était de 15 à 20 verges (45 à 60 pieds) sur une trajectoire parallèle, il s'est quand même dit inquiet du fait que l'aéronef « nous a pratiquement frappés ».

Les pièces D-2 et D-3 mettent en évidence les déclarations faites à l'inspecteur Jim Corbett de Transports Canada par MM. Cowie et Roberts. Ces déclarations soulignent leur inquiétude face au danger imminent de collision entre l'aéronef et l'autre embarcation qui quittait la marina Albert. Ils ont évalué qu'il a fallu de sept à dix minutes de navigation à 10 km/h pour atteindre les lieux du présumé quasi-abordage. Dix minutes à une vitesse de 10 km/h correspond à 1,66 km, soit un mille. Je ne peux pas accepter leurs (Cowie/Roberts) évaluations de distance comme comportant un quelconque degré d'exactitude. Du fait que leurs évaluations varient considérablement quant à la distance qui les séparait de l'aéronef, leurs déclarations d'une collision imminente entre l'aéronef et l'« embarcation de la marina » à une distance d'un demi-mille à un mille sont probablement encore plus inexactes. En outre, une seule déclaration fait état d'une inquiétude quant à la proximité de l'aéronef de leur embarcation. Il s'agit de la déclaration de M. Cowie dont l'estimation de deux à six pieds est difficile à accepter alors que son collègue parle de 15 à 20 verges – 45 à 60 pieds.

Il est révélateur que les occupants de l'autre embarcation n'ont pas été inquiétés par l'incident, à tel point que Transports Canada n'a pu les localiser par la suite et qu'ils n'ont pas jugé bon de déposer un rapport.

Il peut également être révélateur que l'avocat du requérant a informé le Tribunal lors de l'audience que Transports Canada n'a avisé le requérant, M. Macdonald, quant à l'intention des témoins de témoigner relativement à la proximité de l'aéronef de l'embarcation de M. Cowie que le mardi avant la tenue de la présente audience. M. Clark a attiré mon attention sur ce point à deux reprises.

Les témoins du requérant et le requérant lui-même ont donné des témoignages compatibles selon lesquels l'aéronef a survolé l'aire d'amerrissage et interrompu une approche avant de finalement se poser sur la rivière Holland. Ce témoignage a été corroboré par M. Robert.

Bien qu'ils aient vu l'autre embarcation quitter la marina inopinément, M. Macdonald s'était donné une marge de manoeuvre suffisante correspondant aux limites de performance de l'aéronef pour immobiliser ce dernier en toute sécurité de façon à ce qu'il soit tout à fait à l'écart de cette embarcation inattendue.

Ils étaient tous d'avis qu'aucun compromis n'avait été fait quant à la sécurité et se sont dits surpris que l'on ait remis en question ce qu'ils estimaient être une manoeuvre sûre.

David Cobb a déclaré qu'il s'agissait de son premier vol à bord d'un hydravion et il n'a eu aucune inquiétude concernant sa sécurité en tant que passager en raison des actions de M. Macdonald ce jour-là. Il n'a pas estimé que l'aéronef se soit approché dangereusement d'une embarcation.

Paul David Cobb est un pilote expérimenté d'hélicoptère et le chef de police adjoint à Pasadena au Texas. Il a corroboré les preuves du requérant, à savoir que l'aéronef ne s'est jamais approché d'une embarcation lors de sa course à l'amerrissage, et encore moins qu'il se soit trouvé de deux à six pieds de distance. Il y avait des embarcations dans le chenal, mais aucune n'était à proximité de la route d'amerrissage de l'aéronef. Il a vu l'embarcation quitter la marina alors qu'ils étaient à quelque 50 pieds de l'eau. Comme l'aéronef ralentissait pendant sa course à l'amerrissage, M. Macdonald a donné du pied à droite afin d'agir sur l'axe de lacet de l'aéronef sur l'eau et de le ralentir davantage. Lorsque l'aéronef s'est trouvé à proximité de l'embarcation qui avait quitté la marina, il portait complètement sur l'eau et se déplaçait à une vitesse de roulage lente. Il a évalué que la distance la plus rapprochée à laquelle l'aéronef est venu de l'« embarcation de la marina » était d'environ 40 pieds.

CONCLUSION

Après un examen minutieux de tous les témoignages et possédant moi-même une considérable expérience de l'exploitation d'hydravions, j'estime que M. Macdonald est un pilote responsable et que ses actions le jour en question étaient compatibles avec une norme élevée de compétence aéronautique : il a survolé l'aire d'amerrissage d'abord avant d'essayer d'amerrir. Il a remis les gaz lors de sa première approche en raison de la présence d'embarcations sur la rivière qui auraient pu mettre en danger son aéronef.

Je suis convaincu que selon une prépondérance des probabilités, M. Macdonald n'a pas porté atteinte à la sécurité de son aéronef ou de toute embarcation sur la rivière Holland le 21 juin 1996. Je suis convaincu qu'il n'a pas contrevenu au paragraphe 536(5) du Règlement de l'Air.

Les témoins du ministre, probablement sans malice de leur part lorsqu'ils ont déposé un rapport, m'ont donné l'impression d'une certaine paranoïa quant à l'aéronef de M. Macdonald, à tel point que leur évaluation des distances et de ce qui constitue l'exploitation sécuritaire d'un hydravion étaient inexacts. Dans les déclarations faites à Transports Canada, ils semblaient beaucoup plus inquiets quant à la sécurité de l'embarcation qui est sortie précipitamment de la marina apparemment dans la trajectoire de l'aéronef qu'ils ne l'étaient de quelque menace à l'endroit de leur propre embarcation. Je crois qu'ils n'étaient pas en mesure d'évaluer correctement la menace éventuelle à la sécurité étant donné qu'ils étaient trop loin – en vertu de leurs propres déclarations de sept à dix minutes de l'entrée de la marina à 10 km/h.

La question de la limite de vitesse sur la rivière Holland, soit 10 km/h, ne peut s'appliquer à un aéronef qui décolle ou qui amerrit puisque les aéronefs ne volent pas à des vitesses aussi basses. Toute référence à des limites de vitesse sur la rivière par conséquent ne s'applique pas à l'aéronef dans la présente affaire.

DÉCISION

À la conclusion de la présente audience en révision, j'ai rendu la décision que Robert Glenn Macdonald n'a pas contrevenu au paragraphe 536(5) du Règlement de l'Air le 21 juin 1996. Par conséquent, je rejette les faits reprochés par le ministre et j'annule la suspension de sept jours imposée par le ministre.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile