Decisions

CAT File No. A-1467-02
MoT File No. 6504-P-413124-29479

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Daniel Brendan Van Nice, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 6.9, 7.3(3)
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s.602.01

Reckless or negligent operation of aircraft


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: September 15, 1997

That Daniel Brendan Van Nice committed no infringement of aviation safety. The Minister has not proven negligence. I therefore dismiss the allegations against Mr. Van Nice and cancel the 14-day suspension of his licence.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, September 9, 1997 at 10:00 hours at North Head Grand Manan, New Brunswick.

BACKGROUND

On February 26, 1997, a Cessna 172 Skyhawk under the command of Captain Daniel Van Nice landed at the airfield on Grand Manan Island, New Brunswick. An airfield inspection by Transport Canada and the owners of the airfield was in progress. The aircraft radioed its intention to land, and the vehicle containing the inspection team left the runway. The aircraft landed, and the Transport Canada airfield inspector deemed that the landing with the vehicle off on the shoulder of the runway constituted negligence likely to endanger life or property. Captain Van Nice was issued a Notice of Suspension on May 13, 1997 suspending his licence for fourteen days, commencing June 12, 1997. Captain Van Nice appealed to the Tribunal for a Review Hearing, hence the proceedings today at the North Head Community Hall, Grand Manan Island.

NOTICE OF SUSPENSION

Pursuant to section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to suspend the above indicated Canadian aviation document on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulations 602.01 in that on or about February 26, 1997, at approximately 1445 UTC, at or near Grand Manan Airport, Grand Manan, New Brunswick, while pilot-in-command of an aircraft, to wit: Cessna 172 aircraft bearing Canadian registration marks C-GMME, you did, while landing, operate the said aircraft in a negligent manner as to endanger or was likely to endanger the life or property of a person thereby committing an offence contrary to and in violation of section 7.3(3) of the Aeronautics Act, ...

PRE-HEARING AGREEMENT AND MOTION FOR CASE DISMISSAL

There was a pre-hearing agreement between the parties establishing Daniel Van Nice as the pilot-in-command of the aircraft C-GMME, and the owner as Manan Air Services Inc. Mr. Klaus Sonnenberg moved to have me dismiss the case before hearing it on the following grounds:

  1. That the Minister has no evidence to support negligence. In his view "neglect involves repeated acts," and there were no such repeated acts.
  2. That allegations should have been made more specifically under section 301.08, subsection 602.19(10) and paragraph 602.96.2(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. (Exhibit D-1).
  3. The vehicle was on the runway illegally. The Mayor of Grand Manan Village, Joey Green, and Transport Canada were in the vehicle. There was an unlicensed and uncalibrated radio in use in the vehicle. Howard Ingalls, who maintains the airfield and operates the snow plough in winter, was the driver of the car.
  4. Statements were taken from eyewitnesses weeks and months later, rather than within twenty-four hours of the incident.
  5. No statement was taken by Transport Canada from the passenger in the aircraft.

Mr. Sonnenberg produced an unnotarized statement purportedly made by the passenger, a Mr. Alan J. von Weiler. This was accepted as Exhibit D-2.

I reasoned with Mr. Sonnenberg that I was not aware of any of the points he had raised until I had heard the case. I dismissed his motion and invited the Minister to proceed.

THE LAW

Section 602.01 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations states:

602.01 No person shall operate an aircraft in such a reckless or negligent manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person.

Subsection 7.3(3) of the Aeronautics Act states:

(3) Except as otherwise provided by this Part, every person who contravenes a provision of this Part or any regulation or order made under this Part is guilty of an offence punishable on summary conviction.

The Minister has specifically mentioned negligence in the allegation. A succinct and clear definition of negligence is made in Regina v. Abat (Provincial Court – Province of Saskatchewan, March 19, 1984).

Negligence is simply the failure to exercise reasonable skill and prudence in the circumstances, whether there is advertence or not.

THE EVIDENCE

The Minister fielded two witnesses, both of whom were Transport Canada employees carrying out the airfield inspection. All witnesses except the Applicant were excluded until it was their turn to testify. Mr. Miles said that he would prove that on a balance of probabilities, Mr. Van Nice was negligent in landing his aircraft while the vehicle was in the position it occupied off on the shoulder of the runway.

Michael Reid, Aerodrome Safety Inspector, Transport Canada, testified that he was on an airfield inspection at Grand Manan Airport. There were five people in the car, including the Mayor and the airfield supervisor. They had a radio, and when they were on the runway about 900 feet from the threshold of runway 24 they heard a transmission from C-GMME indicating that it was on final for runway 24. They looked up, saw the aircraft on a short right base at about 200 to 300 feet estimated height. The driver left the runway and parked about 25 feet off the south shoulder of the runway, facing the aircraft. The aircraft continued its approach and landed without incident.

Mr. Reid expressed alarm that the aircraft had chosen to land while the inspection vehicle was off on the shoulder of the runway at a distance he estimated as 75 feet from the wingtip of the Cessna as it passed by on its landing. He subsequently approached Mr. Van Nice and remonstrated with him for so doing. Mr. Van Nice replied that it was normal practice for him to do so, as he had landed when the snow plough was off the runway during the winter. He judged that it was safe to do so as there was no danger of collision, since his momentum would take him past and well clear of the vehicle should any malfunction, such as a seized brake occur.

During cross-examination by Mr. Sonnenberg, Mr. Reid admitted having seen aircraft land at other uncontrolled airfields while lawnmowers etc. were off on the shoulder. Mr. Sonnenberg advised that Mr. Van Nice had circled overhead at 1,300 feet prior to landing, but Mr. Reid denied having seen the aircraft. He felt that Mr. Van Nice had not given them enough time to clear the runway. Mr. Sonnenberg also advised Mr. Reid that Mr. Van Nice had called ten miles out, but Mr. Reid denied having heard any other transmission from the aircraft. Mr. Reid opined that calling ten miles out was "unacceptable behaviour." I could not accept this statement as a reasonable one; indeed the reverse is true. A discussion ensued on the adjustment of the squelch (sensitivity) of the receiver in the car, with Mr. Sonnenberg saying that because the radio was unlicensed, Mr. Ingalls, the driver probably did not know how to adjust it. Mr. Sonnenberg then sought to have me censure the operator of the radio because it was unlicensed. I ruled this as irrelevant to the current proceedings.

John Peyton, Aerodrome Safety Officer, Transport Canada, was also in the car at the Grand Manan airfield on February 26, 1997. Although he witnessed the incident, he could cast no further light on the landing. He had no opinions on how far the car was from the aircraft. He did not hear the radio, nor did he know how far the car was from the edge of the runway. He appeared to have no strong feelings on the matter. He said that he was sitting in the back of the car, and his view was partially obscured.

Pilot Daniel Van Nice also works as an Emergency Medical Technician (EMT). He has 1,100 hours, mostly at uncontrolled airports. He was briefed by his employer on operating from uncontrolled airports, and as such he regularly calls to alert traffic to his presence at 10 miles out, overhead and on final. He did so on this day. Mr. Van Nice said that when he saw the vehicle move off the runway after his call, it indicated to him that the people in the vehicle were aware of his presence. As the car was well clear of the runway, he judged it safe to land, and took the precaution of touching down just past the car so that there would be no likelihood of any danger of collision. He had 2,100 feet of runway left, which is more than adequate to stop a Cessna 172 safely. Had he not been satisfied that the vehicle was aware of his presence, Mr. Van Nice said that he would have flown over the runway at 200 feet to alert the vehicle to his presence.

Diane Livingston, Flight Service Supervisor at Saint John, New Brunswick, was qualified as an expert witness on the movement of aircraft on uncontrolled aerodromes. She stated that it was normal practice for vehicles to be present off on the shoulder of runways. It was the pilot's responsibility to ensure that it was safe to land and take off with these vehicles present. She judged from what she had heard of the incident that there was no compromise to safety.

Melanie Sonnenberg, Manager Grand Manan Air Service, Ann McGarvey, Paramedic Coordinator and EMT instructor, and Gordon Kinghorn, RCMP, were all called as character witnesses for Mr. Van Nice. They expressed their admiration of his adherence to procedure, his thoroughness and meticulous attention to detail and safety.

CONCLUSION

I have determined from the evidence presented to this Review Hearing that Mr. Van Nice is a careful and cautious pilot. On his approach and landing at Grand Manan Airport on February 26, 1997, he displayed reasonable caution and airmanship and was not negligent.

The main evidence against him is from the Minister's first witness, Mr. Reid, who with his experience should be more aware of the presence of aircraft on airfields, particularly when driving in a vehicle on an uncontrolled airport. It seems that Mr. Reid was totally surprised by the aircraft's call on final and on seeing it there. I believe that those on airport runway inspections should be far more vigilant and observant than seems to have been the case on this day. Radios should always be carried and turned on and properly adjusted. While this does NOT remove the responsibility from pilots ensuring that it is safe to land, I am satisfied that, when Mr. Van Nice saw the vehicle move off the runway immediately after he called, he was right in assuming that they had heard him and were aware of his presence. Mr. Reid's evidence corroborates this.

DETERMINATION

There was no negligence on Mr. Van Nice's part, and I therefore dismiss the Minister's allegations against him and cancel the 14-day suspension of his licence.

Philip D. Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no A-1467-02 (TAC)
Dossier no 6504-P-413124-29479 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Daniel Brendan Van Nice, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 6.9, 7.3(3)
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.01

Utilisation imprudente ou négligente d'un aéronef


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 15 septembre 1997

TRADUCTION

Daniel Brendan Van Nice n'a pas commis d'infraction à la sécurité aérienne. Le ministre n'a pas démontré de négligence. Par conséquent, je rejette les faits reprochés à M. Van Nice et j'annule la suspension de quatorze jours de sa licence.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 9 septembre 1997 à 10 h à North Head Grand Manan (Nouveau-Brunswick).

HISTORIQUE

Le 26 février 1997, un Cessna 172 Skyhawk dirigé par le commandant de bord Daniel Van Nice a atterri sur le terrain d'aviation de l'île Grand Manan au Nouveau-Brunswick. Transports Canada effectuait au même moment une inspection du terrain en compagnie des propriétaires. L'aéronef a signalé par radio son intention d'atterrir et le véhicule dans lequel circulait l'équipe d'inspection a quitté la piste. À la suite de l'atterrissage, le représentant de Transports Canada qui inspectait le terrain a jugé que l'atterrissage alors que le véhicule se trouvait sur l'accotement de la piste constituait une négligence ou risquait de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne. Le commandant Van Nice s'est vu émettre, le 13 mai 1997, un Avis de suspension de sa licence de quatorze jours prenant effet le 12 juin 1997. Le commandant Van Nice a demandé une audience en révision au Tribunal, d'où la procédure engagée aujourd'hui au Community Hall de North Head, île Grand Manan.

AVIS DE SUSPENSION

En vertu de l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de suspendre votre document d'aviation canadien mentionné ci-dessus parce que vous avez contrevenu à la (aux) disposition (s) suivante (s) :

Règlement de l'aviation canadien 602.01 en ce sens que le ou vers le 26 février 1997, aux environs de 14 h 45 UTC, à ou près de l'aéroport Grand Manan à Grand Manan (Nouveau-Brunswick), alors que vous étiez commandant de bord d'un aéronef, à savoir un Cessna 172 portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GMME, vous avez, au moment d'atterrir, utilisé ledit aéronef d'une manière imprudente ou négligente qui constituait ou risquait de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne, commettant ainsi une infraction au paragraphe 7.3(3) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique...

ENTENTE PRÉALABLE À L'AUDIENCE ET MOTION DE CLASSEMENT DE L'AFFAIRE

Une entente préalable à l'audience entre les parties a établi que Daniel Van Nice était commandant de bord de l'aéronef C-GMME. Le propriétaire de Manan Air Services Inc. M. Klaus Sonnenberg a proposé que je classe l'affaire avant l'audience pour les motifs suivants :

  1. Le ministre n'a pas de preuve démontrant la négligence. Selon lui, « la négligence suppose des actions répétées », ce qui n'est pas le cas dans la présente affaire.
  2. Les faits auraient dû être reprochés en vertu de l'article 301.08, du paragraphe 602.19(10) et de l'alinéa 602.96.2a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. (Pièce D-1)
  3. La présence du véhicule sur la piste était illégale. Le maire du village de Grand Manan, Joey Green, et l'équipe de Transports Canada y avaient pris place. La radio qu'on y utilisait n'était ni ajustée, ni couverte par une licence. Howard Ingalls, qui entretient le terrain et assure le déneigement en hiver, conduisait le véhicule.
  4. Les témoignages ont été recueillis auprès de témoins oculaires des semaines et des mois après l'incident et non pas dans les vingt-quatre heures qui ont suivi.
  5. Transports Canada n'a pas recueilli le témoignage du passager de l'aéronef.

M. Sonnenberg a produit une déclaration non notariée provenant prétendument du passager, un dénommé Alan J. von Weiler. Elle constitue la pièce D-2.

J'ai expliqué à M. Sonnenberg que je ne pouvais connaître les points qu'il soulevait avant d'avoir entendu le cas. J'ai rejeté sa motion et invité le ministre à commencer.

LA LOI

L'article 602.01 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien stipule :

602.01 Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef d'une manière imprudente ou négligente qui constitue ou risque de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

Le paragraphe 7.3(3) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique stipule :

(3) Sauf disposition contraire de la présente partie, quiconque contrevient à celle-ci ou à ses textes d'application est coupable d'une infraction punissable sur déclaration de culpabilité par procédure sommaire.

Le ministre a expressément fait mention de négligence dans les faits qu'il reproche. On trouve une définition claire et précise de négligence dans Regina v. Abat (Cour provinciale de la province de Saskatchewan, 19 mars 1984).

La négligence est tout simplement le défaut d'exercer une habileté raisonnable et de la prudence dans des circonstances données, qu'il y ait vigilance ou non.

LA PREUVE

Le ministre a présenté deux témoins, tous deux des employés de Transports Canada ayant participé à l'inspection du terrain d'aviation. On a demandé à tous les témoins, excepté au requérant, de sortir de la salle jusqu'à ce que ce soit leur tour de témoigner. M. Miles a dit qu'il prouverait que, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, M. Van Nice avait été négligent en atterrissant alors que le véhicule se trouvait sur l'accotement de la piste.

Michael Reid, inspecteur de sécurité d'aérodrome chez Transports Canada, a témoigné qu'il faisait partie de l'équipe d'inspection du terrain d'aviation de l'aéroport de Grand Manan. Cinq personnes avaient pris place dans la voiture, y compris le maire et le superviseur du terrain d'aviation. Ils avaient une radio et au moment où ils se sont trouvés à environ 900 pieds du seuil de la piste 24, ils ont capté un message du C-GMME indiquant qu'il s'apprêtait à atterrir sur la piste 24. En levant les yeux, ils ont vu l'aéronef tout près sur la droite à une hauteur d'environ 200 ou 300 pieds. Le conducteur a quitté la piste et s'est immobilisé à environ 25 pieds de l'accotement sud, faisant face à l'aéronef. Celui-ci a poursuivi son approche et s'est posé sans anicroches.

M. Reid a manifesté son inquiétude du fait que l'aéronef ait choisi d'atterrir alors que le véhicule d'inspection se trouvait sur l'accotement de la piste à une distance qu'il a estimée à 75 pieds du bout de l'aile du Cessna au moment où celui-ci est passé près d'eux. Il s'est par la suite approché de M. Van Nice et lui a reproché le fait. M. Van Nice a répondu qu'il avait l'habitude puisqu'il avait déjà atterri alors que le chasse-neige se trouvait aux abords de la piste en hiver. Il jugeait la pratique sécuritaire et estimait qu'il n'y avait pas de danger de collision puisque son élan le mènerait bien au-delà du véhicule dans l'éventualité où il y aurait une panne quelconque, par exemple, un frein coincé.

Contre-interrogé par M. Sonnenberg, M. Reid a admis qu'il avait vu des aéronefs atterrir sur d'autres terrains non contrôlés alors que des tondeuses à gazon ou d'autres se trouvaient sur l'accotement. M. Sonnenberg a signalé que M. Van Nice les avaient survolés à 1 300 pieds avant d'atterrir mais M. Reid a nié avoir vu l'aéronef. Il jugeait que M. Van Nice ne leur avait pas accordé suffisamment de temps pour quitter la piste. M. Sonnenberg a également informé M. Reid que M. Van Nice avait appelé alors qu'il était à dix milles, mais M. Reid a nié avoir entendu un autre message provenant de l'aéronef. M. Reid a émis l'avis qu'un appel à dix milles était « inacceptable ». Je dois contester le caractère raisonnable de cet avis; en fait, l'inverse est vrai. Une discussion a suivi sur l'ajustement de la sensibilité du récepteur de la voiture. M. Sonnenberg disait que puisque qu'il n'y avait pas de licence de radio, M. Ingalls, le conducteur, ne savait probablement pas comment l'ajuster. M. Sonnenberg a ensuite cherché à me faire blâmer l'opérateur de la radio parce qu'il ne détenait pas de licence. J'ai jugé la demande non pertinente dans le cadre des procédures en cours.

John Peyton, agent de sécurité d'aérodrome chez Transports Canada, avait également pris place dans la voiture sur le terrain d'aviation de Grand Manan le 26 février 1997. Bien qu'il ait été témoin de l'incident, il n'a pas pu apporter de précisions sur l'atterrissage. Il ne savait pas à quelle distance se trouvait la voiture de l'aéronef. Il n'a pas entendu la radio et ne savait pas non plus à quelle distance de la bordure de la piste la voiture se trouvait. Il ne semblait pas avoir d'opinion définie sur la situation. Il a dit qu'il était assis à l'arrière et qu'il ne voyait que partiellement.

Le pilote Daniel Van Nice est également technicien ambulancier. Il compte 1 100 heures de vol, surtout en aéroports non contrôlés. Il a reçu des instructions de son employeur sur le pilotage en aéroports non contrôlés et c'est pourquoi, il signale régulièrement sa présence à 10 milles de l'aéroport, lorsqu'il arrive au-dessus, puis à l'approche finale. C'est ce qu'il a fait le jour de l'incident. M. Van Nice a dit que lorsqu'il avait vu le véhicule s'éloigner de la piste après son appel, il a conclu que les passagers avaient pris conscience de sa présence. Puisque la voiture était passablement éloignée de la piste, il a jugé qu'il pouvait atterrir en toute sécurité et a pris soin de toucher le sol après avoir dépassé la voiture de sorte qu'il n'y ait aucun danger de collision. Il disposait encore de 2 100 pieds de piste devant lui, ce qui suffit amplement pour arrêter un Cessna 172 en toute sécurité. S'il n'avait pas estimé que les passagers de la voiture savaient qu'il était là, M. Van Nice a dit qu'il aurait survolé la piste à 200 pieds pour signaler sa présence au véhicule.

Diane Livingston, superviseure d'information de vol à Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick), a été acceptée comme témoin expert sur le mouvement des aéronefs en aéroports non contrôlés. Elle a dit qu'il était pratique courante que des véhicules soient en bordure de l'accotement des pistes. Il incombait au pilote de s'assurer que le décollage ou l'atterrissage pouvaient se faire en toute sécurité en présence de ces véhicules. D'après les faits qu'elle connaissait de l'incident, elle a estimé que la sécurité n'avait pas été compromise.

Melanie Sonnenberg, chef du service aérien de Grand Manan, Ann McGarvey, coordinatrice paramédicale et formatrice en techniques ambulancières, et Gordon Kinghorn de la GRC ont tous été présentés comme témoins de moralité pour M. Van Nice. Ils ont exprimé leur admiration pour son respect de la procédure, sa rigueur et l'attention minutieuse qu'il porte aux détails et à la sécurité.

CONCLUSION

D'après la preuve présentée à l'audience en révision, je conclus que M. Van Nice est un pilote consciencieux et prudent. Dans son approche et son atterrissage à l'aéroport de Grand Manan le 26 février 1997, il a fait preuve de prudence raisonnable et de professionnalisme et n'a pas été négligent.

La principale preuve contre lui provient du premier témoin du ministre, M. Reid, dont l'expérience devrait l'avoir habitué à la présence d'aéronefs sur les terrains d'aviation, surtout lorsqu'il circule en voiture sur un terrain d'aéroport non contrôlé. Il semble que M. Reid ait été totalement surpris par l'appel de l'aéronef en approche finale et par sa présence. Je crois que ceux qui effectuent des inspections de pistes d'aéroport devraient être aux aguets et beaucoup plus vigilants que ne semble l'avoir été l'équipe ce jour là. Ils devraient toujours disposer d'une radio allumée et bien ajustée. Bien sûr, cela ne dégage PAS le pilote de la responsabilité de s'assurer que l'atterrissage peut être fait en toute sécurité et j'estime que lorsque M. Van Nice a vu que le véhicule s'éloignait de la piste aussitôt après son appel, il avait raison de supposer qu'il avait été entendu et qu'on était conscients de sa présence. Le témoignage de M. Reid le corrobore.

DÉCISION

Il n'y a pas eu de négligence de la part de M. Van Nice et par conséquent, je rejette les faits reprochés pas le ministre et annule la suspension de sa licence de quatorze jours.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile