Decisions

TATC File No. O-3059-59
MoT File No. 5802-398304

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

James Kevin Wilkins, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)(b)


Review Determination
Hebb C. Russell


Decision: September 6, 2005

I am in agreement with the respondent in not granting the applicant a Class 2 instructor rating and that the Notice of Suspension is confirmed.

A review hearing on this matter was held Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 10:00 hours, at Victory Verbatim, Ernst & Young Tower, in Toronto, Ontario.

THE LAW

Paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act:

If the Minister decides to suspend, cancel or refuse to renew a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that

[...]
(b) the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to meet the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to fulfil the conditions subject to which the document was issued, or
[...]

the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the holder or to the owner or operator of the aircraft, airport or facility, as the case may be, at the latest known address, notify that person of the Minister's decision.

ISSUE

The matter at issue before this review hearing, requested by the applicant, is whether the respondent was justified in suspending the applicant's Class 2 instructor rating due to a lack of "overall planning and organization of lesson, teaching proficiency", pursuant to paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act.

As stated on the Flight Test Report, Exhibit M-1, there are two assessed items listed as failure to meet the Class 2 standard. As either item is cause for failure, there are therefore two issues to be dealt with on their own merit:

1)    1a    Mr. Wilkins did not correctly identify the training needs of the student.

2)    2b    Mr. Wilkins' selection of a practice field was located too close to the built-up area, causing an overshoot over the town below 1,000 feet above ground level.

Mr. Wilkins testified that he felt his rating during this exam was within the limits of a Class 2 instructor rating.

EVIDENCE

A motion was made by the respondent to amend the Notice of Suspension, issued to James Wilkins on August 17, 2004, by the removal of the requirement to re-write exams as part of the prerequisite for the applicant's re-licencing to a Class 2 standard.

As the applicant had no objections to the withdrawal of this requirement, I affirmed the amendment.

The respondent presented the following exhibits:

  • M-1 , Flight Test Report, Flight Instructor Rating, James Wilkins, dated August 17, 2004
  • M-2, Photocopy of Inspector Spiers' Examination Flight Log, dated August 17, 2004
  • M-3, Pilot Training Record, Aeroplane. This ten-page document is of the pseudo Student's Pilot Logbook that was presented to Mr. Wilkins for the use in his lesson preparation for the flight test in question.

The respondent presented the following Transport Canada public domain documents:

  • Flight Instructor Guide - Aeroplane (TP 975E)
  • Flight Test Guide - Flight Instructor Rating - Aeroplane, Helicopter, Aerobatic (TP 5537E)

The Member has accepted these documents as well as all reference material that these documents refer to.

Inspector Spiers, witness for the respondent, described the procedures and methods used for the renewal of a flight instructor licence as published in the Transport Canada publication Flight Test Guide - Flight Instructor Rating - Aeroplane, Helicopter, Aerobatic, 2002.

Requirements for Issue of a Rating which states:

Candidates must meet all prerequisites in the Personnel Licensing Standards CAR 421 and demonstrate the following performance in each of the seven items assessed on the flight test:

  • Class 1/Assessed as Class 1 in all items.
  • Class 2/Assessed as Class 1 or 2 in all items.
  • Class 3/Assessed as Class 1, 2, or 3 in all items.
  • Class 4/Assessed as Class 1, 2, or 3 in all items.

Assessment Standards

[...]

Class 2 – Aeroplane and Helicopter

  • Presentation may include very few minor errors in the application of the learning factors and techniques of instruction
  • Teaching method obtains good student involvement
  • Technical information presented to the student must be accurate
  • Demonstrates knowledge of training and testing standards appropriate for supervising a staff of instructors
  • Able to readily identify errors in the performance of flight manoeuvres and suggest effective strategies for improvement
  • Performance of flight manoeuvres predominantly involves very few minor errors

[...]

Conduct of the Flight Test

The flight test for the flight instructor rating consists of three phases titled – Pre-flight, In-flight and Post-flight. The test, which should not normally take more than half a day to complete, is intended to simulate a realistic training session with a student. Skills as an instructor will be assessed in the following areas:

Pre-Flight

  • Overall Planning and Organization of Lesson
  • Preparatory Ground Instruction
  • Pre-flight Briefing

In-Flight

  • Flight Proficiency
  • Teaching Proficiency
  • Analysis of Student Performance

Post-Flight

  • Post-flight De-briefing

The privileges sought will determine the nature of the test. For example, the test for upgrading to a Class 2 rating, aeroplane or helicopter, will include assessment of supervisory skills. [...]

Inspector Spiers described how he, as the examiner, played the role of the pseudo student pilot and the sequence of events that he followed in his Flight Test Exam of Mr. Wilkins.

Mr. Spiers provided Mr. Wilkins with a copy of a Pseudo Pilot's Training Record (Exhibit M-3), in order for him to review and subsequently determine an appropriate Lesson Plan Number, as listed in the Transport Canada Flight Instructor Guide.

After reviewing the Pilot Training Record, Mr. Wilkins elected to choose Lesson 24. The applicant then amended Lesson 24 with the addition of Exercise 11 which is a demonstration of Slow Flight.

Mr. Wilkins then had 20 minutes to prepare for Lesson 24 which now consisted of:

  • Short Minimum Runway Take-Off
  • Locate a field suitable for precautionary landing demonstration
  • Precautionary Landing
  • Slow Flight
  • Soft Field Landing

Mr. Wilkins then gave Mr. Spiers a pre-flight briefing covering what was to be demonstrated and flown. This included:

1. Pre-Flight briefing and clarify with the student:

  • What we are going to do
  • How we are going to do it
  • Safety considerations

2. Air Test

  • Minimum (short) Runway Take-Off
  • Navigation: Map Reading and ETA to Training Area
  • Find a field suitable for precautionary landing demonstration
  • Precautionary Landing and Overshoot
  • Slow Flight Demonstration
  • Soft Field Landing

3. Post-Flight Debriefing

It was Mr. Spiers' testimony that the first issue of failure to meet a Class 2 standard, as listed in Exhibit M-1, was the applicant's choice of lesson from the Flight Instructor Guide, and that he modified the lesson as well. Mr. Wilkins elected to choose Lesson 24, which included Exercise 21, Precautionary Landing. Mr. Spiers was expecting Lesson 20, which included Exercise 22, Forced Landing. It was Mr. Spiers' opinion that the student was not ready for Lesson 24 as it would be outside of this student's envelope. Mr. Spiers went on to state that Mr. Wilkins compounded the error by electing to modify this lesson with the addition of Exercise 11, Slow Flight, which was not part of Lesson 24's itinerary, as published in the Flight Instructor Guide. Mr. Spiers also stated that the lesson syllabus as published should not be amended.

The second issue of failure to meet a Class 2 standard, as listed on Exhibit M-1, occurred during the in-flight portion of the flight test. It was Mr. Spiers' opinion that Mr. Wilkins chose a field, for the purpose of demonstrating a precautionary landing, that had insufficient margin or distance to allow for a climb to an altitude of 1,000 feet or more above ground level, prior to flying over the built-up area. Mr. Spiers stated that this is a straight violation of subparagraph 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), which reads as follows:

(2) Except where conducting a take-off, approach or landing or where permitted under section 602.15, no person shall operate an aircraft

(a) over a built-up area or over an open-air assembly of persons unless the aircraft is operated at an altitude from which, in the event of an emergency necessitating an immediate landing, it would be possible to land the aircraft without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface, and, in any case, at an altitude that is not lower than

(i) for aeroplanes, 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 2,000 feet from the aeroplane,
[...]

Mr. Spiers reviewed the difference between a Class 2 and Class 3 instructor rating. The Transport Canada Flight Test Guide – Flight Instructor Rating – Aeroplane, Helicopter, Aerobatic, under Assessment Standards, states that a Class 2 instructor must, among other things:

  • Demonstrates knowledge of training and testing standards appropriate for supervising a staff of instructors

Mr. Spiers stated that it is not just the violation of the CARs that is being assessed as a failure; it is more that Mr. Wilkins did not meet the standards required of a Class 2 instructor. The respondent stated that a Class 2 instructor has the responsibility of managing Class 3 and 4 instructors and as such he must know and follow all of the CARs' restrictions. The Precautionary Landing Demonstration was good except for the overshoot portion which resulted in a climb to an altitude of only 900 feet above ground level, prior to crossing the built-up area.

It was for these reasons that Mr. Wilkins is being assessed as not displaying a Class 2 instructor standard and as such is being reverted to a Class 3 instructor rating.

Mr. Wilkins testified that he felt his rating during this exam was within the limits of a Class 2 instructor and made the following points:

After reviewing the student's Pilot Training Record, Mr. Wilkins decided on selecting Lesson 24 after concluding that this student had spent the previous two months primarily flying circuits and therefore needed to spend some time away from the circuit, reading a map. Mr. Wilkins felt he had met all procedures, for the Precautionary Landing Demonstration, with proficiency and that it was preferable to demonstrate the procedure as an exercise and not a practice. He felt he had met all of the rules that apply for executing a Precautionary Landing. He also mentioned that it is common to use, as he did, the acronym COWLS, as a guide to be followed when executing a precautionary landing, justifying his choice of a field close to a town:

C........ Close to Civilization

O........ Obstacles

W....... Wind direction

L......... Length of field

S......... Surface construction and condition

DETERMINATION

I, for the reasons previously indicated, accepted the respondent's request for the removal of the requirement for the applicant to re-write exams for re-licensing to a Class 2 standard as stated on the Notice of Suspension.

I conclude the applicant, after reviewing lessons completed in Exercise 22 and finding no indication of lessons completed in Exercise 21, could understandingly judge that Exercise 21 had been passed over or missed. As Exercise 21, Precautionary Landing, is included in Lesson 24, I support the applicant's decision of having this as an acceptable lesson of choice.

I conclude an instructor has the prerogative to not only choose but also to modify a published lesson, if he feels it is in the best interest of training a particular student. I refer to the Flight Instructor Guide – Aeroplane, Introduction, where it states:

This guide has been prepared by Transport Canada Aviation for the information and guidance of pilots preparing to apply for flight instructor ratings, and for use as a reference by qualified flight instructors. (Emphasis mine)

Also in Part III, it states:

Lesson Plans for the Private Pilot Flight Training Syllabus, which follow, provide guidance for the new instructor, and a ready reference for the more experienced instructor. [...] (Emphasis mine)

While it is recommended that flight instructors carefully follow these Lesson Plans as outlined, the personal instructional techniques of an individual flight instructor may be cause for modification of this syllabus, in which case, it should be committed to writing and followed with care. In either case, special circumstances such as aircraft availability, geographic location, or weather conditions may necessitate a departure from the written numerical order of the Lesson Plans.

I conclude on the evidence before me that an overshoot of less than 1,000 feet above ground level did occur during the in-flight portion of the test, as the applicant did not contest or cross-examine the respondent's witness regarding the overshoot altitude as stated. Therefore, I must accept the 900 feet above ground level altitude as being correct, proving a violation of CARs 602.14(2)(a)(i) did occur. I therefore agree with the respondent in assessing, pursuant to paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, a Class 2 instructor rating failure, as being appropriate in this circumstance.

As either of these failures alone shows just cause for a suspension of the applicant's Class 2 instructor rating, I conclude a failure to have taken place and the assessment to be upheld.

September 6, 2005

Hebb C. Russell
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no O-3059-59 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-398304 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

James Kevin Wilkins, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.1(1)b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Hebb C. Russell


Décision : le 6 septembre 2005

TRADUCTION

Je suis d'accord avec l'intimé de ne pas accorder une qualification d'instructeur de classe 2 au requérant et l'Avis de suspension est confirmé.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 11 mai 2005 à 10 h au Victory Verbatim, Tour Ernst & Young, à Toronto (Ontario).

LA LOI

L'alinéa 7.1(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

Le ministre, s'il décide de suspendre, d'annuler ou de ne pas renouveler un document d'aviation canadien pour l'un des motifs ci-après, expédie un avis par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé ou certifié à la dernière adresse connue du titulaire du document ou du propriétaire, de l'exploitant ou de l'utilisateur de l'aéronef, de l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise de document :

[...]
b) le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document;
[...]

LA QUESTION EN LITIGE

L'affaire en cause dans cette audience en révision demandée par le requérant consiste à savoir si l'intimé était justifié de suspendre la qualification d'instructeur de classe 2 en raison d'un manque « de planification et d'organisation d'ensemble de la leçon, de compétence pédagogique », en vertu de l'alinéa 7.1(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

Comme l'indique la carte d'examen en vol à la pièce M-1, deux éléments évalués sont inscrits comme étant des échecs pour satisfaire aux normes de la classe 2. Comme chacun de ces éléments constitue la cause de l'échec, il y a donc deux questions en litige dont le bien-fondé doit être traité au mérite :

1)    1a    M. Wilkins n'a pas correctement cerné les besoins de formation de l'étudiant.

2)    2b    Le terrain d'exercice choisi par M. Wilkins était situé trop près d'une zone bâtie, ce qui a entraîné une remise des gaz au-dessus de la ville et à moins de 1 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol.

M. Wilkins a témoigné qu'il considérait que ses qualifications au cours de cet examen étaient dans les limites d'une qualification d'instructeur de classe 2.

LA PREUVE

Une requête a été présentée par l'intimé pour amender l'Avis de suspension délivré à James Wilkins le 17 août 2004 et retirer l'exigence de repasser l'examen comme partie intégrante des conditions préalables pour le renouvellement de la licence de classe 2 du requérant.

Étant donné que le requérant n'avait pas d'objection quant au retrait de cette exigence, je confirme la modification.

L'intimé a présenté les pièces suivantes :

  • M-1, Carte d'examen en vol, Qualifications d'instructeur de vol, James Wilkins, en date du 17 août 2004
  • M-2, Photocopie du carnet de vol de l'examen de l'inspecteur Spiers, en date du 17 août 2004
  • M-3, Dossier d'entraînement des pilotes, Avion. Ce document de dix pages est une réplique du carnet de vol de l'élève-pilote remis à M. Wilkins pour sa préparation de cours pour l'examen de vol en question.

L'intimé a présenté les documents suivants de Transports Canada, lesquels relèvent du domaine public :

  • Guide de l'instructeur de vol - Avion (TP 975F)
  • Guide de test en vol – Qualifications d'instructeur de pilotage – Avion, hélicoptère, voltige (TP 5537F)

Le conseiller a accepté ces documents, de même que tous les documents de référence auxquels ils se rapportent.

L'inspecteur Spiers, témoin de l'intimé, a décrit les procédures et les méthodes utilisées pour le renouvellement d'une licence d'instructeur de vol exposées dans la publication de Transports Canada Guide de test en vol – Qualifications d'instructeur de pilotage – Avion, hélicoptère, voltige, 2002.

Les Exigences concernant la délivrance d'une qualification prévoient que :

Les candidats doivent satisfaire à toutes les conditions préalables spécifiées dans le Manuel de licences du personnel, et obtenir le rendement suivant pour chacun des sept points évalués pendant le test en vol :

  • Classe 1/Classe 1 obtenue pour tous les points.
  • Classe 2/Classe 1 ou 2 obtenue pour tous les points.
  • Classe 3/Classe 1, 2 ou 3 obtenue pour tous les points.
  • Classe 4/Classe 1, 2 ou 3 obtenue pour tous les points.

Normes d'évaluation

[...]

Classe 2 – Avion et hélicoptère

  • La présentation doit comprendre très peu d'erreurs mineures dans l'application des facteurs d'apprentissage et des techniques d'enseignement.
  • La méthode d'enseignement qui permet d'obtenir une bonne participation de l'élève.
  • Les renseignements techniques présentés à l'élève doivent être précis.
  • Démontrer une bonne connaissance des normes de formation appropriée et des tests en vol pour effectuer la surveillance du personnel instructeur.
  • Pouvoir reconnaître facilement les erreurs dans l'exécution des manœuvres de vol, et proposer des moyens d'amélioration efficaces.
  • Généralement, il doit y avoir très peu d'erreurs mineures dans l'exécution des manœuvres de vol.

[...]

Déroulement du test en vol

Le test en vol pour l'obtention de la qualification d'instructeur de pilotage comprend trois phases : avant vol, en vol et après vol. Le test qui, normalement, ne devrait pas durer plus d'une demi-journée, a pour but de simuler une séance d'entraînement réaliste avec un élève. L'évaluation des aptitudes du candidat en tant qu'instructeur portera sur les points suivants :

Avant vol

  • Planification et organisation
  • Cours préparatoire
  • Briefing avant le vol

En vol

  • Compétence de vol
  • Compétence d'enseignement
  • Analyse du rendement de l'élève

Après vol

  • Compte rendu après vol

Les privilèges demandés détermineront la nature du test. Par exemple, le test pour l'obtention d'une qualification supérieure classe 2, avions ou hélicoptères, inclura l'évaluation des aptitudes d'encadrement. [...]

L'inspecteur Spiers a décrit de quelle façon il a, à titre d'examinateur, joué le rôle d'élève-pilote non- conforme et la séquence des événements qu'il a suivie pour faire subir l'examen de test en vol de M. Wilkins.

M. Spiers a fourni une copie d'un dossier d'entraînement du pilote non-conforme à M. Wilkins (pièce M-3), afin qu'il l'examine et qu'il décide par la suite d'un numéro de plan de leçon approprié, parmi ceux qui sont énoncés dans le Guide de l'instructeur de vol de Transports Canada.

À la suite de l'examen du dossier d'entraînement du pilote, M. Wilkins a décidé de choisir la leçon 24. Le requérant a ensuite modifié la leçon 24 en y ajoutant l'exercice 11, soit une démonstration de vol lent.

M. Wilkins avait alors 20 minutes pour préparer la leçon 24 qui consiste à :

  • Décollage minimal sur une piste courte
  • Repérage d'un terrain qui convient pour une démonstration d'atterrissage de précaution
  • Atterrissage de précaution
  • Vol lent
  • Atterrissage sur terrain mou

M. Wilkins a ensuite donné une séance de briefing avant vol à M. Spiers, laquelle couvrait ce qui devait être démontré et piloté, à savoir :

1. Briefing avant vol et indications à l'étudiant :

  • Qu'allons-nous faire?
  • Comment allons-nous le faire?
  • Considérations sur la sécurité

2. Test en vol

  • Décollage minimal sur une piste (courte)
  • Navigation : caps et ETA dans la zone d'entraînement
  • Repérage d'un terrain qui convient pour une démonstration d'atterrissage de précaution
  • Atterrissage de précaution et remise des gaz
  • Démonstration de vol lent
  • Atterrissage sur terrain mou

3. Exposé après vol

M. Spiers a témoigné que la première cause d'échec pour satisfaire aux normes de classe 2, conformément à la pièce M-1, était le choix de la leçon que le candidat avait fait dans le Guide de l'instructeur de vol, de même que le fait qu'il ait modifié la leçon. M. Wilkins a choisi la leçon 24, laquelle comprenait l'exercice 21, l'atterrissage de précaution. M. Spiers s'attendait à ce qu'il choisisse la leçon 20, laquelle incluait l'exercice 22, l'atterrissage forcé. De l'avis de M. Spiers, l'étudiant n'était pas prêt pour la leçon 24, puisqu'elle n'était pas au programme de cet étudiant. M. Spiers a poursuivi en déclarant que M. Wilkins avait aggravé la situation en choisissant de modifier la leçon en y ajoutant l'exercice 11, soit le vol lent, qui ne faisait pas partie du plan de la leçon 24, tel que publié dans le Guide de l'instructeur de vol. M. Spiers a de plus déclaré que le contenu de la leçon, tel que publié, ne devait pas être modifié.

La seconde cause faisant échec aux normes de la classe 2, conformément à la pièce M-1, s'est produit dans la portion « en vol » du test en vol. De l'avis de M. Spiers, M. Wilkins a choisi un terrain pour la démonstration de l'atterrissage de précaution qui avait une dimension ou une distance insuffisantes pour permettre de monter à une altitude de 1 000 pieds ou plus au-dessus du niveau du sol, avant de survoler la zone bâtie. M. Spiers a déclaré qu'il s'agit-là sans conteste d'une infraction au sous-alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC), qui se lit comme suit :

(2) Sauf s'il s'agit d'effectuer le décollage, l'approche ou l'atterrissage d'un aéronef ou lorsque la personne y est autorisée en application de l'article 602.15, il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef :

a) au-dessus d'une zone bâte ou au-dessus d'un rassemblement de personnes en plein air, à moins que l'aéronef ne soit utilisé à une altitude qui permettrait, en cas d'urgence exigeant un atterrissage immédiat, d'effectuer un atterrissage sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface, et, dans tous les cas, à une altitude d'au moins :

(i) dans le cas d'un avion, 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 2 000 pieds ou moins de l'avion, mesurée horizontalement,
[...]

M. Spiers a passé en revue la différence entre les qualifications d'instructeur de classe 2 et 3. Le Guide de test en vol – Qualifications de l'instructeur de pilotage – Avion, hélicoptère, voltige de Transports Canada, dans ses Normes d'évaluation, prévoit qu'un instructeur de classe 2 doit, entre autres choses :

  • Démontrer une bonne connaissance des normes de formation appropriée et des tests en vol pour effectuer la surveillance du personnel instructeur

M. Spiers a déclaré que ce n'est pas simplement l'infraction au RAC qui est considérée comme un échec mais bien plutôt le fait que M. Wilkins n'a pas satisfait aux normes prescrites pour un instructeur de classe 2. L'intimé a déclaré que l'instructeur de classe 2 a la responsabilité de gérer les instructeurs de classe 3 et 4 et, qu'à ce titre, il doit savoir et comprendre toutes les restrictions du RAC. La démonstration d'atterrissage de précaution était bonne, à l'exception de la partie sur la remise des gaz qui a entraîné une montée à une altitude de seulement 900 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol, avant de traverser la zone bâtie.

Pour ces raisons, M. Wilkins est évalué comme une personne qui ne satisfait pas aux normes d'instructeur de classe 2 et est, de ce fait, retourné à la classification d'instructeur de classe 3.

M. Wilkins a témoigné qu'il sentait que ses qualifications pendant cet examen étaient dans les limites d'un instructeur de Classe 2 et il a soulevé les points suivants :

Après avoir passé en revue le dossier d'entraînement du pilote de l'élève-pilote, M. Wilkins a décidé de choisir la leçon 24 après avoir conclu que cet étudiant avait principalement passé les deux mois précédents à effectuer des circuits, qu'il avait donc besoin de passer un certain temps loin des circuits, à lire une carte. M. Wilkins considérait qu'il satisfaisait à toutes les procédures en ce qui a trait à la démonstration de l'atterrissage de précaution, avec compétence, et qu'il était préférable de démontrer la procédure par un exercice et non par la pratique. Il considérait qu'il avait satisfait à toutes les règles qui s'appliquent pour exécuter l'atterrissage de précaution. Il a de plus mentionné qu'il est courant d'utiliser, comme il l'a fait, l'acronyme COWLS, comme guide lors de l'exécution d'un atterrissage de précaution, en justifiant son choix d'un terrain près d'une ville :

C.......... Close to Civilization – Près de la civilisation

O.......... Obstacles - Obstacles

W......... Wind direction – Direction du vent

L........... Length of field – Longueur du terrain

S........... Surface construction and condition – Construction et conditions de la surface

DÉCISION

Pour les raisons susmentionnées, j'ai accepté la demande de l'intimé de retirer l'exigence selon laquelle le requérant devait repasser l'examen de renouvellement de licence des normes de classe 2 énoncées dans l'Avis de suspension.

Je conclus que le requérant, après avoir examiné les leçons complétées de l'exercice 22 et n'ayant trouvé aucune indication des leçons complétées à l'exercice 21, pouvait, et on le comprendra, juger que l'exercice 21 avait été passé sous silence ou manqué. Étant donné que l'exercice 21 sur l'atterrissage de précaution est compris à la leçon 24, j'appuie la décision du requérant de considérer que cette leçon était un choix acceptable.

Je conclus qu'un instructeur a la prérogative, non seulement de choisir, mais aussi de modifier une leçon publiée, s'il considère qu'il en va du meilleur intérêt de la formation d'un étudiant. Je me rapporte à l'introduction du Guide de test en vol – Avion, où l'on peut lire :

Le présent guide a été rédigé par Transports Canada Aviation pour aider les pilotes à obtenir une qualification d'instructeur au pilotage et pour servir de référence aux instructeurs au pilotage déjà qualifiés. (Nous soulignons)

De plus à la Partie III, on lit ce qui suit :

Les plans de leçons suivants, établis pour le programme de vol du pilote privé, servent de guide au nouvel instructeur et de référence commode à l'instructeur plus expérimenté. [...] (nous soulignons)

Bien qu'il soit recommandé que les instructeurs au pilotage suivent soigneusement ces plans de leçons tels quels, les méthodes pédagogiques personnelles d'un instructeur peuvent donner lieu à des modifications de ce programme qui, le cas échéant, doivent être consignées par écrit et suivies avec soin. De toute façon, des circonstances particulières comme la disponibilité des avions, la situation géographique ou les conditions météorologiques peuvent empêcher l'instructeur de respecter l'ordre numérique écrit des plans de leçons.

Je conclus en m'appuyant sur la preuve qui est devant moi qu'une remise de gaz à moins de 1 000 pieds au-dessus du sol a été effectuée dans la portion « en vol » du test, étant donné que le requérant n'a pas contesté ou contre-interrogé le témoin de l'intimé concernant l'altitude déclarée au cours de la remise des gaz. En conséquence, je dois accepter les 900 pieds au-dessus du sol comme étant l'altitude exacte, laquelle fait preuve d'une infraction au sous-alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i). Je confirme donc que, dans les circonstances, l'évaluation de l'intimé qui imposait un échec relatif aux classifications d'instructeur de classe 2 en vertu de l'alinéa 7.1(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, était appropriée.

Étant donné que chacun de ces échecs est en soi un motif suffisant pour une suspension des qualifications d'instructeur de classe 2 du requérant, je conclus qu'un échec a eu lieu et que l'évaluation doit être maintenue.

Le 6 septembre 2005

Hebb C. Russell
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada