Decisions

CAT File No. O-2193-37
MoT File No. PAP 5504-042322

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

James Edward Garrow, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S., c. 33 (1st Supp), s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 202.13(2), 406.05(1), 406.05(2), 606.02(8)

Ultra-Light Aircraft, Insurance, Increase of Monetary Penalty, Failure to Appear at Hearing, Certificate of Registration


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: June 25, 2001

James Edward Garrow did contravene the regulations as alleged by the Minister. I therefore uphold the sanctions for Count 1, 3 and 4, but increase the penalty for Count 2 to $1,500.00 for a total amount of $2,850.00. This amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held April 24 and 25 and reconvened June 20, 2001 at Kitchener, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

Consequent on reports made to Transport Canada about alleged irregularities concerning the operation of an ultra-light aircraft, Zenair Zodiac CH601HD, registered as C-IIIA, by James Edward Garrow, they commenced an investigation. As a result of this investigation, Mr. Garrow was allegedly found to have infringed the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), and Transport Canada issued the familiar "Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty" scheduling 4 alleged offences, with fines totalling $2,350.

Mr. Garrow did not pay the fine, and the Minister of Transport applied to the Tribunal for a Review Hearing, which was scheduled and took place in Kitchener, Ontario, initially on April 24 and 25, 2001. On the second day of this hearing, Mr. Garrow claimed that:

  1. He did not know that he had the right to bring witnesses;
  2. He did not know that he had the right to retain counsel, etc.;
  3. He did not know anything about Tribunal hearings and their conduct.

At this stage, I realized that to continue the hearing would be contrary to the precepts of fairness and natural justice, and to give Mr. Garrow the fullest opportunity to defend himself, I adjourned the hearing, with the promise that he would be contacted by the Tribunal with a Guide to Tribunal Hearings, and a new date for the resumption of the hearing. I expressed surprise that he had not already received this together with the notice of the hearing - he denied having received it.

In the interim period of two months, repeated attempts were made to contact Mr. Garrow by phone, and to serve him with another copy of the Guide to Tribunal Hearings, and the notice of the reconvened hearing. Eventually, the bailiff was able to serve the documents on his wife. There is an affidavit on file to this effect.

At 10:00 a.m., on June 20, 2001, I reconvened the hearing at the Regional Municipality of Waterloo Building, in Kitchener, Ontario. Mr Garrow was not present, and to give him every opportunity to attend, I recessed for 30 minutes. At 10:30 a.m. he had not arrived, and I therefore resumed the hearing in his absence.

THE LAW

Subsection 202.13(2) of the CARs (Offence 1 – $1,000):

202.13 (1) [...]

(2) Except as otherwise authorized pursuant to subsection 202.14(1), 202.42(3) or 202.43(1), no person shall operate an aircraft in Canada unless it is registered in Canada, in a contracting state or in a foreign state that has an agreement in force with Canada that allows an aircraft that is registered in that foreign state to be operated in Canada.

Subsection 606.02(8) of the CARs (Offence 2 – $1,000):

606.02 (1) [...]

(8) No aircraft owner not referred to in paragraph (2)(a), (b) or (c) shall operate an aircraft unless, in respect of every incident related to the operation of the aircraft, the owner has subscribed for liability insurance covering risks of public liability in an amount that is not less than

(a) $100,000, where the maximum permissible take-off weight of the aircraft is 1 043 kg (2,300 pounds) or less;

(b) $500,000, where the maximum permissible take-off weight of the aircraft is greater than 1 043 kg (2,300 pounds) but not greater than 2 268 kg (5,000 pounds);

(c) $1,000,000, where the maximum permissible take-off weight of the aircraft is greater than 2 268 kg (5,000 pounds) but not greater than 5 670 kg (12,500 pounds);

(d) $2,000,000, where the maximum permissible take-off weight of the aircraft is greater than 5 670 kg (12,500 pounds) but not greater than 34 020 kg (75,000 pounds); and

(e) $3,000,000, where the maximum permissible take-off weight of the aircraft is greater than 34 020 kg (75,000 pounds).

Subsection 406.05(1) of the CARs (Offence 3 – $250):

406.05 (1) No person shall operate a flight training unit using a glider, balloon, gyroplane or ultra-light aeroplane in Canada unless the person notifies the Minister in writing of

(a) the legal name, trade name and address of the operator of the flight training unit;

(b) the base of operations;

(c) the category of aircraft;

(d) the type of flight training to be conducted; and

(e) the name of the flight instructor who will be responsible for operational control of the flight training operations.

Subsection 406.05(2) of the CARs (Offence 4 – $100):

(2) The information referred to in subsection (1) shall be provided to the Minister by the flight training unit

(a) prior to commencing flight training operations;

(b) within 10 working days after any change in the information; and

(c) upon the service being discontinued.

The total fines amount to $2,350.00.

EVIDENCE

The Minister's case was presented by Mr. Richard Newcombe. He presented a dossier of exhibits, M-1, divided into six sections, which are appropriately numbered. Mr. Newcombe called seven witnesses, five of whom appeared during the first session, on April 24 and 25, with the remaining two appearing on June 20th.

Mr. Garrow agreed that he had received full disclosure, and was also given a copy of the dossier of exhibits.

I excluded all of the other witnesses before Mr. Newcombe called his first witness, Ms. Pat Pybus. She is Transport Canada's civil aviation safety inspector who investigated this case. She was affirmed in the usual manner. Mr. Newcombe took Ms. Pybus through the dossier of exhibits.

It was established that Mr. Garrow had bought the aircraft, Xenair Zodiac CH 601, registration C-IIIA from Mr. Art Mitchell of Flypass Ltd, on March 3, 4 and 5, 2000 (Exhibit M-1, 2A, 3, 4 & 5). Its certificate of registration (C of R) became invalid as ownership and control of the aircraft passed to Mr. Garrow. It was then necessary for the new owner to apply for and obtain a new certificate of registration. It was established that he did not do so, even after receiving a request from Transport Canada in a letter dated August 9, 2000 (Exhibit M-1, 3C).

It was established that Mr. Garrow operated the aircraft and established a training school, using instructors James Martin and Dale Lounsbury. Some 60 flights were operated between May 27 and June 7, 2000. During this time the aircraft. was neither registered nor insured. When the training pilots became aware of the lack of insurance, they ceased operations and during their attempts to establish whether the aircraft was insured, they made reports to Transport Canada, when they found that it was not insured. They said, under oath, that Mr. Garrow had told them that the aircraft was insured through COPA Insurance and/or British Aviation. It is also clear that Mr. Garrow never notified Transport Canada of his training school, or that he had commenced training pilots.

Witnesses Peter Ireland, COPA Insurance, and Linda Horrobin, Insurance Broker, British Aviation, testified that there was no insurance in effect on C-IIIA after May 1, 2000.

Transport Canada has only fined Mr. Garrow for one flight; however, there were 60 flights recorded in the aircraft logbook, and they could have charged him with all of these.

In his exhaustive cross-examination of Ms. Pybus, Mr. Garrow sought to establish that he was always the owner of C-IIIA, and that he was a part-owner of Flypass Ltd., in which name the aircraft was registered. He further alleged that the bills of sale are "perjured and false". Despite producing some documentation showing that he owned C-IIIA, the aircraft was never registered in Mr. Garrow's name.

Mr. Garrow took issue with and questioned the validity of the exhibits. He frequently delved into irrelevant issues, and I had to continually advise him to keep his questions relevant. Despite my interventions he continued to do so, and went through the Minister's Exhibit M-1 page by page, frequently taking issue with Ms. Pybus, and threatening to take legal action against those who were instrumental in bringing this action by the Minister against him.

Mr. Garrow did not have any questions for the two insurance witnesses.

He did take issue with each of his former flight instructors, witnesses Dale Lounsbury, and James Martin, both of whose evidence was straightforward and to the point. I had to bring up Mr. Garrow repeatedly on irrelevance during his questioning of these witnesses. He became angry and distraught, especially when his line of questioning on money, and how much was paid to whom was ruled not relevant. Mr. Garrow's behaviour became threatening. When Mr. Newcombe declined redirect following Mr. Garrow's cross-examination of Mr. Martin, Mr. Garrow queried the meaning of redirect, and I explained it to him. He expressed frustration in an aggressive manner, saying that he had not been briefed by the Tribunal on the conduct of hearings. He stated that he did not know that he could retain counsel, or bring witnesses. I expressed surprise that he had not received the Tribunal's Guide to Tribunal Hearings, when he was informed of the date and place of this hearing: he denied having received this. At this stage, I adjourned the hearing in the interest of fairness and natural justice to Mr. Garrow, giving him the benefit of the doubt.

On resuming the hearing on June 20th, Mr. Garrow did not appear, despite a late start at 10:30 a.m., to give him time to make the hearing, lest he had been unavoidably delayed.

Two remaining witnesses testified: Mr. Art Mitchell, the former owner of the aircraft and Owner of Flypass Ltd. Mr. Mitchell testified that he had been the owner of C-IIIA. He confirmed the bills of sale of the aircraft to Mr. Garrow, to whom he passed ownership in settlement of a personal debt. Mr. Mitchell testified that Mr. Garrow had not had any share in his company, Flypass Ltd., or in C-IIIA prior to March 5, 2000.

Mr. Mitchell further confirmed under oath that he had terminated his training school, and the insurance on the aircraft on April 30, 2000 after it left his ownership and control. He also confirmed the validity of the exhibits relevant to him, in the Minister's Exhibit M-1.

Mr. Amy was the final witness. He was a student who paid Mr. Garrow for his training. He testified that he had brought copies of his cancelled cheques and his logbook to the hearing on April 24 and 25, and that the brown envelope they were in had been taken by Mr. Garrow from the table, sometime during these days. He had contacted Mr. Garrow, who admitted that he had them, and would return them, but had not done so. Mr. Amy testified that he had paid Mr. Garrow for the training he received.

The evidentiary record was closed, and in his summary, Mr. Newcombe reiterated the salient points of the case, emphasizing that Mr. Garrow had ignored a reminder from the Minister to register his aircraft, and that he had operated it without insurance, jeopardizing the instructors and the public at large. He had, said Mr. Newcombe, shown complete disregard and disrespect for the regulations, and his responsibilities as an aircraft owner.

DETERMINATION

During the time that Mr. Garrow attended the hearing I sought to help and advise him of his rights and conduct at Tribunal hearings. It is unfortunate that he has chosen not to attend the second sitting of this hearing to give evidence on his own behalf. As a result, and in the light of the overwhelming evidence corroborated by all of the Minister's witnesses, I find that Mr. Garrow did contravene all of the regulations under reference above.

I also find that Mr. Garrow has demonstrated contempt for the regulations and Transport Canada's attempts to enforce them. I therefore uphold the penalties assessed in the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty, except that I increase the fine levied in count 2 to $1,500.00. My reason for increasing this penalty is that Mr. Garrow sought to deceive his two instructors that the aircraft was insured, when it was not. This was not only illegal, but it essentially stripped them of any protection they would have been entitled to, had there been an accident; not to mention the public at large.

The schedule of penalties therefore becomes:

  • Count 1 $1,000.00
  • Count 2 $1,500.00
  • Count 3 $250.00
  • Count 4 $100.00
  • Total      $2,850.00

In summary, at the conclusion of this hearing, I have determined that James Edward Garrow did contravene the regulations as alleged by the Minister. I therefore uphold the sanctions for Counts 1, 3 and 4, but increase the penalty for Count 2 to $1,500.00, because he sought to deceive his two instructors that his aircraft was insured, when it was not. The total amount of the penalty is $2,850.00.

Philip D. Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


Appeal decision
Allister W. Ogilvie, Samuel J. Birenbaum, Suzanne Racine


Decision: December 28, 2001

In view of the Appellant's failure to appear, there was no case for the Respondent to meet. We determined that the Appeal was to be dismissed, and that the Review Determination be upheld. The total amount of $2,850.00 is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

In accordance with a duly served Notice of Hearing, a hearing was convened to address the Appeal filed by Mr. James Edward Garrow of the Review Determination rendered by Tribunal Member, Mr. Philip Jardim, dated June 25, 2001.

The hearing convened at 10:00 a.m., December 13, 2001, in Toronto, Ontario. The Respondent Minister of Transport was represented by Mr. G. Hector. The hearing was adjourned until 10:15 to allow for a possible late appearance. During that time, it was verified that the Tribunal's registrar had not received any message from Mr. Garrow regarding his absence.

The hearing reconvened at 10:15 a.m. In view of the Appellant's failure to appear, there was no case for the Respondent to meet. We determined that the Appeal was to be dismissed, and that the Review Determination be upheld.

Reasons for the appeal determination:

Allister Ogilvie, Chairperson

Concurred:

Dr. Samuel Birenbaum, Member
Suzanne Racine, Member

Décisions

Dossier no O-2193-37 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP 5504-042322 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

James Edward Garrow, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R., ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 202.13(2), 406.05(1, 406.05(2), 606.02(8)

Omission de comparaître à l'audience, Certificat d'immatriculation, Augmentation de l'amende, Assurance, Aéronef ultraléger


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 25 juin 2001

TRADUCTION

James Edward Garrow a effectivement contrevenu au règlement, ainsi que l'allègue le ministre. Je maintiens donc les sanctions aux chefs d'accusation 1, 3 et 4, mais j'augmente la pénalité au chef d'accusation 2 à 1 500 $, portant le total à 2 850 $. Ce montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours de la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue les 24 et 25 avril 2001 et reprise le 20 juin 2001 à Kitchener (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

À la suite d'un rapport présenté à Transports Canada sur les présumées irrégularités concernant la conduite d'un aéronef ultra-léger, un Zenair Zodiac CH601HD, immatriculé C-IIIA, par James Edward Garrow, une enquête a été entreprise. À la suite de cette enquête, on a prétendu que M. Garrow avait contrevenu au Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) et Transports Canada a délivré l'«  Avis d'amende pour contravention  » habituel alléguant 4 présumées infractions et imposant des amendes totalisant 2 350 $.

M. Garrow n'a pas payé l'amende et le ministre des Transports a demandé une audience en révision au Tribunal, qui a été fixée et a eu lieu à Kitchener (Ontario), d'abord les 24 et 25 avril 2001. Le deuxième jour de l'audience, M. Garrow a prétendu :

  1. 1. qu'il ne savait pas qu'il avait le droit d'assigner des témoins;
  2. 2. qu'il ne savait pas qu'il avait le droit d'avoir recours à un avocat;
  3. 3. qu'il ne connaissait rien au sujet des audiences du Tribunal et de leur déroulement.

À cette étape, j'ai réalisé que la poursuite de l'audience serait contraire aux principes d'équité et de justice naturelle et, afin de donner à M. Garrow l'entière possibilité de se défendre, j'ai ajourné l'audience en lui promettant que le Tribunal communiquerait avec lui pour lui faire parvenir le Guide sur les audiences du Tribunal et une date de reprise d'audience. J'ai exprimé ma surprise qu'il n'ait pas déjà reçu le guide avec l'avis d'audience et il a nié l'avoir reçu.

Au cours des deux mois suivants, on a tenté à plusieurs reprises de joindre M. Garrow par téléphone, de lui remettre un exemplaire du Guide sur les audiences du Tribunal de même qu'un avis de reprise d'audience. Finalement, l'huissier a réussi à remettre les documents à son épouse. Il existe une déclaration sous serment au dossier à cet effet.

À 10 h, le 20 juin 2001, j'ai repris l'audience dans l'édifice de la municipalité régionale de Waterloo, à Kitchener en Ontario. M Garrow était absent et afin de lui donner toutes les chances de se présenter, j'ai ajourné l'audience pendant 30 minutes. À 10 h 30, il n'était pas arrivé; j'ai donc repris l'audience en son absence.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 202.13(2) du RAC (Infraction 1 – 1 000 $):

202.13 (1) [...]

(2) Sauf dans les cas où une autorisation est délivrée en application des paragraphes 202.14(1), 202.42(3) ou 202.43(1), il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef au Canada à moins qu'il ne soit immatriculé au Canada, dans un État contractant ou dans un État étranger qui a conclu avec le Canada un accord permettant l'utilisation au Canada d'un aéronef immatriculé dans cet État.

Le paragraphe 606.02(8) du RAC (Infraction 2 – 1 000 $) :

606.02 (1) [...]

(8) Il est interdit au propriétaire autre qu'un propriétaire visé aux alinéas (2)a), b) ou c) d'utiliser un aéronef à moins d'avoir contracté, pour chaque sinistre lié à l'utilisation de l'aéronef, une assurance-responsabilité couvrant la responsabilité civile d'un montant au moins égal à :
a) 100 000 $, si la masse maximale admissible au décollage de l'aéronef ne dépasse pas 1 043 kg (2 300 livres);
b) 500 000 $, si la masse maximale admissible au décollage de l'aéronef est supérieure à 1 043 kg (2 300 livres) sans dépasser 2 268 kg (5 000 livres);
c) 1 000 000 $, si la masse maximale admissible au décollage de l'aéronef est supérieure à 2 268 kg (5 000 livres) sans dépasser 5 670 kg (12 500 livres);
d) 2 000 000 $, si la masse maximale admissible au décollage de l'aéronef est supérieure à 5 670 kg (12 500 livres) sans dépasser 34 020 kg (75 000 livres);
e) 3 000 000 $, si la masse maximale admissible au décollage de l'aéronef dépasse 34 020 kg (75 000 livres).

Le paragraphe 406.05(1) du RAC (Infraction 3 – 250 $) :

406.05 (1) Il est interdit d'exploiter au Canada une unité de formation au pilotage qui utilise un planeur, un ballon, un autogire ou un avion ultra-léger, à moins d'aviser par écrit le ministre :
a) de la dénomination sociale, du nom commercial et de l'adresse de l'exploitant de l'unité de formation au pilotage;
b) de la base d'exploitation;
c) de la catégorie d'aéronef;
d) du type d'entraînement en vol à dispenser;
e) du nom de l'instructeur de vol qui sera responsable du contrôle d'exploitation des opérations d'entraînement en vol.

Le paragraphe 406.05(2) du RAC (Infraction 4 – 100 $) :

(2) Les renseignements visés au paragraphe (1) doivent être fournis au ministre par l'unité de formation au pilotage :
a) avant le commencement des opérations d'entraînement en vol;
b) dans les 10 jours ouvrables qui suivent toute modification aux renseignements;
c) lorsque le service est abandonné.

La somme des amendes totalise 2 350 $.

LA PREUVE

Le cas du ministre a été présenté par M. Richard Newcombe. Il a présenté un dossier de preuves, M-1, divisé en six sections convenablement numérotées. M. Newcombe a appelé sept témoins; cinq d'entre eux ont comparu au cours de la première session, les 24 et 25 avril, et les deux autres ont comparu le 20 juin.

M. Garrow a admis qu'il avait reçu une pleine communication de la preuve et qu'une copie du dossier de preuves lui avait été remise.

J'ai exclu l'ensemble des autres témoins avant que M. Newcombe n'appelle son premier témoin, Mme Pat Pybus. Elle est inspecteur de la sécurité au service de l'aviation civile de Transports Canada et à ce titre, elle a mené l'enquête reliée à ce dossier. Elle a été assermentée comme il se doit. M. Newcombe a passé en revue le dossier des pièces avec Mme Pybus.

On a établi que M. Garrow avait acheté l'aéronef Xenair Zodiac CH 601, immatriculé C-IIIA de M. Art Mitchell de Flypass Ltd, les 3, 4 et 5 mars 2000 (pièces M-1, 2A, 3, 4 et 5). Son certificat d'immatriculation est devenu invalide alors que la propriété et la garde de l'aéronef ont été transférées à M. Garrow. Il fallait alors que le nouveau propriétaire fasse une demande et obtienne un nouveau certificat d'immatriculation. On a établi qu'il ne l'a pas fait, même après avoir reçu une demande écrite de Transports Canada en date du 9 août 2000 (pièce M-1, 3C).

On a établi que M. Garrow a utilisé l'aéronef, qu'il a mis sur pied une école de formation et qu'il a retenu les services des instructeurs James Martin et Dale Lounsbury. Quelque 60 vols ont été effectués entre le 27 mai et le 7 juin 2000. Au cours de cette période, l'aéronef n'était ni immatriculé, ni assuré. Lorsque les pilotes de formation se sont rendu compte de l'absence d'assurances, ils ont cessé leurs activités et dans le cours de leurs tentatives pour établir si l'aéronef était assuré, ils ont fait un rapport à Transports Canada, lorsqu'ils ont découvert qu'il ne l'était pas. Ils ont déclaré, sous la foi du serment, que M. Garrow leur avait dit que l'aéronef était assuré par COPA Insurance ou British Aviation. Il est de plus évident que M. Garrow n'a jamais avisé Transports Canada de l'existence de son école de formation ou du fait qu'il avait commencé à former des pilotes.

Les témoins Peter Ireland, de COPA Insurance, et Linda Horrobin, courtier d'assurances pour le compte de British Aviation ont témoigné qu'aucune assurance n'était en vigueur pour le C-IIIA, après le 1er mai 2000.

Transports Canada a imposé une amende à M. Garrow pour un vol seulement; toutefois, 60 vols ont été inscrits au carnet de l'aéronef et il aurait pu être accusé de l'ensemble de ceux-ci.

Lors de son contre-interrogatoire exhaustif de Mme Pybus, M. Garrow a tenté d'établir qu'il avait toujours été propriétaire du C-IIIA et qu'il était copropriétaire de Flypass Ltd., au nom de laquelle l'aéronef était immatriculé. Il a de plus allégué que les factures de vente constituaient des parjures et étaient fausses. En dépit de la présentation de documents qui montraient que le C-IIIA lui appartenait, l'aéronef n'a jamais été immatriculé au nom de M. Garrow.

M. Garrow a contesté et remis en question la validité des pièces. Il a souvent approfondi des questions qui n'étaient pas pertinentes et je devais continuellement lui rappeler de poser des questions appropriées. En dépit de mes interventions, il a continué à le faire et il a passé en revue la pièce M-1 du ministre, page par page, en contestant fréquemment Mme Pybus et en menaçant de poursuivre ceux qui avaient contribué à faire en sorte que le ministre entreprenne cette poursuite contre lui.

M. Garrow n'avait aucune question à l'intention des témoins reliés aux assurances.

Il a contesté chacun de ses anciens instructeurs de vol, les témoins Dale Lounsbury et James Martin, dont la preuve était claire et directe dans les deux cas. J'ai dû soulever à maintes reprises la non-pertinence des questions de M. Garrow lors de l'interrogatoire des témoins. Il a manifesté de la colère et de l'anxiété, particulièrement lorsque ses questions sur l'argent, et combien avait été versé à chacun, ont été jugées non pertinentes. Le comportement de M. Garrow est devenu menaçant. Lorsque M. Newcombe a décliné le réinterrogatoire après que M. Garrow ait contre-interrogé M. Martin, M. Garrow a demandé le sens du réinterrogatoire et je le lui ai expliqué. Il a exprimé sa frustration de façon agressive, en disant que le Tribunal ne l'avait pas informé du déroulement des procédures. Il a déclaré qu'il ne savait pas qu'il pouvait avoir recours à un avocat ou présenter des témoins. J'ai exprimé ma surprise qu'il n'ait pas reçu le Guide sur les audiences du Tribunal, lorsqu'il a été informé de la date et du lieu de l'audience : il a nié l'avoir reçu. J'ai alors ajourné l'audience aux fins d'équité et de justice naturelle pour M. Garrow, lui accordant le bénéfice du doute.

À reprise de l'audience le 20 juin, M. Garrow ne s'est pas présenté, en dépit qu'on ait retardé le début de l'audience jusqu'à 10 h 30, pour lui donner le temps de se présenter, au cas où il ait été retardé pour une raison majeure.

Les deux autres témoins ont témoigné : M. Art Mitchell, l'ancien propriétaire de l'aéronef et propriétaire de Flypass Ltd. M. Mitchell a indiqué qu'il avait été propriétaire du C-IIIA. Il a confirmé la facture de vente de l'aéronef à M. Garrow, à qui il a transféré la propriété en règlement d'une dette personnelle. M. Mitchell a témoigné que M. Garrow n'avait eu aucune action dans sa compagnie, Flypass Ltd., ou dans le C-IIIA, avant le 5 mars 2000.

M. Mitchell a de plus confirmé sous la foi du serment qu'il avait fermé son école de formation et annulé l'assurance de l'aéronef, le 30 avril 2000, après qu'il ait cessé d'en être propriétaire et d'en avoir la garde. Il a de plus confirmé la validité des éléments de la pièce M-1 du ministre qui le concernaient.

M. Amy était le dernier témoin. Il est un étudiant qui a payé M. Garrow pour de la formation. Il a témoigné qu'il avait apporté les copies de ses chèques annulés et de son carnet à l'audience des 24 et 25 avril et que M. Garrow avait alors, à un moment donné, pris l'enveloppe brune déposée sur la table et dans laquelle elles se trouvaient. Il avait communiqué avec M. Garrow qui a admis qu'il les avait et qu'il allait les lui retourner mais il ne l'avait pas encore fait. M. Amy a témoigné qu'il avait payé M. Garrow pour la formation qu'il avait reçue.

On a terminé la présentation de la preuve et dans son résumé, M. Newcombe a réitéré les points importants de la cause, en mettant l'accent sur le fait que M. Garrow a ignoré un avis de rappel du ministre pour immatriculer son aéronef et qu'il l'avait utilisé sans assurance, compromettant ainsi les instructeurs et le public en général. Il a, selon M. Newcombe, montré un mépris et un manque de respect complets vis-à-vis les règlements et ses responsabilités à titre de propriétaire d'aéronef.

DÉCISION

Quand M. Garrow a assisté à l'audience, j'ai tenté de l'aider en le conseillant sur ses droits et le déroulement des audiences du Tribunal. Il est malheureux qu'il ait choisi de ne pas assister à la deuxième séance de l'audience pour présenter sa propre preuve. En conséquence et à la lumière de la preuve accablante corroborée par tous les témoins du ministre, je considère que M. Garrow a effectivement contrevenu à tous les règlements susmentionnés.

Je considère de plus que M. Garrow a fait preuve de mépris à l'égard des règlements et des tentatives de Transports Canada de les faire appliquer. Je maintiens donc les peines imposées dans l'Avis d'amende pour contravention, mais j'augmente l'amende imposée au chef d'accusation 2 à 1 500 $. J'augmente cette peine en raison du fait que M. Garrow a tenté de tromper ses deux instructeurs en prétendant que l'aéronef était assuré, alors qu'il ne l'était pas. Il s'agit non seulement d'un geste illégal mais d'une privation de toute forme de protection en cas d'accident, protection à laquelle ils avaient droit, sans mentionner celle du public en général.

Le barème des amendes devient donc :

Chef d'accusation 1 1 000 $
Chef d'accusation 2 1 500 $
Chef d'accusation 3    250 $
Chef d'accusation 4    100 $

Total                        2 850 $

En résumé, à la conclusion de cette audience, j'ai décidé que James Edward Garrow a effectivement contrevenu aux règlements allégués par le ministre. Je maintiens donc les sanctions aux chefs d'accusation 1, 3 et 4, mais j'augmente l'amende au chef d'accusation 2 à 1 500 $, parce qu'il a tenté de tromper ses deux instructeurs en prétendant que l'aéronef était assuré alors qu'il ne l'était pas. L'amende totale s'élève à 2 850 $.

Philip D. Jardim
conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


Décision à la suite d'un appel
Allister W. Ogilvie, Samuel J. Birenbaum, Suzanne Racine


Décision : le 28 décembre 2001

TRADUCTION

Parce que l'appelant n'a pas comparu, l'intimé n'avait aucune réponse à présenter. Nous avons décidé que l'appel devait être rejeté et que la décision à la suite de la révision devait être maintenue. Le montant total de 2 850 $ est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de cette décision.

Conformément à un Avis d'audience dûment signifié, une audience a été convoquée pour décider d'un appel interjeté par M. James Edward Garrow de la décision à la suite d'une révision rendue par le conseiller du Tribunal, M. Philip Jardim, le 25 juin 2001.

L'audience a été convoquée à 10 h, le 13 décembre 2001, à Toronto (Ontario). L'intimé, le ministre des Transports était représenté par Me G. Hector. L'audience a été ajournée jusqu'à 10 h 15 pour permettre l'arrivée éventuelle de l'appelant. Pendant ce temps, on a vérifié au greffe du Tribunal si M. Garrow nous avait fait parvenir un message relatif à son absence.

L'audience a repris à 10 h 15. En raison de l'absence de l'appelant, l'intimé n'avait aucune défense à présenter. Nous avons décidé de rejeter l'appel et de maintenir la décision à la suite d'une révision.

Allister Ogilvie, vice-président
Dr Samuel Birenbaum, conseiller
Suzanne Racine, conseillère