Decisions

CAT File No. O-1812-49
MoT File No. PB5990037

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Lucas Dolbec, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)(b)


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: August 23, 1999

I confirm the Minister of Transport's decision to cancel Mr. Dolbec's security officer certificate.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, August 17, 1999 at the Standard Life Building in Ottawa, Ontario at 10:00 hours.

BACKGROUND

On April 28, 1999, Mr. Lucas Dolbec was employed by Aeroguard Inc. as a security officer at a domestic screening point at the Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Airport [hereinafter Ottawa Airport]. At approximately 13:20 hours he was operating an x-ray machine that screened passenger carry-on baggage. At that particular time Transport Canada conducted a routine infiltration test of the security measures by placing an improvised explosive device (IED) in a passenger's carry-on bag. Mr. Dolbec failed to detect the device on the x-ray monitor screen. That led to the cancellation of Mr. Dolbec's security officer certificate. Mr. Dolbec requested a review of the decision to cancel his certificate which brought the matter to the Civil Aviation Tribunal.

PRELIMINARY MATTERS

Disclosure

A teleconference call between the parties chaired by myself was held on Tuesday, August 10, 1999 to resolve a last item of disclosure. Mr. Dolbec had requested a variety of images taken from an x-ray monitor. These were not available.

The issue was resolved by the parties taking a view of the equipment at the Ottawa Airport screening point in question at the outset of the hearing on August 17, 1999.

Request for Amendment

By fax of July 7, 1999, Transport Canada requested to amend the original Notice of Cancellation. Mr. Dolbec objected.

The portion of the Notice to be amended read:

...while conducting the search of a passenger with the assistance of an x-ray machine, did fail to detect an Improvised Explosive Device. You thereby demonstrated that you cease to have the qualifications necessary to correctly respond when metal is detected by the x-ray machine by identifying all passenger belongings which could pose a threat to the security of civil aviation.

If amended it would read:

...while conducting the search of a passenger's carry-on baggage with the assistance of an x-ray machine, did fail to detect an Improvised Explosive Device. You thereby demonstrated that you cease to have the qualifications to correctly interpret and distinguish various images on the x-ray monitor, by identifying all passenger belongings which pose a threat to the security of civil aviation. (Emphasis added)

The request to amend was granted as it was requested in sufficient time for Mr. Dolbec to address it, and it did not prejudice his position.

EVIDENCE

Airport pre-board passenger screening is provided by the air carriers or companies contracted to them. People that are employed in pre-board screening undergo training to qualify them for the various duties such as physical searches, search of baggage, use of hand-held metal detectors and use of carry-on baggage x-ray machines.

The training is conducted by private companies to standards established by Transport Canada. When training and subsequent testing are satisfactorily accomplished, the person may receive a security officer certificate. That certificate is a Canadian aviation document (CAD) as defined in the Aeronautics Act [hereinafter Act].

Although pre-board security is provided by private companies, Transport Canada is empowered to oversee the provision of those services. As part of the oversight, Transport Canada occasionally conducts tests of the people and systems to ensure the standards are being met.

The occurrence giving rise to this hearing was one such test. Mr. G. Leduc, a Transport Canada security inspector from the Ottawa Airport enlisted the assistance of one of his colleagues, Miss C. Ross, to conduct what is known as an infiltration test. An IED was placed in her carry-on luggage. Ms. Ross, while returning to Toronto from Ottawa, went to the pre-board screening area and placed her baggage on the belt for the x-ray machine. Her bag passed through the x-ray machine without comment, and she would have been able to proceed on board an aircraft with the device undetected. Mr. Dolbec was the security officer monitoring the x-ray screen.

Mr. Leduc observed this process. When Ms. Ross would have been able to leave without having her bag checked, he intervened. He approached, took the bag, and proceeded to inform the supervisor of the failed test. The bag was once again x-rayed with Mr. Leduc, the supervisor and Mr. Dolbec present. This time Mr. Dolbec was able to point out the device. He returned his certificate to Mr. Leduc.

In Mr. Leduc's position as a security inspector he has been delegated the authority from the Minister of Transport to take appropriate action if an infiltration test is failed. Included in his powers are those in paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Act. He testified that he had occasion to suspend Mr. Dolbec's certificate on two prior occasions. At this point he cancelled the certificate.

Mr. Dolbec testified on his own behalf. His version of the events of the infiltration test did not vary significantly from that of Ms. Ross or Mr. Leduc.

On cross-examination of Mr. Leduc, Mr. Dolbec raised the issue of the frequency of the infiltration tests at the Ottawa Airport. He elicited that given the frequency of the tests, the number of security officers, and the variation of shifts, it was possible that only a small portion of officers would get tested in any year.

His cross-examination of other witnesses centred on the difference between the content of bags used for training purposes and bags used for infiltration tests. The former generally only held the device and some household items whereas the latter were personal bags of Transport Canada's inspectors or selected complying passengers into which certain forbidden items were placed among the variety of items that a "normal" traveller might have. This made the latter detection more difficult.

Ms. Doucet was the Operations Manager of Aeroguard. Among her other duties she had been a trainer for security personnel. Her evidence was that the purpose of the infiltration test was to ensure the competence of the people being tested. Regarding the comparison of training bags to bags used on infiltration tests, she stated that they were not the same, but were not meant to be the same as they served different purposes. There would be more items in a passenger's bag.

THE LAW

The Aeronautics Act:

4.3 (1) The Minister may authorize members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police or any other person to exercise or perform, subject to such restrictions or limitations as the Minister may specify, any of the powers, duties or functions of the Minister under this Part except, subject to subsection (3), any power conferred on the Minister by the Governor in Council to make regulations or orders.

(...)

4.7 (1) In this section,

"security officer" means such person as may be designated by the Minister to be a security officer for the purposes of this section.

7.1 (1) Where the Minister decides

(...)

(b) to suspend or cancel a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that the holder of the document is incompetent or the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to have the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to meet or comply with the conditions subject to which the document was issued, or

(...) 

the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the holder or to the owner or operator of the aircraft, airport or facility, as the case may be, at the latest known address of the holder, owner or operator, notify the holder, owner or operator of the Minister's decision.

THE ISSUE

Whether on April 28, 1999, Mr. Dolbec, while conducting a search of a passenger's carry-on baggage with the assistance of an x-ray machine failed to detect an IED, thereby demonstrating that he ceased to have the qualifications necessary to hold his CAD.

ARGUMENT

For the Respondent—Minister of Transport

Ms. Lockridge argued that Mr. Dolbec had not identified the IED and had not taken the required subsequent actions. He had allowed Ms. Ross to proceed without identifying all items in the bag that could pose a threat to aviation safety.

When the bag was put through a second time, the IED was identified. Mr. Dolbec had had two previous suspensions of his certificate. Therefore, his inability to maintain the standards required showed he ceased to be qualified.

For the Applicant—Mr. Dolbec

Mr. Dolbec did not contest the fact that he missed the IED He pointed out that test bags were not equal to bags used on infiltration, as the latter contained many more items which made detection of IEDs more difficult.

As well he took issue with the number of infiltration tests being conducted arguing that they were so insufficient that only about ¼ of the security officers would even get tested.

Mr. Dolbec stated that his argument was not designed to get his job back but to see that justice would be done. He wanted Transport Canada to acknowledge the deficiencies that he illustrated and rectify them to improve the system all around.

DISCUSSION

Mr. Dolbec very candidly stated that he had missed the IED during the infiltration test of April 28, 1999. The evidence of Mr. Leduc and Ms. Ross also established that point. The IED's image was detectable on the x-ray scanner on the re-run of Ms. Ross's bag.

Mr. Leduc testified of two previous suspensions of Mr. Dolbec's certificate.

Security Notice No. 6 (Exhibit M-4) outlines Transport Canada's minimum qualifications for certification and designation of security officers. It states that the "failure to maintain the minimum qualifications will result in suspension or cancellation of certification."

Regarding x-ray scanning it states in part that one must demonstrate the ability to correctly interpret and distinguish various images on the x-ray monitor by identifying all passenger belongings which pose a threat to the security of civil aviation.

As to infiltration tests it states that a failure to detect a dangerous item during an infiltration test may result in the suspension or cancellation of one or more endorsements on the security officer's certificate.

The evidence indicates that Mr. Dolbec's failure of the infiltration test falls below the standard required to hold his certificate. Mr. Leduc, a Transport Canada security inspector, had the appropriate authority to cancel the certificate and did so.

Mr. Dolbec's cross-examinations and arguments centre on the difference between test bags (i.e., those bags used to train security officers) and those that are used for infiltration tests. He elicited evidence from other security officers that infiltration bags were different from the test bags, as they contained many more articles.

However, the Operations Manager of his former employers stated that they were supposed to be different as their very function was different.

Mr. Dolbec also pointed out what he considered to be the paucity of testing for the security officers. Mr. Dolbec's arguments are interesting and may illustrate some weakness in the system, especially regarding the frequency of testing, but they do not address the issue of whether or not he ceased to have the qualifications necessary to hold the security officer certificate.

In the circumstance, I find that the Minister has proven that Mr. Dolbec did cease to have the qualifications necessary to hold a security officer certificate.

DETERMINATION

I confirm the Minister's decision to cancel Mr. Dolbec's security officer certificate.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-1812-49 (TAC)
Dossier no PB5990037 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Lucas Dolbec, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.1(1)(b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 23 août 1999

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre des Transports d'annuler le certificat d'agent de sûreté de M. Dolbec.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 17 août 1999, à 10 h à l'édifice Standard Life à Ottawa (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Le 28 avril 1999, M. Lucas Dolbec était au service d'Aeroguard Inc. comme agent de sûreté à un poste de contrôle intérieur de l'Aéroport international Macdonald-Cartier à Ottawa [ci-après Aéroport d'Ottawa]. Vers 13 h 20, il actionnait un appareil à rayons X pour le contrôle des bagages de cabine des passagers. À ce moment-là, Transports Canada a effectué un examen de détection courant des mesures de sûreté en plaçant un dispositif explosif de circonstance dans le bagage de cabine d'un passager. M. Dolbec a fait défaut de détecter le dispositif sur l'écran radiologique, ce qui a entraîné l'annulation de son certificat d'agent de sûreté. M. Dolbec a demandé une révision de la décision d'annuler son certificat, d'où l'introduction de l'affaire devant le Tribunal de l'aviation civile.

QUESTIONS PRÉLIMINAIRES

Divulgation

J'ai présidé une téléconférence entre les parties le mardi 10 août 1999 afin de résoudre un dernier élément de divulgation. M. Dolbec avait demandé une série d'images issues d'un écran radiologique. Elles n'étaient pas disponibles.

Les parties se sont entendues sur la question en planifiant un examen de l'équipement du poste de contrôle en question à l'Aéroport d'Ottawa au début de l'audience, le 17 août 1999.

Demande de modification

Par télécopie en date du 7 juillet 1999, Transports Canada a demandé de modifier l'Avis d'annulation original. M. Dolbec s'est objecté.

La portion de l'Avis sujette à la modification se lisait comme suit :

...en effectuant la fouille d'un passager à l'aide d'un appareil à rayons X, vous avez fait défaut de détecter un dispositif explosif de circonstance. Vous avez ainsi démontré que vous n'avez plus les qualifications nécessaires pour réagir correctement lorsque l'appareil à rayons X détecte du métal en repérant tous les effets des passagers susceptibles de représenter une menace pour la sûreté de l'aviation civile.

Modifié, l'Avis se lirait comme suit :

...en effectuant la fouille d'un bagage de cabine d'un passager à l'aide d'un appareil à rayons X, vous avez fait défaut de détecter un dispositif explosif de circonstance. Vous avez ainsi démontré que vous n'avez plus les qualifications pour interpréter et discerner correctement les différentes images sur l'écran radiologique, en repérant tous les effets des passagers susceptibles de représenter une menace pour la sûreté de l'aviation civile. (Nous mettons en italique)

La demande de modification a été accordée puisqu'elle était demandée dans un délai permettant à M. Dolbec d'y réagir sans qu'il subisse de préjudice.

LA PREUVE

Ce sont les transporteurs aériens ou des entreprises dont ils ont retenu les services qui assurent l'inspection avant l'embarquement. Les personnes préposées au contrôle avant l'embarquement suivent une formation les préparant aux différentes fonctions : fouilles physiques, fouilles de bagage, utilisation des détecteurs manuels et utilisation d'appareils à rayons X pour les bagages de cabine.

La formation est donnée par des entreprises privées selon des normes établies par Transports Canada. Quand la formation et le test qui suit sont accomplis de façon satisfaisante, la personne peut recevoir un certificat d'agent de sûreté. Ce certificat est un document d'aviation canadien aux termes de la Loi sur l'aéronautique [ci-après la Loi].

Même si ce sont des entreprises privées qui assurent la sûreté avant l'embarquement, Transports Canada est habilité à superviser la prestation de ces services. Les tests effectués à l'occasion par Transports Canada sur les personnes et les systèmes afin de vérifier le respect des normes sont partie intégrante de la supervision.

C'est ce type de test qui a donné lieu à cette audience. M. G. Leduc, un inspecteur de sûreté de Transports Canada de l'Aéroport d'Ottawa, s'est assuré le concours d'une de ses collègues, Mme C. Ross, pour effectuer ce qu'on appelle un examen de détection. On a placé un dispositif explosif de circonstance dans son bagage de cabine. Mme Ross, alors qu'elle s'embarquait pour son retour vers Toronto à Ottawa, est passée au contrôle de pré-embarquement et a placé son sac sur la courroie de l'appareil à rayons X. Son sac est passé par l'appareil à rayons X sans être intercepté et elle aurait pu monter à bord d'un aéronef sans que le dispositif ne soit détecté. M. Dolbec était l'agent de sûreté qui surveillait l'écran radiologique.

M. Leduc observait le processus. Au moment où Mme Ross s'apprêtait à partir sans que son bagage n'ait été vérifié, il est intervenu. Il s'est approché, a pris le sac et a commencé à informer le superviseur de l'échec du test. M. Leduc a de nouveau passé le sac dans l'appareil à rayons X, en présence du superviseur et de M. Dolbec. Cette fois, M. Dolbec pouvait repérer le dispositif. Il a remis son certificat à M. Leduc.

Le ministre des Transports a délégué à M. Leduc, à titre d'inspecteur de sûreté, l'autorité de prendre les mesures appropriées lors de l'échec d'un examen de détection. Ses pouvoirs incluent ceux du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi. Il a témoigné qu'il avait déjà eu l'occasion de suspendre le certificat de M. Dolbec à deux reprises. Cette fois-ci, il a annulé le certificat.

M. Dolbec a témoigné en son propre nom. Sa version du déroulement de l'examen de détection n'a pas varié de façon significative de celles de Mme Ross ou de M. Leduc.

Au cours du contre-interrogatoire de M. Leduc, M. Dolbec a soulevé la question de la fréquence des examens de détection à l'Aéroport d'Ottawa. Il a fait ressortir qu'en raison de la fréquence des examens, du nombre d'agents de sûreté et de la fluctuation des quarts de travail, il était possible que seulement une petite partie des agents ne subissent cet examen à chaque année.

Il a axé son contre-interrogatoire des autres témoins sur la différence de contenu des sacs utilisés pour la formation et de ceux utilisés pour les examens de détection. Généralement, les premiers contiennent uniquement le dispositif et des articles de maison alors que, pour l'examen de détection, on utilise les sacs personnels des inspecteurs de Transports Canada ou les sacs de passagers choisis et consentants, dans lesquels on place certains articles interdits au sein d'une variété d'articles qu'un voyageur «  normal  » transporte habituellement. Cette dernière façon de procéder rend la détection plus difficile.

Mme Doucet était la gestionnaire de l'exploitation chez Aeroguard. La formation du personnel de sûreté faisait partie de ses fonctions. Sa preuve a démontré que l'examen de détection visait à s'assurer de la compétence des personnes testées. En ce qui concerne la comparaison entre les sacs utilisés pour la formation et les sacs utilisés pour les examens de détection, elle a déclaré qu'il ne s'agissait pas des mêmes sacs, que c'était voulu puisqu'ils ne servaient pas les mêmes objectifs. Il y a plus d'articles dans un sac de passager.

LA LOI

La Loi sur l'aéronautique :

4.3 (1) Le ministre peut déléguer à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ou à toute personne, avec ou sans restriction, les pouvoirs et fonctions que la présente partie lui confère, sauf, sous réserve du paragraphe (3), le pouvoir de prendre des textes d'application que lui délègue le gouverneur en conseil.

4.7 (1) Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent article.

(...)

«  agent de sûreté  » Quiconque est désigné à ce titre par le ministre pour l'application du présent article.

7.1 (1) Lorsque le ministre décide ... soit de suspendre ou d'annuler un document parce que le titulaire du document est inapte ou que le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise le document ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document,

(...)

il expédie un avis de la mesure par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé à la dernière adresse connue du titulaire ou du propriétaire, exploitant ou utilisateur en cause.

LA QUESTION EN LITIGE

Il s'agit de savoir si M. Dolbec, en date du 28 avril 1999, alors qu'il effectuait une fouille du bagage de cabine d'une passagère à l'aide d'un appareil à rayons X, a fait défaut de repérer un dispositif explosif de circonstance démontrant par-là qu'il n'a plus les qualifications nécessaires pour être titulaire de son document d'aviation canadien.

ARGUMENTS

Pour l'intimé—Ministre des Transports

Mme Lockridge a fait valoir que M. Dolbec n'avait pas repéré le dispositif explosif de circonstance et qu'il n'avait pas pris les mesures nécessaires par la suite. Il avait permis à Mme Ross de poursuivre sans repérer dans son sac tous les éléments susceptibles de représenter une menace pour la sécurité aéronautique.

Quand on a passé le sac une deuxième fois, on a repéré le dispositif explosif de circonstance. Le certificat de M. Dolbec avait déjà été suspendu à deux reprises. Par conséquent, son incapacité à se conformer aux normes requises a montré qu'il n'a plus les qualifications voulues.

Pour le requérant—M. Dolbec

M. Dolbec n'a pas contesté le fait qu'il n'ait pas vu le dispositif explosif de circonstance. Il a fait ressortir que les sacs d'examen n'étaient pas équivalents à ceux utilisés pour les examens de détection, étant donné que ceux-ci contiennent beaucoup plus d'articles, ce qui rend la détection d'un dispositif explosif de circonstance plus difficile.

De plus, il a soulevé une controverse quant au nombre d'examens de détection effectués, en prétendant qu'ils sont tellement insuffisants qu'environ seulement le quart des agents de sûreté subissaient le test.

M. Dolbec a déclaré que ses arguments ne visaient pas à lui faire récupérer son travail mais à faire en sorte que justice soit faite. Il voulait que Transports Canada reconnaisse les lacunes qu'il a fait ressortir pour qu'elles soient rectifiées dans un objectif d'amélioration du système dans son ensemble.

DISCUSSION

M. Dolbec a déclaré très franchement qu'il n'avait pas vu le dispositif explosif de circonstance au cours de l'examen de détection du 28 avril 1999. La preuve de M. Leduc et celle de Mme Ross ont aussi démontré ce point. L'image du dispositif explosif de circonstance était repérable sur l'appareil à rayon X lorsqu'on a repassé le sac de Mme Ross.

M. Leduc a signalé dans son témoignage deux suspensions antérieures du certificat de M. Dolbec.

L'Avis de sécurité n° 6 (pièce M-4) souligne les qualifications minimales d'agrément et de nomination des agents de sûreté de Transports Canada. Il prévoit que «  le défaut de maintenir les qualifications minimales entraînera la suspension ou l'annulation de l'accréditation  ».

En ce qui concerne l'appareil à rayon X, on y précise entre autre qu'on doit démontrer une capacité d'interpréter et de discerner correctement diverses images sur l'écran radiologique en repérant tous les effets des passagers susceptibles de représenter une menace pour la sûreté de l'aviation civile.

On prévoit qu'un défaut de repérer un élément dangereux au cours des examens de détection peut entraîner la suspension ou l'annulation d'une ou de plusieurs annotations sur le certificat d'agent de sûreté.

La preuve indique que l'échec de M. Dolbec lors de l'examen de détection le place en dessous des normes requises pour qu'il soit titulaire de son certificat. M. Leduc, inspecteur de sûreté à Transports Canada, avait l'autorité voulue pour annuler le certificat et il l'a fait.

Les contre-interrogatoires et les arguments de M. Dolbec sont axés sur la différence entre les sacs utilisés pour les tests (c.-à-d. les sacs utilisés pour former les agents de sûreté) et ceux qui sont utilisés pour les examens de détection. Il a obtenu une preuve des autres agents de sûreté, à savoir que les sacs des examens de détection étaient différents des sacs de test, étant donné qu'ils contiennent beaucoup plus d'articles.

Toutefois, la gestionnaire de l'exploitation a déclaré, au nom de son ancien employeur, qu'ils devaient être différents puisque leurs fonctions étaient différentes.

M. Dolbec a aussi fait ressortir, ce qui représente selon lui, la rareté des tests imposés aux agents de sûreté. Les arguments de M. Dolbec sont intéressants et peuvent démontrer certaines faiblesses du système, particulièrement en ce qui concerne la fréquence du test, mais ils ne portent pas sur la question de savoir s'il avait ou n'avait plus les qualifications nécessaires pour être titulaire du certificat d'agent de sûreté.

Dans les circonstances, je considère que le ministre a prouvé que M. Dolbec a cessé d'avoir les qualifications nécessaires pour être titulaire d'un certificat d'agent de sûreté.

DÉCISION

Je confirme la décision du ministre d'annuler le certificat d'agent de sûreté de M. Dolbec.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal de l'aviation civile