Decisions

TATC File No. O-3186-02
MoT File No. PAP 5504-55370

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Frank Bellantoni, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.01

VFR Flight, Negligent or Reckless Operation of an Aircraft, Balloon


Review Determination
Hebb C. Russell


Decision: July 25, 2006

Mr. Bellantoni did operate balloon C-GFNH in a reckless manner when available aviation weather reports indicated that operations could endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person. The 30‑day suspension is confirmed. Said suspension shall begin on the thirty-fifth day following service of this determination.

BACKGROUND

A notice of suspension dated August 9, 2005, was registered to the applicant, Frank Bellantoni, advising him that he was being assessed a 30-day licence suspension for an alleged contravention of section 602.01 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) on the following grounds:

Canadian Aviation Regulation 602.01 in that, on or about October 8, 2004, at or near Ottawa, Ontario, at approximately 0728 local time, you operated an aircraft, to wit, a Cameron Balloon, bearing Canadian registration marks C-GFNH, in such a reckless or negligent manner in that available aviation weather reports, winds and temperature indicated that operations could endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person.

EVIDENCE

Minister of Transport

The case presenting officer, Michael Roach, called the first witness, Gisele Whorley, aviation enforcement inspector, Transport Canada, and presented a ring binder divided into 17 sections. For ease of reference, this single exhibit is listed and referred to as Exhibit A-1 to 17.

Exhibit A-13 includes:

A Terminal Aerodrome Forecast (TAF) is the standard code used throughout the world to report aerodrome forecasts. It describes the weather conditions most likely to occur within five nautical miles of the centre of the runway complex.

METAR is a surface weather observation issued on the hour, while SPECI is a special observation, issued at times other than on the hour, as the result of a significant weather change.

FD are alphanumeric forecasts of wind and temperature aloft for various altitudes. The flight levels available are for the low level: 3 000 feet, 6 000 feet, 9 000 feet, etc.

Ottawa International Airport actual weather reports for October 8, 2004

At 0600 local time, wind 190 degrees (out of the south) at a speed of 6 knots (nautical miles an hour), the visibility more than 6 statute miles in mist with a few clouds at 2 400 feet, temperature of 12 degrees Celsius and a dew point of 12 degrees Celsius, altimeter reading of 30.29 inches of mercury.

At 0700 local time, wind was 160 degrees (out of the southeast) at a speed of 4 knots and the visibility was now 4 statute miles with a few clouds at 1 800 feet, temperature and dew point were the same at 12 degrees Celsius, altimeter reading of 30.30 inches of mercury.

Ottawa International Airport forecast for October 8, 2004

At 0400 local time, valid for 0500 local time on October 8th, until 0600 local time on October 9th, wind was 200 degrees at 5 knots, more than 6 statute miles visibility, scattered cloud at 24 000 feet and a 30 percent probability between 0500 and 0900 local time, : mile visibility in mist becoming between 1200 and 1400 local time, winds 200 degrees at 10 knots gusting to 20 knots.

At 0712 local time, an amended forecast was produced that was valid from 0700 to 0900 local time, wind 200 degrees at 5 knots, more than 6 statute miles visibility, a few clouds at 18 000 feet and temporarily between 0700 and 0900 local time, visibility of 2 statute miles in mist, a 30 percent probability of : statute mile visibility in mist, between 0700 and 0900 local time.

Gatineau, Québec Airport actual weather reports for October 8, 2004

Note C There were no published actual weather reports during the night prior to 0600 local time on October 8, 2004.

At 0600 local time, winds calm, visibility c statute mile in fog, sky clear above the fog, temperature and dew point were the same at 6 degrees Celsius, altimeter reading of 30.30 inches of mercury.

A special report issued at 0648 local time, winds calm, visibility 2 statute mile in fog, sky clear above the fog.

At 0700 local time, winds calm, visibility 2 statute mile in fog, sky clear above, temperature and dew point were the same at 6 degrees Celsius, altimeter reading of 30.31 inches of mercury

A special report issued at 0723 local time, winds calm, visibility 3 statute mile in fog, sky clear above the fog.

Gatineau, Québec Airport forecast for October 8, 2004

The first issued forecast for the Gatineau Airport for October 8, 2004 was at 0753 local time, valid for 0800 on October 8th, until midnight, winds variable at 3 knots, 2 statute mile visibility in fog, scattered cloud at 22 000 feet, temporarily between 0800 and 0900 local time, visibility 3 statute miles in mist becoming between 0900 and 1000 local time, winds 200 degrees at 8 knots, visibility better than 6 statute miles to the north and southwest.

Inspector Whorley stated the minimum visibility for VFR flight in controlled airspace is 3 statute miles and a minimum cloud ceiling of 1 000 feet. These visibility and ceiling minimums are for all aircraft, including balloons.

The respondent called two witnesses, Sharon Joy and Sandra Lambert, both of whom were passengers on board the flight in question. As there were no objections made by the applicant to any testimony made by any witnesses or to exhibits presented by the respondent, this member is accepting what was said as being a true description of the events that transpired on the balloon flight in question.

Both witnesses stated that they were passengers on balloon C-GFNH at 0728 on October 8, 2004, and that they were informed by the applicant that the intended destination for this flight was the Québec side of the Ottawa River in the vicinity of Gatineau Airport, Québec. The applicant also stated to them that the chase crew were being dispatched to the Québec side of the river in anticipation of their arrival with two vehicles.

The balloon lifted off from Carleton University and slowly drifted over Dows Lake which looked like a mirror. You could see pockets of mist in the area. The pilot stated that he was going to go higher to get more wind. The wind took the balloon in a northeasterly direction. Looking towards the Ottawa River, you could see a fog bank with the Parliament buildings coming through the fog. As they headed over the Ottawa River, they were in light fog and Mr. Bellantoni said he was going down to see if he could get below it. As they were descending, the fog bank was fairly heavy right to the ground. They were over a residential area at an altitude of 200 to 300 feet. The cars and houses were quite visible. The pilot increased altitude again taking them over the water. As the altitude increased, there was no visibility, they could see the shadow of the balloon in the cloud or fog. The pilot descended again and indicated he was looking for or was near Duck Island. They continued their descent fairly rapidly and the water of the Ottawa River became visible at about 20 feet. Mr. Bellantoni called for everyone to bend their knees as they were going to hit. They hit the water hard with a jolt. Because of the configuration of the basket, all the weight of the passengers is located at the front of the basket so that when the basket hit the water, it submerged about three quarters of the way up its leading edge. Everyone in the basket was soaked up to at least their waist. The pilot, at the back of the basket, had less weight so he was soaked up to his knees. The estimated time the passengers spent in the water was one to two minutes.

At this time, the pilot got the basket out of the water by using many blasts from both heaters and releasing air through the flaps.

Mr. Bellantoni brought the balloon back down to just above the surface of the water. After some time, they gradually could see shadows and the outline of trees. He then raised the balloon up to an altitude of 40 to 50 feet and through manoeuvring, brought the balloon to the shoreline near the Aviation Parkway. At this point, there was very little wind and they had difficultly in getting to a point where they could land. Mr. Bellantoni set the balloon down on the asphalt of the parkway where one of the passengers got out of the basket and assisted in pushing the balloon off onto a grassy area.

Applicant's argument

The applicant testified that, between the time of 0500 and 0600 local time on the morning of the flight, he did check the Ottawa area weather and that it was forecast to remain VFR for the flight. Mr. Bellantoni also testified that the weather looked good and that he did not obtain any weather updates following his initial weather check. He also testified that he did not check the Gatineau weather.

Mr. Bellantoni testified that the flight included eight passengers as well as himself, making a total of nine people on board. He also stated that he did obtain a take-off clearance from the Ottawa tower as required and that a second call was made at 1 000 feet after lift-off. At the time of lift-off, the visibility was good on the Ottawa side of the Ottawa River and to the south with fog by the river. Once airborne, there were no suitable landing locations which prevented the possibility of an immediate landing as their route took them over Dows Lake and the buildings of downtown Ottawa. With only the wind steering the balloon, the only option available at that time was to climb in order to find a landing spot away from the fog. After obtaining a clearance from Ottawa tower and climbing to 3 000 feet, Mr. Bellantoni found the winds were brisk, changing direction from northwest to northeast to east, so he decided to descend. After obtaining a clearance from the Ottawa tower, he descended from 3 000 feet to within a couple hundred feet above the ground. The wind brought the balloon into the wall of fog at this point. The visibility was poor but he could see they had crossed the parkway, so he now knew they were over the Ottawa River where he knew there were no power lines. He continued descending but added heat to slow the rate of descent where he estimates they were descending at 50 feet per minute when they splashed into the water, which he described as an average landing. As there is a delay in the reaction time when adding heat to a balloon, he estimated they were in the water for 30 seconds to a minute before the balloon was able to lift the gondola out of the water. He also estimated that the 30 seconds of heat that he added to the balloon was too much in that when all of the water drained out of the gondola, the balloon lifted quickly back up into the fog.

Mr. Bellantoni then descended the balloon slowly back down to the surface of the water after which they drifted back in the direction of land. Approaching land, he lifted the balloon over trees and finally landed on Aviation Parkway just east of the Rockcliffe Airport.

Mr. Bellantoni contends that he did not endanger or do any harm to any persons or property, since he did check the Ottawa International Airport weather and he did depart under VFR conditions. Therefore he felt it was a legal launch. Although he did not check the Gatineau weather prior to departing, the TAF for Gatineau Airport was forecasting it to become VFR. He stated that the winds for an airport (Ottawa) were specifically for that airport only.

THE LAW

Section 602.01 of the CARs:

602.01 No person shall operate an aircraft in such a reckless or negligent manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person.

DISCUSSION

The applicant testified that between the time of 0500 and 0600 local time on October 8, 2004, he did check the Ottawa aviation weather.

The applicant also stated that he did not check his destination weather which was Gatineau, Québec.

This member agrees with Mr. Bellantoni in that he did legally depart under VFR conditions. However, Mr. Bellantoni did acknowledge that he was aware from the Ottawa Airport forecast (TAF) that there was a 30 percent probability of fog developing in the area for the time period of his planned flight. Also, it is this member's opinion that, as a qualified pilot, Mr. Bellantoni had to understand that when the difference between the temperature and dew point is only one degree Celsius, combined with light or no wind conditions, the atmospheric conditions are favourable for the development of radiation fog.

Mr. Bellantoni testified that neither he nor balloon C-GFNH were certified for IFR flight.

The first reported weather (METAR) for the Gatineau Airport was issued at 0600 local time and it showed zero wind and c statute mile in fog; the sky was clear above (the fog) with the temperature and due point at 6 degrees respectively. Between 0600 and 0723 local time on the morning of the flight in question, there were four published reports on Gatineau weather and all showed the winds calm and visibility not above 2 mile in fog.

It is this member=s opinion that the respondent is correct and justified in its claim that by not checking the intended destination weather, Mr. Bellantoni did operate balloon C-GFNH in a reckless or negligent manner. All available aviation weather reports either forecast a 30 percent chance of IFR conditions due to fog or reported winds, temperature and dew point, that when combined, all indicated a high probability of fog developing on his intended route and at his destination.

Furthermore, his intended destination was reporting conditions that were well below VFR flight conditions. Therefore, Mr. Bellantoni did operate his flight in such a way as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person.

Mr. Bellantoni also stated that it was an unsafe and a dangerous situation when he was in the fog, and by doing so, he admitted that under his command, he placed C-GFNH and his passengers in an unsafe and dangerous situation. Therefore, the Minister has proven the element of Mr. Bellantoni violating section 602.01 of the CARs.

Therefore, with the elements of the offence proven that the applicant=s actions did endanger or were very likely to endanger the life or property of any person, the remaining issue to be decided is whether the actions of Mr. Bellantoni are to be considered reckless or negligent.

The Canadian Law Dictionary, referred to in Jason R. Newburg v. Minister of Transport, review determination, [1993], O-0415-02, contains the following definitions:

Negligence: Negligence is the omitting to do something that a reasonable man would do or the doing something which a reasonable man would not do ... It is really the absence of such care as it was the duty of the defendant to use....The care taken by a prudent man has always been the rule laid down - a regard to caution such as a man of ordinary prudence would observe.

Reckless: Marked by a lack of proper caution; careless of the consequences. In some cases the term insinuates more than carelessness, even going as far as to imply wilfulness. In this context the meaning may be indifferent to the consequences, mindless, not caring; very negligent; advertent negligence where the consequence was foreseen as possible but not desired. Reckless means grossly careless. The doing of something which in fact involves a risk, whether the doer realizes it or not.

This member finds that Mr. Bellantoni departed regardless of the consequences, and found that after climbing VFR to an altitude of 3 000 feet, he intentionally descended into IFR flight conditions that both he and his balloon were not qualified to do. Therefore, Mr. Bellantoni descended in unlawful flight conditions placing his balloon and passengers at great risk.

Furthermore, balloon C-GFNH was not required to carry nor did it carry any personal flotation devices and yet he intentionally landed the gondola with everyone on board into the Ottawa River, knowing the gondola alone would not support or provide sufficient flotation for all persons on board and that he had to rely on the burner heat to get everyone on board out of the water.

DETERMINATION

For the above reasons, I find that Mr. Bellantoni did act in a reckless manner whereby he did put balloon C-GFNH and everyone on board at risk while under his command.

I, therefore, find that Mr. Bellantoni did contravene section 602.01 of the CARs and that the notice of suspension dated August 9, 2005 is justified and the respondent is justified in assessing a 30-day licence suspension.

July 25, 2006

Hebb C. Russell

Member

Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no O-3186-02 (TATC)
Dossier no PAP 5504-55370 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Frank Bellantoni, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, article 602.01

Négligence, Vol VFR, Ballon


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Hebb C. Russell


Décision : le 25 juillet 2006

TRADUCTION

M. Bellantoni a effectivement utilisé le ballon C-GFNH de façon imprudente alors que les rapports météorologiques indiquaient que les activités constituaient ou risquaient de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne. La suspension de 30 jours est confirmée. Ladite suspension doit prendre effet le 35e jour suivant la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue les 26 et 27 avril 2006 à l'édifice Standard Life, au 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, 18e étage, Ottawa (Ontario), à 10 h.

HISTORIQUE

Un avis de suspension en date du 9 août 2005 a été envoyé sous pli recommandé au requérant, Frank Bellantoni, l'informant qu'on lui imposait une suspension de licence de 30 jours pour une présumée infraction à l'article 602.01 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) pour les raisons suivantes :

[traduction]

Règlement de l'aviation canadien 602.01 parce que le ou vers le 8 octobre 2004, à Ottawa ou dans ses environs, approximativement à 7 h 28 (heure locale), vous avez utilisé un aéronef, soit un ballon Cameron portant l'immatriculation canadienne C-GFNH, de façon négligente ou imprudente alors que les rapports météorologiques pour l'aviation indiquaient des vents et des températures qui constituaient ou risquaient de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

PREUVE

Ministre des Transports

L'agent de présentation de cas, Michael Roach, a appelé le premier témoin, Gisele Whorley, inspectrice de l'application de la loi en aviation pour le compte de Transports Canada. Elle a présenté une reliure à anneaux divisé en 17 sections. Pour faciliter sa consultation, cette pièce est répertoriée comme pièce A-1 à 17.

La pièce A-13 inclut ce qui suit :

Une prévision d'aérodrome (TAF) est le code normal utilisé partout dans le monde pour rapporter les prévisions météorologiques des aérodromes. Elle décrit les conditions météorologiques qui prévaudront vraisemblablement dans un environnement de cinq milles nautiques du centre de l'ensemble des pistes.

L'acronyme «  METAR  » est un système d'observation météorologique au sol émis à chaque heure, alors qu'un message d'observation spécial sélectionné (SPECI) est émis à tout autre moment pour indiquer les changements météorologiques importants.

L'acronyme «  FD  » signifie des prévisions alphanumériques de vent et de températures pour diverses altitudes. Les niveaux de vol disponibles sont à 3 000 pieds pour le niveau le plus bas, 6 000 pieds et 9 000 pieds, etc.

Rapports météorologiques de l'Aéroport international d'Ottawa du 8 octobre 2004

À 6 h (heure locale), des vents à 190 degrés (en provenance du sud) d'une vitesse de 6 noeuds (milles nautiques à l'heure), une visibilité de plus de 6 milles terrestres dans le brouillard et quelques nuages à 2 400 pieds, la température et celle des points de rosée sont à 12 degrés Celsius, une lecture de l'altimètre indique 30,29 pouces sur le mercure.

À 7 h (heure locale), les vents étaient à 160 degrés (en provenance du sud-est) d'une vitesse de 4 nœuds et la visibilité était maintenant de 4 milles terrestres avec quelques nuages à 1 800 pieds, la température et celle des points de rosée étaient au même point, soit 12 degrés Celsius et la lecture de l'altimètre indiquait 30,30 pouces sur le mercure.

Prévisions de l'Aéroport international d'Ottawa pour le 8 octobre 2004

À 4 h (heure locale), valide de 5 h (heure locale) le 8 octobre jusqu'à 6 h (heure locale) le 9 octobre, les vents étaient à 200 degrés et à 5 nœuds, une visibilité de plus de 6 milles terrestres, des nuages épars à 24 000 pieds et 30 p. 100 de probabilité entre 5 h et 9 h (heure locale), la visibilité devient brumeuse sur ¾ de mille entre 12 et 14 h (heure locale), des vents à 200 degrés et des rafales de 10 à 20 noeuds.

À 7 h 12 (heure locale), une prévision modifiée a été émise et était valide de 7 h à 9 h (heure locale), des vents à 200 degrés de 5 nœuds, plus de 6 milles terrestres de visibilité, quelques nuages à 18 000 pieds temporairement entre 7 h à 9 h (heure locale), visibilité brumeuse sur 2 milles terrestres, une probabilité de 30 p. 100 de visibilité dans le brouillard sur ¾ de mille terrestre, entre 7 h et 9 h (heure locale).

Rapports météorologiques de l'Aéroport de Gatineau (Québec) du 8 octobre 2004

Note — Aucun rapport météorologique à jour n'a été publié dans la nuit avant le 8 octobre 2004 à 6 h (heure locale).

À 6 h (heure locale), les vents sont calmes, la visibilité est à 1/8 de mille terrestre dans le brouillard, le ciel est clair au-dessus de la brume, la température et celle des points de rosée sont toutes deux à 6 degrés Celsius, une lecture de l'altimètre indique 30,30 pouces sur le mercure.

Un rapport spécial a été émis à 6 h 48 (heure locale); les vents sont calmes, la visibilité dans le brouillard est à ½ mille terrestre, le ciel est clair au-dessus du brouillard.

À 7 h (heure locale), les vents sont calmes, la visibilité dans la brume est à ½ mille terrestre, le ciel est clair au-dessus de la brume, la température et celle des points de rosée indiquent toutes deux 6 degrés Celsius et une lecture de l'altimètre indique 30,31 pouces sur le mercure

Un rapport spécial émis à 7 h 23 (heure locale) indique des vents calmes, une visibilité à ¼ de mille terrestre dans la brume, un ciel clair au-dessus de la brume.

Prévisions météorologiques de l'Aéroport de Gatineau (Québec) pour le 8 octobre 2004

Les premières prévisions pour l'Aéroport de Gatineau ont été émises à 7 h 53 (heure locale), le 8 octobre 2004. Elles étaient valides de 8 h à minuit, le 8 octobre. Vents variables à 3 noeuds, visibilité de ½ mille terrestre dans la brume, nuages épars à 22 000 pieds, temporairement entre 8 h et 9 h (heure locale); la visibilité devient brumeuse sur 3 milles terrestres entre 9 h et 10 h (heure locale); vents de 8 nœuds à 200 degrés, visibilité dépassant 6 milles terrestres au nord et à l'ouest.

L'inspectrice Whorley a déclaré que la visibilité minimale pour un vol VFR dans l'espace aérien contrôlé est de 3 milles terrestres et un plafond nuageux d'au moins 1 000 pieds. Cette visibilité et ce plafond minimaux concernent tous les aéronefs, y compris les ballons.

L'intimé a appelé deux témoins, Sharon Joy et Sandra Lambert, qui étaient toutes deux passagères à bord du vol en question. Comme le requérant n'a soulevé aucune objection quant aux témoignages des témoins ou aux pièces présentées par l'intimé, nous acceptons que ce qui a été dit corrobore la description véritable des événements du vol de ballon en question.

Les deux témoins ont déclaré qu'elles étaient passagères du ballon C-GFNH à 7 h 28, le 8 octobre 2004, et que le requérant les avait informées que la destination visée était le côté québécois de la rivière des Outaouais, dans les environs de l'Aéroport de Gatineau, au Québec. Le requérant leur a de plus déclaré que l'équipage d'accompagnement avait été envoyé du côté québécois de la rivière pour les attendre avec deux véhicules.

Le ballon a décollé de l'Université Carleton et a lentement dérivé en direction du lac Dows qui ressemblait à un miroir. On pouvait voir des poches de brume dans la région. Le pilote a déclaré qu'il allait monter plus haut pour avoir plus de vent. Le vent a poussé le ballon en direction nord-est. En regardant en direction de la rivière des Outaouais, on pouvait voir un banc de brouillard et les édifices du Parlement qui en ressortaient. Alors qu'ils se dirigeaient au-dessus de la rivière des Outaouais, ils ont traversé un léger brouillard et M. Bellantoni a dit qu'il descendait pour essayer de se placer sous le brouillard. Alors qu'ils descendaient, le banc de brouillard était passablement épais jusqu'au sol. Ils étaient au-dessus d'une zone domiciliaire à une altitude de 200 à 300 pieds. Les voitures et les maisons étaient nettement visibles. Le pilote a de nouveau pris de l'altitude et s'est dirigé au-dessus de l'eau. Alors que l'altitude augmentait, il n'y avait pas de visibilité; ils pouvaient voir l'ombre du ballon sur le nuage ou le brouillard. Le pilote est de nouveau descendu et il a indiqué qu'il cherchait l'île Duck ou qu'il en était proche. Ils ont continué leur descente assez rapidement et l'eau de la rivière des Outaouais est devenue visible, à environ 20 pieds. M. Bellantoni a demandé à tous de plier les genoux, car ils allaient subir un impact. Ils ont été secoués en percutant l'eau de la rivière. En raison de la configuration du panier, tout le poids des passagers est situé à l'avant du panier, de sorte que lorsque celui-ci a frappé l'eau, il a été submergé aux trois-quarts. Tous les occupants été trempés au moins jusqu'à la taille. Le pilote était à l'arrière du panier où il y avait moins de poids et il a été trempé jusqu'aux genoux. Les passagers ont passé entre une à deux minutes dans l'eau.

Ensuite, le pilote a retiré le panier de l'eau en utilisant plusieurs souffles des deux chaufferettes et en évacuant l'air par les volets.

M. Bellantoni a ramené le ballon juste au-dessus de la surface de l'eau. Après un certain temps, ils ont pu voir progressivement les ombres et la cime des arbres. Il a alors fait monter le ballon à une altitude de 40 à 50 pieds et, en manoeuvrant, il a emmené le ballon à la ligne du rivage près de la promenade de l'Aviation. À cet endroit, il y avait très peu de vent et ils ont eu de la difficulté à se rendre au point où ils pouvaient atterrir. M. Bellantoni a posé le ballon sur l'asphalte de la promenade où un des passagers est débarqué du panier et l'a aidé à pousser le ballon vers le gazon.

Arguments du requérant

Le requérant a témoigné qu'entre 5 h et 6 h (heure locale) le matin du vol, il a effectivement vérifié les conditions météorologiques dans la région d'Ottawa et on prévoyait un VFR pour le vol. M. Bellantoni a de plus témoigné que les conditions météorologiques semblaient bonnes et qu'il n'a pas obtenu de mises à jour à la suite de sa première vérification. Il a de plus témoigné qu'il n'a pas vérifié les conditions météorologiques de Gatineau.

M. Bellantoni a témoigné que le vol comptait huit passagers ainsi que lui-même, soit un total de neuf personnes à bord. Il a de plus déclaré qu'il avait obtenu l'autorisation de décollage requise de la tour d'Ottawa et qu'il avait fait un deuxième appel à 1 000 pieds après le décollage. Au moment du décollage, la visibilité était bonne du côté ontarien de la rivière des Outaouais et il y avait du brouillard au sud de la rivière. En vol, il n'y avait aucun emplacement d'atterrissage convenable qui leur permettait un atterrissage immédiat alors que leur trajet les emmenait au-dessus du lac Dows et des édifices du centre-ville d'Ottawa. Seul le vent dirigeait le ballon et l'unique option qui s'offrait à ce moment-là consistait à monter afin de trouver un endroit pour atterrir loin du brouillard. Après avoir obtenu une autorisation de la tour d'Ottawa et être monté à 3 000 pieds, M. Bellantoni a constaté que les vents étaient intenses, qu'ils changeaient de direction du nord-ouest au nord-est et à l'est et il a alors décidé de descendre. Après avoir obtenu une autorisation de la tour d'Ottawa, il est descendu de 3 000 pieds jusqu'à quelques centaines de pieds au-dessus du sol. Le vent a alors transporté le ballon dans le mur de brouillard. La visibilité était faible, mais il pouvait voir qu'ils avaient traversé la promenade, alors il savait maintenant qu'ils étaient au-dessus de la rivière des Outaouais, où il savait qu'il n'y avait pas de ligne de transport d'énergie. Il a continué à descendre, mais il a ajouté de la chaleur pour réduire la vitesse de descente; il estime qu'ils descendaient à 50 pieds par minute lorsqu'ils ont frappé l'eau, ce qu'il a décrit comme un amerrissage moyen. Comme il y a un délai de réaction lorsqu'on ajoute de la chaleur à un ballon, il a estimé qu'ils ont été dans l'eau entre 30 secondes et une minute avant que le ballon ne parvienne à sortir la nacelle hors de l'eau. Il a aussi estimé qu'un ajout de chaleur au ballon pendant 30 secondes était trop parce que lorsque l'eau est entièrement sortie de la nacelle, le ballon a été ramené rapidement vers le brouillard.

M. Bellantoni a ensuite descendu le ballon lentement à la surface de l'eau et ils ont dérivé lentement vers le sol. À l'approche du sol, il a élevé le ballon au-dessus des arbres et il a finalement atterri sur la promenade de l'Aviation, à l'est de l'Aéroport Rockcliffe.

M. Bellantoni prétend qu'il n'a ni constitué un danger, ni causé de préjudice aux personnes ou aux biens, étant donné qu'il a effectivement vérifié les conditions météorologiques de l'Aéroport international d'Ottawa et qu'il est parti dans des conditions VFR. Il estime donc qu'il s'agissait d'un vol dans les règles. Bien qu'il n'ait pas vérifié les conditions météorologiques de Gatineau avant le départ, le TAF de l'Aéroport de Gatineau prévoyait qu'elles deviendraient VFR. Il a déclaré que les vents pour un aéroport (Ottawa) s'appliquent à cet aéroport uniquement.

LOI

L'article 602.01 du RAC prévoit ce qui suit :

602.01 Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef d'une manière imprudente ou négligente qui constitue ou risque de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne

DISCUSSION

Le requérant a témoigné qu'entre 5 h et 6 h (heure locale), le 8 octobre 2004, il a effectivement vérifié les conditions météorologiques de l'aviation à Ottawa.

Le requérant a aussi déclaré qu'il n'a pas vérifié les conditions météorologiques de sa destination, soit Gatineau (Québec).

Nous convenons avec M. Bellantoni qu'il a effectué un départ légal dans des conditions VFR. Toutefois, M. Bellantoni a effectivement reconnu qu'il savait à partir des prévisions de l'Aéroport d'Ottawa (TAF) qu'il y avait 30 p. 100 de probabilité de brouillard dans la zone pour la période de son vol projeté. Ainsi, nous sommes d'avis qu'à titre de pilote qualifié, M. Bellantoni devait comprendre que lorsque la différence entre les températures et le point de rosée est d'un degré Celsius seulement, combiné à la lumière et à l'absence de vent, les conditions atmosphériques sont favorables à la manifestation d'un brouillard de rayonnement.

M. Bellantoni a témoigné que ni lui ni le ballon C-GFNH n'étaient certifiés pour un vol IFR.

Le premier rapport météorologique (METAR) de l'Aéroport de Gatineau a été émis à 6 h (heure locale) et ne montrait aucun vent et 1/8 de mille terrestre dans le brouillard; le ciel était clair au-dessus du brouillard et la température et les points de rosée étaient à 6 degrés. Entre 6 h et 7 h 23 (heure locale), le matin du vol en question, quatre rapports ont été publiés sur les conditions météorologiques de Gatineau et tous montraient des vents calmes et une visibilité d'au plus ½ mille dans le brouillard.

Je suis d'avis que l'intimé est correct et justifié dans sa poursuite et qu'en ne vérifiant pas les conditions météorologiques de la destination prévue, M. Bellantoni a effectivement utilisé le ballon C-GFNH de façon imprudente ou négligente. Tous les rapports météorologiques de l'aviation confondus, que ce soit la prévision de 30 p. 100 de chance de conditions IFR en raison du brouillard ou des vents signalés, la température et les points de rosée, indiquaient une grande probabilité de manifestation de brouillard sur sa route prévue et à sa destination.

De plus, sa destination prévue signalait des conditions qui étaient bien inférieures aux conditions de vol VFR. Donc, M. Bellantoni a effectivement utilisé son vol de façon à constituer ou risquer de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

M. Bellantoni a aussi déclaré qu'il était dans une situation peu sûre et dangereuse lorsqu'il était dans le brouillard, et ce faisant, il a admis avoir placé ses passagers et le C-GFNH dans ce type de situation alors qu'il était aux commandes. Toutefois, le ministre a prouvé l'élément de l'infraction de M. Bellantoni à l'article 602.01 du RAC.

Toutefois, les éléments de l'infraction ayant démontré que les actions du requérant ont effectivement constitué ou risqué de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne, il reste à décider si les actions de M. Bellantoni doivent être considérées comme imprudentes ou négligentes.

Le Canadian Law Dictionary a fait référence à la décision à la suite d'une révision Jason R. Newburg c. Ministre des Transports [1993], O-0415-02, qui contient les définitions suivantes :

[traduction]

Négligence : la négligence consiste à ne pas faire quelque chose qu'une personne raisonnable ferait, ou à faire quelque chose qu'une personne raisonnable ne ferait pas. Les défendeurs ont pu faire preuve de négligence s'ils ont omis involontairement de faire ce qu'une personne raisonnable aurait fait, ou s'ils ont fait ce qu'une personne qui prend des précautions normales n'aurait pas fait.

Imprudence : Manque de prudence; indifférence face aux conséquences. Dans certains cas, le terme comporte un sens plus fort que négligence : il peut même impliquer une conduite intentionnelle. Dans ce contexte, le sens du terme peut être : indifférent face aux conséquences, inattentif, insouciant; très négligent; négligence en sachant que des conséquences étaient possibles, mais non souhaitables. Imprudence possède le sens de négligence grave, c'est-à-dire faire quelque chose qui implique en fait un risque, que l'auteur en cause en soit conscient ou non.

Je considère que M. Bellantoni est parti sans égard aux conséquences et qu'après être monté en VFR à une altitude de 3 000 pieds, il est descendu délibérément dans des conditions de vol IFR, ce que ni lui ni son ballon n'étaient aptes à faire. Donc, M. Bellantoni est descendu dans des conditions de vol illégales en plaçant son ballon et ses passagers en grand danger.

De plus, le ballon C-GFNH n'avait pas l'obligation de transporter et ne transportait pas de dispositif de flottaison et, néanmoins, il a délibérément posé la nacelle avec tout le monde à bord sur la rivière des Outaouais, sachant que la nacelle seule ne flotterait pas suffisamment pour l'ensemble des personnes à bord et qu'il a dû utiliser le brûleur de chaleur pour que tout le monde à bord se retrouve hors de l'eau.

DÉCISION

Pour les raisons susmentionnées, je conclus que M. Bellantoni a effectivement agi de manière imprudente, qu'il a effectivement mis le ballon C-GFNH et tout le monde à bord en danger alors qu'il était aux commandes.

Je considère donc que M. Bellantoni a effectivement contrevenu à l'article 602.01 du RAC, que l'avis de suspension en date du 9 août 2005 est justifié et que l'intimé a raison d'imposer une suspension de licence de 30 jours.

Le 25 juillet 2006

Hebb C. Russell
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada