Decisions

CAT File No. O-1716-33
MoT File No. PAP 6504-Z-000004-031593

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Jason Stinson, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 202.13(2), 401.03(1)(a), 602.01, 602.29(1)(e)

Unregistered Aircraft, Ultra-Light Parachute, Ultra-Light, Passenger, Negligent or Reckless Operation of an Aircraft, Flying Without a Permit


Review Determination
Samuel J. Birenbaum


Decision: April 15, 1999

Offence #1, I confirm the Minister's allegation that Mr. Stinson did act as pilot-in-command of an ultra-light powered parachute aircraft without being the holder of a pilot permit—ultra-light aeroplane. I confirm the Minister's assessed penalty of $1,000.00.

Offence #2, I confirm that Mr. Stinson operated an ultra-light powered parachute aircraft that was not registered in Canada, in a contracting state or in a foreign state that has an agreement in force with Canada. I confirm the Minister's assessed penalty of $1,000.00.

Offence #3, I confirm the Minister's allegation that Mr. Stinson, as pilot-in-command, operated an ultra-light aeroplane, while carrying another person on board. I confirm the Minister's assessed penalty of $250.00.

Offence #4, I confirm the Minister's finding that Mr. Stinson operated an aircraft in such a reckless manner as to endanger the life or property of persons. I confirm the Minister's assessed penalty of $1,000.00. The total amount of $3250.00, made payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Friday, March 19, 1999, commencing at 10:45 hours, in the community room of the fire hall, in Mount Forest, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

On July 8, 1998 at about 20:37 an ultra-light powered parachute aircraft carrying a pilot and passenger was observed to crash in a field in Egremont Township after striking a row of trees and wires. As a result of the investigation of this accident by the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP), and by Transport Canada, four allegations were made against the pilot identified as Jason Stinson.

Mr. Stinson was advised of the allegations and was offered an opportunity to meet with officials of Transport Canada but failed to do so. He did respond by letter but failed to appear at his review hearing on March 19, 1999.

A certificate of service was provided to the Tribunal indicating that Jason Stinson had been served with a notice of the review hearing in the provincial courtroom #2 in Guelph, Ontario on February 25, 1999 at 10:13 by police Constable Dennis Olfert, badge #66. After waiting 15 minutes and making three unanswered requests to determine if Mr. Stinson or his representative or witnesses were in the room, it was decided to proceed with the review hearing which accordingly commenced at 10:45.

EVIDENCE

Case Presenting Officer, Mr. David Bland, in his opening remarks reviewed the four allegations and stated that several attempts were made to meet with Mr. Jason Stinson, but other than a letter, no meeting could be arranged. Mr. Bland introduced into evidence Exhibit M-l, a registered letter to Mr. Stinson outlining the possible violations alleged against him and offering him an opportunity to respond or to present evidence or other mitigating factors.

Exhibit M-2 indicated in detail the four separate offences and was sent by registered mail to Mr. Jason Stinson. This exhibit further indicated the monetary penalty assessed which amounted to a total of $3,250.00. Again, Mr. Stinson was offered an opportunity to discuss the sanction but did not do so.

Exhibit M-3 was next introduced which consisted of a letter of reply from Jason Stinson to Mr. Ross Beck of Transport Canada outlining his defence. He stated that he became interested in powered parachute aircraft and purchased and flew one without benefit of a licence to fly, nor registration of the aircraft. When he discovered that he needed to obtain a pilot licence and registration certificate, he was delayed in doing so by various financial and business concerns, but planned to do so at some future time. He stated that he flew the aircraft that day in a careful manner, and that the accident was caused by an unexpected gust of wind and an inability to climb high enough to clear the height of obstacles in his path. He further stated that the preceding two years had been difficult for him since he had had a marital breakdown and had also suffered a nervous breakdown. He denied flying in a reckless manner.

He introduced Exhibit M-4, a certificate from the acting secretary, Department of Transport, asserting that on or about July 8, 1998, there was no record of a licence or permit under the Aeronautics Act being issued to Mr. Jason Stinson. Exhibit M-5 stated that on or about July 8, 1998 there was no record of a certificate of registration issued with respect to a powered parachute ultra-light, serial #96-14132. Mr. Bland introduced Exhibit M-6, a general occurrence report prepared by Constable Wheeler, arising from the incident on July 8, 1998.

The first witness, Constable David Lloyd Wheeler of the OPP, Mount Forest detachment, was sworn. He stated that on Wednesday, July 8, 1998, at approximately 22:15, he arrived at the site of a crash of an ultra-light aircraft piloted by Mr. Jason Stinson and carrying a passenger identified as Darryl Evans of Elmwood, Ontario. He was told by another OPP member on site before him that the two people involved were taken to hospital in Mount Forest for treatment and neither of them wore helmets, and it was felt that the aircraft was too heavy to take off safely. Statements were taken from two other witnesses and the remains of the aircraft were taken into custody. It was noted to be an ultra-light aircraft manufactured on February 27, 1996, serial #96-14132 and was powered by a Rotax C engine. It had four wheels, and a propeller on the rear with an attached parachute. The entire structure was badly damaged. No registration markings were observed on the aircraft. The time of the accident was fixed at about 20:48 local. It was further observed that the wires were knocked down at the site of the accident, and in a subsequent interview with Mr. Stinson, the pilot confirmed that he had no pilot licence. The officers questioned the medical attendants who stated there was no obvious evidence of alcohol or cannabis impairment noted by them.

Steven Michael McLaughlin was duly sworn. On July 8, 1998, he was playing basketball at his home adjacent to the area where the aircraft took off. He observed the aircraft lifting off and the two persons aboard. He saw it hit the telephone wires, spin around, and fall nose-first into the ground, after striking the tips of some treetops. He immediately went to assist the people in the aircraft and observed that the passenger sitting behind the pilot was injured, he believed, from the wire hitting his forehead, pushing his head backwards, causing bleeding in the area of the head. He observed the pilot speaking irrationally, repeating himself, without making any sense. He felt that he may have been electrocuted from striking the wires. He stated that the time of the accident was about 20:45 and that there was still adequate lighting. He stated that he observed this aircraft operated by Mr. Stinson on several occasions, taking off from this same field.

The last witness was Adam Earl Brewster who was sworn. He stated that on July 8, 1998 he had taken a ride with Mr. Stinson in the same aircraft and later observed the flight that resulted in the accident. He stated that the passenger was about 25 lb heavier than he, and the aircraft took a longer than usual take-off run. Shortly after liftoff, it seemed to veer to the left as if caught by wind. It then skimmed over treetops and then crashed into some wires, after which it went nose-first into the ground. He observed this from his four wheel drive vehicle in which he was following the aircraft. He stated that he did observe the pilot check the lines of the aircraft before take-off. He immediately went to the site of the crash and observed the passenger hanging upside-down from his belt. He assisted in the removal of the passenger and neither the passenger nor the pilot were wearing helmets.

THE LAW

Subsection 202.13(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs):

202.13

(...)

(2) Except as otherwise authorised pursuant to subsection 202.14(1), 202.42(3) or 202.43(1), no person shall operate an aircraft in Canada unless it is registered in Canada, in a contracting state or in a foreign state that has an agreement in force with Canada that allows an aircraft that is registered in that foreign state to be operated in Canada.

Paragraph 401.03(1)(a) of the CARs:

401.03 (1) No person shall act as a flight crew member or exercise the privileges of a flight crew permit, licence or rating unless

(a) subject to subsection (2) and sections 401.19 to 401.27, the person is the holder of, and can produce while so acting and while exercising such privileges, the appropriate permit, licence or rating; and

(...)

Section 602.01 of the CARs:

602.01 No person shall operate an aircraft in such a reckless or negligent manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person.

Paragraph 602.29(1)(e) of the CARs:

602.29 (1) No person shall operate a hang glider or an ultra-light aeroplane

(...)

(e) subject to subsections (4) and (5), while carrying another person on board; or

(...)

(4) A person may operate a hang glider or an ultra-light aeroplane with another person on board where the flight is conducted for the purpose of providing dual flight instruction.

(5) A person may operate an advanced ultra-light aeroplane with another person on board where the pilot holds a permit or licence issued pursuant to Subpart 1 of Part IV that is appropriate to the functions or privileges being exercised.

CLOSING ARGUMENT

Mr. Bland asserted that on a balance of probabilities, the four allegations have been proven from the testimony of eye witnesses and the exhibits submitted. Mr. Bland added that the penalties assessed were in accordance with those recommended and represented fair and just sanctions under the circumstances.

DISCUSSION

It is quite clear that on July 8, 1998, Mr. Stinson operated an ultra-light powered parachute aircraft while not possessing an aviation document giving him the right to do so. The aircraft contained no registration marks and no certificate of registration was issued by a Canadian authority. A passenger was observed in the back seat of the aircraft while the carrying of a passenger is prohibited under paragraph 602.29(l)(e) of the CARs. The aircraft crashed after failing to clear obstacles in its path. There was no defence provided and no evidence that the pilot had the necessary training nor credentials to perform the flight. It would appear that only good fortune prevented a more serious disaster, and no evidence was provided that the pilot ever secured the safety of his passenger since no helmets were worn. Thus, the only possible conclusion is that Mr. Jason Stinson behaved in a reckless manner which, indeed, did endanger property and persons.

DETERMINATION

I find that all four offences have been proven and confirm the Minister's penalties for offences 1, 2 and 4; each penalty being in the amount of $1,000.00 and for offence 3 in the amount of $250.00 for a total amount of $3,250.00.

Mr. Jason Stinson failed to appear for his review hearing, and one can only speculate on the reasons why.

Dr. Samuel Birenbaum
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-1716-33 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP 6504-Z-000004-031593 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Jason Stinson, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique , L.C., ch. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien , DORS/96-433 , par. 202.13(2), al. 401.03(1)a), art. 602.01 et al. 602.29(1)e)

Voler sans permis, Voler d'une manière imprudente, Passager, Parachute, Avion ultra-léger, Aéronef non immatriculé


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Samuel J. Birenbaum


Décision : le 15 avril 1999

TRADUCTION

Infraction n° 1, je confirme l'allégation du ministre en ce que M.  Stinson a agit en qualité de commandant de bord d'un aéronef ultra-léger, soit un parachute entraîné par moteur, sans être titulaire d'un permis de pilote—avion ultra-léger. Je confirme l'amende de 1 000 $ imposée par le ministre.

Infraction n° 2, je confirme que M.  Stinson a utilisé un aéronef ultra-léger, soit un parachute entraîné par moteur, non immatriculé au Canada, dans un État contractant ou dans un État étranger qui a conclu un accord avec le Canada. Je confirme l'amende de 1 000 $ imposée par le ministre.

Infraction n° 3, je confirme l'allégation du ministre selon laquelle M. Stinson, à titre de commandant de bord, a utilisé un avion ultra-léger lorsqu'une autre personne était à bord. Je confirme l'amende de 250 $ imposée par le ministre.

Infraction n° 4, je confirme la conclusion du ministre selon laquelle M. Stinson a utilisé un aéronef d'une manière imprudente qui constitue un danger pour la vie ou les biens de personnes. Je confirme l'amende de 1 000 $ imposée par le ministre. Le montant total de 3 250 $ est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours de la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le vendredi 19 mars 1999 à 10 h 45 dans la salle communautaire de la caserne de pompiers à Mount Forest (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Le 8 juillet 1998 vers 20 h 37, on a vu un aéronef ultra-léger, soit un parachute entraîné par moteur, transportant un pilote et un passager s'écraser dans un champ du canton d'Egremont après avoir heurté une rangée d'arbres et des fils. À la suite de l'enquête sur cet accident menée par la Police provinciale d'Ontario et Transports Canada, quatre allégations ont été portées contre le pilote, Jason Stinson.

On a averti M. Stinson des faits reprochés et on lui a donné l'occasion de rencontrer les représentants de Transports Canada mais il ne l'a pas fait. Il a répondu par lettre mais il ne s'est pas présenté à son audience en révision le 19 mars 1999.

On a présenté au Tribunal un certificat de signification indiquant que l'agent de police Dennis Olfert, matricule n° 66, avait signifié à Jason Stinson un avis d'audience en révision dans la salle n° 2 de la cour provinciale de Guelph en Ontario, en date du 25 février 1999 à 10 h 13. Après avoir attendu pendant 15 minutes et fait trois demandes sans réponse afin de déterminer si M. Stinson, son mandataire ou ses témoins étaient dans la salle, on a décidé de procéder à l'audience en révision qui a, en conséquence, débuté à 10 h 45.

LA PREUVE

Au cours de ses observations préliminaires, l'agent chargé de présenter le cas, M. David Bland, a passé en revue les quatre faits reprochés et a déclaré qu'on avait fait plusieurs tentatives pour rencontrer M. Jason Stinson mais, sauf une lettre, aucune rencontre n'a pu être planifiée. M. Bland a présenté en preuve la pièce M-l, une lettre recommandée à M. Stinson qui énonce les présumées infractions et qui lui offre l'occasion de répondre ou de présenter une preuve ou d'autres facteurs atténuants.

La pièce M-2 exposait en détail les quatre infractions distinctes, qu'on avait fait parvenir par courrier recommandé à M. Jason Stinson. De plus, cette pièce indiquait l'amende imposée au montant total de 3 250 $. Là encore, on offrait à M. Stinson l'occasion de discuter l'amende mais il ne l'a pas fait.

On a ensuite présenté la pièce M-3, soit une lettre de réponse de Jason Stinson qui expose sa défense à M. Ross Beck de Transports Canada. Il a déclaré s'être intéressé aux parachutes entraînés par moteur, en avoir acheté un et l'avoir piloté sans détenir de licence de pilote ou d'immatriculation de l'aéronef. Lorsqu'il a découvert qu'il avait besoin d'obtenir une licence de pilote et un certificat d'immatriculation, différentes préoccupations financières et d'affaires l'ont retardé mais il prévoyait le faire éventuellement. Il a déclaré qu'il a piloté l'aéronef de façon diligente ce jour-là et qu'une rafale de vent inattendue ainsi que l'incapacité à monter assez haut pour être au-dessus des obstacles sur son chemin ont provoqué l'accident. Il a de plus déclaré qu'il avait eu des difficultés au cours des deux années antérieures étant donné qu'il a vécu l'échec de son mariage et qu'il avait souffert d'une dépression nerveuse. Il a nié avoir piloté d'une manière imprudente.

Il a présenté la pièce M-4, un certificat du secrétaire intérimaire du ministère des Transports, stipulant que le, ou vers le 8 juillet 1998, il n'y avait aucun dossier concernant une licence ou un permis délivrés à M. Jason Stinson en vertu de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. À la pièce M-5, on indique que le, ou vers le 8 juillet 1998, aucun certificat d'immatriculation n'avait été délivré pour un parachute ultra-léger entraîné par moteur dont le numéro de série est 96-14132. M. Bland a présenté la pièce M-6, un rapport d'événements général préparé par l'agent de police Wheeler à la suite de l'incident du 8 juillet 1998.

Le premier témoin, l'agent de police David Lloyd Wheeler de la Police provinciale d'Ontario, division de Mount Forest a été assermenté. Il a déclaré que le mercredi 8 juillet 1998, vers 22 h 15, il est arrivé sur les lieux d'un écrasement d'aéronef ultra-léger piloté par M. Jason Stinson et transportant un passager, soit Darryl Evans d'Elmwood (Ontario). Un autre membre de la Police provinciale d'Ontario arrivé sur les lieux avant lui lui a dit qu'on avait transporté les deux personnes concernées à l'hôpital de Mount Forest pour les soigner, qu'aucune d'entre elles ne portait de casques et qu'on croyait que l'aéronef était trop lourd pour décoller en toute sécurité. On a recueilli les déclarations de deux autres témoins et on a mis les débris de l'aéronef sous séquestre. On a signalé qu'il s'agissait d'un aéronef ultra-léger fabriqué le 27 février 1996 portant le numéro de série 96-14132 et propulsé par un moteur de type Rotax C. L'aéronef avait quatre roues, une hélice à l'arrière et un parachute y était fixé. La structure entière était sérieusement endommagée. On n'a relevé aucun signe d'immatriculation sur l'aéronef. On a déterminé que l'accident avait eu lieu vers 20 h 48, heure locale. On a de plus remarqué que les fils étaient démontés sur les lieux de l'accident et au cours d'un entretien ultérieur avec M. Stinson, le pilote a confirmé qu'il n'avait pas de licence de pilote. Les agents ont questionné les préposés médicaux qui ont déclaré qu'ils n'avaient constaté aucun signe évident de défaillance liée à l'alcool ou au cannabis.

Steven Michael McLaughlin a dûment été assermenté. Le 8 juillet 1998, il jouait au ballon panier à son domicile adjacent à l'aire de décollage de l'aéronef. Il a remarqué que l'aéronef s'envolait avec deux personnes à bord. Il l'a vu percuter les fils téléphoniques, faire demi-tour et piquer du nez vers le sol, après avoir heurté la cime de quelques arbres. Il s'est rendu immédiatement sur les lieux pour aider les gens dans l'aéronef et il a remarqué que le passager qui était assis derrière le pilote était blessé, a-t-il cru, par le fil qui avait heurté son front, rejeté sa tête à l'arrière, lui causant un saignement à la tête. Il a remarqué que le pilote parlait de façon irrationnelle, qu'il se répétait et que ses propos n'avait aucun sens. Il a pensé qu'il avait pu être électrocuté en percutant les fils. Il a déclaré que l'accident avait eu lieu vers 20 h 45 et qu'il faisait encore assez clair. Il a déclaré qu'il avait remarqué l'aéronef utilisé par M. Stinson à plusieurs occasions, décollant de ce même champ.

Le dernier témoin, Adam Earl Brewster, a été assermenté. Il a déclaré que le 8 juillet 1998, il avait fait un tour avec M. Stinson dans le même aéronef et que, par la suite, il avait observé le vol qui s'est terminé par un accident. Il a déclaré que le passager pesait environ 25 livres de plus que lui et que l'aéronef avait mis plus de temps qu'à l'habitude à décoller. Peu après, il a semblé virer vers la gauche comme s'il était happé par le vent. Il a alors rasé la cime des arbres puis s'est écrasé dans les fils pour ensuite piquer du nez vers le sol. Il a observé cela de son véhicule à quatre roues motrices dans lequel il suivait l'aéronef. Il a déclaré qu'il avait vu le pilote vérifier les lignes de l'aéronef avant le décollage. Il s'est rendu immédiatement sur les lieux de l'écrasement et a observé que le passager était suspendu par sa ceinture la tête en bas. Il a aidé à sortir le passager et ni ce dernier, ni le pilote ne portaient un casque.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 202.13(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) :

202.13

(...)

(2) Sauf dans les cas où une autorisation est délivrée en application des paragraphes 202.14(1), 202.42(3) ou 202.43(1), il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef au Canada à moins qu'il ne soit immatriculé au Canada, dans un État contractant ou dans un État étranger qui a conclu avec le Canada un accord permettant l'utilisation au Canada d'un aéronef immatriculé dans cet État.

L'alinéa 401.03(1)a) du RAC :

401.03 (1) Il est interdit à toute personne d'agir en qualité de membre d'équipage de conduite ou d'exercer les avantages d'un permis, d'une licence ou d'une qualification de membre d'équipage de conduite à moins qu'elle ne satisfasse aux conditions suivantes :

a) sous réserve du paragraphe (2) et des articles 401.19 à 401.27 la personne est titulaire d'un permis, d'une licence ou d'une qualification propres aux fonctions ou aux avantages qu'elle exerce et peut produire le permis, la licence ou la qualification dans l'exercice de ces fonctions ou avantages;

(...)

L'article 602.01 du RAC :

602.01 Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef d'une manière imprudente ou négligente qui constitue ou risque de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

L'alinéa 602.29(1)e) du RAC :

602.29 (1) Il est interdit d'utiliser une aile libre ou un avion ultra-léger :

(...)

e) sous réserve des paragraphes (4) et (5), lorsqu'une autre personne est à bord de l'aéronef;

(...)

(4) Il est permis d'utiliser une aile libre ou un avion ultra-léger avec une autre personne à bord lorsque le vol est effectué en vue de donner de l'instruction en double commande à cette personne.

(5) Il est permis d'utiliser un avion ultra-léger de type évolué avec une autre personne à bord lorsque le pilote est titulaire du permis ou de la licence propre aux fonctions ou aux avantages qu'il exerce et délivré en application de la sous-partie 1 de la partie IV.

PLAIDOIRIES

M. Bland a affirmé que, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, il a prouvé les quatre faits reprochés par les pièces soumises et les témoins oculaires. M. Bland a ajouté que les amendes imposées concordaient avec celles qui ont été recommandées et représentaient des sanctions justes et équitables dans les circonstances.

DISCUSSION

Il est très clair que le 8 juillet 1998, M. Stinson a utilisé un aéronef ultra-léger, soit un parachute entraîné par moteur alors qu'il n'avait pas en sa possession de document d'aviation qui lui permettait de le faire. L'aéronef n'avait aucune marque d'immatriculation et aucun certificat d'immatriculation n'avait été délivré par les autorités canadiennes. On a remarqué qu'il y avait un passager sur le siège arrière de l'aéronef alors que le transport d'un passager est interdit en vertu de l'alinéa 602.29(l)e) du RAC. L'aéronef s'est écrasé après avoir fait défaut d'éviter les obstacles sur son trajet. On n'a fournit aucune défense et aucune preuve que le pilote avait la formation ou les titres nécessaires pour effectuer le vol. Il semble que seule la chance ait empêché qu'un désastre plus grave ne survienne et on n'a présenté aucune preuve que le pilote n'ait assuré la sécurité de son passager étant donné que ni l'un ni l'autre ne portait de casque. Ainsi, la seule conclusion possible est que M. Jason Stinson s'est conduit d'une manière imprudente, ce qui a en effet constitué un danger pour les biens et les personnes.

DÉCISION

Je considère que le ministre a prouvé les quatre infractions et je confirme les amendes imposées par le ministre pour les infractions 1, 2 et 4, chacune d'entre elles au montant de 1 000 $ et pour l'infraction 3 au montant de 250 $, soit 3 250 $ au total.

M. Jason Stinson a fait défaut de se présenter lors de son audience en révision et on ne peut qu'émettre des hypothèses sur les raisons de son absence.

Dr Samuel Birenbaum
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile