Decisions

CAT File No. P-2216-33
MoT File No. 042988

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Arthur M. Smolensky, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S., c. 33 (1st Supp), s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.31(1)(b)

Failure to Comply with ATC Instructions


Review Determination
Sandra Lloyd


Decision: May 11, 2001

The Minister has proved the offence as alleged, and I confirm the assessed monetary penalty of $250.00. That amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days following service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Friday, April 20, 2001 at 10:00 hours at the Sinclair Centre in Vancouver, British Columbia.

BACKGROUND

On December 20, 2000, Transport Canada issued a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty to the Respondent which read, in part, as follows:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulations 602.31(1)(b) in that on or about September 30, 2000 at approximately 17:24 PDT, at or near the Vancouver International Airport at Richmond, BC, being the pilot-in-command of an aeroplane bearing Canadian registration C-GSMO you did unlawfully fail to comply with an air traffic control clearance received and acknowledged by you, namely that you departed runway 08R after takeoff clearance was issued to depart on runway 26L.

Penalty - $250.00

BURDEN OF PROOF

The Applicant, Minister of Transport, has the burden of proving, on a balance of probabilities, each element of the alleged offence: 1) that the Respondent was the pilot-in-command on the flight in question; and 2) that the Respondent unlawfully failed to comply with an air traffic control clearance received and accepted by him.

THE LAW

Section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act:

7.7 (1) Where the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister shall notify the person of the allegations against the person in such form as the Governor in Council may by regulation prescribe, specifying in the notice, in addition to any other information that may be so prescribed,

(a) subject to any regulations made under paragraph 7.6(1)(b), the amount that is determined by the Minister, in accordance with such guidelines as the Minister may make for the purpose, to be the amount that must be paid to the Minister by the person as the penalty for the contravention in the event that the person does not wish to appear before a member of the Tribunal to make representations in respect of the allegations; and

(b) the time, being not less than thirty days after the date the notice is served or sent, at or before which and the place at which the amount is required to be paid in the event referred to in paragraph (a).

Paragraph 602.31(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs):

602.31 (1) Subject to subsection (3), the pilot-in-command of an aircraft shall

[...]

(b) comply with all of the air traffic control clearances received and accepted by the pilot-in-command and

(i) subject to subsection (2), in the case of an IFR flight, read back to the appropriate air traffic control unit the text of any air traffic control clearance received, and

(ii) in the case of a VFR flight, read back to the appropriate air traffic control unit the text of any air traffic control clearance received, when so requested by the air traffic control unit.

EVIDENCE

The Minister's first witness was Transport Canada Enforcement Inspector Ms. Suzanne Baumeler. Upon assuming conduct of this investigation, she called C-GSMO's registered owner, Omega Air, and talked to Operations Manager John Morris. Mr. Morris faxed to Ms. Baumeler the front page of the logbook for C-GSMO as well as a copy of the logbook page for September 30, 2000. Ms. Baumeler later visited Mr. Morris in person and he confirmed that the faxed pages she showed him were excerpts he had taken from the logbook of C-GSMO and faxed to her. The aircraft had by this time been sold so the original logbook was unavailable. The fax with logbook pages was entered as an exhibit.

The logbook showed one flight only for September 30, 2000, and shows the aircraft departed from YVR, the pilot was Smolensky, and it was signed with pilot licence #VRP256846. Ms. Baumeler had checked Transport's database and confirmed this licence number was that of the Respondent, Mr. Smolensky.

Ms. Baumeler, in the course of her investigation, visited the YVR control tower and listened to portions of certain original ATC tapes from September 30, 2000: automatic terminal information service (ATIS) 124.6, clearance delivery 121.4, ground control 121.7 and tower 118.7. She made copies of portions of the tapes and these cassette tape copies were played at the hearing. She also provided transcripts of the tapes which were entered as exhibits, along with the cassettes.

The ATIS tape specified that runway 26L was in use. On 121.4, GSMO said it was VFR, was cleared for a Garry Point departure, and was told that runway 26L was in use. On Ground Control 121.7, GSMO was again told the runway was 26L.

On the tower frequency tape, 118.7, GSMO was told the wind was 240 at 9 knots. When GSMO was cleared for take-off, the runway number given by the controller was not clear. However, I found from the cadence of the controller's voice that the number sounded more like "26" than "08", which would have been the other possibility. In any case, the word "left" following the runway number was clearly audible on the tape.

In each case on the tapes where a transmission was made to GSMO, a response to the transmission was made from that aircraft, although in no case did the pilot specifically read back the runway number.

Ms. Baumeler said that in December 2000, the Respondent, Mr. Smolensky, attended at her offices to listen to the tapes. Later, Counsel for Mr. Smolensky requested to listen to the original tapes at YVR tower, so Ms. Baumeler did that with him.

The Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty was issued to Mr. Smolensky but the fine remains unpaid.

The Minister's second witness was Mr. Gary Chesham, an air traffic controller in YVR tower. He testified that on September 30, 2000 he was monitoring a trainee controller working the tower south position. The trainee was talking on the radio, but Mr. Chesham was ultimately responsible for the duties carried out by the trainee. The position involved handling both tower frequency 118.7, which is used for runway 08R/26L, and the outer tower frequency, 124.0. Mr. Chesham said that both he and the trainee faced south in the tower to visually observe runway 08R/26L.

Mr. Chesham said that there was a radar screen in front of the trainee. The controllers used that radar to track the aircraft using the outer tower frequency 124.0.

Mr. Chesham testified that GSMO was cleared from the south side of 08R/26L to taxiway "E" for departure. This taxiway intersects the runway from the south in about the middle of the runway at a right angle. There are only two possibilities for departure from the position to which GSMO was taxied on "E": 08R or 26L. Mr. Chesham said that the trainee cleared GSMO to take off on runway 26L. Then an aircraft called on 124.0, and both controllers looked down at the radar screen to confirm the position of that aircraft. When they returned their attention to 08R/26L, they observed GSMO accelerating down runway 08R, that is, headed in the wrong direction for take-off. They thought at this point it was too late to stop him. However, they had previously cleared another aircraft to position and hold on runway 26L. Fortunately, that aircraft was still behind the hold line, so the trainee controller did the appropriate thing to prevent a collision by telling the other aircraft to hold short of the runway, which it did.

Mr. Chesham testified that the Garry Point departure is only available for runway 26 departures.

At the close of the Minister's evidence, the hearing was adjourned for lunch. Following the break, Mr. Smolensky did not return to the hearing. Counsel for Mr. Smolensky advised that he would not be calling any evidence and that Mr. Smolensky was on his way to Calgary.

SUBMISSIONS

The Applicant, Minister of Transport, concisely summarized the evidence relevant to each element of the alleged offence: the identity of the aircraft, the identity of the pilot, and the failure to comply with the clearance to take off on 26L. He submitted that the matter was clear. The pilot was cleared to take off on 26L and he did not; he took off on 08R.

Counsel for the Respondent, Mr. Smolensky, submitted that a statement that Mr. Smolensky made to Ms. Baumeler on the day he attended her office, after being warned, and having advised her that he did not wish to make a statement, ought to be inadmissible because of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. I have disregarded that statement, and I have not mentioned it in the summary of evidence above, because the statement is unnecessary to my determination of this matter. I specifically declined to rule on the admissibility of the statement under the Charter since I was given no authorities on the issue and in any case the statement has no bearing on the outcome here.

Counsel for Mr. Smolensky also submitted that there was no acknowledgment of runway 26L by the pilot of GSMO in any of the taped transmissions. He submitted that, specifically with respect to the take-off clearance, there could be no acknowledgment of runway 26L for take-off because in the transmission from the tower the number 26 was not clearly audible. He referred to the CARs 602.31 requirement that a clearance must be followed only if "received and accepted" by the pilot. He submitted that there has to be specific acknowledgment of a clearance before there can be a breach as alleged in the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty. It appears that his view is that since there was no specific acknowledgment of the runway by the pilot, it could not be said that the clearance to take off on runway 26L was received and accepted by the pilot within the meaning of paragraph 602.31(1)(b) of the CARs; therefore, there was no breach.

In reply, the Minister submitted that it is common knowledge that VFR instructions can be acknowledged in a variety of ways and that there is no requirement that the pilot of a VFR aircraft read back clearances verbatim. He pointed out that this was also demonstrated by the transcripts and the evidence of Mr. Chesham. He noted that the take-off clearance was clearly acknowledged, and submitted that it was unlikely that a pilot would make such acknowledgment without knowing which runway he was to take off from. He said that any pilot unsure of the take-off runway at an international airport would ask. He also noted that the word "Left" was clear in the take-off clearance transmission.

The Minister asked that the penalty assessed be upheld as a reasonable amount. Transport Canada's Aviation Enforcement Procedures Manual[1] provides that this amount is the recommended amount for a first offence of this nature.

CONCLUSION

I accept the Minister's submissions and the evidence of Mr. Chesham and the tapes that no specific, verbatim acknowledgment of clearances by VFR pilots are required. Rather, a VFR pilot may accept a clearance in a variety of ways. This view is confirmed by the wording of subparagraph 602.31(1)(b)(ii) of the CARs. It specifically provides that in the case of a VFR flight, a pilot shall read back the text of a clearance "when so requested by the air traffic control unit", forcing the conclusion that the pilot need not read back the text of a clearance when not requested to do so.

The ATIS stated that runway 26 was in use. The pilot was advised on 121.4 that his runway was 26L. He was also given a Garry Point departure which is only used for runway 26. Mr. Chesham testified that GSMO was cleared for take-off on 26L. On the tape, although it was not clear, it sounded like the pilot was cleared for take-off on runway "26" Left. Even if the pilot had not clearly heard the words "26" on his take-off clearance, he certainly would have heard the word "Left", which in the circumstances could only refer to runway 26. I find on all this evidence that the pilot was cleared for take-off on runway 26L.

By acknowledging the take-off clearance with the words "GSMO," I find that the pilot received and accepted the clearance to take off on 26L.

The controllers observed that GSMO instead took off on 08R.

The logbook makes it clear that Mr. Smolensky was the pilot of GSMO at the relevant time.

The Minister has clearly proved on a balance of probabilities each element of the offence alleged.

The Respondent, Mr. Smolensky, chose not to give evidence. It is unfortunate that we have no explanation from this pilot as to why such an egregious error was made, with such potentially disastrous consequences.

DETERMINATION

The Minister has proved the offence as alleged, and I confirm the monetary penalty assessed.

Sandra K. Lloyd
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] TP 4751E, Second Edition, 1999.

Décisions

Dossier no P-2216-33 (TAC)
Dossier no 042988 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Arthur M. Smolensky, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R., ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, al. 602.31(1)b)

Omission de se conformer aux instructions du contrôle de la circulation aérienne


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Sandra Lloyd


Décision : le 11 mai 2001

 TRADUCTION

Le ministre a prouvé l'infraction alléguée et je confirme l'amende imposée de 250 $. Ce montant est payable à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le vendredi 20 avril 2001 à 10 heures au Sinclair Centre de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique).

HISTORIQUE

Le 20 décembre 2000, Transports Canada a délivré à l'intimé un Avis d'amende pour contravention qui se lit en partie comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

L'alinéa 602.31(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien puisque le ou vers le 30 septembre 2000, vers 17 h 24 (HAP), à ou aux environs de l'Aéroport international de Vancouver à Richmond (C.-B.), en qualité de commandant de bord d'un avion portant l'immatriculation canadienne C-GSMO, vous ne vous êtes pas conformé légalement à l'autorisation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne que vous avez reçue et acceptée puisque vous avez quitté la piste 08R après avoir reçu une autorisation de décollage de la piste 26L.

Amende – 250 $

FARDEAU DE PREUVE

Le requérant, le ministre des Transports, a le fardeau de prouver selon la prépondérance des probabilités, chacun des éléments de la présumée infraction : 1) l'intimé était commandant de bord du vol en question et 2) l'intimé n'a pas respecté une autorisation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne qu'il a reçue et acceptée.

LA LOI

L'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, l'informe des faits reprochés par un avis établi en la forme et comportant les renseignements que le gouverneur en conseil peut déterminer par règlement et y indique :

a) sous réserve des règlements d'application de l'alinéa 7.6(1)b), le montant qu'il détermine, conformément aux critères qu'il peut établir à cette fin, et qui doit être payé à titre d'amende pour la contravention lorsque la personne ne désire pas comparaître devant un conseiller pour présenter ses observations sur les faits reprochés;

b) la date limite, qui suit d'au moins trente jours celle de signification où d'expédition de l'avis, et le lieu où le montant visé à l'alinéa a) doit être versé.

L'alinéa 602.31(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) :

602.31 (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (3), le commandant de bord d'un aéronef doit :

[...]

b) se conformer à toutes les autorisations du contrôle de la circulation aérienne qu'il reçoit et qu'il accepte, et :

(i) sous réserve du paragraphe (2), en vol IFR, relire à l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne compétente le texte de toute autorisation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne qu'il a reçue de celle-ci,

(ii) en vol VFR, relire à l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne compétente, à la demande de celle-ci, le texte de toute autorisation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne qu'il a reçue de celle-ci.

LA PREUVE

Le premier témoin du ministre était inspecteur de l'Application de la loi pour le compte de Transports Canada, Mme Suzanne Baumeler. Lorsqu'elle a effectué cette enquête, elle a appelé le propriétaire enregistré du C-GSMO, Omega Air, et elle a parlé avec le gestionnaire des opérations, John Morris. M. Morris a télécopié la page couverture et une copie de la page du 30 septembre 2000 du carnet du C-GSMO à Mme Baumeler. Mme Baumeler a par la suite rendu visite personnellement à M. Morris et il a confirmé que les pages télécopiées qu'elle lui a montrées constituaient des extraits provenant du carnet du C-GSMO qu'il lui avait télécopiés. L'aéronef avait été vendu à ce moment-là de sorte que le carnet original n'était pas accessible. La télécopie des pages du carnet a été présentée comme pièce.

Un seul vol figurait au carnet pour le 30 septembre 2000; on mentionne que l'aéronef est parti de YVR, que le pilote était Smolensky et la signature était celle du pilote détenant la licence VRP256846. Mme Baumeler a vérifié les bases de données de Transports Canada et a confirmé que le numéro de licence était celui de l'intimé, M. Smolensky.

Mme Baumeler, au cours de son enquête, a visité la tour de contrôle du YVR et a écouté des parties de certaines bandes d'enregistrement originales ATC du 30 septembre 2000: le service automatique d'information de région terminale (ATIS) à 124.6, la communication de l'autorisation à 121.4, le contrôle au sol à 121.7 et la tour à 118.7. Elle a fait des copies de parties des bandes et ces bandes magnétiques sur cassette ont été écoutées à l'audience. Elle a de plus fourni des transcriptions de bandes, lesquelles ont été présentées comme pièces avec les cassettes.

Sur les bandes du ATIS, on mentionne que la piste 26L était utilisée. À 121.4, le GSMO disait qu'il volait en VFR, qu'il avait été autorisé à partir de Garry Point et qu'on lui avait dit que la piste 26L était utilisée. Le contrôle au sol à 121.7 réitère au GSMO que la piste est la 26L.

Sur la fréquence de la bande d'enregistrement de la tour, soit 118.7, on mentionne au GSMO que le vent était de 240 à 9 nœuds. Lorsque le GSMO a été autorisé à décoller, le numéro de la piste indiqué par le contrôleur n'était pas clair. Toutefois, j'ai considéré qu'en raison du rythme de la voix du contrôleur, le chiffre ressemblait plus à « 26 » qu'à « 08 », ce qui représentait l'autre possibilité. À tout événement, après le numéro de la piste, on entendait clairement le mot «  gauche  » sur la bande d'enregistrement.

À chaque fois qu'une transmission était faite au GSMO sur la bande d'enregistrement, l'aéronef répondait à la transmission, mais le pilote n'a jamais relu précisément le numéro de la piste.

Mme Baumeler a dit qu'en décembre 2000, l'intimé, M. Smolensky, s'est rendu à son bureau pour écouter les bandes. Par la suite, l'avocat de M. Smolensky a demandé d'écouter les bandes d'enregistrement originales à la tour de YVR et Mme Baumeler les a écoutées avec lui.

L'Avis d'amende pour contravention a été délivré à M. Smolensky mais l'amende n'a pas été payée.

Le deuxième témoin du ministre était M. Gary Chesham, un contrôleur aérien de la tour de YVR. Il a témoigné que le 30 septembre 2000, il surveillait un contrôleur en stage qui travaillait côté sud de la tour. Le stagiaire parlait à la radio mais M. Chesham était en définitive responsable des tâches exécutées par le stagiaire. Son poste exigeait qu'il gère la fréquence 118.7 de la tour, celle utilisée pour la piste 08R/26L, et la fréquence 124.0, celle de la tour extérieure. M. Chesham a dit que le stagiaire et lui-même étaient face au sud à l'intérieur de la tour et pouvait observer visuellement la piste 08R/26L.

M. Chesham a dit qu'il y avait un écran radar devant le stagiaire. Les contrôleurs ont utilisé ce radar pour suivre l'aéronef sur la fréquence 124.0 de la tour extérieure.

M. Chesham a témoigné que le GSMO a été autorisé à se rendre du côté sud de 08R/26L vers la voie de circulation « E » pour le départ. Cette voie de circulation croise la piste sud, à peu près au milieu de la piste, à angle droit. Il existe seulement deux possibilités de départ de l'emplacement où le GSMO a circulé sur « E » : la 08R ou la 26L. M. Chesham a dit que le stagiaire avait autorisé le GSMO à décoller de la piste 26L. Un aéronef a ensuite appelé sur la fréquence 124.0, et les deux contrôleurs ont regardé sur l'écran radar pour confirmer la position de cet aéronef. Quand ils ont à nouveau prêté attention aux pistes 08R/26L, ils ont vu le GSMO qui accélérait sur la piste 08R, qui se dirigeait donc dans la mauvaise direction pour décoller. À ce moment-là, ils ont pensé qu'il était trop tard pour l'arrêter. Par ailleurs, ils avaient déjà autorisé un autre aéronef à se positionner et à rester sur la piste 26L. Heureusement, cet aéronef était encore derrière la ligne de départ, le contrôleur en stage a donc effectué le choix approprié pour prévenir une collision en disant à l'autre aéronef d'attendre à l'écart sur la piste, ce qu'il a fait.

M. Chesham a témoigné que le départ de Garry Point est uniquement accessible pour les départs de la piste 26.

À la clôture de la preuve du ministre, l'audience a été ajournée pour le dîner. Après la pause, M. Smolensky n'est pas revenu à l'audience. L'avocat de M. Smolensky a annoncé qu'il ne présenterait aucune preuve et que M. Smolensky était retourné à Calgary.

ARGUMENTS

Le requérant, le ministre des Transports, a fait un résumé succinct de la preuve concernant chacun des éléments de la présumée infraction : l'identité de l'aéronef, l'identité du pilote et le défaut de respecter l'autorisation de décoller de la piste 26L. Il a plaidé que l'affaire était claire. Le pilote a été autorisé à décoller de la piste 26L et il ne l'a pas fait; il a décollé de la piste 08R.

L'avocat de l'intimé, M. Smolensky, a plaidé qu'une déclaration faite par M. Smolensky à Mme Baumeler, le jour où il s'était rendu à son bureau, après avoir été mis en garde et alors qu'il avait annoncé qu'il ne voulait pas faire de déclaration, devait être inadmissible conformément à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. J'ai fait abstraction de cette déclaration et je ne l'ai pas mentionnée dans le résumé de preuve ci-dessus parce que la déclaration n'est pas nécessaire pour ma décision dans cette affaire. J'ai spécifiquement décliné de trancher sur l'admissibilité de la déclaration en vertu de la Charte étant donné que je n'ai pas reçu les autorités en question et à tout événement, la déclaration n'a aucune incidence sur la question en cause.

L'avocat de M. Smolensky a de plus plaidé que le pilote du GSMO n'a fait aucun accusé de réception en ce qui concerne la piste 26L sur aucune transmission des bandes d'enregistrement. Il a plaidé qu'en particulier sur la question de l'autorisation de décollage, il ne peut y avoir d'accusé de réception concernant le décollage de la piste 26L puisque dans la transmission de la tour, le numéro 26 n'était pas clairement audible. Il a fait référence à la prescription de 602.31 du RAC selon laquelle une autorisation doit être suivie seulement si elle a été « reçue et acceptée » par le pilote. Il a plaidé qu'il doit y avoir un accusé de réception spécifique à une autorisation avant que l'on puisse alléguer l'infraction dans l'Avis d'amende pour contravention. Il semble que son point de vue soit qu'étant donné que le pilote n'a fait aucun accusé réception particulier en regard d'une piste, on ne peut prétendre que le pilote a reçu et accepté l'autorisation de décollage de la piste 26L au sens de l'alinéa 602.31(1)b) du RAC; d'où l'absence d'infraction.

En réponse, le ministre a plaidé qu'il est communément accepté qu'il est possible d'accuser réception des directives de vol en VFR de plusieurs façons et qu'aucune prescription ne mentionne que le pilote d'un aéronef en vol VFR doit relire textuellement le compte rendu de l'autorisation. Il a souligné que les transcriptions et la preuve de M. Chesham démontraient aussi ce point de vue. Il a signalé que l'autorisation de décollage avait clairement fait l'objet d'un accusé de réception et il a plaidé qu'il était peu vraisemblable qu'un pilote fasse cet accusé de réception sans savoir de quelle piste il devait décoller. Il a dit que tout pilote qui doutait de la piste de décollage dans un aéroport international le demanderait. Il a de plus constaté que le mot « gauche » était clair dans la transmission de l'autorisation de décollage.

Le ministre a demandé que l'amende imposée soit maintenue puisque le montant est raisonnable. Le Manuel d'application de la loi[1] de Transports Canada prévoit que c'est le montant recommandé pour une première infraction de cette nature.

CONCLUSION

J'accepte les plaidoiries du ministre, selon lesquelles dans la preuve de M. Chesham et dans les bandes d'enregistrement, aucun accusé de réception textuel de l'autorisation n'est requis du pilote en vol VFR. Par ailleurs, un pilote en vol VFR peut accepter une autorisation de différentes façons. Ce point de vue est corroboré par le libellé du sous-alinéa 602.31(1)b)(ii) du RAC. Il est expressément prévu qu'en vol VFR, un pilote doit relire à l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne compétente, «  à la demande de celle-ci  », le texte d'autorisation, d'où l'obligation de conclure que le pilote n'est pas tenu de relire le texte d'autorisation lorsqu'on ne lui demande pas de le faire.

Le ATIS a déclaré que la piste 26 était en service. On a averti le pilote sur la fréquence 121.4 que sa piste était la 26L. On lui a de plus indiqué un point de départ, soit Garry Point, lequel est uniquement utilisé pour la piste 26. M. Chesham a témoigné que le GSMO a été autorisé à décoller de la piste 26L. En dépit du manque de clarté sur la bande d'enregistrement, il semble que le pilote ait été autorisé à décoller de la piste « 26 » à gauche. Même si le pilote n'a pas entendu clairement le mot « 26 » dans son autorisation de décollage, il aura sûrement entendu le mot «  gauche  », qui fait référence dans les circonstances à la piste 26. Je considère, selon l'ensemble de cette preuve, que le pilote a été autorisé à décoller de la piste 26L.

En accusant réception de l'autorisation de décollage et les mots « GSMO », je considère que le pilote a reçu et accepté l'autorisation de décoller de la piste 26L.

Les contrôleurs ont remarqué que le GSMO a plutôt décollé de la 08R.

Le carnet mentionne clairement que M. Smolensky pilotait le GSMO au moment en question.

Le ministre a clairement prouvé chacun des éléments de la présumée infraction selon la prépondérance des probabilités.

L'intimé, M. Smolensky, a choisi de ne pas présenter de preuve. Il est malheureux que le pilote n'ait fourni aucune explication sur la raison pour laquelle une erreur si flagrante risquant d'entraîner des conséquences désastreuses s'est produite.

DÉCISION

Le ministre a prouvé la présumée infraction et je confirme l'amende imposée.

Sandra K. Lloyd
Conseillère
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] TP 4751F, deuxième édition, 1999.