Decisions

CAT File No. P-2254-02
MoT File No. EMS 042029

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Gordon Dalziel, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S. c. 33 (1st Supp), s. 6.9
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s.602.01

Reckless, Negligence, Float Plane


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: June 28, 2001

The Minister has proven the case on a balance of probability, and the decision to suspend Mr. Dalziel's licence for fourteen days is confirmed. The sanction imposed is appropriate for the conduct. Said 14-day suspension will begin on the fifteenth day following service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, June 20, 2001 at 10:00 hours at the Toronto Dominion Bank Building in Victoria, British Columbia.

BACKGROUND

On June 24, 2000, the weather at Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia was very fair, sunny, with little wind. The conditions were ideal for water skiing. Mr. David Gray was water skiing that day. His wife drove the boat and his stepfather, Mr. Borst, operated as spotter.

They had departed a cottage on Shawnigan Lake, heading in a southerly direction parallel to the western shore of the lake, with Mr. Gray in tow. Nearing the south end of the lake, the boat reversed course turning left to head North.

At that time an aircraft passed over or near the watercraft. Its passage was close enough to startle the occupants of the boat and the skier, Mr. Gray.

The aircraft proceeded to land and taxied into a dock. By then the boat crew had retrieved Mr. Gray, and the trio went over to the aircraft dock to seek an explanation. Words were exchanged between the parties. The boaters left very shortly after arriving, stating that incident would be reported.

They did report the incident to Transport Canada. An investigation was started. The result of the investigation was that Transport Canada alleged a violation against the pilot, Mr. Dalziel, in the following form:

Pursuant to section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to suspend the above indicated Canadian aviation document on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulations section 602.01 in that at approximately 2:00 PM local time, on or about June 24, 2000, at or near Shawnigan Lake B.C., you operated aircraft C-GBSE in such a negligent manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of a person, specifically that you flew in close proximity to a boat occupied by persons.

Mr. Dalziel disputed that allegation and requested this hearing by the Civil Aviation Tribunal.

EVIDENCE

Mr. Dalziel was very frank and forthcoming. He admitted to being the pilot of a Cessna 180, C-GBSE that landed on Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia about 2:00 p.m. on the 24th of June last year. He acknowledged that, during the approach to land, he passed by the boat in question.

The evidence presented by the boaters is not totally consistent, but that does not cause me consternation. The event was not one snapshot in time but rather a dynamic occurrence. The boat was travelling at about 30 mph and was in the process of straightening out from a turn. The aircraft was overtaking it and descending at the same time. Mr. Borst sat in the bow facing aft. Mrs. Gray was situated midship, driving the boat facing forward. Mr. Gray was facing forward, but was trailing the boat by the length of the tow rope. Each person's view of the aircraft was predicated upon their physical situation and changing positions of both aircraft and boat. Mr. Borst, facing the rear in his role as spotter, had the first opportunity to see the aircraft as it approached. Mr. and Mrs. Gray could only see the aircraft as it passed by or over them as they were facing the same direction as the overtaking aircraft. Each person viewed the aircraft at a different time and place given the constantly changing positions of two moving objects.

Some evidence must be rejected. Mr. Gray's statement that he observed the float of the aircraft about 10 feet above his wife's head must be an error. Mrs. Gray stated that she could see the pilot.

Mr. Dalziel, the pilot, testified he could see the boat. Therefore, the aircraft could not have been over the head of Mrs. Gray but to one side.

The cross-examination of Mr. Dalziel explored the height and distance of his aircraft from the boat. He stated that he had greater than 25 feet above and was possibly as high as 50 feet above the water. Laterally he was no less than 25 feet from the side. He stated that the boat was under his wing and when he banked, the low wing was over the boat.

Mrs. Gray testified that after having completed the turn at the south end of the lake she saw a shadow that caused her to look up, whereupon she saw an aircraft to her right. She stated that she could see the pilot's face very clearly even to his hair colour, complexion and sunglasses. Upon cross-examination Mrs. Gray said that she felt like she could reach out and touch his face. She would not speculate as to the actual height of the aircraft, but reiterated that it seemed "so close."

Mr. Borst had estimated the aircraft height to be 20 feet above them, at a 45-degree angle.

DISCUSSION

Prior to addressing the issue of the alleged violation I will make mention of the exchange of words on the dock. My task is to evaluate the evidence relevant to the allegation, that is to the operation of the aircraft. Although both parties presented strong and conflicting evidence as to the exchange, it took place after the incident and does not assist me in the evaluation of it. As such it is irrelevant to my consideration and will not be addressed further.

The onus of proof is upon the Minister. He must establish each element of the offence on a balance of probability. In the case of an allegation of violation of section 602.01 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), he must establish the following:

  • date, time and place of the aircraft's operation;
  • the identity of the person operating the aircraft;
  • that is was operated in a negligent manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger life or property of persons.

Mr. Dalziel has quite candidly admitted that he was the pilot of Cessna 180, BSE on June 24, 2000 at around 2:00 p.m. when that aircraft flew by a boat on Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, thus establishing all the essential elements except the last.

ISSUE

The only outstanding issue is whether that operation was performed in such a negligent manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property, in this case, the lives and property of Mr. and Mrs. Gray and Mr. Borst.

Evidence was adduced by the witnesses as to where the aircraft had landed in relation to the boat. Although of considerable interest, the allegation that I must address is that the aircraft flew in close proximity to a boat occupied by persons.

I find that Mr. Dalziel's aircraft passed by the boat at about 25 feet laterally and 20-25 feet vertically. I make this find on the combined evidence of Mr. Dalziel, Mrs. Gray and Mr. Borst.

Mr. Dalziel testified to distances of 25-50 feet laterally and 25-50 feet in height. He also stated that the aircraft wing had gone over the boat. That leads me to conclude that the shorter of his estimate is the more accurate. That is combined with the testimony of Mrs. Gray who gave detailed testimony of Mr. Dalziel's facial features, which is more consistent with the aircraft being closer to the boat then further. Mr. Borst's estimation of height of 20 feet corroborates Mr. Dalziel's estimate of about 25 feet. The 5-foot differential is insignificant given that both figures are estimates and then estimates of a moving descending object.

Mr. Dalziel stated that everything was normal on the flight, that he felt comfortable on the approach. He was an experienced pilot but as he had relatively little time on floats he was being cautious. He felt he had no need to be further away as he could follow the track of the boat. He testified that boat traffic was not busy as he observed only three. There was no evidence given of other aircraft traffic.

The occupants of the boat had each expressed their concerns regarding the close proximity of the aircraft with Mr. Gray stating that he thought his wife would be struck by the aircraft float.

The last element of the alleged violation has two facets:

1) the operation of an aircraft in a negligent manner;

2) that operation having endangered or be likely to endanger the life or property of a person.

Civil Aviation Tribunal jurisprudence has addressed that issue on numerous occasions.

Of particular interest here is the review and appeal determination in Francis Dominic Decicco v. Minister of Transport.[1] In Decicco the alleged violation was breach of section 520 of the Air Regulations. That section was the predecessor of section 602.01 of the CARs. The wording of the section is identical. The alleged violations in this case are the same and the factual circumstance is similar, although it dealt with wheeled aircraft rather than float equipped aircraft.

The captain of a Beech 99 aircraft was alleged to have landed on two separate occasions in one day on a runway before a previous flight had cleared the runway. Each time the landing aircraft was in close proximity to the aircraft on the ground.

Various witnesses testified to the close proximity of the aircraft. In the first incident one passenger on the Beech stated that they flew over top of a Cessna 180 on the runway. The pilot of the 180 aircraft stated that the Beech passed about 30 to 50 feet from his left wing tip. Each one expressed concerns over safety. Similar testimony was heard regarding the second incident.

The notice of suspension contained particulars substantially similar to those in question here. Count # 1 stated in part that the captain operated an aircraft in such a negligent or reckless manner as to endanger or likely to endanger the life or property of any person, "by reason of the fact that you landed your aircraft on Runway 27 passing in close proximity to a Cessna 180 aircraft which occupied the runway".

Count # 2 was a similar allegation but alleging that he had landed, later in the day, "in close proximity to a Piper PA 11 aircraft which occupied the runway".

It can be seen that the factual circumstances are analogous, having an aircraft on approach come in close proximity to another aircraft situated on the landing surface, in the Decicco case, and having an approaching aircraft come in close proximity to a vessel on the landing surface here.

At the review, the hearing Member found that the captain did contravene the provision and upheld a 20-day suspension of his licence. The determination was appealed.

The appeal panel undertook an analysis of the concept of negligent or reckless conduct. Regarding negligence they quoted a definition of negligence in Norbert A. Selbstaedt v. Minister of Transport[2] as follows:

The omission to do something which a reasonable man, guided by those ordinary considerations which ordinarily regulate human affairs, would do, or the doing of something which a reasonable and prudent man would not do.

Negligence is the failure to use such care as a reasonably prudent and careful person would use under similar circumstances; it is the doing of some act which a person of ordinary prudence would not have done under similar circumstances or failure to do what a person of ordinary prudence would have done under similar circumstances.

In their consideration they paid heed to testimony of the inspector who was of the opinion that when flying over another aircraft in those circumstances there was no safety margin for either the overflying aircraft or the one on the ground.

The Tribunal concluded that the operation complained of fell below the standard of a reasonably prudent pilot so as to constitute negligence. The unnecessary risk of collision with the other aircraft and occupants was sufficient to meet the second facet, that is to endanger or likely to endanger the life or property of any person.

In this case we have Mr. Dalziel's evidence that there was little other boat traffic. Photographs of the scene, entered by him (Exhibits D-1, D-2, D-3), depict the approximate path of the boat and situation of the aircraft on the lake. What is obvious from his evidence is that there was ample room to either side or forward of the boat in which to accomplish a landing. No evidence was lead to suggest that these areas were unsuitable for landing, perhaps because of rocks or reefs. No evidence suggested that the other areas were in any way restricted, such as would be the case for a bathing or swimming area. Since the weather was fair, with light winds there was no meteorological reason, such as strong crosswinds, to preclude using other area for landing. There was no evidence adduced nor argument presented that would suggest that he was compelled to approach in close proximity to the boat for any exigent purpose.

If not compelled to approach in close proximity to the boat on the water, would a reasonable and prudent pilot choose that approach? Choosing that path reduced any margin of safety, given an unforseen mechanical malfunction or an unpredictable course of action by the boat. Would a reasonable and prudent pilot have chosen that approach? I think not.

I find the reasoning and determination in the Decicco case to be compelling and can apply it in this circumstance. Mr. Dalziel chose to fly in close proximity to a vessel on the surface for no discernable reason. Doing so reduced the margin of safety, when there was no good reason to do so. He failed to use such care as a reasonably prudent and careful pilot would use under similar circumstances so as to constitute negligence. The close proximity of his aircraft to the boat is sufficient to establish an unnecessary risk of collision so as to establish that he endangered or was likely to endanger the life or property of persons.

CONCLUSION

The Minister has proven the case on a balance of probability, and the decision to suspend Mr. Dalziel's licence for fourteen days is confirmed. The sanction imposed is appropriate for the conduct.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] Francis Dominic Decicco v. Minister of Transport, CAT File No. C-1316-02, Review; Francis Dominic Decicco v. Minister of Transport, CAT File No. C-1316-02, Appeal.

[2] Norbert A. Selbstaedt v. Minister of Transport, CAT File No. C-0081-02, Appeal.

Décisions

Dossier no P-2254-02 (TAC)
Dossier no EMS 042029 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Gordon Dalziel, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R., ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 6.9
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.01

Négligence, Imprudence, Hydravion


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 28 juin 2001

TRADUCTION

Le ministre a prouvé le bien-fondé de sa cause selon la prépondérance des probabilités et la décision de suspendre la licence de M. Dalziel pendant quatorze jours est confirmée. La sanction imposée est appropriée à la conduite. Les 14 jours de suspension débuteront le quinzième jour suivant la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 20 juin 2001 à 10 h dans l'édifice de la Banque Toronto Dominion à Victoria (Colombie-Britannique).

HISTORIQUE

Le 24 juin 2000, les conditions météorologiques au lac Shawnigan en Colombie-Britannique étaient très belles, ensoleillées et peu venteuses. Les conditions étaient idéales pour le ski nautique. M. David Gray faisait du ski nautique ce jour-là. Son épouse conduisait le bateau et son beau-père, M. Borst, agissait comme surveillant.

Ils étaient partis d'un chalet en bordure du lac Shawnigan, en direction sud et parallèle à la rive ouest du lac, en tirant M. Gray. Près de l'embouchure sud du lac, le bateau a changé de direction en tournant à gauche, vers le nord.

À ce moment-là, un aéronef est passé au-dessus ou près de l'embarcation. Il est passé assez près pour surprendre les occupants du bateau et le skieur, M. Gray.

L'aéronef a d'abord atterri, puis il a circulé jusqu'au quai. À ce moment, l'équipage du bateau avait pris M. Gray à bord et le trio s'est dirigé vers le quai de l'aéronef afin d'obtenir une explication. Il y a eu un échange verbal entre les parties. Les passagers du bateau sont repartis rapidement en déclarant que l'incident serait rapporté.

Ils ont effectivement rapporté l'événement à Transports Canada. Une enquête a démarré. À la suite de l'enquête, Transports Canada a allégué une infraction contre le pilote, M. Dalziel, dans les termes suivants :

En vertu de l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de suspendre votre document d'aviation canadien cité ci-dessus parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

À l'article 602.01 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien parce que vers 14 h (heure locale), le ou vers le 24 juin 2000, près du lac Shawnigan ( C.-B.), vous avez utilisé un aéronef C-GBSE d'une manière négligente constituant ou risquant de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne, en particulier parce que vous avez volé à proximité d'un bateau où des personnes prenaient place.

M. Dalziel a contesté cette allégation et a demandé cette audience au Tribunal de l'aviation civile.

LA PREUVE

M. Dalziel était très franc et ouvert. Il a admis qu'il pilotait un Cessna 180, le C-GBSE qui a atterri sur le lac Shawnigan en Colombie-Britannique vers 14 h, le 24 juin de l'an passé. Il reconnaît que pendant l'approche pour atterrir, il est passé près du bateau en question.

La preuve présentée par les plaisanciers n'est pas entièrement cohérente mais cela ne me consterne pas. L'événement ne s'est pas produit en un clin d'œil mais plutôt dans une séquence dynamique. Le bateau circulait à environ 30 mi/h et se replaçait en ligne droite après un virage. L'aéronef l'a dépassé tout en descendant. M. Borst état assis dans l'étrave faisant face à l'arrière. Mme Gray était au milieu du bateau; elle le conduisait en regardant vers l'avant. M. Gray regardait vers l'avant et il était tiré par le bateau à une distance équivalente au câble de traction. La vision que chacun avait de l'aéronef dépendait de leur situation physique et du changement de position de l'aéronef et du bateau. M. Borst, qui regardait vers l'arrière à titre de surveillant, a pu voir l'aéronef qui s'approchait. M. et Mme Gray n'ont pu voir l'aéronef que lorsqu'il est passé au-dessus et près d'eux puisqu'ils regardaient dans la même direction lorsque l'aéronef les a dépassés. Chacun a vu l'aéronef à un moment et à un endroit différents étant donné le changement de position des deux objets en mouvement.

Une partie de la preuve doit être rejetée. La déclaration de M. Gray selon laquelle il a vu le flotteur de l'aéronef à environ 10 pieds au-dessus de la tête de son épouse est sans doute une erreur. Mme Gray a déclaré qu'elle pouvait voir le pilote.

M. Dalziel, le pilote, a témoigné qu'il pouvait voir le bateau. En conséquence, l'aéronef ne pouvait être au-dessus de la tête de Mme Gray mais sur un des côtés.

Le contre-interrogatoire de M. Dalziel portait sur l'altitude et la distance de son aéronef à partir du bateau. Il a déclaré qu'il était à plus de 25 pieds d'altitude du bateau et sans doute à 50 pieds au-dessus de l'eau. Latéralement, il n'était pas à moins de 25 pieds. Il a déclaré que le bateau était sous son aile et lorsqu'il s'est incliné, l'aile inférieure était au-dessus du bateau.

Mme Gray a témoigné qu'après avoir complété le virage à l'embouchure sud du lac, elle a vu une ombre qui a attiré son regard vers le haut, après quoi, elle a vu un aéronef à sa droite. Elle a déclaré qu'elle pouvait voir le visage du pilote très clairement et même sa couleur de cheveux, son teint et ses lunettes de soleil. Lors du contre-interrogatoire, Mme Gray a dit qu'il lui semblait qu'elle pouvait atteindre son visage et lui toucher. Elle n'a pas spéculé sur la hauteur réelle de l'aéronef mais elle a réitéré qu'il semblait « tellement proche ».

M. Borst avait évalué que l'aéronef était à une hauteur de 20 pieds au-dessus d'eux, dans un angle de 45 degrés.

DISCUSSION

Avant de me prononcer sur la question de la présumée infraction, je veux revenir sur l'échange verbal sur le quai. J'ai comme devoir d'évaluer la preuve pertinente relative à l'allégation, soit l'utilisation de l'aéronef. Puisque les deux parties ont présenté une preuve solide et contradictoire concernant cet échange qui a eu lieu à la suite de l'incident, cela ne m'aide pas à l'évaluer. Comme elle n'est pas pertinente à mon examen, je ne m'y attarderai pas plus longuement.

Le fardeau de preuve repose sur le ministre. Il doit établir chaque élément de l'infraction selon la prépondérance des probabilités. Dans le cas d'une allégation d'infraction de l'article 602.01 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC), il doit établir ce qui suit :

  • la date, l'heure et le lieu de l'utilisation de l'aéronef;
  • l'identité de la personne qui pilotait l'aéronef;
  • qu'il a été utilisé d'une manière négligente de façon à constituer ou à risquer de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

M. Dalziel a franchement admis qu'il pilotait le Cessna 180, BSE, le 24 juin 2000 vers 14 h et que l'aéronef est passé près d'un bateau sur le lac Shawnigan en Colombie-Britannique, établissant ainsi l'essentiel des éléments, à l'exception du dernier.

LA QUESTION EN LITIGE

La seule question en litige consiste à déterminer si l'utilisation a été faite de manière négligente qui constitue ou risque de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de M. et Mme Gray et de M. Borst.

La preuve présentée par les témoins relatait l'endroit où l'aéronef avait atterri par rapport au bateau. Bien que cette question soit d'un grand intérêt, je dois me prononcer sur l'allégation qui concerne le vol de l'aéronef à proximité d'un bateau où des personnes prenaient place.

Je considère que l'aéronef de M. Dalziel est passé environ à 25 pieds à côté du bateau et à une hauteur de 20 à 25 pieds. Je tire cette conclusion à partir de la preuve combinée de M. Dalziel, Mme Gray et de M. Borst.

M. Dalziel a témoigné de distances latérales de 25 à 50 pieds et de 25 à 50 pieds de haut. Il a de plus déclaré que l'aile de l'aéronef allait au-dessus du bateau. Ces faits m'amènent à conclure que la plus petite de ses appréciations est la plus pertinente. Ce qui, de pair avec le témoignage de Mme Gray qui a décrit avec précision les traits faciaux de M. Dalziel, ce qui concorde plus avec le fait que l'aéronef était plutôt près du bateau et non loin de celui-ci. L'appréciation qu'a faite M. Borst de la hauteur de 20 pieds corrobore celle de M. Dalziel, soit environ 25 pieds. Les 5 pieds de différence sont dérisoires étant donné que les chiffres sont des appréciations et que de plus ils portent sur un objet se déplaçant vers le bas.

M. Dalziel a déclaré que le vol était normal et qu'il se sentait à l'aise lors de l'approche. Il est un pilote expérimenté mais comme il avait peu d'expérience des flotteurs, il était prudent. Il considérait qu'il n'avait pas besoin d'être plus loin étant donné qu'il pouvait suivre la trajectoire du bateau. Il a témoigné que la circulation maritime n'était pas dense puisqu'il n'a vu que trois bateaux. Aucune preuve d'autre circulation aérienne n'a été présentée.

Les occupants du bateau ont tous exprimé leurs inquiétudes concernant la proximité de l'aéronef et M. Gray a déclaré qu'il pensait que le flotteur de l'aéronef allait heurter son épouse.

Le dernier élément de la présumée infraction comporte deux composantes :

1) l'utilisation d'un aéronef de manière négligente;
2) que l'utilisation a constitué ou a risqué de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

La jurisprudence du Tribunal de l'aviation civile s'est prononcée sur la question à maintes reprises.

La décision à la suite d'une révision et d'un appel dans Francis Dominic Decicco c. Ministre des Transports[1]. Dans Decicco, la présumée infraction porte sur l'article 520 du Règlement de l'Air. Cet article était l'ancêtre de l'article 602.01 du RAC. Le libellé des articles est identique. Les présumées infractions dans cette cause sont les mêmes et les circonstances de faits sont semblables, même s'il est question d'un d'aéronef à pneus et non d'un aéronef à flotteurs.

Selon l'allégation, le commandant de bord de l'aéronef Beech 99 avait atterri à deux occasions distinctes, le même jour, avant que le vol précédent n'ait quitté la piste. Chaque fois, l'aéronef qui atterrissait était à proximité de l'aéronef au sol.

Différents témoins ont attesté de la proximité de l'aéronef. Lors du premier incident, un passager du Beech a déclaré qu'ils ont survolé un Cessna 180 sur la piste. Le pilote de l'aéronef 180 a déclaré que le Beech est passé de 30 à 50 pieds de son saumon d'aile gauche. Chacun d'entre eux a exprimé des préoccupations concernant la sécurité. On a entendu un témoignage semblable concernant le deuxième incident.

L'avis de suspension contenait des éléments substantiellement semblables à ceux dont il est question ici. Le chef d'accusation no 1 déclarait en partie que le commandant de bord utilisait un aéronef de manière négligente ou imprudente constituant ou risquant de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne, « en raison du fait que vous avez atterri sur la piste 27 en passant à proximité d'un aéronef Cessna 180 qui occupait la piste ».

L'allégation du chef d'accusation no 2 était semblable mais stipulait qu'il avait atterri, plus tard ce jour-là, « à proximité d'un aéronef Piper PA 11 qui occupait la piste ».

On peut remarquer que les circonstances des faits sont analogues puisqu'à l'approche, l'aéronef vient à proximité d'un autre aéronef situé sur la surface d'atterrissage, dans la cause Decicco, et qu'un aéronef qui s'approche vient à proximité d'un navire sur la surface d'atterrissage, dans ce cas-ci.

Lors de l'audience en révision, le conseiller a considéré que le commandant de bord avait effectivement contrevenu à la disposition et il a maintenu une suspension de sa licence de 20 jours. On a interjeté appel de cette décision.

Le comité d'appel a effectué une analyse du concept de conduite négligente ou imprudente. En ce qui a trait à la négligence, il a cité une définition de négligence de Norbert A. Selbstaedt c. Ministre des Transports[2] comme suit :

L'omission de mesures qu'une personne raisonnable, inspirée par les considérations habituelles qui régissent ordinairement les affaires humaines, prendrait, ou la prise de mesures qu'une personne raisonnable et prudente ne prendrait pas.

La négligence est le fait de ne pas prendre le soin qu'une personne raisonnablement prudente et circonspecte prendrait dans des circonstances similaires; elle désigne le fait de commettre un acte qu'une personne normalement prudente n'aurait pas commis dans des circonstances semblables ou le fait de ne pas prendre les mesures qu'une personne normalement prudente aurait prises dans des circonstances semblables.

Dans leurs considérations, ils ont tenu compte du témoignage de l'inspecteur qui était d'avis qu'en circulant au-dessus d'un autre aéronef dans ces circonstances, il n'y avait aucune marge de sécurité, ni pour l'aéronef qui dépasse, ni pour celui qui est au sol.

Le Tribunal a conclu que l'allégation était en deçà des normes d'un pilote raisonnablement prudent et constituait une négligence. Le risque de collision inutile avec l'autre aéronef et ses occupants correspondait au deuxième élément, soit constituer ou risquer de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

Dans ce cas, nous avons la preuve de M. Dalziel selon laquelle il y avait peu de circulation maritime. Les photographies de la scène qu'il a présentées (pièces D-1, D-2, D-3) illustrent la trajectoire approximative du bateau et la position de l'aéronef sur le lac. Il ressort manifestement de sa preuve qu'il y avait suffisamment de place pour effectuer un atterrissage, sur les côtés ou devant le bateau. Aucune preuve ne portait à conclure que ces zones n'étaient pas appropriées pour atterrir, peut-être en raison des roches ou des récifs. Aucune preuve ne laissait entendre que les autres zones n'étaient d'aucune façon restreintes, comme dans le cas d'une zone de baignade ou de natation. Étant donné que le temps était beau et les vents légers, il n'y avait aucune raison d'ordre météorologique, telle des vents de travers, pour empêcher l'utilisation d'autres zones d'atterrissage. Aucune preuve et aucun argument n'ont été présentés pour laisser entendre qu'il était forcé d'approcher du bateau pour des raisons impérieuses.

S'il n'était pas forcé d'approcher du bateau sur l'eau, un pilote raisonnable et prudent choisirait-il ce type d'approche? Choisir cette voie réduisait toute marge de sécurité, dans le cas d'une défectuosité mécanique ou d'une manœuvre imprévue du bateau. Est-ce qu'un pilote raisonnable et prudent aurait choisi cette approche? Je ne crois pas.

Je considère que les motifs et la décision dans la cause Decicco sont contraignants et qu'ils peuvent s'appliquer aux circonstances présentes. M. Dalziel a choisi de piloter à proximité d'un navire, sans raison apparente. Cette façon d'agir réduit la marge de sécurité, alors qu'il n'y a aucune bonne raison de le faire. Il n'a pas utilisé le soin qu'un pilote raisonnablement prudent et circonspect utiliserait dans des circonstances similaires et cela constitue de la négligence. La proximité de son aéronef et du bateau est suffisante pour établir un risque inutile de collision et pour établir qu'il a constitué ou risqué de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

CONCLUSION

Le ministre a prouvé le bien-fondé de sa cause selon la prépondérance des probabilités et la décision de suspendre la licence de M. Dalziel pendant quatorze jours est confirmée. La peine imposée est appropriée à la conduite.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] Francis Dominic Decicco c. Ministre des Transports, dossier no C-1316-02 (TAC), révision;

Francis Dominic Decicco c. Ministre des Transports, dossier no C-1316-02 (TAC), appel.

[2] Norbert A. Selbstaedt c. Ministre des Transports, dossier no C-0081-02 (TAC), appel.