Decisions

CAT File No. O-2332-52
MoT File No. PB-72000312

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

John David Clancy, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Security Regulations, SOR/2000-111, s. 41

Retricted area pass


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: January 21, 2002

John David Clancy was in breach of section 41 of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations on July 26, 2001. However, in the circumstances, I reduce the fine to $25. This amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, January 16, 2002 at 10:00 hours at Sudbury, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

On July 26, 2001, Transport Canada's Regional Security Inspector, John Rehn, conducted a security audit/inspection at the Sudbury Airport. At approximately 10:15 a.m. on that day Mr. Rehn observed that two personnel were not wearing their restricted area passes in a visible and conspicuous manner, as required by the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations (CASRs). At that time, Mr. Rehn was situated about 100 yards from the scene, behind a glass window, looking out onto the apron, where the two individuals were working on loading/dispatching an aircraft. The two men left the apron which is a restricted area shortly thereafter, and Mr. Rehn intercepted them in the "lunchroom", which is also in the restricted area of the aerodrome.

Mr. John David Clancy was one of those personnel, and Mr. Rehn noticed that Mr. Clancy had his restricted area pass clipped to his belt, but that the pass was only partially visible, as it was partially obscured by a sweater. Mr. Clancy was seated at a table, having his lunch at the time. Mr. Rehn warned him that he was in violation of the CASRs, and that action would be taken against him for not wearing his pass in a conspicuous area of his outer clothing, as required by the CASRs. In passing, it should be noted that the other gentleman did not have his pass visible at all, and had to retrieve it either from his locker or his pocket, to show it to Mr. Rehn.

Both Mr. Clancy and the other person, Mr. MacRae, were subsequently fined. Mr. MacRae paid his fine, but Mr. Clancy did not, for reasons which will become apparent below. Hence, Transport Canada applied to the Tribunal for this review hearing.

THE LAW

Subsection 4.3(1) of the Aeronautics Act states:

4.3 (1) The Minister may authorize members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police or any other person to exercise or perform, subject to such restrictions or limitations as the Minister may specify, any of the powers, duties or functions of the Minister under this Part except, subject to subsection (3), any power conferred on the Minister by the Governor in Council to make regulations or orders.

Subsection 7.7(1) of the Act states:

7.7 (1) Where the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister shall notify the person of the allegations against the person in such form as the Governor in Council may by regulation prescribe, specifying in the notice, in addition to any other information that may be so prescribed,
(a) subject to any regulations made under paragraph 7.6(1)(b), the amount that is determined by the Minister, in accordance with such guidelines as the Minister may make for the purpose, to be the amount that must be paid to the Minister by the person as the penalty for the contravention in the event that the person does not wish to appear before a member of the Tribunal to make representations in respect of the allegations; and
(b) the time, being not less than thirty days after the date the notice is served or sent, at or before which and the place at which the amount is required to be paid in the event referred to in paragraph (a).

Section 41 of the CASRs states:

41. A person must not enter or remain in a restricted area unless the restricted area pass issued to the person is visibly displayed on the person's outer clothing.

EVIDENCE

In a pre-hearing agreement, Mr. Georges Leduc, the Minister's case presenting officer, and Mr. Clancy agreed on the content and applicability of the above regulations.

Mr. Leduc tendered a batch of Exhibits, M-1 through M-8, which consists of the applicable regulations and rules for the wearing and display of passes, the notice of monetary penalty to Mr. Clancy, and evidence of Mr. Clancy's attendance at a Sudbury Airport security and safety meeting held previously. It should be noted that the date on Exhibit M-7 is given as May 18, 2000, when it was actually held on November 1, 2000. Mr. Hal Hogan, the airport security and safety officer, noted this mistake, subsequently, at the conclusion of the hearing. While this date has no significant bearing on the matter, I only learned about it when observing that it was some 14 months previous to the incident, and on questioning Mr. Hogan as to the frequency of such meetings.

Mr. Rehn was duly sworn, and revealed in his testimony the requirements for the issue and wearing of restricted area passes. In cross-examination by Mr. Clancy, Mr. Rehn stated that these punitive actions were the first disciplinary actions ever taken by the Minister at Sudbury. Further cross-examination by Mr. Clancy revealed that Mr. Rehn was about 100 yards away from the ramp area, behind a glass window, when he observed Messrs. Clancy and MacRae on that day. In addition, Mr. Rehn did not approach them on the apron, instead, he waited until they were in the "lunchroom" before confronting them. Mr. Rehn warned both men that enforcement action would be taken against them.

Mr. Hal Hogan, security and safety officer at Sudbury Airport, was the Minister's second witness. He was duly sworn and gave an overview of the security situation at Sudbury Airport on the day in question, July 26, 2001. He stated that he had held a security and safety meeting on May 18, 2000, which was attended by the Respondent (M-7). This meeting dealt with the criteria for the issue of restricted area passes, and the requirement to wear them on external clothing. There had been frequent breaches of the CASRs, not least of which was the requirement to display the passes on external clothing. He stated that Mr. Clancy had been warned about a year previously about not wearing his pass, and he was well aware of the requirements attached to the pass.

There was discussion about the requirements to wear the pass displayed conspicuously on outer clothing. Paragraph E of the terms of issue of the pass states that the pass has been designed to be worn on the outer clothing on the left or right side of the chest or on the left or right upper arm when the chest location interferes with the person's ability to work, with the front of the pass visibly displayed (M-3). Section 41 of the CASRs states that the pass must be visibly displayed on the person's outer clothing (M-5). The regulation itself does not detail exactly where the pass should be worn.

Following this meeting, Mr. Clancy was observed by Mr. Hogan to conform to the requirement to wear and visibly display his pass. On the other hand, Mr. Hogan had had to discipline two to three other employees, over the last year, by confiscating their passes for breaching the requirements.

Mr. Clancy took the stand and was duly sworn. He observed that while he was recently always in compliance, there were several others in other departments who were in frequent breach of the rules. He considered it unfair that he and Mr. MacRae were singled out. This was the first time anyone had ever been fined. He was pursuing this line of questioning to the point of irrelevance, and I had to intervene to ask him to deal with the day in question.

Mr. Clancy stated that his pass was visibly displayed on July 26, 2001. It was affixed to his belt since, while working at his ramp handling job, the lanyard and clips provided frequently got in the way and rendered the pass liable to be damaged or lost, or risked being caught up in baggage or equipment. He was wearing a sweater at one stage during the day, in the lunchroom, and was aware that as he was sitting down at a table eating, the pass may have become partially obscured by the sweater, which was when Mr. Rehn approached him. He said that several others were in breach on that day, but he and Mr. MacRae were the only ones singled out. He said that Mr. Rehn did not identify himself and was not wearing a pass.

Mr. Sean Robert MacRae was affirmed as Mr. Clancy's witness. He confirmed that Mr. Clancy was indeed wearing his pass clipped to his belt, and that there were several others not wearing their passes. In cross-examination by Mr. Leduc, Mr. MacRae revealed that he too had been fined, and that he was not properly displaying his pass; it was either in his locker or in his pocket - he could not remember exactly where. He had paid his fine. He works with Mr. Clancy on most days and observed that Mr. Clancy always wears his pass.

Mr. Clancy tendered Exhibit D-1 which was in the form of a memorandum from the Sudbury Airport Manager, dated October 10, 2000. This memo entitled "Proper Disposition of Restricted Area Passes" details penalties for breaches of failing to properly display passes. It does not detail where on one's outer clothing the pass should be displayed, but was accompanied by a Canadian Airport Security Awareness (C.A.S.A.) leaflet. The penalty for a second offence is: "Suspension of Restricted Area Pass privileges for 24 hours...." Mr. Clancy has been fined $300.

DISCUSSION

This is undoubtedly a serious matter, especially in the light of recent events. However, there are extenuating circumstances:

  1. Mr. Clancy was wearing his pass at the time of the infraction.
  2. He testified that while he was on the ramp, where Mr. Rehn observed him and Mr. MacRae, he was wearing his pass. Mr. Rehn was, however, 100 yards away and peering through a glass window. He should have confronted the two personnel while they were on the ramp, but waited until they entered the lunchroom.
  3. At this time, Mr. Clancy was seated at a table, and his sweater had partially obscured the pass.
  4. The lunchroom is in the restricted area of the aerodrome.
  5. Ramp handling requires much movement of the body, and it is understandable how clipping the pass to clothing, or wearing it on a lanyard or alligator clip could result in either the pass becoming lost, or caught up in machinery, equipment, or other clothing. In the circumstances, Mr. Clancy did a reasonable thing by clipping it onto his belt.
  6. However, his sweater had obscured the pass from time to time, and when Mr. Rehn confronted him in the lunchroom, this was the case.

Mr. Clancy was observing the regulations in spirit, if not in actual practice. His intent was to be within the law and the rules for displaying the pass on his outer clothing. He has been declared by Mr. Hogan as being in compliance since the safety and security meeting on November 1, 2000. In the circumstances, $300 is an overly harsh fine. I therefore reduce the fine to $25. In so doing, I am acknowledging Mr. Clancy's sense of responsibility exhibited at the hearing, and I feel that he will not be found wanting in this respect in the future.

I would advise Mr. Clancy and all others affected by this regulation to seek assistance from their employers in securing these passes to outer clothing using Velcro, or such other devices as may be available for extenuating situations, caused by equipment, weather and bulky winter wear. The proper identification of authorized personnel in restricted areas of aerodromes is paramount in the light of recent events.

DETERMINATION

At the conclusion of this hearing, I have determined that John David Clancy was in breach of section 41 of the CASRs on July 26, 2001. However because of the reasons given above, I reduce the fine to $25.

Philip D. Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-2332-52 (TAC)
Dossier no PB-72000312 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

John David Clancy, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne, DORS/2000-111, art. 41

Laissez-passer de zone réglementée


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 21 janvier 2002

TRADUCTION

John David Clancy a contrevenu à l'article 41 du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne, le 26 juillet 2001. Toutefois, dans les circonstances, je réduis l'amende à 25 $. Ce montant est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 16 janvier 2002 à 10 h à Sudbury (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

BACKGROUND

M. John Rehn, inspecteur, Sécurité régional, Transports Canada, a effectué une enquête de vérification à l'aéroport de Sudbury, le 26 juillet 2001. Vers 10 h 15 ce jour-là, M. Rehn a remarqué que deux membres du personnel ne portaient pas leur laissez-passer de zone réglementée visiblement et bien en vue, tel que le prescrit le Règlement sur la sécurité de l'aviation canadienne (RSAC). À ce moment-là, M. Rehn était à environ 100 verges des lieux et regardait à travers une fenêtre vers l'aire de stationnement où les deux individus travaillaient au chargement et à la répartition d'un aéronef. Les deux hommes ont quitté l'aire de stationnement qui constitue une zone réglementée et peu après, M. Rehn les a interceptés dans la « cuisinette » qui constitue aussi une zone réglementée de l'aéroport.

M. John David Clancy était l'un des deux employés et M. Rehn a remarqué que le laissez-passer de zone réglementée de M. Clancy était fixé à sa ceinture mais qu'il était visible seulement en partie puisqu'il était caché par un chandail. À ce moment-là, M. Clancy était assis à une table et il était en train de dîner. M. Rehn l'a averti qu'il contrevenait au RSAC et qu'une action serait intentée contre lui pour ne pas porter son laissez-passer bien en vue sur son vêtement extérieur tel que le prescrit le RSAC. Par la même occasion, il faut souligner que le laissez-passer de l'autre homme n'était pas visible du tout et qu'il a dû le retirer de son vestiaire ou de sa poche pour le montrer à M. Rehn.

Tant M. Clancy que l'autre personne, M. MacRae, se sont vu par la suite imposer une amende. M. MacRae a payé son amende mais M. Clancy ne l'a pas fait pour des raisons qui deviendront évidentes ci-dessous, d'où la demande d'audience en révision au Tribunal par Transports Canada.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 4.3(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit :

4.3 (1) Le ministre peut déléguer à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ou à toute personne, avec ou sans restriction, les pouvoirs et fonctions que la présente partie lui confère, sauf, sous réserve du paragraphe (3), le pouvoir de prendre des textes d'application que lui délègue le gouverneur en conseil.

Le paragraphe 7.7(1) de la Loi prévoit :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, l'informe des faits reprochés par un avis établi en la forme et comportant les renseignements que le gouverneur en conseil peut déterminer par règlement et y indique :
a) sous réserve des règlements d'application de l'alinéa 7.6(1)b), le montant qu'il détermine, conformément aux critères qu'il peut établir à cette fin, et qui doit être payé à titre d'amende pour la contravention lorsque la personne ne désire pas comparaître devant un conseiller pour présenter ses observations sur les faits reprochés;
b) la date limite, qui suit d'au moins trente jours celle de signification ou d'expédition de l'avis, et le lieu où le montant visé à l'alinéa a) doit être versé.

L'article 41 du RCSA prévoit :

41. Il est interdit à toute personne d'entrer ou de demeurer dans une zone réglementée à moins que le laissez-passer de zone réglementée délivré à la personne ne soit porté visiblement sur son vêtement extérieur.

LA PREUVE

Dans l'entente préparatoire à l'audience, M. Georges Leduc, l'agent de présentation de cas pour le ministre et M. Clancy se sont entendus sur le contenu et l'applicabilité des règlements susmentionnés.

M. Leduc a présenté une liasse de documents, déposés sous la cote M-1 à M-8, soit les règles et les règlements applicables au port et à l'affichage des laissez-passer, l'Avis d'amende pour contravention destiné à M. Clancy et la preuve de la présence de M. Clancy à une réunion sur la sécurité et de la sûreté qui a eu lieu auparavant à l'aéroport de Sudbury. Il faut signaler que la date qui figure à la pièce M-7 est le 18 mai 2000 alors qu'en réalité elle a eu lieu le 1 novembre 2000. M. Hal Hogan, agent de sécurité et de la sûreté de l'aéroport de Sudbury, a signalé cette erreur à la fin de l'audience. Bien que cette date n'ait aucune retombée significative sur cette affaire, j'en ai été informé seulement lorsque j'ai remarqué qu'elle avait eu lieu 14 mois avant l'incident et en questionnant M. Hogan sur la fréquence de ces réunions.

M. Rehn a dûment été assermenté et par son témoignage, il a révélé les prescriptions relatives à la question en litige et au port des laissez-passer de zone réglementée. Contre-interrogé par M. Clancy, M. Rehn a déclaré que ces mesures punitives étaient les premières mesures disciplinaires prises par le ministre à Sudbury. Dans la poursuite du contre-interrogatoire de M. Clancy, M. Rehn a révélé qu'il était à environ 100 verges de l'aire de stationnement, derrière une vitre, lorsqu'il a observé MM. Clancy et MacRae, ce jour-là. De plus, M. Rehn ne s'est pas approché d'eux sur l'aire de stationnement, il a plutôt attendu qu'ils soient dans la « cuisinette » avant de les confronter. M. Rehn a prévenu les deux hommes que des mesures de mise en application seraient appliquées à leur égard.

M. Hal Hogan, agent de la sécurité et de la sûreté à l'aéroport de Sudbury, était le deuxième témoin du ministre. Il a été dûment assermenté et il a donné une vue d'ensemble de l'état de la sécurité à l'aéroport de Sudbury, le jour en question, soit le 26 juillet 2001. Il a déclaré avoir tenu une réunion sur la sûreté et la sécurité le 18 mai 2000, à laquelle l'intimé avait assisté (M-7). Cette réunion portait sur les critères de délivrance des laissez-passer de zone réglementée et les prescriptions reliées à leur port sur les vêtements extérieurs. Il y avait eu de nombreuses contraventions au RCSA, surtout concernant la prescription de porter le laissez-passer sur le vêtement extérieur. Il a déclaré qu'environ un an auparavant, M. Clancy avait été prévenu parce qu'il ne portait pas son laissez-passer et qu'il connaissait les prescriptions relatives aux laissez-passer.

Il y a eu une discussion relative à la prescription du port bien en vue sur un vêtement extérieur. L'alinéa E sur les conditions de délivrance du laissez-passer prévoit que celui-ci est conçu pour être porté sur le vêtement extérieur, sur la poitrine gauche ou droite ou sur le bras droit supérieur gauche ou droit lorsque sa position sur la poitrine nuit à la capacité de travailler du titulaire et que le devant du laissez-passer soit ainsi visible (M-3). L'article 41 du RSAC prévoit que le laissez-passer doit être porté visiblement sur le vêtement extérieur de la personne (M-5). Le règlement comme tel n'explique pas en détail l'endroit où le laissez-passer doit être porté.

À la suite de la rencontre, M. Hogan a remarqué que M. Clancy respectait la prescription de porter visiblement son laissez-passer. Par ailleurs, M. Hogan a dû remettre à l'ordre deux ou trois autres employés, au cours de la dernière année, en confisquant leur laissez-passer parce qu'ils avaient enfreint les prescriptions.

M. Clancy s'est présenté à la barre des témoins et a été assermenté. Il a déclaré qu'alors qu'il respectait toujours la loi dernièrement et qu'il y avait quelques personnes dans d'autres services qui enfreignaient souvent les règles. Il jugeait injuste que lui et M. MacRae soient pris à partie. C'était la première fois qu'une personne se voyait imposer une amende. Il a poursuivi cette série de questions jusqu'à la non-pertinence et j'ai dû intervenir pour lui demander de s'en tenir au jour en question.

M. Clancy a déclaré qu'il portait son laissez-passer visiblement le 26 juillet 2001. Il était fixé à sa ceinture étant donné que lorsqu'il travaille sur l'aire de stationnement, le cordon et les attaches dont il est doté font fréquemment obstacle et rendent le laissez-passer susceptible d'être brisé, perdu, pris dans les bagages ou dans l'équipement. À un certain moment de la journée en question, il portait un chandail (dans la cuisinette) et il savait que puisqu'il était assis à la table pour manger, le chandail était susceptible de cacher en partie le laissez-passer. C'est à ce moment-là que M. Rehn s'est approché de lui. Il a dit que plusieurs autres personnes étaient en infraction ce jour-là mais que lui et M. MacRae avaient été les seuls à être pris à partie. Il a dit que M. Rehn ne s'est pas identifié et qu'il ne portait aucun laissez-passer.

M. Sean Robert MacRae a été présenté comme témoin de M. Clancy. Il a confirmé que M. Clancy portait effectivement son laissez-passer à sa ceinture et que plusieurs autres ne portaient pas leur laissez-passer. Contre-interrogé par M. Leduc, M. MacRae a révélé qu'il avait aussi reçu une amende et qu'il ne portait pas son laissez-passer comme il se doit, qu'il était soit dans son casier ou dans sa poche - il ne pouvait s'en souvenir précisément. Il a payé son amende. Il travaille avec M. Clancy la plupart du temps et il a pu constater que M. Clancy porte toujours son laissez-passer.

M. Clancy a présenté la pièce D-1, soit une note de service du directeur de l'aéroport de Sudbury, en date du 10 octobre 2000. Cette note intitulée « Dispositions appropriées relatives aux laissez-passer de zone réglementée » expose les peines reliées au fait d'avoir omis de porter son laissez-passer convenablement. Il ne décrit pas l'endroit où il doit être porté sur le vêtement extérieur mais un dépliant sur la Sensibilisation à la sûreté aux aéroports canadiens (S.S.A.C.) l'accompagnait. La peine pour une deuxième infraction est : « Suspension de 24 heures des prérogatives liées au laissez-passer de zone réglementée » M. Clancy a reçu une amende de 300 $.

DISCUSSION

Il ne fait aucun doute qu'il s'agit d'une affaire grave; en particulier, à la lumière d'événements récents. Par ailleurs, il y a des circonstances atténuantes :

  1. M. Clancy portait son laissez-passer au moment de l'infraction.
  2. Il a témoigné qu'alors qu'il était sur l'aire de stationnement, à l'endroit où M. Rehn l'a observé en compagnie de M. MacRae, il portait son laissez-passer. M. Rehn était toutefois à 100 verges de là et il regardait par la fenêtre. Il aurait dû confronter les deux membres du personnel alors qu'ils étaient dans l'aire de stationnement mais il a attendu qu'ils entrent dans la cuisinette.
  3. À ce moment-là, M. Clancy était assis à une table et son chandail cachait en partie son laissez-passer.
  4. La cuisinette est dans la zone réglementée de l'aérodrome.
  5. L'assistance piste nécessite beaucoup de mouvements corporels et on peut comprendre que fixer le laissez-passer sur le vêtement ou le porter à l'aide d'une corde ou d'une pince crocodile peut entraîner sa perte ou le fait qu'il se prenne dans la machinerie, l'équipement ou d'autres vêtements. Dans les circonstances, M. Clancy a posé un geste raisonnable en le fixant à sa ceinture.
  6. Par ailleurs, son chandail cachait son laissez-passer à l'occasion et c'était le cas lorsque M. Rehn l'a confronté dans la cuisinette.

À défaut d'observer le règlement en pratique, M. Clancy l'a fait en esprit. Son intention était de respecter la loi et les règles relatives au port du laissez-passer sur son vêtement extérieur. M. Hogan a déclaré qu'il se conformait au règlement depuis la rencontre sur la sûreté et la sécurité du 1 novembre 2000. Dans les circonstances, je considère une amende de 300 $ trop sévère et je la réduis à 25 $. Par le fait même, je reconnais le sens des responsabilités dont M. Clancy a fait preuve lors de l'audience et je sens qu'il ne sera pris à partie à cet égard à l'avenir.

Je conseille donc à M. Clancy et à ceux qui sont concernés par ce règlement de tenter d'obtenir l'appui de leur employeur afin qu'ils puissent attacher leur laissez-passer sur leur vêtement extérieur en toute sûreté à l'aide de velcro ou un autre matériel approprié dans les cas où ils se trouvent en situations atténuantes imputables à l'équipement, à la température et aux vêtements d'hiver encombrants. Que le personnel soit bien identifiées dans les zones réglementées est primordiale à la lumière des récents événements.

DÉCISION

À la conclusion de cette audience, j'ai décidé que John David Clancy avait contrevenu à l'article 41 du RSAC, le 26 juillet 2001. Toutefois, en raison des motifs susmentionnés, je réduis l'amende à 25 $.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile