Decisions

CAT File No. P-1513-33
MoT File No. EMIS 029625

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Michael L. Soos, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, s.7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s.602.19(7)

Right of Way, Uncontrolled Airport


Review Determination
Ken Clarke


Decision: October 30, 1997

I find Mr. Michael Soos contravened subsection 602.19(7) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. I therefore confirm the Minister's Assessment of Monetary Penalty in the amount of $250.00. That amount is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this Determination.

A Review Hearing for the matter at hand was held Thursday, October 23, 1997 at 10:00 hours, at the Federal Court of Canada, Vancouver, British Columbia.

ALLEGATION

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulations, Part VI, Subpart 2, Section 602.19(7) in that, at approximately 1555 hours Pacific Daylight Saving Time on or about April 9, 1997 at the Castlegar Airport, near Castlegar British Columbia, being the pilot-in-command of an aircraft that was manoeuvering on the surface, namely a SA226 Metro aircraft bearing the Registration Marks C-GPCL, you did unlawfully fail to give way to an aircraft that was landing or about to land.

BACKGROUND

On April 9, 1997, Mr. Soos was the pilot-in-command of a SA226 Metro aircraft designated as Westex flight 417. As that aircraft taxied on the runway for departure from Castlegar, British Columbia, the pilot of a Cessna 172 found it necessary to abort its intended landing.

An investigation followed. Subsequently an assessment of a monetary penalty of $250.00 was made and challenged, leading to today's review.

The weather was not a factor. Castlegar is an uncontrolled airport surrounded by large mountains, and is located near the apex of four deep valleys. The approach to the runway of discussion is crossed by hydro power transmission lines, and back dropped with nearby mountains and a steep mountain highway.[1] Other traffic was in the area.

THE LAW

Subsection 602.19(7) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs):

(7) Where an aircraft is in flight or manoeuvring on the surface, the pilot-in-command of the aircraft shall give way to an aircraft that is landing or about to land.

PRE-HEARING AGREEMENT

On October 15, 1997, an Agreement of Fact was made between pilot-in-command Michael Soos and Inspector Greg Ostafiew for the Minister of Transport. It was agreed that:

  1. the date of the incident was April 9, 1997
  2. the time was approximately 15:55 hours PDST
  3. the location was Castlegar Airport, Castlegar, British Columbia
  4. the aircraft was C-GPCL (also referred to as Westex 417)
  5. Michael L. Soos was pilot-in-command.

THE REVIEW HEARING

Opening remarks detailed the allegation and procedure. All parties were introduced. Witnesses were excluded. Each was sworn prior to testimony. Mr. Tung, an air traffic controller by profession, was accepted as an agent for Mr. Soos. Originally he had come as a supportive observer. There was no objection. Substantial time was saved by the Agreement of Fact. All witnesses were credible.

EVIDENCE FOR THE MINISTER

Inspector Ostafiew was the Case Presenting Officer. He provided all parties with a binder containing copies of all papers evidencing the Minister's case. Entered into evidence was:

Exhibit M-1: Occurrence Report[2]
Exhibit M-2: Navigation Chart
Exhibit M-3: Aerodrome Chart
Exhibit M-4: Canada Flight Supplement excerpt
Exhibit M-5: FSS tape recording[3]
Exhibit M-6: Transcript of tape recording

Inspector Bachinsky was the first witness. He described why and how the investigation proceeded. Evidence for the Minister was introduced during his testimony, and he described appropriate details. A playback of the tape recording was made while the transcript was followed.

Cross-examination by Mr. Soos explored other traffic, movement during clearance read back, and traffic sequencing. He questioned the stop line requirements, reasons for the investigation, and security of the tape recording.

Mr. J. Tycquet was next questioned. He was the FSS Specialist on duty in Castlegar at the time of the incident. Both his experience and duties were described. Testimony then detailed the movements of Westex 417 and other traffic around the time of conflict. When he looked up after clearance read back, he saw Westex 417 on the runway just past the point of entry. Mr. Tycquet was questioned about a copy of an excerpt from the A.I.P. Canada[4] introduced as Exhibit D-7.

Cross-examination by Mr. Soos touched on the position of the other significant traffic that reported "...is just joining downwind three three full stop."[5] His time of conflict realization was then explored.

Mr. Tung continued the cross-examination. He questioned if there was any confusion between the aircraft that aborted landing and another with similar registration. A procedural motion was made and overruled. Further questions were posed regarding FSS techniques. Again there were questions about the tape recording. It was brought forth that either a particular aircraft had not reported as required, or possibly other information is missing. It was established that the tape was in an unlocked cabinet in Castlegar from the time Mr. Tycquet placed it there until his supervisor secured it on his next working day. Notation was made that pilots are not always where they say they are.

EVIDENCE FOR THE RESPONDENT, MR. SOOS

Mr. Soos was questioned by Mr. Tung. Another A.I.P. copy was submitted and received as Exhibit D-8.[6] A description of the circuit followed. There was much evidence regarding the other aircraft with a similar identification. Only the last letter of the registration differed, and it was in a different location. Mr. Soos then told how the terrain obscures the sky, and how he and his co-pilot looked for traffic and sighted none before taking the runway. He stated everything reasonable was done. With reference to the transcript and in particular to the aircraft of similar identification, it was stated that confusion existed, and only one aircraft of that type was thought to be in the area. Communication was said to be ambiguous.

In cross-examination, Inspector Ostafiew confirmed that use of landing lights was an optional safety method. He also questioned if calling the FSS before taxiing onto the runway was not another safety tool.

In redirect examination, Mr. Soos stated he had two radios to operate, and would never taxi onto the runway with an aircraft on final approach. He also said he was aware of the requirement for the FSS to advise of any conflict. Finally he felt it inappropriate to violate a pilot under these circumstances.

SUMMATION BY THE MINISTER

Summary included it to be beyond rectification by the FSS, and there were other options such as calling and looking, etceteras. He added that if one were prudent one would stop. Inspector Ostafiew noted this to be Mr. Soos's first offence, and the maximum penalty is one thousand dollars.

SUMMATION BY THE RESPONDENT, MR. SOOS

Mr. Soos reaffirmed there was no intent of the occurrence. He stated again that both pilots had looked, and that his actions were reasonable. Continuing, it was said that the FSS Specialist was not diligent with traffic information, and the Cessna 172 pilot acted inappropriately as he had other options. Mr. Soos again said he thought it to be safe, and would not cross the hold line were it not. He finalized by saying the FSS could be more involved, and maybe Castlegar should have a control tower.[7]

ANALYSIS

This Hearing Officer has wrestled with this case. In particular, the missing transmissions on the tape recording have caused concern. Other traffic is also a major consideration. The difficulty in sighting traffic at Castlegar is also noted.

CONCLUSION

Tampering with a tape recording without leaving some evidence would be remarkable for anyone. Certainly it could not be Mr. Soos as he had departed. No one else would have reason to tamper with it. I conclude the transmission is missing simply because it was not made. Other traffic may be confusing, but one must be cognizant of ALL traffic. The FSS Specialist was very busy and had little, if any, opportunity to act differently. Due to the difficulty in sighting traffic, one must be extra vigilant and use all resources.

There is no defence of having acted with all due diligence, as a radio call to the FSS before taxiing onto the runway could have been made to enquire as to the whereabouts of the traffic that reported joining downwind, the key word being "before" and not "as." Almost two minutes passed from that time until Westex 417 went onto the runway. At the anticipated speed of a Cessna 172, that would put it where it was. Fortunately the pilot reacted without further incident. The serious nature of this oversight cannot be taken lightly. The pilot-in-command is the only one with access to the park brake. Mr. Soos did not deny the event; an eye witness saw it happen, and the Minister has met his requirement to prove the facts on a balance of probabilities.

DETERMINATION

For the above described reasons, I find Mr. Michael Soos contravened subsection 602.19(7) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. I therefore confirm the Minister's Assessment of Monetary Penalty in the amount of $250.00.

NOTATION

I draw the attention of Mr. Soos to the Aeronautics Act. Provision is made for one to seek removal of certain information from one's file at Transport Canada. As this matter is not the first of this type of occurrence before the Tribunal, I urge the Minister to re-examine the issue of control towers.[8]

Ken Clarke
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] Exhibit M-2: Navigation Chart

Exhibit M-3: Aerodrome Chart

[2] Investigation caused by report

[3] Real time recording; single copy entered as evidence

[4] Aeronautical Information Publication, RAC 1-3 and RAC 1-4, October 10,1996

[5] Line 30 of the transcript (Exhibit M-6)

[6] A.I.P. Canada, RAC 4-16, July 17, 1997

[7] Castlegar previously had a control tower

[8] Robert Scott Mepham v. Minister of Transport, CAT File No. A-1374-02

Décisions

Dossier no P-1513-33 (TAC)
Dossier no EMIS 029625 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Michael L. Soos, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'Aviation canadien, SOR/96-433, art. 602.19(7)

Droit de passage, Aéroport non contrôlé


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Ken Clarke


Décision : le 30 octobre 1997

TRADUCTION

Je statue que M. Michael Soos a contrevenu au paragraphe 602.19(7) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Par conséquent, je confirme l'amende de 250 $ imposée par le ministre. Ce montant est payable à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 23 octobre 1997 à 10 h, à la Cour fédérale du Canada, à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique).

FAITS REPROCHÉS

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Règlement de l'aviation canadien, partie VI, sous-partie 2, paragraphe 602.19(7) du fait qu'à environ 15 h 55 heure avancée du Pacifique, le 9 avril 1997 ou vers cette date à l'aéroport de Castlegar, près de Castlegar (Colombie-Britannique), en qualité de commandant de bord d'un aéronef qui manoeuvrait à la surface, à savoir un aéronef SA226 Metro portant les marques d'immatriculation C-GPCL, vous n'avez pas cédé le passage à un aéronef qui atterrissait ou qui était sur le point d'atterrir.

HISTORIQUE

Le 9 avril 1997, M. Soos était commandant de bord d'un aéronef SA226 Metro sous la désignation Westex vol 417. Au moment où cet aéronef effectuait son roulage sur la piste en vue d'un décollage de Castlegar (Colombie-Britannique), le pilote d'un Cessna 172 a dû interrompre son atterrissage prévu.

Une enquête a suivi. Par la suite, une amende de 250 $ a été imposée et contestée, ce qui donne lieu à la révision de ce jour.

La météo n'était pas un facteur. Castlegar est un aéroport non contrôlé entouré de grosses montagnes et est situé près de la partie sommitale de quatre vallées profondes. L'approche vers la piste dont il est question est traversée par des lignes de transport d'énergie électrique, et en toile de fond les montagnes proches et une autoroute de montagne escarpée.[1] D'autres aéronefs évoluaient dans la région.

LE DROIT

Paragraphe 602.19(7) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien :

(7) Le commandant de bord d'un aéronef en vol ou qui manoeuvre à la surface doit céder le passage à un aéronef qui atterrit ou qui est sur le point d'atterrir.

ENTENTE PRÉALABLE À L'AUDIENCE

Le 15 octobre 1997, un exposé des faits a été convenu entre le commandant de bord Michael Soos et l'inspecteur Greg Ostafiew de la part du ministre des Transports. On a reconnu ce qui suit :

  1. la date de l'incident était le 9 avril 1997
  2. l'heure était approximativement 15 h 55 HAP
  3. l'endroit était l'aéroport de Castlegar, Castlegar (Colombie-Britannique)
  4. l'aéronef était le C-GPCL (également appelé Westex 417)
  5. Michael L. Soos était le commandant de bord.

L'AUDIENCE EN RÉVISION

Les remarques introductives ont donné le détail des faits reprochés et de la procédure. Toutes les parties se sont présentées. Les témoins étaient exclus. Chaque personne a été assermentée avant son témoignage. M. Tung, un contrôleur de la circulation aérienne de profession, a été accepté comme mandataire de M. Soos. À l'origine, il était venu en tant qu'observateur partisan. Il n'y a eu aucune objection. L'exposé conjoint des faits a permis d'épargner beaucoup de temps. Tous les témoins étaient crédibles.

PREUVE DU MINISTRE

L'inspecteur Ostafiew était l'agent chargé de présenter le cas. Il a remis à toutes les parties une reliure contenant des copies de tous les documents déposés en preuve par le ministre. Les documents déposés en preuve étaient :

Pièce M-1 : Compte rendu d'événement[2]
Pièce M-2 : Carte de navigation
Pièce M-3 : Carte d'aérodrome
Pièce M-4 : Extrait du Supplément de vol du Canada
Pièce M-5 : Enregistrement magnétique de la FSS[3]
Pièce M-6 : Transcription de l'enregistrement

L'inspecteur Bachinsky est le premier témoin appelé. Il a décrit pourquoi l'enquête a eu lieu et comment elle s'est déroulée. On a présenté les preuves du ministre pendant son témoignage et il a donné des détails appropriés. On a fait entendre l'enregistrement magnétique pendant qu'on suivait sur la transcription.

Le contre-interrogatoire de M. Soos a porté sur les autres aéronefs, les mouvements pendant la relecture de l'autorisation, et la régulation du trafic. Il a posé des questions sur les exigences relatives aux lignes d'arrêt, les motifs de l'enquête et la sûreté de l'enregistrement magnétique.

On a ensuite posé des questions à M. J. Tycquet. Il était le spécialiste de la FSS en service à Castlegar au moment de l'incident. On a décrit tant son expérience que ses fonctions. Le témoignage a ensuite décrit en détail les mouvements de Westex 417 et des autres aéronefs à peu près au moment du conflit. Lorsqu'il a levé les yeux après la relecture de l'autorisation, il a aperçu Westex 417 sur la piste, immédiatement après le point d'entrée. On a posé des questions à M. Tycquet au sujet d'une copie d'un extrait de l'A.I.P. Canada[4] présenté en preuve sous la cote D-7.

Le contre-interrogatoire de M. Soos a porté sur la position de l'autre aéronef significatif qui a signalé « ... passe tout juste en vent arrière trois trois arrêt complet »[5]. Le moment auquel il s'est rendu compte du conflit a ensuite fait l'objet du contre-interrogatoire.

M. Tung a poursuivi son contre-interrogatoire. Il a posé des questions à savoir s'il y avait une confusion entre l'aéronef qui a interrompu son atterrissage et un autre portant des marques d'immatriculation semblables. Une motion de procédure a été présentée et rejetée. On a posé d'autres questions au sujet des techniques utilisées par la FSS. Encore une fois on a posé des questions sur l'enregistrement magnétique. On a avancé que soit un aéronef précis avait omis de faire rapport tel que demandé, ou qu'il manquait d'autres renseignements. On a établi que la bande enregistrée est restée dans une armoire non verrouillée à Castlegar entre le moment où M. Tycquet l'y avait placée jusqu'à ce que son superviseur la mette en sécurité lors de sa prochaine journée de travail. On a pris note que les pilotes ne sont pas toujours à l'endroit où ils disent être.

PREUVES DE L'INTIMÉ, M. SOOS

M. Tung a interrogé M. Soos. Une autre copie de l'A.I.P. a été présentée et acceptée en preuve sous la cote D-8.[6] Une description du circuit a suivi. Il y avait beaucoup de preuves qui portaient sur l'autre aéronef portant des marques d'immatriculation semblables. Seule la dernière lettre de l'immatriculation différait, et l'immatriculation était à un endroit différent. M. Soos a alors dit à quel point le relief obscurcit le ciel et de quelle façon lui-même et son copilote ont regardé pour savoir s'il y avait d'autre trafic; ils n'ont repéré aucun aéronef avant de rouler sur la piste. Il a indiqué que tout ce qui était raisonnable de faire avait été fait. Pour ce qui est de la transcription et en particulier de l'aéronef ayant une identification semblable, on a déclaré qu'il y avait eu confusion, et on pensait qu'il n'y avait qu'un seul aéronef de ce type dans le secteur. On a dit de la communication qu'elle était ambiguë.

En contre-interrogatoire, l'inspecteur Ostafiew a confirmé que l'utilisation de phares d'atterrissage était facultative sur le plan de la sécurité. Il a également demandé si le fait d'appeler la FSS avant d'entreprendre le roulage sur la piste n'était pas aussi une mesure de sécurité.

En ré-interrogatoire, M. Soos a déclaré qu'il devait utiliser deux radios et qu'il ne roulerait jamais sur la piste si un aéronef était en approche finale. Il a également dit qu'il était au courant de l'exigence voulant que la FSS prévienne de tout conflit. Finalement, il estimait que c'était inapproprié de signifier une infraction à un pilote dans de telles circonstances.

RÉSUMÉ PAR LE MINISTRE

Le résumé incluait que rien de plus ne pouvait être fait par la FSS, et il y avait d'autres options comme appeler et regarder, etc. Il a ajouté que si une personne veut faire preuve de prudence, elle s'arrête. L'inspecteur Ostafiew a fait remarquer qu'il s'agissait de la première infraction de M. Soos et que l'amende maximale était de mille dollars.

RÉSUMÉ PAR L'INTIMÉ, M. SOOS

M. Soos a réaffirmé que ce n'avait pas été intentionnel. Il a répété que les deux pilotes avaient regardé et que ses actions étaient raisonnables. Poursuivant, on a indiqué que le spécialiste de la FSS n'avait pas fait preuve de diligence en ce qui concerne l'information touchant le trafic, et que le pilote du Cessna 172 n'avait pas agi correctement étant donné qu'il avait d'autres options. Encore une fois, M. Soos a dit qu'il pensait que la situation était sans danger et qu'il n'aurait pas franchi la ligne d'arrêt si ce ne l'avait pas été. Il a terminé en disant que la FSS pourrait jouer un rôle plus actif et que peut-être Castlegar devrait être doté d'une tour de contrôle.[7]

ANALYSE

L'agent chargé de la présente audience a lutté contre les difficultés dans cette affaire. En particulier, les transmissions manquantes sur l'enregistrement ont posé un problème. Les autres aéronefs sont également un point important. La difficulté de voir le trafic à Castlegar est également noté.

CONCLUSION

Trafiquer un enregistrement magnétique sans laisser de trace serait un exploit remarquable pour quiconque. Ce ne pourrait certainement pas être M. Soos étant donné qu'il était parti. Personne d'autre n'aurait eu de motifs pour le trafiquer. Je conclus que la transmission est manquante tout simplement parce qu'elle n'a pas été enregistrée. Les autres aéronefs peuvent porter à confusion, mais on doit être conscient de TOUS les aéronefs. Le spécialiste de la FSS était très occupé et a eu à peine sinon du tout la possibilité d'agir autrement. En raison de la difficulté de voir le trafic, on doit redoubler de prudence et utiliser toutes les ressources disponibles.

On n'invoque pas la défense basée sur la diligence raisonnable étant donné qu'on aurait pu faire un appel radio à la FSS avant de rouler sur la piste pour s'enquérir de la situation des aéronefs qui avaient fait rapport qu'ils passaient en vent arrière, le mot clé étant « avant » et non « au moment ». Presque deux minutes se sont écoulées entre ce moment et le moment où Westex 417 s'est posé sur la piste. Compte tenu de la vitesse prévue d'un Cessna 172, ça le situerait à l'endroit où il se trouvait. Heureusement, le pilote a réagi sans autre incident. La nature grave de cette méprise ne peut être prise à la légère. Le commandant de bord est la seule personne qui a accès aux freins de parc. M. Soos n'a pas nié l'incident; un témoin a vu l'incident et le ministre s'est acquitté de son obligation d'établir les faits selon une prépondérance des probabilités.

DÉCISION

Pour les motifs ci-dessus, je statue que M. Michael Soos a contrevenu au paragraphe 602.19(7) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Par conséquent, je confirme l'amende de 250 $ imposée par le ministre pour contravention.

NOTE

J'attire l'attention de M. Soos sur la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Il existe des dispositions permettant à une personne de faire éliminer certains renseignements de son dossier à Transports Canada. Étant donné que la présente affaire n'est pas la première de ce type d'incident à être entendue par le Tribunal, je demande au ministre de réexaminer la question des tours de contrôle.[8]

Ken Clarke
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] Pièce M-2 : Carte de navigation

Pièce M-3 : Carte d'aérodrome

[2] Enquête suite au compte rendu

[3] Enregistrement en temps réel; seule copie déposée en preuve

[4] Publication d'information aéronautique, RAC 1-3 et RAC 1-4, 10 octobre 1996

[5] Ligne 30 de la transcription (Pièce M-6)

[6] A.I.P. Canada, RAC 4-16, 17 juillet 1997

[7] Castlegar auparavant était doté d'une tour de contrôle

[8] Robert Scott Mephan c. Ministre des Transports, dossier no A-1374-02 (TAC)