Decisions

TATC File No. O-2740-41
MoT File No. 5504-048018

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Heli-express Aviation Inc., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 202.13(2)


Review Determination
Samuel J. Birenbaum


Decision: July 29, 2003

I find that Heli-Express Aviation Inc. did contravene subsection 202.13(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. With respect to the monetary penalty, I feel that a penalty of $1,000 indicates the seriousness we attribute to allowing an aircraft to fly without a valid certificate of registration in these special circumstances. That amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, May 8, 2003 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in Toronto, Ontario.

At commencement of the hearing the Minister's representative raised a motion to amend the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty, dated January 3, 2003, to change the wording on line two, under count one, to state "on six occasions," instead of "on eight occasions" as previously worded. There were no objections offered to this change, and thus the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty was altered to read "on six occasions." No other pre-hearing matters were brought forth at this time.

BACKGROUND

The Minister's representative indicated that on November 5, 1997, a helicopter registered C-GTDA was purchased by a company "1127220 Ontario Inc." This company was owned solely by Mr. Nuosci of Heli-Express Aviation Inc. [hereinafter Heli-Express].

A certificate of registration was confirmed in Exhibit M-1; the certificate dated March 9, 1998 indicates the registration of GTDA, a Bell Helicopter, Textron Division of Textron Inc. Model 206B, Serial No. 3130. Attached to this exhibit is a letter dated October 24, 2002, from Mr. Lindsay H. Cadenhead, Superintendent, Ontario Region for Minister of Transportation, indicating that this letter constitutes a temporary non-transferable certificate of registration, Commercial, for the helicopter in question, but is not valid beyond December 1, 2002, or until formal documents are received, whichever occurs first. Upon expiration of this certificate, or upon change of ownership of the aircraft within the period specified, the registration of the aircraft will be deemed to be cancelled. A second certificate of registration for the same aircraft, C-GTDA, was issued October 30, 2002 for helicopter 206B, Serial No. 3130 owned by Heli-Express.

Exhibit M-2 indicates a bill of sale for the helicopter, along with a lease agreement between 1127220 Ontario Inc. and Heli-Express, for the period November 5, 1997 to November 5, 2000. A further lease agreement for this aircraft is contained in section "C" of Exhibit M-2, indicating a leasing period October 28, 2002 to November 5, 2099, and this is dated at Ottawa the 19th day of March 2003.

Mr. Richard Newcombe was apprised of the situation by another inspector, Mr. Miller. On October 29, 2002 McMahon was advised that the certificate of registration for the alleged aircraft was not valid at this time. The aircraft had been flown without the certificate for approximately two years.

Journey log copies were obtained, and Exhibit M-4 indicates six flights during the period in question, when a certificate of registration was not valid. Mr. Gillespie, another Transport Canada inspector, indicated in his testimony that the original certificate of registration automatically terminates with change of ownership or when a lease terminates for the aircraft.

On cross-examination, Mr. Nuosci indicated that the company owning the aircraft and its lease are owned totally by the same person. Both the lessee and the lessor represent the same individual. Mr. Nuosci was unaware that the certificate of registration would cease to exist upon transfer of the aircraft between the two companies, both of which are owned solely by himself. He further was unaware that the change of lease, or its termination, would also render this certificate of registration, invalid.

On further cross-examination, it was determined that Mr. Nuosci's first indication that there was no certificate of registration on the aircraft occurred October 9, 2002 when he received a faxed message. He responded immediately, the following day by letter, and arranged for the development of a new lease to ensure legal custody of the aircraft was properly arranged. He alone was the decision maker, the responsible party and sole legal entity responsible.

On redirect, it was determined that upon expiry of the lease, the lessor automatically retained legal control of GTDA by virtue of the bill of sale.

Mr. Lindsay Cadenhead, Superintendent for Licensing and Registration for Transport Canada, testified that he was sent a letter on May 8, reproduced in Exhibit M-8, extending the lease from "1127220 Ontario Inc." known as the lessor to "Heli-Express Aviation Inc." until the year 2099. Superintendent Cadenhead indicated that because the lease was expired, it could no longer be extended, and legally the position was that the certificate of registration was no longer in effect for the aircraft in question.

On cross-examination, Mr. Nuosci indicated that as a result of his not being aware of the need to re-register the certificate of registration, following transfer of ownership and termination of lease, nothing bad happened, there was no change of owners, no change of legal responsibility, and in fact no harm at all occurred as a result of his actions. His intention was not to disobey, although he was unaware of the consequences that occurred.

THE LAW

Subsection 202.13(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) reads as follows:

202.13 (1) This section does not apply in respect of an aircraft that is

(a) a hang glider; or

(b) a parachute.

(2) Except as otherwise authorized pursuant to subsection 202.14(1), 202.42(3) or 202.43(1), no person shall operate an aircraft in Canada unless it is registered in Canada, in a contracting state or in a foreign state that has an agreement in force with Canada that allows an aircraft that is registered in that foreign state to be operated in Canada.

202.14 (1) On receipt of an application in writing, the Minister shall issue a written authorization permitting the operation in Canada of an aircraft that is not registered and in the authorization may specify conditions governing the operation of the aircraft as necessary for its safe and proper operation, where

(a) the aircraft was manufactured in Canada;

(b) the aircraft is operated by the manufacturer;

(c) the aircraft is operated within Canada for the purpose of

(i) a production test flight,

(ii) a customer acceptance flight, or

(iii) a flight undertaken to complete the manufacturing process or to export the aircraft;

(d) a registration mark has been reserved in respect of the aircraft pursuant to subsection 202.02(1);

(e) the aircraft displays its marks in accordance with section 202.01 or 202.07; and

(f) the manufacturer is qualified to be the registered owner of a Canadian aircraft pursuant to section 202.15.

[...]

202.42 [...]

(3) The Minister shall, for the purposes of a Canadian special aviation event authorized by the Minister pursuant to Subpart 3 of Part VI, authorize in writing the operation in Canada of an ultra-light aeroplane that is not registered in Canada if the sponsor meets the requirements set out in the Aircraft Marking and Registration Standards.

202.43 (1) Where an aircraft is registered in a foreign state that is not a contracting state or is not a state that has an agreement in force with Canada that allows an aircraft that is registered in that state to be operated in Canada, the Minister may, in writing, authorize the operation of the aircraft in Canada, and in the authorization may specify conditions governing the operation of the aircraft as necessary for its safe and proper operation.

EVIDENCE BY THE RESPONDENT

Mr. Dominic Nuosci testified that he is President of Heli-Express which began in 1997, and had the three-year lease on an aircraft, but that the lease was destroyed in a fire caused by arson. Mr. McMahon was employed as his chief pilot and operations manager in February 2000, and was not aware of the existence of the lease, nor that the lease had expired. It was his feeling, understanding, and belief that the lease would go on indefinitely. The insurance was in the name of both companies and when the lease expired it was his sole intention to continue the lease indefinitely and to operate the aircraft as such. He testified that he received a letter from Transport Canada on October 26, 2000, asking if there had been a change in ownership of the aircraft? He replied there had been none, as he did not feel that his ownership had changed in any way. Apprised of his cancelled certificate of registration, he immediately requested a new certificate of registration, and paid the extra amount to have it expedited.

Exhibit D-1 contains a letter dated October 26, 2000, from Transport Canada, under the name of F. Sowres, requesting information with respect to aircraft C-GTDA, particularly the full name and address of the new owner of the certificate of registration, as well as the location of the said aircraft. An immediate reply indicating no change in ownership was provided to the Minister.

CLOSING ARGUMENTS

The Minister indicated the strict liability nature of this offence, and that the Respondent had ample time to correct the mistakes made. He indicated that the sanction of $5,000 requested by the Minister at this time covered only one count, although six counts had been laid. It was necessary for this fine, in order to insure that companies adhere strictly to the Regulations.

The Respondent indicated that he did not believe at all the certificate of registration was not valid, since the two companies in question were both solely owned, and fully controlled, by him. He thought he was making an internal company alteration only, which would not nefariously affect anyone outside the organization. His company was the only one responsible at all times, there was no intent to harm, nor deceive, and he responded quickly when requests were made of him. He states that he has had no previous convictions nor fines for any infractions, however minor, and that he felt the current $5,000 fine was not deserved, under the circumstances, and would seriously affect his economic viability.

The Minister replied that it is very serious to fly an aircraft without a valid certificate of registration, and to do so knowingly.

The Respondent in this case was informed at least six months previously, by the insurance company, that there was a problem with the certificate of registration. The owners apparently were not aware of the consequences, and no action was immediately taken.

DETERMINATION

Strict liability offences require the Minister to establish, on a balance of probabilities, only that the prohibited act has been committed. In this instance Mr. Flewelling has satisfactorily set out those factors necessary to prove that the aircraft certificate of registration was not in effect for a prolonged period of time, and that the change of ownership and termination of the lease had definitely occurred. Although ignorance of the law cannot relieve an obligation, I am none the less impressed by the conduct of Mr. Nuosci and of Mr. McMahon, both of whom testified, under oath, in a direct forthright manner, that there was no intent on their part to deceive, or to avoid the small price of a new certificate of registration. They claimed, that what they did, was what any reasonable person with inadequate information might do under the circumstances, and believing that when one transfers ownership between two solely owned companies, that this is in itself not a matter deserving of serious consequences.

That the Minister needs to have all aircraft certified is obviously a key factor in regulation, certification, and ultimately aviation safety, and this represents a very serious and important part of the regulatory mechanism which the Minister must impose. I find that the Respondent, Heli-Express, is guilty of the six counts and did contravene subsection 202.13(2) of the CARs. Count #1: on the dates between October 11, 2002 and October 17, 2002, in the province of Ontario, Heli-Express operated Bell 206B helicopter C-GTDA on six occasions when the certificate of registration for the aircraft was not in force.

With respect to the monetary penalty, I feel that it is not necessary at this time to impose a penalty of $5,000 since deterrence is no longer a factor in an already apologetic Respondent, who appeared to have made several errors which on the surface do not appear to be intentional. There appears to be a need to further educate the aviation community with respect to this legislation, and the Minister's representatives may wish to consider some way of doing this. I feel that a penalty of $1,000 indicates the seriousness we attribute to allowing an aircraft to fly without a valid certificate of registration in these special circumstances.

S. Birenbaum, MD, CCFP
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no O-2740-41 (TATC)
Dossier no 5504-048018 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Heli-express Aviation Inc., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 202.13(2)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Samuel J. Birenbaum


Décision : le 29 juillet 2003

TRADUCTION

Je considère que Heli-Express Aviation Inc. a effectivement contrevenu au paragraphe 202.13(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. En ce qui a trait à l'amende, je considère qu'une amende de 1 000 $ indique l'importance que nous accordons au fait qu'un aéronef circule sans certificat d'immatriculation valide dans ces conditions particulières. Ce montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada dans les quinze jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision de l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 8 mai 2003 à 10 h, à la Cour fédérale du Canada, à Toronto (Ontario).

Au début de l'audience, le représentant du ministre a présenté une requête pour modifier l'Avis d'amende pour contravention, daté du 3 janvier 2003, afin de modifier le libellé de la deuxième ligne du premier chef d'accusation par «  à six occasions  » au lieu de «  à huit occasions  ». Il n'y a eu aucune objection à ce changement et l'Avis d'amende pour contravention a été modifié et se lit «  à six occasions  ». Aucune autre affaire préalable à l'audience n'a été mise de l'avant à ce moment.

HISTORIQUE

Le représentant du ministre a indiqué que le 5 novembre 1997, un hélicoptère immatriculé C-GTDA a été acheté par la compagnie «  1127220 Ontario Inc.  ». M. Nuosci de Heli-Express Aviation Inc. [ci-après Heli-Express] est l'unique propriétaire de cette compagnie.

La pièce M-1 confirme l'existence d'un certificat d'immatriculation. Le certificat porte la date du 9 mars 1998 et fait foi de l'immatriculation du GTDA, un hélicoptère de Bell Helicopter, division Textron de Textron Inc., modèle 206B, no de série 3130. À cette pièce est jointe une lettre datée du 24 octobre 2002 de M. Lindsay H. Cadenhead, surintendant au ministère des Transports de la région de l'Ontario, laquelle tient lieu d'un certificat d'immatriculation commercial, temporaire, non-transférable pour l'hélicoptère en question et qui n'est pas valide après le 1er décembre 2002 ou à la réception des documents officiels, si ces derniers sont établis antérieurement. À l'expiration de ce certificat ou advenant un changement du propriétaire de l'aéronef dans la période mentionnée, l'immatriculation de l'aéronef sera considérée comme annulée. Un deuxième certificat d'immatriculation pour le même aéronef, le C-GTDA, a été délivré le 30 octobre 2002 pour l'hélicoptère 206B, no de série 3130, propriété d'Heli-Express.

La pièce M-2 indique un acte de vente pour l'hélicoptère, de même qu'une entente de location entre 1127220 Ontario Inc. et Heli-Express, pour la période du 5 novembre 1997 au 5 novembre 2000. Une autre entente de location pour cet aéronef se trouve à la partie «  C  » de la pièce M-2, indique une période de location du 28 octobre 2002 au 5 novembre 2099 et est datée à Ottawa, le 19 mars 2003.

M. Richard Newcombe a été mis au courant de la situation par un autre inspecteur, M. Miller. Le 29 octobre 2002, M. McMahon a été informé que le certificat d'immatriculation de l'aéronef incriminé n'était pas valide à ce moment. L'aéronef avait été utilisé sans certificat pendant environ deux ans.

On a obtenu des copies du carnet de route et la pièce M-4 indique six vols pendant la période en question, sans certificat d'immatriculation valide. M. Gillespie, un autre inspecteur de Transports Canada, a indiqué dans son témoignage que le certificat original d'immatriculation se termine automatiquement au changement de propriétaire ou à l'expiration d'une location de l'aéronef.

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Nuosci a indiqué que la compagnie qui possède l'aéronef et son bail appartient à une seule et même personne. Le locateur et le locataire sont un seul et même individu. M. Nuosci ne savait pas que le certificat d'immatriculation expirait advenant le transfert de l'aéronef entre les deux compagnies, dont il est l'unique propriétaire. De plus, il ne savait pas que le changement de bail ou son expiration entraînait l'invalidité dudit certificat d'immatriculation.

La poursuite du contre-interrogatoire a révélé que M. Nuosci a d'abord été informé, par télécopie en date du 9 octobre 2002, que l'aéronef n'avait pas de certificat d'immatriculation. Il a répondu immédiatement le jour suivant, par écrit, et a pris des dispositions pour la constitution d'un nouveau bail de sorte que la garde légale de l'aéronef soit convenablement établie. Il était l'unique décideur, la partie responsable et le seul responsable de l'entité juridique.

En réinterrogatoire, il est ressorti qu'à l'expiration du bail, le locateur a automatiquement conservé la garde légale du GTDA conformément à l'acte de vente.

M. Lindsay Cadenhead, surintendant de la délivrance des licences et immatriculation à Transports Canada, a témoigné qu'il avait reçu une lettre le 8 mai, reproduite à la pièce M-8, laquelle prolongeait le bail de «  1127220 Ontario Inc.  » soit le locateur de «  Heli-Express Aviation Inc.  » jusqu'en 2099. Le surintendant Cadenhead a indiqué qu'en raison de l'expiration du bail, il ne pouvait plus être prolongé et, juridiquement, le certificat d'immatriculation de l'aéronef en question n'était plus en vigueur.

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Nuosci a indiqué que puisqu'il n'était pas au courant de l'obligation de demander un nouveau certificat d'immatriculation à la suite d'un transfert de propriété et à l'expiration d'un bail, il ne s'était rien produit de mauvais étant donné qu'il n'y avait eu aucun changement de propriétaire, de responsabilité légale et qu'en fait, ses actions n'avaient entraîné aucun préjudice. Il n'avait nullement l'intention de désobéir, même s'il ne connaissait pas les conséquences qui s'en suivraient.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 202.13(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) se lit comme suit :

202.13 (1) Sont soustraits à l'application du présent article :

a) les ailes libres;

b) les parachutes.

(2) Sauf dans les cas où une autorisation est délivrée en application des paragraphes 202.14(1), 202.42(3) ou 202.43(1), il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef au Canada à moins qu'il ne soit immatriculé au Canada, dans un État contractant ou dans un État étranger qui a conclu avec le Canada un accord permettant l'utilisation au Canada d'un aéronef immatriculé dans cet État.

202.14 (1) Sur réception d'une demande présentée par écrit, le ministre délivre une autorisation écrite pour permettre l'utilisation au Canada d'un aéronef non immatriculé et peut spécifier dans l'autorisation les conditions d'utilisation de l'aéronef qui s'imposent pour en assurer la sécurité et la bonne utilisation si, à la fois :

a) l'aéronef a été construit au Canada;

b) l'aéronef est utilisé par le constructeur;

c) l'aéronef est utilisé au Canada pour :

(i) un vol d'essai d'un modèle de production,

(ii) un vol de réception effectué par le client,

(iii) un vol effectué aux fins de l'achèvement de sa construction ou de son exportation;

d) une marque d'immatriculation a été réservée à l'aéronef en application du paragraphe 202.02(1);

e) les marques sont apposées sur l'aéronef conformément aux articles 202.01 ou 202.07;

f) le constructeur a qualité pour être le propriétaire enregistré d'un aéronef canadien selon l'article 202.15.

[...]

202.42 [...]

(3) Le ministre délivre, en vue de la tenue d'une manifestation aéronautique spéciale au Canada qu'il a autorisée en application de la sous-partie 3 de la partie VI, une autorisation écrite pour permettre l'utilisation au Canada d'un avion ultra-léger non immatriculé au Canada si l'organisateur de la manifestation aéronautique spéciale satisfait aux exigences des Normes sur le marquage et l'immatriculation des aéronefs.

202.43 (1) Le ministre peut, dans le cas d'un aéronef immatriculé dans un État étranger qui n'est pas un État contractant ou dans un État étranger qui n'a pas conclu avec le Canada un accord permettant l'utilisation au Canada d'un aéronef immatriculé dans cet État, délivrer une autorisation écrite pour permettre l'utilisation de l'aéronef au Canada et y spécifier les conditions d'utilisation de l'aéronef qui s'imposent pour en assurer la sécurité et la bonne utilisation.

LA PREUVE PAR L'INTIMÉE

M. Dominic Nuosci a témoigné qu'il est président d'Heli-Express laquelle a été mise sur pied en 1997, qu'il avait un bail d'aéronef de trois ans mais que le bail avait été détruit dans un incendie criminel. M. McMahon a été embauché en qualité de pilote en chef et gestionnaire des opérations en février 2000; il ne connaissait ni l'existence du bail, ni son expiration. Il croyait que le bail avait une durée indéterminée. L'assurance était au nom des deux compagnies et lorsque le bail a expiré, il avait la ferme intention de continuer le bail indéfiniment et d'utiliser l'aéronef dans ces conditions. Il a témoigné avoir reçu une lettre de Transports Canada, le 26 octobre 2000, lui demandant s'il y avait eu un changement de propriétaire de l'aéronef. Il a répondu qu'il n'y en avait pas eu, étant donné qu'il n'a pas considéré que sa propriété avait changé d'une quelconque façon. Informé de l'annulation de son certificat d'immatriculation, il a immédiatement fait une demande pour en obtenir un nouveau et il a payé un montant supplémentaire pour accélérer le processus.

La pièce D-1 contient une lettre de Transports Canada en date du 26 octobre 2000, signée par F. Sowres, qui demande des renseignements sur l'aéronef C-GTDA, plus particulièrement le nom et l'adresse complets du nouveau propriétaire du certificat d'immatriculation, ainsi que l'emplacement dudit aéronef. Une réponse immédiate indiquant qu'aucun changement de propriétaire n'avait eu lieu est parvenue au ministre.

PLAIDOYER FINAL

Le ministre a indiqué qu'il s'agissait d'une infraction de responsabilité stricte et que l'intimée avait eu amplement le temps de corriger les erreurs commises. Il a indiqué que l'amende de 5 000 $ demandée alors par le ministre portait uniquement sur un chef d'accusation, bien que six chefs d'accusation aient été soulevés. Cette amende était importante, afin de faire en sorte que les compagnies adhèrent au Règlement.

L'intimé a indiqué qu'il n'a pas cru que le certificat d'immatriculation n'était pas valide, étant donné que les deux compagnies en question appartenaient à un propriétaire unique et relevaient entièrement de sa direction. Il a cru qu'il effectuait seulement une modification interne, ce qui n'aurait aucune incidence néfaste à l'extérieur de l'organisation. Sa compagnie a été l'unique responsable en tout temps, il n'a pas eu l'intention de nuire, de tromper et il a répondu rapidement aux demandes qui lui ont été adressées. Il déclare qu'il n'avait jamais eu de condamnation ou d'amende pour quelque infraction, aussi mineure soit-elle, et qu'il considérait qu'il ne méritait pas l'amende actuelle de 5 000 $ dans les circonstances, ce qui porterait sérieusement atteinte à sa viabilité économique.

Le ministre a répondu qu'il est très grave de piloter un aéronef sans certificat d'immatriculation valide et de le faire sciemment.

L'intimée, dans le cas en l'espèce, a été informée au moins six mois à l'avance par la compagnie d'assurance qu'il y avait un problème concernant le certificat d'immatriculation. Il semble que les propriétaires n'étaient pas au courant des conséquences et aucune action n'a été entreprise immédiatement.

DÉCISION

Pour prouver une infraction de responsabilité stricte, le ministre doit uniquement établir que le geste prohibé a été commis, selon la prépondérance des probabilités. Dans cette cause, M. Flewelling a soulevé de façon satisfaisante les facteurs servant à prouver que le certificat d'immatriculation n'était pas en vigueur pour une période de temps prolongée et que le changement de propriétaire et la fin du bail avaient manifestement eu lieu. Bien que l'ignorance de la loi ne puisse soustraire quiconque à ses obligations, je suis néanmoins impressionné par la conduite de MM. Nuosci et McMahon, qui ont tous deux témoigné sous serment, de façon franche, qu'ils n'avaient pas l'intention de tromper ou d'éviter les faibles coûts du nouveau certificat d'immatriculation. Ils ont prétendu que ce qu'ils ont fait représentait ce que toute personne raisonnable aurait fait dans les circonstances, faute d'information adéquate et croyant qu'il n'y a pas en soi matière à conséquences graves dans le cas d'un transfert de propriété entre deux compagnies à propriétaire unique.

Que le ministre prescrive que tous les aéronefs soient immatriculés est visiblement un aspect important du règlement, de l'immatriculation et, à la limite, de la sécurité aéronautique, et représente un élément très sérieux et très important des rouages réglementaires qui doivent être imposés par le ministre. Je considère que l'intimée, Heli-Express, est coupable des six chefs d'accusation et a effectivement contrevenu au paragraphe 202.13(2) du RAC. Chef d'accusation no 1 : aux dates mentionnées entre le 11 et le 17 octobre 2002, dans la province de l'Ontario, Heli-Express a utilisé un hélicoptère Bell 206B, le C-GTDA, à six occasions alors que le certificat d'immatriculation de l'aéronef n'était pas en vigueur.

En ce qui a trait à l'amende, je considère qu'il n'est pas nécessaire à ce moment-ci d'imposer une amende de 5 000 $ étant donné que l'effet dissuasif ne rentre pas en ligne de compte lorsque l'intimée se confond déjà en excuse et a plaidé avoir commis des erreurs qui, en apparence, ne semblent pas intentionnelles. Il semble y avoir lieu de mieux éduquer le milieu de l'aviation en ce qui a trait à cette loi et les représentants du ministre voudront sans doute prendre en considération certaines façons de le faire. Je considère qu'une amende de 1 000 $ témoigne de l'importance que nous accordons au fait qu'un aéronef soit utilisé sans certificat d'immatriculation valide dans ces conditions particulières.

S. Birenbaum, MD, CCFP
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada