Decisions

CAT File No. A-1235-33
MoT File No. 6504-P-423437-27568

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Donald Curlene Mews, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s.7.7
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c. 2, s. 210(1)(a)

Overweight Aircraft, Certificate Of Airworthiness


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: November 1, 1996

Donald Curlene Mews did contravene paragraph 210(1)(a) of the Air Regulations. The monetary penalty of $250.00, made payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be paid to the tribunal on or before fifteen days following the service of this determination.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, October 29, 1996 at 10:00 hours at the Aurora Hotel in the city of Goose Bay, Labrador.

BACKGROUND

On October 26, 1995, a Cessna 172 bearing registration marks CF-YJZ flown by Donald Mews took off from Goose Bay for Davis Inlet, Labrador. As a result of a complaint, by one Jim Hudson of Northern Lights Air Service, the aircraft was apparently summoned back to Goose Bay by Air Traffic Control. It landed after a flight of about twelve minutes. The R.C.M.P. had been summoned and was awaiting Mr. Mews on his return. The contents of the aircraft were weighed on a digital scale, and the aircraft was found to have been overloaded by 63 pounds. Transport Canada proceeded against Mr. Mews by way of a monetary penalty of $250.00 for contravening paragraph 210(1)(a) of the Air Regulations, thereby invalidating the Certificate of Airworthiness of the aircraft.

THE LAW

Paragraph 210(1)(a) of the Air Regulations states as follows:

210. (1) No person shall fly or attempt to fly an aircraft, other than a hang glider or an ultra-light aeroplane, unless there is in force in respect of that aircraft

(a) a certificate of airworthiness issued under this Part or under the laws of the country in which the aircraft is registered

THE EVIDENCE

Mr. George Riopka, Regional Director, Civil Aviation Enforcement, T.C. in Moncton, testified that the document holder had telephoned him, some 40 minutes before the hearing was due to commence that morning, to say that:

a) There was bad weather at Davis Inlet which precluded him from appearing.

b) He had no objection to the hearing proceeding in his absence.

c) His main purpose in seeking a hearing was to identify who had made the complaint against him.

d) He did not know it at the time, but he now knows that his aircraft was overloaded on October 26, 1995. However, he had not knowingly done so.

e) He admits that he was wrong and said that he intended to pay the fine at the conclusion of this hearing.

Constable Guy Dimitroff, R.C.M.P., testified that on October 26, 1995 he was sent to Goose Bay Airport to investigate Donald Mews overloading his aircraft as a result of a complaint by Jim Hudson of Northern Lights Air Service.

Constable Dimitroff inspected the aircraft documentation, and had the contents of the aircraft weighed on a digital scale (which had been calibrated) at the Labrador Air Services Hangar. Photographs of the load were also taken (Exhibit M-4). He received full cooperation from Mr. Mews. Constable Dimitroff liaised with Transport Canada in Moncton on the telephone; they did calculations and determined that the aircraft was overloaded by 63 pounds on its departure from Goose Bay (Exhibit M-7).

DETERMINATION

The evidence is clear. Mr. Mews' admission of guilt to Mr. Riopka, who reported to the hearing under oath, leave no doubt that the transgression did take place as alleged by the Minister.

Had Mr. Mews made an appearance today at this hearing, I suspect that he may have been able to make out a case of "due dilligence" in that, while he did not weigh the cargo on a digital scale, he may have used other less accurate means to determine the weight of his cargo. Sixty-three pounds can fall within the envelope of an estimation error. Further, I suspect that this incident arose because of a grudge held against Mr. Mews by the complainant. However, because Mr. Mews did not appear, I am bound by subparagraph 7.9(3)(b)(i) of the Aeronautics Act. He has admitted to Mr. Riopka that his aircraft was overloaded. I therefore have no alternative but to determine that:

Donald Curlene Mews did contravene paragraph 210(1)(a) of the Air Regulations.

Philip D. Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no A-1235-33 (TAC)
Dossier no 6504-P-423437-27568 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Donald Curlene Mews, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art 7.7
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C 1978, ch. 2, al. 210(1)a)

Certificat de navigabilité, Aéronef surchargé


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 1er novembre 1996

TRADUCTION

Donald Curlene Mews a contrevenu à l'alinéa 210(1)a) du Règlement de l'Air. L'amende imposée de 250,00 $ payable au Receveur général du Canada doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 29 octobre 1996 à 10 h à l'hôtel Aurora dans la ville de Goose Bay (Labrador).

HISTORIQUE

Le 26 octobre 1995, un Cessna 172 portant les marques d'immatriculation CF-YJZ et piloté par Donald Mews a décollé de Goose Bay en direction de Davis Inlet au Labrador. À la suite d'une plainte déposée par Jim Hudson de Northern Lights Air Service, l'aéronef aurait été sommé de revenir à Goose Bay par le Contrôle de la circulation aérienne. Il a atterri après un vol approximatif de douze minutes. La GRC avait été convoquée et attendait M. Mews à son retour. Le chargement de l'aéronef a été pesé sur une balance numérique et on a découvert que l'aéronef transportait un surplus de 63 livres. Transports Canada a imposé une amende de 250,00 $ à M. Mews en conséquence de sa contravention à l'alinéa 210(1)a) du Règlement de l'Air rendant le certificat de navigabilité de l'aéronef invalide.

LA LOI

L'alinéa 210(1)a) du Règlement de l'Air se lit comme suit :

210. (1) Il est interdit de piloter ou de tenter de piloter un aéronef, autre qu'une aile libre ou un avion ultra-léger, à moins que l'un des documents suivants n'ait été délivré à l'égard de l'aéronef et que les conditions auxquelles ce document est assujetti ne soient respectées :

a) un certificat de navigabilité délivré en vertu de la présente partie ou des lois du pays d'immatriculation de l'aéronef;

LA PREUVE

M. George Riopka, directeur régional de l'application des règlements d'aviation civile de Transports Canada à Moncton a déclaré que le titulaire du document lui avait téléphoné environ quarante minutes avant l'audience et lui avait dit que :

a) le mauvais temps à Davis Inlet l'empêchait d'être présent à l'audience;

b) il ne s'opposait pas à ce que l'audience se déroule sans lui;

c) la principale raison pour laquelle il avait voulu l'audience était de savoir qui avait déposé la plainte contre lui;

d) il ne le savait pas alors mais il sait maintenant que son aéronef était surchargé le 26 octobre 1995; cependant il ne l'avait pas fait en connaissance de cause;

e) il a admis qu'il avait tort et qu'il comptait payer l'amende à la fin de l'audience.

L'agent Guy Dimitroff de la GRC a témoigné que le 26 octobre 1995, il avait été envoyé à l'aéroport de Goose Bay pour mener une enquête sur la surcharge de l'aéronef de Donald Mews à la suite d'une plainte déposée par Jim Hudson de Northern Lights Air Service.

L'agent Dimitroff a inspecté les documents de l'aéronef et a fait peser le chargement de l'aéronef sur une balance numérique (préalablement étalonnée) du hangar de Labrador Air Services. On a alors pris des photos du chargement (pièce M-4). M. Mews a donné son entière collaboration. L'agent a communiqué avec le bureau de Transports Canada à Moncton par téléphone; les calculs alors effectués ont permis de conclure que l'aéronef transportait une surcharge de 63 livres à son départ de Goose Bay (pièce M-7).

DÉCISION

La preuve est évidente. L'admission de M. Mews de sa culpabilité à M. Riopka qui l'a ensuite rapporté sous serment lors de l'audience ne laisse pas de doute sur la transgression telle qu'alléguée par le ministre.

Si M. Mews s'était présenté aujourd'hui à l'audience, il aurait peut-être pu démontrer sa diligence raisonnable dans la mesure où n'ayant pas pesé le chargement sur une balance numérique, il avait peut-être utilisé un moyen moins précis de l'évaluer. Soixante-trois livres peuvent très bien se situer dans les limites d'une erreur d'évaluation. Je soupçonne de plus que la plainte a été déposée par un plaignant qui en voulait personnellement à M. Mews. Cependant, puisque M. Mews ne s'est pas présenté, je suis lié par le sous-alinéa 7.9(3)b)(i) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Il a admis à M. Riopka que son aéronef était surchargé et je suis donc obligé de déclarer que :

Donald Curlene Mews a contrevenu à l'alinéa 210(1)a) du Règlement de l'Air.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile