Decisions

CAT File No. O-1999-41
MoT File No. PAP5504-040653

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Chartright Air Inc., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act. R.S., c.33 (1st Supp), s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/99-158, s. 700.05(1)(a), (b)

Leasing, Demonstration, Flight authority, Certificate of airworthiness, Aircraft registered in foreign country


Review Determination
Samuel J. Birenbaum


Decision: October 6, 2000

I find that this aircraft was not flown for demonstration purposes, and thus does not enjoy the exemption of Part II of the Canada Transportation Act, as stated in paragraph 3(1)(j) of the Air Transportation Regulations. It was flown for commercial purposes without a certificate of airworthiness. Therefore, I find that Chartright Air Inc. contravened subsection 700.05(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

I would normally consider the sanction of $2,000 to be inadequate under these circumstances because of the unnecessary risks to the passengers and others; however, the owners attempted to comply substantially with Canadian regulations in their legitimate efforts to certify this aircraft. Thus, I allow the penalty of $2,000 to stand. This amount, made payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, August 24, 2000 at 10:00 hours, at the Federal Court of Canada in Toronto, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

It is alleged that on or about November 27, 1999, Chartright Air Inc. (Chartright) operated an aircraft registered VP-CRA on a commercial air service from Toronto to Timmins, Ontario, and from Timmins to Toronto, Ontario, when the aircraft did not meet the criteria specified in paragraph 700.05(1)(a) or (b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

Mr. O. William Binder, the case presenting officer for the Minister stated in his opening remarks that Chartright used aircraft VP-CRA for a commercial flight. The aircraft was registered in the Cayman Islands, and it did not possess a Canadian type certificate, flight authority, or certificate of airworthiness. Mr. Clark, representing the president of Chartright in his opening remarks stated that the facts were not in dispute, but the allegations would be refuted.

Mr. Binder called his first witness, Inspector Shimmin who was duly sworn. Mr. Shimmin is a class I instructor holding an airline transport pilot (ATP) licence, worked as a director of operations and a chief pilot and currently is employed by Transport Canada Enforcement. He stated that he sent a letter of violation to Chartright and in reply was informed through the solicitor, or representative, Mr. Clark, that the flight in question was a demonstration flight.

Mr. Binder produced Exhibit M-l, the air operator certificate for Chartright, identifying Chartright as a commercial air service which, Mr. Shimmin states, involves the use of an aircraft for hire or reward, that is, for payment or other benefit. Exhibit M-2 is an invoice under the letterhead of Chartright Air Inc. to Partner Jet for the services of aircraft CRA, totalling $7,864.50. Mr. Shimmin identified Exhibit M-3, a certificate from the Acting Secretary of the Department of Transport, stating that during the period from November 1, 1999 to December 15, 1999, no certificate of registration was issued for aircraft VP-CRA, nor was there a type certificate, flight permit, or certificate of airworthiness for this aircraft issued in Canada.

Exhibit M-4 is a letter from the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) enclosing a list of its member countries, indicating that the Cayman Islands is not a contracting state of ICAO. On cross-examination, Mr. Shimmin stated that Transport Canada has the authority to permit the use of charter aircraft for commercial air services, providing there is a valid air operator certificate, and technical competency. He further stated that he started a file on this matter, after being informed by Mr. David Bland, and that a letter of allegation was sent on December 9, 1999 from Transport Canada. He identified Exhibit D-l, a letter he received from Mr. Clark, dated January 12, 2000, in response to the letter of allegation, indicating that the flight in question using the aircraft VP-CRA, was not a "commercial air service" operation, but was "aircraft demonstration services" pursuant to paragraph 3(1)(j) of the Air Transportation Regulations.

The next witness called was Mr. Lee Heitman who operates Partner Jet. He testified that on November 27, 1999 he arranged to replace an aircraft which was unserviceable with an aircraft leased from Chartright. He agreed to the usual rates of $3,300 per hour, and other charges as specified in M-2. He was unaware that a foreign aircraft was to be used, but when he learned about this, he became concerned because of different standards, rules, and insurance. He discussed the matter with Mr. Bob Buchan, who was equally concerned. Mr. Heitman further stated that if this were a demonstration flight, he would not have paid leasing charges. In fact, at this time, he was not interested in purchasing this aircraft.

When shown Exhibit M-5, a letter from Kinross to Mr. Heitman dated April 28, 2000 and signed by Mr. Robert Buchan, the chairman of Kinross, he agreed with the facts that aircraft C-GTOR was unserviceable, and a subcharter was arranged with Chartright to complete this trip. Kinross felt at all times that the charter flight was not intended to be a demonstration.

On cross-examination Mr. Heitman stated that he obtained two new aircraft since the events in question, and has several employees who were previously employed by Chartright. He identified his letter dated December 3, 1999 to Mr. Shimmin, confirming that the aircraft obtained from Chartright was a leasing arrangement. The letter included some errors in times. Three or four times per year, similar charters were obtained in this matter. He further stated that he contacted Chartright on May 29th by phone to discuss the matter of chartering a foreign registered aircraft.

The next witness was Mr. Jim Brandt, a pilot who worked as chief pilot for Partner Jet. He confirmed the need to subcharter an aircraft when the usual aircraft was unserviceable. He confirmed that this has happened several times previously. He stated that neither Kinross nor Chartright was involved in purchasing this aircraft, and did not consider it a demonstration flight. On cross-examination he confirmed that he was concerned about a foreign registered aircraft but did not discuss this with his customer. He was informed that his customer had to be billed directly, not through his company, but was not told why. He was surprised by the Cayman registration as this was not a normal occurrence. He stated that he left the employment of Partner Jet in February 2000. On redirect, Mr. Brandt confirmed that it was much more common to obtain subleases from Chartright than for him to lease his aircraft to Chartright.

The next witness was Lee Cole. She stated that she has been working on contract, supplying aircraft maintenance service and corporate travel, for 16 years. She has worked for both Chartright and Partner Jet and in November 1999 was working for Chartright between 18:00 and 08:00 hours as a night dispatcher. She confirmed the leasing of aircraft VP-CRA on November 27, 1999 for a flight from Toronto to Timmins, and then back to Toronto. She confirmed that the aircraft was registered in the Cayman Islands and was hired out at a commercial rate for a commercial purpose. She was instructed not to lease the aircraft twice to the same customer, and to enter demo flight on the strip sheets given to the pilots. She was unaware that this was the wrong thing to do until informed of it by another pilot.

On cross-examination she confirmed that she often worked with Mr. Jim Brandt, had no other duties, and was very busy on the phones for Chartright. She confirmed that there were no other aircraft available at the time, and that this aircraft could only be used for the flight if it were a demonstration flight. The flight was charged at the charter rate and that there were no other planes used for demonstration only purposes. She made out the strip sheets provided to the pilots and provided the strips to Mr. Brandt, the pilot; Mr. John Craig, the co-pilot; and Mr. McKay, the daytime dispatcher for the company.

She identified Exhibit D-3 that contains handwritten pilot's notes on the side but was sent on November 27, 1999 to the crew, indicating the particulars of the flight. Next introduced was Exhibit D-4, the flight manifest of Partner Jet, headed "Flight Confirmation & Details", indicating the nature of the flight, and the names of the six passengers to be taken on board. This exhibit indicates aircraft registration C-GTOR and was sent to the chief pilot on November 27th.

Exhibit D-5 contains the log of aircraft VP-CRA for November 27, 1999 on its flight from Toronto to Timmins. Exhibit D-6 is the return trip from Timmins to Toronto. It indicated that Partner Jet was told that this was a demonstration flight. This ended the evidentiary part of the Minister's presentation.

Mr. William F. Clark introduced his witness, Mr. Nigel Argent, president and chief executive officer of Chartright. He stated that he has been involved in corporate aircraft management and charter services for seven years, and one year ago, operated ten aircraft, today only nine. In addition, he buys and sells aircraft for profit, and stated that the aircraft VP-CRA was purchased in June 1999 by another executive in Europe but could not be registered in Canada, only in England. In order to secure Canadian registration he attempted to perform the necessary modifications but found that it would take at least nine months to obtain the necessary parts. The aircraft was insured and flown to the same standards as all the other aircraft in his fleet, and was used to fly executives of his company during the registration process, and then offered for sale in November 1999. The modifications were completed by January 5, 2000 in Montréal and it performed 15 to 20 trips, mostly for owners of the company, but also for demonstration purposes.

He identified Exhibit D-7 dated January 20, 1988 from the Canada Gazette Part II, Air Transportation Regulations paragraph 3(1)(j) indicating the exclusion of aircraft demonstration services from the application of Part II of the Canada Transportation Act. He testified that his practice was to charge for demonstration flights, but to deduct it from the purchase price if a sale were made. He stated that he informed his dispatcher, Lee Cole, that the plane was available only for demonstration purposes and that any existing customer can have a maximum of only one demonstration. He said that there were five such demonstration flights flown by this aircraft. Under cross-examination he was advised that the charge against his company was laid under the CARs, not under Part II of the Canada Transportation Act. He confirmed that Chartright is a charter company and that the aircraft did not have an operating certificate, and did not comply with Canadian commercial standards. He agreed that the definition of demonstration was to show the aircraft to a possible purchaser.

CLOSING ARGUMENTS

Mr. Binder for the Minister stated that all elements of the charge have been proven; that M-1 and the subsequent invoice M-2 confirm the use of this aircraft for commercial purposes and that there was never an intent by the customer to purchase this aircraft.

Mr. Clark concluded that there was a conflict of law between technical and economic regulations under the Canada Transportation Act. The commercial operator must comply with both technical and economic requirements, but under the 1988 amendment contained in D-7, an exemption to regulations was provided for purposes of aircraft demonstration services. This is in conflict with paragraphs 4(1)(a)(b)(c) and (d) of the Air Transportation Regulations indicating that the definition of demonstration services was not explained. Throughout the use of aircraft VP-CRA there was no threat to safety, and every effort was being made by the owner to comply with Canadian regulations by modifying the aircraft in the required manner. Mr. Binder rose to remind the Tribunal that the company was operating under the Aeronautics Act. On speaking to sanction, Mr. Binder stated that the appropriate guidelines were applied, which indicated a penalty of $2,000 to a commercial operator. He stated that there could be no mitigation and there could be problems with safety in using an aircraft without a certificate of airworthiness, and in this instance, there were no emergency escape lights present. The need to protect the public required strong sanction in order to satisfy the demands for safety, and he recommended an increase in the penalty. Mr. Clark replied that this is an area of confusion for the industry, and the clarification to them of these issues would greatly assist in their compliance.

CONCLUSION

Both parties agree that on November 27, 1999 Chartright operated a flight between Toronto and Timmins, Ontario and return, utilizing a Hawker Siddley HS-125 model #700 aircraft, registration VP-CRA, at the request of Partner Jet Inc. Chartright received revenue from Partner Jet Inc. for that operation. This would not represent a breach of Air Transportation Regulations if the aircraft and its operator were appropriately certified. In this instance, the evidence clearly indicates that the commercial operator was in possession of the required operating certificates but that the aircraft VP-CRA, a foreign aircraft registered in the Cayman Islands, did not possess the required certificate of airworthiness. Although use of an aircraft under these circumstances for aircraft demonstration services is permitted under Part II of the Canada Transportation Act, as stated in paragraph 3(1)(j) of the Air Transportation Regulations, it remains to decide if the flight of this aircraft on November 27, 1999 could be defined as a demonstration service. Mr. Robert Buchan, the chairman of Kinross who leased the aircraft from Partner Jet, and Mr. Lee Heitman, the president of Partner Jet, both testified that there was no intent to demonstrate the characteristics of this aircraft to a potential purchaser, and that, indeed, those who leased the aircraft on this day did not intend to purchase it at any time, and paid the leasing charge. I do not feel that the Canada Transportation Act excludes the request for payment of some sort when an aircraft is demonstrated, since the cost of such a demonstration could be extensive if no sale is made. The Respondent cannot expect to obtain relief from the requirements of these regulations by the simple subterfuge of pretending to demonstrate an aircraft when the purposes are transportation in nature.

The need for the Minister to ensure that all aircraft, used by commercial operators holding an air operator certificate, meet the standards of safety required within Canadian airspace, demand that these aircraft be certified by Canadian authority, and be in compliance with ICAO standards. This is fundamental to the safety of aviation, and I regard any transgression seriously.

I find that this aircraft was not flown for demonstration purposes, and thus does not enjoy the exemption of Part II of the Canada Transportation Act, as stated in paragraph 3(1)(j) of the Air Transportation Regulations. It was flown for commercial purposes without a certificate of airworthiness. Therefore, I find that Chartright Air Inc. contravened subsection 700.05(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

I would normally consider the sanction of $2,000 to be inadequate under these circumstances because of the unnecessary risks to the passengers and others; however, the owners attempted to comply substantially with Canadian regulations in their legitimate efforts to certify this aircraft. Thus, I allow the penalty of $2,000 to stand.

S. Birenbaum, M.D. C.C.F.P.
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-1999-41 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP5504-040653 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Chartright Air Inc., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R., ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/99-158, art. 700.05(1)a) et b)

Démonstration, Location, Certificat de navigabilité, Autorité de vol, Aéronef immatriculé dans un autre pays


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Samuel J. Birenbaum


Décision : le 6 octobre 2000

TRADUCTION

Je considère que l'aéronef n'était pas utilisé à des fins de démonstration et que, par conséquent, il ne bénéficie pas des exemptions de la partie II de la Loi sur les transports au Canada, conformément à l'alinéa 3(1)j) du Règlement sur les transports aériens. Il était utilisé à des fins commerciales sans certificat de navigabilité. Par conséquent, je conclus que Chartright Air Inc. a contrevenu au paragraphe 700.05(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Normalement, j'estimerais l'amende de 2 000 $ inadéquate dans ces circonstances, en raison des risques inutiles pour les passagers et les autres personnes; toutefois, les propriétaires ont tenté pour l'essentiel de respecter le règlement canadien et ont fait de véritables efforts pour immatriculer l'aéronef. Je maintiens donc l'amende de 2 000 $. Ce montant est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 24 août 2000 à 10 h, à la cour fédérale du Canada à Toronto (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

On allègue que le ou vers le 27 novembre 1999, Chartright Air Inc. (Chartright) a utilisé un aéronef immatriculé VP-CRA pour un service aérien commercial aller-retour de Toronto à Timmins en Ontario, alors que l'aéronef ne répondait pas aux critères définis à l'alinéa 700.05(1)a) ou b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

M. O. William Binder, l'agent de présentation de cas pour le ministre a déclaré dans ses remarques préliminaires que Chartright a utilisé l'aéronef VP-CRA pour un vol commercial. L'aéronef était immatriculé aux îles Caïmans et n'avait pas de certificat de type canadien, d'autorité de vol ou de certificat de navigabilité. Me Clark, qui représente le président de Chartright, a déclaré dans ses remarques préliminaires que les faits n'étaient pas contestés mais que les allégations seraient réfutées.

M. Binder a appelé son premier témoin, l'inspecteur Shimmin qui a dûment été assermenté. M. Simmin est un instructeur de vol de classe 1, titulaire d'une licence de pilote de ligne (ATPL); il a travaillé comme directeur d'exploitation et pilote en chef et il est actuellement au service de l'Application de la loi de Transports Canada. Il a déclaré avoir envoyé une lettre à Chartright concernant l'infraction et qu'un avocat ou un représentant, Me Clark, lui a répondu que le vol en question était un vol de démonstration.

M. Binder a présenté la pièce M-l, le certificat d'exploitation aérienne de Chartright, lequel identifie Chartright comme un service aérien commercial qui, aux dires de M. Shimmin, utilise son aéronef contre rémunération, notamment pour rétribution ou autre avantage. La pièce M-2 est une facture à l'en-tête de Chartright Air Inc. à l'intention de Partner Jet pour les services d'un aéronef CRA, totalisant 7 864,50 $. M. Shimmin a identifié la pièce M-3, un certificat du secrétaire intérimaire du ministère des Transports, selon lequel au cours de la période du 1er novembre 1999 au 15 décembre 1999, aucun certificat d'immatriculation n'a été délivré pour l'aéronef VP-CRA, et aucun certificat de type, permis de vol ou certificat de navigabilité n'ont été délivrés pour cet aéronef au Canada.

La pièce M-4 est une lettre de l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale (OACI) qui cite une liste de ses pays membres, laquelle indique que les îles Caïmans n'est pas un état contractant de l'OACI. En contre-interrogatoire, M. Shimmin a déclaré que Transports Canada a le pouvoir de permettre un affrètement pour un service aérien commercial, à la condition que le certificat d'exploitation aérienne soit valide et qu'il y ait une compétence technique. Il a aussi déclaré qu'il avait ouvert un dossier sur cette question après que M. David Bland l'ait avisé et que Transports Canada avait envoyé une lettre contenant les allégations, le 9 décembre 1999. Il a identifié la pièce D-l, une lettre provenant de Me Clark, en date du 12 janvier 2000, en réponse à la lettre sur les allégations et qui indique que l'aéronef VP-CRA utilisé pour le vol en question n'était pas exploité pour un « service aérien commercial » mais pour des « services de démonstration d'aéronefs » en vertu de l'alinéa 3(1)j) du Règlement sur les transports aériens.

Le prochain témoin était M. Lee Heitman qui dirige Partner Jet. Il a témoigné que le 27 novembre 1999, il a organisé le remplacement d'un aéronef inutilisable par un aéronef loué chez Chartright. Il a accepté le tarif horaire habituel, soit 3 300 $, et d'autres frais indiqués à M-2. Il ne savait pas qu'un aéronef étranger serait utilisé mais quand il l'a su, il s'est interrogé sur la question des différentes exigences, règles et assurances. Il a discuté de la question avec M. Bob Buchan qui s'en inquiétait aussi. M. Heitman a ensuite déclaré que s'il s'était agi d'un vol de démonstration, il n'aurait pas payer les frais de location. En fait, à ce moment-là, il n'était pas intéressé à acheter l'aéronef.

Lorsqu'on lui a montré la pièce M-5, une lettre de Kinross à M. Heitman, en date du 28 avril 2000 et signée par M. Robert Buchan, le président de Kinross, il a convenu que l'aéronef C-GTOR était inutilisable et qu'un sous-affrètement avait été organisé avec Chartright afin de poursuivre ce voyage. Kinross a toujours su que le vol d'affrètement n'était pas un vol de démonstration.

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Heitman a déclaré qu'il avait obtenu deux nouveaux aéronefs depuis les événements en question et que plusieurs de ses employés avaient déjà été au service de Chartright. Il a identifié sa lettre à M. Shimmin en date du 3 décembre 1999, qui confirme que l'aéronef de Chartright était loué. La lettre comprenait certaines erreurs chronologiques. On avait recours à des affrétés de la sorte, trois ou quatre fois par année. Il a aussi déclaré qu'il avait téléphoné chez Chartright le 29 mai pour discuter de la question d'affréter un aéronef immatriculé à l'étranger.

Le prochain témoin était M. Jim Brandt, un pilote qui travaillait à titre de pilote en chef chez Partner Jet. Il a confirmé le besoin de sous-affréter un aéronef puisque l'aéronef habituel était inutilisable. Il a confirmé que cette situation s'était produite à plusieurs reprises auparavant. Il a déclaré que ni Kinross, ni Chartright n'étaient engagés dans l'achat de cet aéronef et qu'ils ne le considéraient pas comme un vol de démonstration. En contre-interrogatoire, il a confirmé qu'il s'était interrogé sur un aéronef immatriculé à l'étranger mais qu'il n'en avait pas discuté avec son client. Il a su que son client devait être facturé directement et non par l'intermédiaire de sa compagnie, mais on ne lui en pas donné la raison. Il a été surpris que l'immatriculation ait été faite aux Caïmans puisqu'il ne s'agit pas d'un incident habituel. Il a déclaré qu'il avait quitté son poste chez Partner Jet en février 2000. En réinterrogatoire, M. Brandt a confirmé qu'il sous-louait les aéronefs de Chartright beaucoup plus couramment qu'il ne leur louait le sien.

Le prochain témoin était Lee Cole. Elle a déclaré qu'elle travaillait à titre de contractuelle pour fournir des services de maintenance d'aéronefs et de voyages d'affaires, depuis 16 ans. Elle avait travaillé chez Chartright et chez Partner et en novembre 1999, elle travaillait chez Chartright, entre 18 h et 8 h, à titre de répartitrice de nuit. Elle a confirmé la location de l'aéronef VP-CRA, le 27 novembre 1999, pour un vol aller-retour de Toronto à Timmins. Elle a confirmé que l'aéronef était immatriculé aux îles Caïmans et qu'il était loué à un tarif et dans un but commercial. Elle avait comme directive de ne pas louer l'aéronef deux fois au même client et d'indiquer vol de démonstration sur les documents remis aux pilotes. Elle ne savait pas qu'il s'agissait de la mauvaise chose à faire jusqu'à ce qu'elle en soit informée par un autre pilote.

En contre-interrogatoire, elle a confirmé qu'elle avait souvent travaillé avec M. Jim Brandt, qu'elle n'avait aucune autre fonction et qu'elle était très occupée au téléphone lorsqu'elle travaillait pour Chartright. Elle a confirmé qu'aucun autre aéronef n'était disponible à ce moment-là et que cet aéronef pouvait uniquement être utilisé s'il s'agissait d'un vol de démonstration. Le tarif demandé a été celui d'un vol d'affrètement et aucun autre avion n'était utilisé uniquement pour des vols de démonstration. Elle a établi les documents des pilotes et les a remis à M. Brandt, le pilote, à M. John Craig, le copilote et à M. McKay, le répartiteur de jour de la compagnie.

Elle a identifié la pièce D-3 qui contient en marge les notes manuscrites du pilote, et qui avait été remise à l'équipage le 27 novembre 1999, pour indiquer les détails du vol. On a ensuite présenté la pièce D-4, le manifeste de vol de Partner Jet, intitulé Flight Confirmation & Details, lequel indique la nature du vol et les noms des six passagers qui devaient monter à bord. Cette pièce indique l'immatriculation de l'aéronef, soit C-GTOR, et elle a été envoyée au pilote en chef, le 27 novembre.

La pièce D-5 contient le carnet de l'aéronef VP-CRA du 27 novembre 1999, pour son vol de Toronto à Timmins. La pièce D-6 montre le voyage de retour de Timmins à Toronto. Il y est indiqué qu'on avait mentionné à Partner Jet qu'il s'agissait d'un vol de démonstration. Fin de la présentation de la preuve du ministre.

Me William F. Clark a présenté son témoin, M. Nigel Argent, président et directeur général de Chartright. Il a déclaré qu'il s'occupait de gestion générale d'aéronefs et de services d'affrètement depuis sept ans et qu'il exploitait dix aéronefs il y a un an et seulement neuf aujourd'hui. De plus, il achète et vend des aéronefs dans un but lucratif et il a déclaré qu'un autre directeur avait acheté l'aéronef VP-CRA en juin 1999, en Europe, mais qu'il ne pouvait être immatriculé au Canada, seulement en Angleterre. Il a tenté d'effectuer les modifications appropriées afin d'obtenir une immatriculation canadienne mais il a découvert qu'il faudrait au moins neuf mois pour obtenir les pièces nécessaires. L'aéronef était assuré et piloté selon les mêmes normes que les autres aéronefs de sa flotte et il servait aux déplacements aériens des directeurs de sa compagnie pendant la période d'immatriculation; il a par la suite été mis en vente en novembre 1999. Les modifications ont été terminées le 5 janvier 2000 à Montréal et il a effectué 15 à 20 voyages, la plupart pour les propriétaires de la compagnie mais aussi à des fins de démonstration.

Il a identifié la pièce D-7 du 20 janvier 1988, tirée de la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada, alinéa 3(1)j) du Règlement sur les transports aériens qui prévoit l'exclusion des services de démonstration aériens de l'application de la partie II de Loi sur les transports au Canada. Il a témoigné qu'il avait l'habitude d'exiger un prix pour les vols de démonstration mais qu'il le déduisait du prix de vente, lorsqu'une vente était effectuée. Il a déclaré qu'il avait avisé sa répartitrice, Lee Cole, que l'avion devait servir uniquement à des fins de démonstration et qu'un client n'avait droit qu'à une seule démonstration. Il a dit que cet aéronef avait effectué cinq vols de démonstration. En contre-interrogatoire, on l'a avisé que l'accusation contre sa compagnie était en vertu du RAC et non en vertu de la partie II de la Loi sur les transports au Canada. Il a confirmé que Chartright est une compagnie de nolisage, que l'aéronef n'avait pas de certificat d'exploitation et que la compagnie ne respectait pas les normes commerciales canadiennes. Il a admis que, par définition, une démonstration visait à montrer un aéronef à un acheteur potentiel.

PLAIDOIRIES

Au nom du ministre, M. Binder a déclaré que tous les éléments de l'accusation avaient été prouvés, que la pièce M-1 et la facture subséquente M-2 confirmaient l'utilisation de cet aéronef à des fins commerciales et que le client n'avait jamais eu l'intention d'acheter l'aéronef.

Me Clark a conclu qu'il y avait un conflit de lois entre les règlements techniques et économiques de la Loi sur les transports au Canada. L'exploitant commercial doit respecter à la fois les exigences techniques et économiques mais, en vertu de l'amendement de 1988 contenu à D-7, une exemption au règlement est prévue pour des services de démonstration d'aéronefs. Cette question est en conflit avec les alinéas 4(1)a) b) c) et d) du Règlement sur les transports aériens qui indiquent que la définition de services de démonstration n'était pas expliquée. Pendant toute la durée de l'utilisation de l'aéronef VP-CRA, il n'y a eu aucune menace à la sécurité et le propriétaire a déployé tous les efforts nécessaires pour modifier l'aéronef conformément aux règlements canadiens. M. Binder s'est levé afin de rappeler au Tribunal que la compagnie était exploitée en vertu de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. En se prononçant sur la sanction, M. Binder a déclaré que les directives appropriées étaient appliquées, à savoir une amende de 2 000 $ pour un exploitant commercial. Il a déclaré qu'il ne pouvait y avoir de facteur atténuant et qu'il pouvait y avoir des problèmes de sécurité en utilisant un aéronef sans certificat de navigabilité et, dans le cas en l'espèce, il n'y avait aucune lumière de sortie d'urgence. Afin de s'assurer de répondre aux impératifs de sécurité et au besoin de protection du public, il importe d'avoir des sanctions importantes et il a donc recommandé une augmentation de l'amende. Me Clark a répondu qu'il s'agit d'une zone grise pour l'industrie et que la clarification de ces questions aiderait grandement à se conformer aux prescriptions.

CONCLUSION

Les deux parties conviennent que, le 27 novembre 1999, Chartright a effectué un vol aller-retour entre Toronto et Timmins, Ontario, en utilisant un aéronef Hawker Siddley HS-125 modèle 700, immatriculé VP-CRA, à la demande de Partner Jet Inc. Chartright a touché un paiement de Partner Jet Inc. pour ce déplacement. Si l'immatriculation de l'aéronef et de son exploitant avait été appropriée, il n'y aurait pas eu d'infraction au Règlement sur les transports aériens. Dans cette instance, la preuve indique clairement que l'exploitant commercial possédait les certificats d'exploitation requis mais que l'aéronef VP-CRA, un aéronef étranger immatriculé aux îles Caïmans, ne possédait pas le certificat de navigabilité requis. Bien que l'utilisation d'un aéronef soit permise dans des circonstances de services de démonstration d'aéronefs en vertu de la partie II de la Loi sur les transports au Canada, comme le prévoit l'alinéa 3(1)j) du Règlement sur les transports aériens, il faut toutefois décider si le vol de cet aéronef, le 27 novembre 1999, pouvait être défini comme un vol de démonstration. M. Robert Buchan, le président de Kinross qui a loué l'aéronef de Partner Jet et M. Lee Heitman, président de Partner Jet, ont tous deux témoigné qu'ils n'avaient nullement l'intention de démontrer les caractéristiques de cet aéronef à un acheteur potentiel et, qu'effectivement, ceux qui ont loué l'aéronef ce jour-là n'avaient aucunement l'intention de l'acheter et qu'ils avaient payé des frais de location. Je ne considère par que la Loi sur les transports au Canada exclut quelque forme de demande de paiement que ce soit lors d'une démonstration d'aéronef, étant donné que le coût de ce type de démonstration peut être exorbitant si aucune vente n'est effectuée. L'intimée ne peut prétendre à un allégement des exigences de ces règlements par simple subterfuge, notamment en prétendant qu'elle effectuait une démonstration d'aéronef alors qu'elle avait le transport comme objectif.

Afin de s'assurer que tous les aéronefs utilisés par les exploitants commerciaux titulaires d'un certificat d'exploitant aérien répondent aux normes de sécurité dans l'espace aérien canadien, le ministre demande que ces aéronefs soient immatriculés par les autorités canadiennes et en conformité avec les exigences de l'OACI. Cette question est essentielle à la sécurité aérienne et j'examine sérieusement toute forme de transgression.

Je considère que l'aéronef n'était pas utilisé à des fins de démonstration et que, par conséquent, il ne bénéficie pas des exemptions de la partie II de la Loi sur les transports au Canada, conformément à l'alinéa 3(1)j) du Règlement sur les transports aériens. Il était utilisé à des fins commerciales sans certificat de navigabilité. Par conséquent, je conclus que Chartright Air Inc. a contravenu au paragraphe 700.05(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Normalement, j'estimerais l'amende de 2 000 $ inadéquate dans ces circonstances, en raison des risques inutiles pour les passagers et les autres personnes; toutefois, les propriétaires ont tenté pour l'essentiel de respecter le règlement canadien et ont fait de véritables efforts pour immatriculer l'aéronef. Je maintiens donc l'amende de 2 000 $.

S. Birenbaum, M.D. C.C.F.P.
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile