Decisions

CAT File No. O-1936-33
MoT File No. PAP 5504-034709

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Gilbert F. Blais, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S. c.33 (1st Supp.) s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 401.03(1)(a), 401.03(1)(b)

Ultra-light aircraft, Reduction of monetary penalty, Negligent or reckless operation of an aircraft, Flying without a permit, medical certificate


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: February 18, 2000

That Gilbert Blais did contravene paragraphs 401.03(1)(a) and (b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations on September 17, 1999 at Espanola, Ontario. Because of the reasons given, I reduce the fines levied by the Minister to $1,250 on each count, totalling $2,500. This amount, payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Tribunal within 30 days of service of this determination.

BACKGROUND

A Review Hearing on the above-mentioned matter was held Tuesday, February 15, 2000 at nor ont, Court Reporter's Office in Sudbury, Ontario.

On September 17, 1999, the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP) received a report of an aircraft accident at an airfield at Espanola. Senior Constable Kevin Webb proceeded to the airfield and found an ultra-light aircraft suspended, inverted in the trees adjacent to the northwest end of the airfield. The pilot was still inside the aircraft which was about 20-25 feet above ground. An extension ladder was used to extract the pilot from the aircraft. He was not hurt, and his name is Gilbert F. Blais.

Mr. Blais gave a statement to Cst. Webb immediately after the incident (Exhibit M-2), in which he admits that: "I was just going to do a hop to check it out and I ran out of runway. I was going to go up, make a circle and go back in but it stalled. I hit the trees and it flipped over."

The OPP reported the matter to Transport Canada, an investigation ensued and Mr. Blais was found to be in contravention of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) in that he had neither a pilot licence, nor a valid medical certificate, permitting him to fly ultra-light aircraft. In addition, Mr. Blais had never held any flight permits up to that time (Exhibit M-5), although the aircraft was properly registered C-IGCE (Exhibit M-6).

Transport Canada conducted an investigation, concluded that Mr. Blais had contravened the CARs as listed below, and fined him $2,500 on each of two counts, totalling $5,000.

An opening statement was made, including a description of the proceedings for Mr. Blais who was unrepresented and called no witnesses. I was careful to put him at ease as best I could as he was clearly unfamiliar and uncomfortable. The exclusion of witnesses and the reasons therefor were described. It was ascertained that there were no pre-hearing agreements.

THE LAW

Section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act states:

7.7 (1) Where the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister shall notify the person of the allegations against the person in such form as the Governor in Council may by regulation prescribe, specifying in the notice, in addition to any other information that may be so prescribed,

(a) subject to any regulations made under paragraph 7.6(1)(b), the amount that is determined by the Minister, in accordance with such guidelines as the Minister may make for the purpose, to be the amount that must be paid to the Minister by the person as the penalty for the contravention in the event that the person does not wish to appear before a member of the Tribunal to make representations in respect of the allegations; and

(b) the time, being not less than thirty days after the date the notice is served or sent, at or before which and the place at which the amount is required to be paid in the event referred to in paragraph (a).

(2) A notice under subsection (1) shall be served personally or by ordinary mail sent to the latest known address of the person to whom the notice relates.

Paragraphs 401.03(1)(a) and (b) of the CARs state:

401.03 (1) No person shall act as a flight crew member or exercise the privileges of a flight crew permit, licence or rating unless

(a) subject to subsection (2) and sections 401.19 to 401.27, the person is the holder of, and can produce while so acting and while exercising such privileges, the appropriate permit, licence or rating; and

(b) the person is the holder of, and can produce while so acting and while exercising such privileges, a valid and appropriate medical certificate.

EVIDENCE AND ORAL ARGUMENTS

Transport Canada called its first of two witnesses, Senior Constable Kevin Webb, who was duly sworn. He described the scene at Espanola, including the "rescue" of Mr. Blais from his ill-fated machine up in the spruce tree, with an extension ladder. He was asked by Mrs. Elliott to draw a diagram of the airfield, which was entered as Exhibit M-1. Cst. Webb also took a statement from Mr. Blais which was entered as Exhibit M-2. Cst. Webb does not recall asking Mr. Blais for his pilot licence, but mentioned some recollection that Mr. Blais had said that he did not require a pilot licence for this flight.

In his cross-examination of Cst. Webb, Mr. Blais merely alluded to the fact that there had been considerably more verbal discussion than was contained in the signed statement, with which Cst. Webb agreed. Cst. Webb also acknowledged to Mr. Blais that he had no knowledge of aeroplanes, nor of aviation in general. I do not consider this relevant since all the officer was doing was to establish what had happened and to report it to Transport Canada, who then assumed responsibility for the investigation.

The second witness was Civil Aviation Safety Inspector Ross Beck who was duly sworn. In the course of his investigation he interviewed Mr. Blais and determined that he did not and had not up to September 17, 1999 possessed a pilot licence nor medical certificate. In the course of his interview with Mr. Blais, Mr. Beck ascertained that Mr. Blais was conducting high speed taxiing down the runway at Espanola, in the course of which the aircraft had become airborne, the end of the runway loomed and Mr. Blais tried to manoeuvre the aircraft in a right turn, whereupon it stalled into a tree. Mr. Beck concluded that Mr. Blais had operated the aircraft as pilot-in-command, for which he had no licence, nor medical certificate. Mr. Blais had therefore contravened paragraphs 401.03(1)(a) and (b) of the CARs, under reference above.

In his cross-examination of Mr. Beck, Mr. Blais stated that the reason he did not have a licence was because of the expense involved in attending the nearest training facility, which was then at Holland Landing in Southern Ontario. He produced a new pilot permit, dated January 14, 2000, and a certified log book to show that he is now qualified, albeit some four months later.

Mrs. Elliott objected to the production of these documents as irrelevant, but I advised her that due weight would be given to this in my decision.

EVIDENCE BY THE RESPONDENT, MR. GILBERT BLAIS

Mr. Blais was duly sworn in. Since his retirement nine years ago, Mr. Blais has taken up ultra-light aircraft building as a hobby. In the course of this pursuit, he has built at least two, one of which was the ill-fated C-IGCE. He freely admitted to having flown these aircraft from time to time, although he had a licensed pilot do much of the flying.

On the day in question, he had modified the propeller on the advice of a friend from Holland Landing, by clipping the edges off it. This would have the effect of increasing engine RPM, thereby allowing the propeller to produce more thrust. He was conducting high speed taxi trials, and on his second run into wind, a gust of wind took the aeroplane into the air just when he was running out of runway. He attempted a right turn, but unluckily for him the aircraft stalled into a spruce tree, and became inverted. He drew his own diagram of the airfield (Exhibit D-7) which added some more detail to the previous diagram.

Mr. Blais said he was not wealthy despite having built two ultra-light aircraft. He said that he was still paying off his daughter the $1,200 she had lent him for the last fine. Money, he said, was short on his retirement income and he could not afford to pay this fine.

I questioned him as to whether he had deliberately become airborne on that day. He replied in the negative, that his purpose was to check the thrust of the powerplant. There was a gusty northwesterly wind and he was surprised when the aircraft left the ground.

DETERMINATION

It is clear that Mr. Blais has contravened the regulations—he freely admitted this under oath. He also admitted to a previous infraction and to having flown his aircraft on a number of other occasions. He does love aircraft, and as Mrs. Elliott said in her summary, if he had licensed himself, he would have spent far less, and with training would have spared himself the expense and danger of having accidents, and incurring fines. He is fortunate to be still alive and that he has not hurt nor injured himself or others on the ground.

The purpose of sanctions is to restore respect for the CARs, to deter the offender and others from breaking the regulations, thereby saving themselves and others from injury and harm. With no licence to suspend, the only avenue open to the Minister is a monetary penalty which must be substantial enough to deter offenders from operating illegally.

The maximum penalty under the Regulations is $5,000 on each count, which if imposed would amount to a total of $10,000 in this case. The Minister has imposed a fine of $5,000 on Mr. Blais.

In the light of his financial circumstances, and limited income, I feel that a fine of $1,250 on each count, totalling $2,500 will deter Mr. Blais from future infractions and will be a lesson to others. It is noteworthy that he has now obtained a licence and training to fly his aircraft.

Mr. Blais will now realise that ultra-light aircraft can kill and maim people just as surely as their larger and more sophisticated counterparts, when operated illegally, irresponsibly and without training.

At the conclusion of the Review Hearing before this Tribunal, I have determined that Gilbert Blais did contravene paragraphs 401.03(1)(a) and (b) of the CARs on September 17, 1999 at Espanola, Ontario. Because of the reasons given above I reduce the fines levied by the Minister to $1,250 on each count, totalling $2,500.

Philip P Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-1936-33 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP 5504-034709 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Gilbert F. Blais, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R., ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 401.03(1)a) et b)

voler sans permis ou certificat médical, Utilisation imprudente ou négligente d'un aéronef, Réduction du montant de l'amende, Avion ultra-léger


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 18 février 2000

TRADUCTION

Que Gilbert Blais a contrevenu aux alinéas 401.03(1)a) et b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien le 17 septembre 1999 à Espanola (Ontario). En raison des motifs exposés, je réduis les amendes imposées par le ministre à 1 250 $ pour chacun des chefs d'accusation, pour un total de 2 500 $. Ledit montant est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les trente jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

HISTORIQUE

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 15 février 2000 à nor ont, bureau du sténographe judiciaire à Sudbury (Ontario).

Le 17 septembre 1999, la Police provinciale de l'Ontario a reçu un rapport d'accident d'aéronef sur un terrain d'aviation d'Espanola. L'agent supérieur Kevin Webb s'est rendu sur le terrain d'aviation et il a trouvé un aéronef ultra-léger suspendu, inversé dans les arbres avoisinants de la partie nord-ouest du terrain d'aviation. Le pilote était toujours à l'intérieur de l'aéronef qui était à environ 20-25 pieds du sol. On a utilisé une échelle coulissante pour extirper le pilote de l'aéronef. Il n'était pas blessé et il s'appelait Gilbert F. Blais.

M. Blais a fait une déclaration à l'agent Webb immédiatement à la suite de l'incident (pièce M-2), dans laquelle il a admis que : « Je m'apprêtais à faire un saut pour l'examiner et j'ai rejoint l'extrémité de la piste. Je m'apprêtais à monter, faire une loupe et revenir mais j'étais en état de vol en décrochage. J'ai frappé un arbre et l'aéronef s'est inversé. »

La Police provinciale de l'Ontario a signalé l'affaire à Transports Canada. Une enquête a eu lieu et on a conclu que M. Blais avait contrevenu au Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) puisqu'il n'avait ni licence de pilote, ni certificat médical valide qui lui permettaient de piloter un aéronef ultra-léger. De plus, jusque là, M. Blais n'avait jamais été titulaire d'un permis de vol (pièce M-5), malgré que l'aéronef portait l'immatriculation C-IGCE en bonne et due forme (pièce M-6).

L'enquête menée par Transports Canada a conclu que M. Blais avait contrevenu au RAC (voir ci-dessous) et on lui a imposé une amende de 2 500 $ sur chacun des deux chefs d'accusation, soit un total de 5 000 $.

Une déclaration préliminaire comprenant une description des procédures a été faite pour M. Blais qui n'était pas représenté et qui n'appelait aucun témoin. J'ai pris soin de le mettre à l'aise du mieux que j'ai pu étant donné qu'il était manifestement inexpérimenté et mal à l'aise. L'exclusion des témoins et les raisons la justifiant ont été soulevées. On a confirmé qu'il n'y avait aucune entente préalable à l'audition.

LA LOI

L'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, l'informe des faits reprochés par un avis établi en la forme et comportant les renseignements que le gouverneur en conseil peut déterminer par règlement et y indique :

a) sous réserve des règlements d'application de l'alinéa 7.6(1)b), le montant qu'il détermine, conformément aux critères qu'il peut établir à cette fin, et qui doit être payé à titre d'amende pour la contravention lorsque la personne ne désire pas comparaître devant un conseiller pour présenter ses observations sur les faits reprochés;

b) la date limite, qui suit d'au moins trente jours celle de signification ou d'expédition de l'avis, et le lieu où le montant visé à l'alinéa a) doit être versé.

(2) L'avis est à signifier à personne ou par courrier ordinaire à la dernière adresse connue de l'intéressé.

Les alinéas 401.03(1)a) et b) du RAC prévoient :

401.03 (1) Il est interdit à toute personne d'agir en qualité de membre d'équipage de conduite ou d'exercer les avantages d'un permis, d'une licence ou d'une qualification de membre d'équipage de conduite à moins qu'elle ne satisfasse aux conditions suivantes :

a) sous réserve du paragraphe (2) et des articles 401.19 et 401.27 la personne est titulaire d'un permis, d'une licence ou d'une qualification propres aux fonctions ou aux avantages qu'elle exerce et peut produire le permis, la licence ou la qualification dans l'exercice de ces fonctions ou avantages;

b) la personne est titulaire d'un certificat médical valide propre aux fonctions ou aux avantages qu'elle exerce et peut produire le certificat dans l'exercice de ces fonctions ou avantages.

LA PREUVE ET LES OBSERVATIONS ORALES

Transports Canada a appelé le premier de deux témoins, l'agent supérieur Kevin Webb, qui a été dûment assermenté. Il a décrit la scène à Espanola, y compris le « sauvetage » de M. Blais de son malheureux appareil, dans l'épinette, avec une échelle coulissante. Mme Elliott lui a demandé de dessiner un diagramme du terrain d'aviation, lequel a été présenté comme pièce M-1. L'agent Webb a aussi recueilli une déclaration de M. Blais déposée comme pièce M-2. L'agent Webb ne se souvient pas d'avoir demandé la licence de pilote de M. Blais mais il se souvenait que M. Blais avait dit qu'il n'avait pas besoin de licence de pilote pour ce vol.

Lors du contre-interrogatoire de l'agent Webb, M. Blais a simplement fait allusion au fait qu'il y avait eu beaucoup plus d'échanges verbaux que dans la déclaration signée, ce que l'agent Webb a confirmé. L'agent Webb a aussi reconnu auprès de M. Blais qu'il n'avait aucune connaissance des avions ni de l'aviation en général. Je ne considère pas ces propos comme pertinents étant donné que tout ce que l'officier faisait était d'établir ce qui s'était passé et le rapporter à Transports Canada, qui, par la suite assumait la responsabilité de l'enquête.

Le deuxième témoin était l'inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation civile Ross Beck, qui a été dûment assermenté. Au cours de son enquête, il a interrogé M. Blais et il a établi que celui-ci ne possédait pas et n'avait jamais possédé de licence de pilote ni de certificat médical avant le 17 septembre 1999. Au cours de son entrevue avec M. Blais, M. Beck a constaté que M. Blais effectuait des roulages à grande vitesse sur la piste d'Espanola, alors que l'aéronef a pris son envol et qu'à la fin de la piste, M. Blais a tenté d'effectuer un virage à droite et s'est accroché dans un arbre. M. Beck a conclu que M. Blais avait utilisé l'aéronef en qualité de commandant de bord, qu'il n'avait ni licence, ni certificat médical pour le faire. M. Blais avait ainsi contrevenu aux alinéas 401.03(1)a) et b) du RAC auquel on a fait référence plus haut.

Au cours du contre-interrogatoire de M. Beck, M. Blais a déclaré qu'il n'avait pas de licence en raison des frais nécessaires pour se rendre à l'établissement de formation le plus près, soit à l'époque, à Holland Landing dans le sud de l'Ontario. Il a présenté un nouveau permis de pilote, en date du 14 janvier 2000, et un carnet de route certifié pour montrer que, bien que quatre mois plus tard, il est maintenant qualifié.

Mme Elliott s'est objectée à la présentation de ces documents comme étant non pertinents mais je l'ai avertie que j'y accorderais une juste valeur probante dans ma décision.

LA PREUVE DE L'INTIMÉ, M. GILBERT BLAIS

M. Blais a dûment été assermenté. Depuis sa retraite, il y a neuf ans, M. Blais a entrepris la construction d'aéronefs ultra-légers dans ses loisirs. Depuis, il en a construit au moins deux dont le malheureux C-IGCE. Il a reconnu volontiers avoir piloté ces aéronefs de temps en temps, malgré qu'il avait un pilote breveté qui effectuait la plupart des vols.

Le jour en question, il avait modifié l'hélice suivant le conseil d'un ami de Holland Landing, en affûtant ses bords. Cette procédure aurait comme effet d'augmenter le nombre de tours à la minute du moteur, ce qui permettrait à l'hélice de produire plus de traction. Il effectuait des essais de roulage à grande vitesse et lors de son deuxième rodage dans le vent, une rafale a propulsé l'avion dans les airs au moment où il a rejoint l'extrémité de la piste. Il a tenté un virage à droite, mais malencontreusement pour lui, l'aéronef s'est accroché dans l'épinette et a renversé. Il a dessiné son propre diagramme du terrain d'aviation (pièce D-7), ce qui a ajouté plus de détails au diagramme précédent.

M. Blais a dit qu'il n'était pas riche même s'il avait construit deux aéronefs ultra-légers. Il a dit qu'il remboursait encore sa fille pour les 1 200 $ qu'elle lui avait prêtés pour la dernière amende. Selon ses dires, ses revenus de retraité lui laissent peu d'argent et il ne peut payer la présente amende.

Je lui ai demandé si, ce jour-là, il s'était envolé délibérément. Il a répondu non, qu'il visait à vérifier la traction de l'installation motrice. Il y a eu une rafale du nord-ouest et il a été surpris lorsque l'aéronef a quitté le sol.

DÉCISION

Il est clair que M. Blais a contrevenu au règlement - il l'a délibérément admis sous serment. Il a aussi admis une infraction préalable et qu'il avait piloté ses aéronefs à de nombreuses autres occasions. Il aime effectivement les aéronefs et comme Mme Elliott l'a dit dans son résumé, s'il s'était procuré une licence, il aurait beaucoup moins dépensé et, avec une formation, il se serait évité des frais, des risques d'accidents et des impositions d'amendes. Il est chanceux d'être encore en vie et de ne pas s'être blessé ou de ne pas avoir blessé quelqu'un d'autre au sol.

Les peines visent à rétablir le respect du RAC, à dissuader l'auteur d'infractions ou quiconque de contrevenir aux règlements, leur épargnant blessures et préjudices par le fait même. Lorsqu'il n'y a aucune licence à suspendre, la seule voie possible pour le ministre constitue une amende suffisamment substantielle pour dissuader les auteurs d'infractions de fonctionner illégalement.

L'amende maximale selon le Règlement est de 5 000 $ pour chacun des chefs, soit un montant total de 10 000 $, dans ce cas. Le ministre a imposé une amende de 5 000 $ à M. Blais.

À la lumière de sa situation financière et de son revenu limité, je considère qu'une amende de 1 250 $ pour chacun des chefs d'accusation, donc une amende totale de 2 500 $, dissuadera M. Blais d'infractions futures et constituera une leçon pour les autres. Il convient de noter qu'il a depuis obtenu une licence et la formation pour piloter son aéronef.

M. Blais sait maintenant qu'un aéronef ultra-léger peut tuer ou mutiler des personnes aussi sûrement que sa contrepartie plus large et plus sophistiquée, quand on le pilote illégalement, de façon irresponsable et sans formation.

À la conclusion de l'audience en révision devant ce Tribunal, j'ai décidé que Gilbert Blais a contrevenu aux alinéas 401.03(1)a) et b) du RAC le 17 septembre 1999, à Espanola (Ontario). Pour les raisons mentionnées plus haut, je réduis les amendes imposées par le ministre à 1 250 $ pour chacun des chefs d'accusation, pour un total de 2 500 $.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile