Decisions

CAT File No. O-2098-41
MoT File No. PAP 5504-041492

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

1014456 Ontario Ltd. (crown Charter-phoenix Aviation), Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S. c. 33 (1st Supp), s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR 96-433, ss. 202.13(2), 605.85(1)(2)(4)

Certificate of Registration, Reduction of Monetary Penalty


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: January 17, 2001

I have determined that 1014456 Ontario Ltd. (Crown Charter-Phoenix Aviation) did contravene the regulations under reference above; however, there are mitigating circumstances, particularly with respect to section 202.13 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. Accordingly, I uphold the Minister of Transport's imposition of penalties, but reduce them as follows:

Count 1: $250.00

Count 2: $250.00

The total amount of $500.00, payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, January 10, 2001 at 13:00 hours at City Hall, in Brantford, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

1014456 Ontario Limited - Crown Charter-Phoenix Aviation (Crown–Phoenix) leased a Cessna 172N, C-GUMV to 565176 Ontario Limited (Skyways). A certificate of registration, dated December 5, 1997 was issued, recognizing this change in the operator of the aircraft (Exhibit M-1). This lease was terminated on April 30, 1999 (Exhibit M-2), thereby automatically terminating the registration of this aircraft.

The next certificate of registration for C-GUMV was issued on April 12, 2000 (Exhibit M-3), so that during the period April 30, 1999 and April 12, 2000, this aircraft was not legally registered.

Further, maintenance was performed on C-GUMV, and on November 18, 1999 the aircraft was signed out, subject to a satisfactory test flight. This test flight was never recorded as having been done in the aircraft's journey log book, although the aircraft did fly the next day, November 19, 1999, and on several other occasions, when its certificate of registration was invalid (Exhibit M-6).

Apparently as a result of an audit on Skyways, when C-GUMV was found to be no longer on its register, Transport Canada investigated the matter, and assessed penalties on two counts totalling $1,500.00 against Crown–Phoenix, for breaches against subsections 202.13(2) and 605.85(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), pursuant to subsection 8.4(2) of the Aeronautics Act.

The fine was not paid, hence this Review Hearing with the Minister of Transport as the Applicant. The Respondent had not appeared by 10:00 hours and contacted the Tribunal to say that his secretary had misinformed him as to the date. I agreed to give him until 13:00 hours to attend, otherwise, the hearing would proceed without him, and I would have no authority under the Act to alter the sanction. He agreed to and did attend at 13:00 hours.

THE LAW

Subsection 202.13(2) of the CARs states:

(2) Except as otherwise authorized pursuant to subsection 202.14(1), 202.42(3) or 202.43(1), no person shall operate an aircraft in Canada unless it is registered in Canada, in a contracting state or in a foreign state that has an agreement in force with Canada that allows an aircraft that is registered in that foreign state to be operated in Canada.

Subsections 605.85(1), (2) and (4) of the CARs state:

605.85 (1) Subject to subsections (2) and (3), no person shall conduct a take-off in an aircraft, or permit a take-off to be conducted in an aircraft that is in the legal custody and control of the person, where that aircraft has undergone maintenance, unless the maintenance has been certified by the signing of a maintenance release pursuant to section 571.10.

(2) Where a maintenance release is conditional on the satisfactory completion of a test flight pursuant to subsection 571.10(4), the aircraft may be operated for the purpose of the test flight if no person is carried on board other than flight crew members and persons necessary for the purpose of making observations that are essential to the test flight.

[...]

(4) No maintenance release is required in respect of tasks identified as elementary work in the Aircraft Equipment and Maintenance Standards.

Subsections 202.35(1) and (3) of the CARs state:

202.35 (1) Subject to Subpart 3, where the registered owner of a Canadian aircraft transfers any part of the legal custody and control of the aircraft, the certificate of registration of the aircraft is cancelled.

[...]

(3) For the purposes of this Division, an owner has legal custody and control of a Canadian aircraft when the owner has complete responsibility for the operation and maintenance of the aircraft.

EVIDENCE AND ORAL ARGUMENTS

For the Applicant-Minister of Transport

Mr. Shimmin introduced the circumstances of the case and called his two witnesses to testify as to the details and matters arising. In the course of this presentation he offered a total of eight exhibits and copies of the appropriate regulations.

Ms. Pybus testified that she investigated this matter. As a result of her investigations, it was discovered that Crown–Phoenix had contravened the regulations by flying Cessna 172N, C-GUMV without a valid certificate of registration. She further testified that the aircraft had undergone maintenance on November 18, 1999, which required a test flight. The aircraft was flown the next day, November 19th, and subsequently, but no record was made of the required test flight. Subsections 202.13(2), 605.85(1), (2), (4), 202.35 (1) and (3) of the CARs under reference above were breached.

Mr. Field cross-examined Ms. Pybus, seeking clarification of registration and test flight requirements. He sought to justify the lack of a certificate of registration by asking whether just as the regulations automatically cancel a certificate of registration on termination of a lease, do they not reinstate it with the owner? This is NOT the case.

Mr. Field also sought clarification of what constituted a successful test flight. He was told that the pilot-in-command should establish that the aircraft is performing according to its flight manual, and that there is a requirement for an annotation to be made in the journey log book: "Test flight satisfactorily completed." (CARs 605.94) This was not done.

Mr. Field further sought to discredit Skyways, the lessee, whose responsibility it is to have advised Transport Canada of the termination of the lease, and the certificate of registration. He also alleged that notwithstanding the date of April 30, 1999 on the lease termination, this document had been prepared some seven to ten months later, and backdated to April 30, 1999. He enquired whether any charges had been laid against Skyways, since they had breached the regulations, as they had failed to notify Transport Canada on the termination of the lease. Transport Canada did not answer this question.

The second witness, Inspector John Blascik then took the stand. He said that he had performed an audit on Skyways between January and March 2000. He found that C-GUMV was no longer with Skyways, and did a search for the aircraft. He found it in Brantford, and assisted Crown–Phoenix in making an application for a new certificate of registration. As he was doing so, he discovered that an application had already been made and was in process.

It is apparent that Transport Canada discovered these breaches of the regulations as a result of this audit.

Mr. Blascik further testified as to finding that no test flight had been recorded as having taken place in the journey log book. Further, in answer to Mr. Field's cross-examination, he replied that he had made no recommendation to proceed against Skyways.

Arising out of his audit, John Blascik issued an "Aircraft Inspection Report" (Exhibit M-7), and a "Detection Notice" (Exhibit M-8). These two documents describe the finding of C-GUMV at Brantford, at Crown–Phoenix's facility and the efforts to have it re-registered. The detection notice describes the infraction of section 605.85, due to the lack of a test flight after maintenance, and a recommendation of "further investigation."

The Minister rested his case.

For the Respondent-Crown–Phoenix

Mr. Blaine Field then took the stand and was duly sworn. He advised that while there was no record of it in the log book, a test flight did take place, but the pilot failed to make the appropriate entry in the log book.

Notwithstanding the date on the lease termination document and his signature thereon, he asserted that the validity of the lease was really the date on which the document was prepared, which was some seven to ten months later. Be that as it may, this assertion does not hold water under any circumstances, since his signature appears on the lease termination, dated April 30, 1999.

In order to clarify his position, I questioned Mr. Field on the circumstances of the lease and its termination. He could not say why the date on the lease termination was April 30, but alluded to payment and other problems with Skyways, and that Crown–Phoenix did not want to continue leasing the aircraft to Skyways.

It became apparent that Crown–Phoenix's breaches of the regulations were likely due to sloppy administration, and a lack of awareness of the regulations and their application to this situation.

In his summary, Mr. Field admits that he has learned from this experience and that he accepts full responsibility.

DISCUSSION AND DETERMINATION

I find that there is no malice or intent in Crown–Phoenix's transgression of the regulations. Rather, there seems to be poor administration and a lack of awareness of them.

Further, with regard to certificates of registration and their validity, I find that it is impossible to know whether one of these documents is valid, unless some annotation is made on the certificate that it is valid only for so long as the listed owner retains control of the aircraft, whether by leasing it or being the actual owner. There is no indication on the certificate as to its validity. Where the "owner" is actually a lessee, as in this case, some reference to this should be made on the certificate, identifying Crown–Phoenix as the actual owner. I find that it is wrong and misleading that no mention is made of this very material fact. Pilot licences and their medical certificates have validity dates, and so should certificates of registration and any other document which have a finite validity.

I propose that under the heading "Name(s) of Owner(s)" the following should appear:

"1014456 Ontario Ltd. (Crown Charter-Phoenix Aviation) aircraft on lease to 565176 Ontario Limited (Skyways)"

I also propose that there should be a VALIDITY box on the form, and that the words: "Valid only during the lease period between Crown–Phoenix and Skyways. This certificate expires on the expiration of the lease, April 30, 1999, unless renewed or cancelled."

This change to the form would make it clear to anyone looking at the certificate whether it is valid or not, without having to resort to looking up the regulations and asking questions about lease validity to determine the validity of a certificate of registration.

I have determined that Crown–Phoenix did contravene the regulations under reference above; however, there are mitigating circumstances, particularly with respect to section 202.13 of the CARs. Accordingly, I uphold Transport Canada's imposition of penalties, but reduce them as follows:

Count 1: $250.00
Count 2: $250.00
Total:      $500.00

Crown–Phoenix would do well to make itself more aware of the CARs, particularly those which govern its particular operation, and to tighten up its administration procedures so that it is not found wanting in future.

Philip D. Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-2098-41 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP 5504-041492 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

1014456 Ontario Ltd. (crown Charter-phoenix Aviation), intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R. ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, par. 202.13(2), 605.85(1)(2)(4)

Certificat d'immatriculation, Réduction de l'amende


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 17 janvier 2001

TRADUCTION

J'ai décidé que 1014456 Ontario Ltd. (Crown Charter-Phoenix Aviation) a effectivement contrevenu aux règlements susmentionnés; par ailleurs, il y a des facteurs atténuants, en particulier en ce qui a trait à l'article 202.13 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Conséquemment, je maintiens les amendes imposées par le ministre des Transports mais je les réduis comme suit :

Chef d'accusation 1 : 250 $

Chef d'accusation 2 : 250 $

Le montant total de 500 $ est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les quinze jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a eu lieu le mercredi 10 janvier 2001 à 13 h à l'Hôtel de ville de Brantford (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

1014456 Ontario Limited - Crown Charter-Phoenix Aviation (Crown–Phoenix) a loué un Cessna 172N, C-GUMV à 565176 Ontario Limited (Skyways). Un certificat d'immatriculation a été délivré en date du 5 décembre 1997, lequel atteste du changement d'utilisateur de l'aéronef (pièce M-1). Ce bail se terminait le 30 avril 1999 (pièce M-2), mettant ainsi fin automatiquement à l'immatriculation de l'aéronef.

Le prochain certificat d'immatriculation du C-GUMV a été délivré le 12 avril 2000 (pièce M-3), de sorte qu'au cours de la période du 30 avril 1999 jusqu'au 12 avril 2000, l'aéronef n'était pas légalement immatriculé.

De plus, une maintenance a été effectuée sur le C-GUMV et, le 18 novembre 1999, l'aéronef a reçu une certification signée, sous réserve d'un vol d'essai satisfaisant. On n'a jamais inscrit ce vol d'essai au carnet de route de l'aéronef, bien que l'aéronef ait volé le jour suivant, soit le 19 novembre 1999 et à diverses autres occasions alors que son certificat d'immatriculation était invalide (pièce M-6).

Il semble qu'à la suite d'une vérification chez Skyways, alors que le C-GUMV ne figurait plus à ses registres, Transports Canada a enquêté sur cette affaire et a imposé à Crown– Phoenix des amendes sur deux chefs d'accusation qui totalisent 1 500 $, pour avoir enfreint les paragraphes 202.13(2) et 605.85(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC), en vertu du paragraphe 8.4(2) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

L'amende n'a pas été payée, d'où la demande d'audience en révision du ministre des Transports à titre de requérant. L'intimé ne s'était pas présenté à 10 h et il a communiqué avec le Tribunal pour dire que sa secrétaire l'avait mal informé de la date. J'ai consenti à lui donner jusqu'à 13 h pour se présenter, faute de quoi, l'audience procéderait sans lui et je n'aurais pas la compétence en vertu de la Loi de modifier la peine. Il a agréé et s'est effectivement présenté à 13 h.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 202.13(2) du RAC prévoit :

(2) Sauf dans les cas où une autorisation est délivrée en application des paragraphes 202.14(1), 202.42(3) ou 202.43(1), il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef au Canada à moins qu'il ne soit immatriculé au Canada, dans un État contractant ou dans un État étranger qui a conclu avec le Canada un accord permettant l'utilisation au Canada d'un aéronef immatriculé dans cet État.

Les paragraphes 605.85(1), (2) et (4) du RAC prévoient :

605.85 (1) Sous réserve des paragraphes (2) et (3), il est interdit à toute personne d'effectuer le décollage d'un aéronef dont elle a la garde et la responsabilité légales ou de permettre à toute personne d'effectuer un tel décollage lorsque l'aéronef a été soumis à un travail de maintenance, à moins que ce travail n'ait été certifié au moyen d'une certification après maintenance signée conformément à l'article 571.10.

(2) Lorsqu'un aéronef doit réussir un vol d'essai pour obtenir une certification après maintenance en application du paragraphe 571.10(4), il peut être utilisé à cette fin pourvu que seuls soient transportés à bord les membres d'équipage de conduite et les personnes nécessaires pour noter les observations essentielles au vol d'essai.

[...]

(4) Une certification après maintenance n'est pas exigée dans le cas de travaux élémentaires visés dans les Normes relatives à l'équipement et à la maintenance des aéronefs.

Les paragraphes 202.35(1) et (3) du RAC prévoient :

202.35 (1) Sous réserve de la sous-partie 3, le certificat d'immatriculation d'un aéronef canadien est annulé dès que le propriétaire enregistré transfère toute partie de la garde et de la responsabilité légales de l'aéronef.

[...]

(3) pour l'application de la présente section, le propriétaire a la garde et la responsabilité légales d'un aéronef canadien s'il a l'entière responsabilité de l'utilisation et de la maintenance de l'aéronef.

LA PREUVE ET LES ARGUMENTS ORAUX

Pour le requérant-Ministre des Transports

M. Shimmin a présenté les circonstances du cas et a appelé ses deux témoins à témoigner sur les détails et l'affaire soulevée. Au cours de cette présentation, il a présenté un total de huit pièces et exemplaires des règlements appropriés.

Mme Pybus a témoigné qu'elle a enquêté sur cette affaire. Son enquête a permis de découvrir que Crown–Phoenix a contrevenu aux règlements en pilotant un Cessna 172N, C-GUMV sans certificat d'immatriculation valide. Elle a de plus témoigné qu'une maintenance a été effectuée sur l'aéronef le 18 novembre 1999, ce qui nécessite un vol d'essai. L'aéronef a été piloté le jour suivant, soit le 19 novembre, et par la suite, mais aucune inscription du vol d'essai n'a été effectuée. Les paragraphes 202.13(2), 605.85(1), (2), (4), 202.35 (1) et (3) susmentionnés du RAC ont été enfreints.

M. Field a contre-interrogé Mme Pybus pour tenter de cerner les prescriptions liées à l'immatriculation et au vol d'essai. Il cherchait à justifier l'absence de certificat d'immatriculation en demandant si, puisque les règlements annulent automatiquement un certificat d'immatriculation à la fin d'un bail, n'ont-ils pas pour effet de le remettre en vigueur au bénéfice du propriétaire? Ce n'est PAS le cas.

M. Field a aussi tenté de clarifier ce qui constituait un vol d'essai réussi. On lui a dit que le commandant de bord devait établir que l'aéronef se comportait conformément à son manuel de vol et qu'il est prescrit qu'une annotation doit être faite au carnet de route : «  Vol d'essai complété de façon satisfaisante  » (RAC 605.94), ce qui n'a pas été fait.

M. Field a de plus cherché à discréditer Skyways, le locataire, qui était responsable de prévenir Transports Canada de l'expiration du bail et du certificat d'immatriculation. Il a aussi plaidé que bien que la date d'expiration du bail soit le 30 avril 1999, ce document a été préparé quelque sept à dix mois plus tard et était antidaté au 30 avril 1999. Il se demandait si des accusations avaient été portées contre Skyways, étant donné qu'elle avait enfreint les règlements, puisqu'elle n'a pas avisé Transports Canada de l'expiration du bail. Transports Canada n'a pas répondu à cette question.

Le deuxième témoin, l'inspecteur John Blascik a alors rendu son témoignage. Il a dit qu'il avait effectué une enquête sur Skyways entre janvier et mars 2000. Il a constaté que le C-GUMV n'était plus avec Skyways et il a recherché l'aéronef. Il l'a trouvé à Brantford et il a aidé Crown–Phoenix à faire une demande de nouveau certificat d'immatriculation. Il a alors découvert qu'une demande avait déjà été faite et qu'elle était en cours.

Il semble que Transports Canada ait découvert ces infractions aux règlements dans le cadre de cette enquête.

M. Blascik a ensuite témoigné qu'il avait découvert qu'aucune inscription de vol d'essai ayant pu avoir lieu ne figurait au carnet de route. De plus, en répondant au contre-interrogatoire de M. Field, il a répondu qu'il n'avait fait aucune recommandation de poursuite contre Skyways.

Faisant suite à son enquête, John Blascik a délivré un «  Rapport d'inspection de l'aéronef  » (pièce M-7), et un «  Avis de détection  » (pièce M-8). Ces deux documents décrivent la découverte du C-GUMV à Brantford, aux installations de Crown–Phoenix et les efforts pour qu'il soit immatriculé de nouveau. L'avis de détection décrit l'infraction à l'article 605.85, en raison de l'absence de vol d'essai à la suite de la maintenance, et une recommandation pour poursuivre l'enquête.

Le ministre a terminé son plaidoyer.

Pour l'intimée-Crown–Phoenix

M. Blaine Field s'est ensuite présenté et il a été dûment assermenté. Il a alors expliqué que bien qu'aucune inscription ne figurait au carnet de route, un vol d'essai avait effectivement eu lieu mais que le pilote n'avait pas fait l'inscription appropriée au carnet de route.

En dépit de la date sur le document d'expiration du bail et de sa signature, il a affirmé que la date de validité du bail était effectivement la date à laquelle le document avait été préparé, soit sept à dix mois plus tard. Formulée ainsi, cette affirmation n'a pas de sens puisque sa signature figure sur l'expiration du bail en date du 30 avril 1999.

Afin de clarifier son point de vue, j'ai interrogé M. Field sur les circonstances entourant le bail et son expiration. Il ne pouvait dire la raison pour laquelle la date d'expiration du bail était le 30 avril mais il a fait allusion au paiement et à d'autres problèmes avec Skyways et au fait que Crown–Phoenix ne voulait pas continuer à louer l'aéronef à Skyways.

On s'aperçut que les violations aux règlements de Crown–Phoenix étaient vraisemblablement imputables à une gestion négligée et à un manque de sensibilisation aux règlements et à leur application à cette situation.

Dans son résumé, M. Field admet avoir tiré une leçon de cette expérience et qu'il en accepte l'entière responsabilité.

DISCUSSION ET DÉCISION

Je considère qu'il n'y a aucune malveillance ou intention de nuire de la part de Crown–Phoenix en transgressant les règlements. Il semble plutôt y avoir une mauvaise administration et un manque de sensibilisation quant aux règlements.

De plus, en ce qui a trait aux certificats d'immatriculation et à leur validité, je considère qu'il est impossible de savoir si un de ces documents est valide, à moins qu'une annotation soit faite au certificat valide seulement pour la période au cours de laquelle le propriétaire désigné a la garde de l'aéronef, qu'il s'agisse d'un locataire ou d'un propriétaire effectif. Il n'y a aucune indication sur le certificat en ce qui a trait à sa validité. Lorsque le «  propriétaire  » est dans les faits un locataire, comme dans le cas en l'espèce, on devrait le mentionner sur le certificat, établissant Crown–Phoenix comme propriétaire réel. Je considère qu'il est erroné et trompeur qu'aucune mention de ce fait déterminant ne soit faite. Les licences de pilotes et leurs certificats médicaux ont des dates de validité et il devrait en être autant des certificats d'immatriculation et de tout autre document dont la validité est limitée.

Je propose que sous la rubrique «  Nom(s) du (des)propriétaires(s)  », les mentions suivantes figurent :

« 1014456 Ontario Ltd. (Crown Charter-Phoenix Aviation) aéronef loué à 565176 Ontario Limited (Skyways)  »

Je propose de plus qu'il y ait une case VALIDITÉ sur le formulaire et la mention : «  Valide seulement pendant la période de location entre Crown–Phoenix et Skyways. Ce certificat prend fin à l'expiration du bail, soit le 30 avril 1999, à moins qu'il ne soit renouvelé ou annulé  ».

Cette modification au formulaire indiquerait clairement à quiconque regarde le certificat, s'il est valide ou non, sans qu'il faille consulter les règlements et se demander des questions sur la validité du bail pour déterminer la validité du certificat d'immatriculation.

J'ai conclu que Crown–Phoenix a effectivement contrevenu aux règlements susmentionnés; toutefois, il y a des facteurs atténuants, en particulier en ce qui a trait à l'article 202.13 du RAC. Par conséquent, je maintiens les amendes imposées par Transports Canada mais je les réduis comme suit :

Chef d'accusation 1 : 250 $
Chef d'accusation 2 : 250 $
Total :                         500 $

Crown–Phoenix aurait intérêt à se sensibiliser d'avantage au RAC, en particulier aux parties qui régissent ses activités particulières et à resserrer ses procédures administratives afin de ne pas être en défaut à l'avenir.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile