Decisions

TATC File No. P-2777-41
MoT File No. EMS 49054

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

North Vancouver Airlines Ltd., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 605.84(1)(c)


Review Determination
Sandra Lloyd


Decision: September 30, 2003

The Minister has proved that North Vancouver Airlines Ltd. has contravened paragraph 605.84(1)(c) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. The penalty of $5,000.00 assessed by the Minister is upheld. This amount must be paid to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held August 20, 2003 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada, in Vancouver, British Columbia.

BACKGROUND

Transport Canada Civil Aviation Enforcement assessed a $5,000.00 penalty against North Vancouver Airlines Ltd. [hereinafter NVA]. The Minister of Transport alleges that NVA violated paragraph 605.84(1)(c) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), in that it permitted twin Beech aircraft C-GNVB to take off on approximately 365 flights when A.D. 95-03-03 (hereinafter the A.D.) was overdue for compliance with respect to C-GNVB's left propeller.

THE LAW

Paragraph 605.84(1)(c) of the CARs:

605.84 (1) Subject to subsections (3) and (4), no person shall conduct a take-off or permit a take-off to be conducted in an aircraft that is in the legal custody and control of the person, other than an aircraft operated under a special certificate of airworthiness in the owner-maintenance or amateur-built classification, unless the aircraft

[...]

(c) except as provided in subsection (2), meets the requirements of any notices that are equivalent to airworthiness directives and that are issued by

(i) the competent authority of the foreign state that, at the time the notice was issued, is responsible for the type certification of the aircraft, engine, propeller or appliance, or

(ii) for an aeronautical product in respect of which no type certificate has been issued, the competent authority of the foreign state that manufactured the aeronautical product.

EVIDENCE

The Minister called two witnesses. The first witness, Mr. Rick Haymond, is an experienced Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME) and an Inspector with Transport Canada Maintenance and Manufacturing. He was part of an audit team that inspected NVA and C-GNVB in the fall of 2002. During that audit it was discovered that the A.D. had not been accomplished on

C-GNVB's left propeller, within the required time frame. Mr. Haymond identified the A.D. and a Confirmation Request Form that showed that NVA had not accomplished the A.D. in a timely fashion. The A.D. is required every 3000 hours or 60 days, whichever comes first.

The second witness, Mr. Claudio Rosa, is a Civil Aviation Inspector with Civil Aviation Enforcement and is also an experienced AME. He was assigned this case for investigation. A secretary's certificate identified NVA as the registered owner of C-GNVB. Mr. Rosa identified the serial number on the left hand propeller of C-GNVB and identified documents that detailed the initial compliance with the A.D. when the aircraft was first registered. The left hand propeller was installed on C-GNVB when the total airframe time was 9933 hours and the A.D. was accomplished at that time. The evidence showed that the A.D. was not again accomplished until after the Transport Canada inspection of fall 2002. Ninety-one months and 3964 hours had elapsed on the aircraft since the A.D. had originally been done.

Both witnesses were cross-examined by Mr. Kokai-Kuun for NVA. Both witnesses were evasive in answering a couple of questions, for reasons indiscernible to me, although they did ultimately answer all relevant questions. The cross-examinations did not contradict the witnesses' evidence of the violation.

Mr. Rosa admitted that NVA did accomplish the A.D. as soon as they were made aware of the non-compliance. Under re-examination, Mr. Rosa said that Transport Canada had not granted any extension to the A.D.

Mr. Kokai-Kuun gave evidence on behalf of NVA. He is an experienced commercial pilot and has acted as chief pilot, operations manager, and maintenance coordinator for NVA. Mr. Kokai-Kuun said it was the policy of NVA to comply with all A.D.'s. He said the maintenance coordinator for NVA at the relevant time was Mr. Paul Hales, who he said has an excellent reputation in the field of aircraft maintenance.

Mr. Kokai-Kuun admitted that the propeller had gone long overdue on the A.D. but said it had not gone overdue with respect to the time before overhaul (TBO). Transport Canada had given an extension to NVA, to 4000 hours, with respect to the TBO for C-GNVB's propellers, because of NVA's good record. Mr. Kokai-Kuun said compliance with the overhaul would have automatically resulted in compliance with the A.D.

Mr. Kokai-Kuun also said that in spite of the fact that neither an overhaul nor the A.D. had been done on the propeller, the propeller had been on and off the aircraft several times because of other maintenance, such as engine overhaul.

Mr. Kokai-Kuun said he believed that NVA, Mr. Hales and he had done their due diligence to ensure that A.D.'s were complied with and said the slip-up on the propeller A.D. was made because the TBO had been increased by Transport Canada. The A.D. was missed because it came due before the overhaul. Mr. Kokai-Kuun said if a wrong date is put in their computer then a wrong date comes out, and that is what happened here.

On cross-examination Mr Kokai-Kuun admitted that he is not an AME.

SUBMISSIONS

Mr. Bulfone for the Minister of Transport submitted that the evidence had established all elements of the violation. He said notwithstanding that the failure to comply with the A.D. was a slip-up, the regulations are clear and this is a strict liability offence. He submitted that the due diligence defence requires that a person exercise all the care and attention that could be legally expected of a person, and what is due diligence depends on the circumstances. He submitted that due diligence did not apply to this charge. He said that it is incumbent on Transport Canada to ensure that the regulations are complied with and that a message must be sent to both the individual and to the aviation community as a whole to combat any trends toward complacency.

With respect to the amount of the sanction, Mr. Bulfone submitted that the safety implications from failing to comply with A.D.'s are substantial. He said that the maximum penalty for a violation of paragraph 605.84(1)(c) of the CARs is $25,000.00, and that $5,000.00 is the recommended penalty for a first offence.

Mr. Kokai-Kuun submitted that he believes that all airlines must comply with the CARs and A.D.'s and must be held accountable for failures to do so. He did not dispute the facts as presented by the Minister, although he said he could have disputed some of the evidence. He complained that the Minister's witnesses had given evasive answers to simple questions about maintenance. Mr. Kokai-Kuun pointed out that the A.D. coincided with the standard overhaul hours for the propeller involved. He admitted that as far as he knew, the manufacturer had not extended the A.D. to go along with Transport Canada's TBO extensions for the propeller. He pointed out that NVA had not been accused of going over the overhaul time for the propeller.

He submitted that there was no real safety issue presented by the failure to comply with the A.D. in this instance because the propeller was looked at every 100 hours in any case. However he conceded that A.D.'s must be followed and that it is Transport Canada's mandate to ensure they are followed.

Finally, Mr. Kokai-Kuun advised that NVA is no longer operating as an airline. He said this fact has nothing to do with Transport Canada but that he had sold the assets of NVA and voluntarily released its operating certificate. He said NVA has no ability to pay a penalty. He said it is important that NVA violated an A.D.; admitted that NVA had lost (at the hearing); but said that the Minister of Transport showed poorly because the witnesses were evasive. Therefore he asked that the sanction be as small as possible.

DISCUSSION

Having heard the evidence and submissions of both the parties, it is clear that the Minister has proved the offence as alleged. The only issue for me to decide is the amount of the sanction.

The penalty assessed by the Minister is much less than the maximum allowed for the offence. It is very important that operators comply with A.D.'s and that they have a fail-safe system for ensuring compliance. There can be very serious safety implications from failing to comply with A.D.'s.

I have already commented above on the evasiveness of the witnesses and I do not consider it relevant to the outcome of this matter.

I understand from Mr. Kokai-Kuun that NVA has no ability to pay any penalty, as all the assets of NVA have been sold. I therefore infer that no hardship will be caused by confirming the penalty as assessed by the Minister.

Considering all the above, I see no reason to interfere with the penalty assessed by the Minister.

DETERMINATION

The Minister has proved the offence as alleged and I confirm the penalty assessed by the Minister.

Sandra K. Lloyd
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no P-2777-41 (TATC)
Dossier no EMS 49054 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

North Vancouver Airlines Ltd., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 605.84(1)c)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Sandra Lloyd


Décision : le 30 septembre 2003

TRADUCTION

Le ministre a prouvé que North Vancouver Airlines Ltd. a contrevenu à l'alinéa 605.84(1)c) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. L'amende de 5 000 $ imposée par le ministre est maintenue. Ce montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les quinze jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision de l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le 20 août 2003 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique).

HISTORIQUE

L'Application de la loi de l'aviation civile de Transports Canada a imposé une amende de 5 000 $ à North Vancouver Airlines Ltd. [ci-après NVA]. Le ministre des Transports allègue que NVA a contrevenu à l'alinéa 605.84(1)c) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) parce qu'il a permis à l'aéronef twin Beech C-GNVB de décoller environ à 365 reprises alors que la date de la consigne de navigabilité 95-03-03 (ci-après la C.N.) concernant l'hélice gauche du C-GNVB était échue.

LA LOI

L'alinéa 605.84(1)c) du RAC :

605.84 (1) Sous réserve des paragraphes (3) et (4), il est interdit à toute personne d'effectuer, sauf dans le cas des aéronefs exploités en vertu d'un certificat spécial de navigabilité de la catégorie de maintenance par le propriétaire ou de la catégorie de construction amateur, le décollage d'un aéronef dont elle a la garde et la responsabilité légales ou de permettre à toute personne d'effectuer le décollage d'un tel aéronef, à moins que l'aéronef ne réponde aux conditions suivantes :

[...]

c) sous réserve du paragraphe (2), il est conforme aux exigences relatives aux avis qui sont des équivalents des consignes de navigabilité, le cas échéant, et qui sont délivrés par :

(i) l'autorité compétente de l'État étranger qui était, au moment où les avis ont été délivrés, responsable de la délivrance du certificat de type de l'aéronef, des moteurs, des hélices ou des appareillages,

(ii) dans le cas d'un produit aéronautique pour lequel aucun certificat de type n'a été délivré, l'autorité compétente de l'État étranger responsable de la construction du produit aéronautique.

LA PREUVE

Le ministre a appelé deux témoins. Le premier témoin, M. Rick Haymond, est technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA) d'expérience et inspecteur pour le compte de Maintenance et construction des aéronefs, Transports Canada. Il a fait partie de l'équipe de vérification de NVA et du C-GNVB à l'automne 2002. Pendant la vérification, on a découvert que la C.N. n'avait pas été respectée pour l'hélice gauche du C-GNVB, dans les délais prescrits. M. Haymond a identifié la C.N. et un formulaire de demande de confirmation qui démontrait que NVA n'avait pas respecté la C.N. dans le temps requis. La C.N. est requise à toutes les 3 000 heures ou 60 jours, le premier des deux prévalant.

Le deuxième témoin, M. Claudio Rosa, est inspecteur pour l'Application de la loi de l'aviation civile et TEA d'expérience. On lui a assigné l'enquête sur cette cause. Un certificat du secrétaire signalait que NVA était le propriétaire enregistré du C-GNVB. M. Rosa a repéré le numéro de série sur l'hélice droite du C-GNVB et les documents qui indiquaient l'observation initiale de la C.N. au moment de l'enregistrement de l'aéronef. L'hélice gauche a été installée sur le C-GNVB lorsque le nombre total d'heures de vol cellule a atteint 9 933 heures et la C.N. a alors été respectée. La preuve a démontré qu'on ne s'était conformé à la C.N. à nouveau qu'après l'inspection de Transports Canada à l'automne 2002. Quatre-vingt-onze mois et 3 964 heures se sont écoulés depuis que la C.N. initiale de l'aéronef avait été appliquée.

Les deux témoins ont été contre-interrogés par M. Kokai-Kuun de NVA. Ils ont été évasifs en répondant à quelques questions, pour des raisons qui ne m'étaient pas évidentes, mais ils ont éventuellement répondu à toutes les questions pertinentes. Les contre-interrogatoires n'ont pas contredit la preuve des témoins concernant l'infraction.

M. Rosa a admis que NVA a effectivement respecté la C.N. dès qu'elle a été informée de sa non-observation. En ré-interrogatoire, M. Rosa a dit que Transports Canada n'avait accordé aucune extension concernant la C.N.

M. Kokai-Kuun a présenté de la preuve au nom de NVA. Il est un pilote professionnel d'expérience et il a agi à titre de pilote en chef, gestionnaire des opérations et coordonnateur de la maintenance pour le compte de NVA. M. Kokai-Kuun a dit que la politique de NVA était de respecter toutes les C.N. Il a dit que le coordonnateur de la maintenance de NVA à l'époque en question était M. Paul Hales qui, à son avis, avait une excellente réputation dans le domaine de la maintenance d'aéronefs.

M. Kokai-Kuun a admis que la date était largement dépassée en ce qui a trait à la C.N. de l'hélice mais il a dit que le temps entre révisions (TBO) n'était pas expiré. Transports Canada avait accordé une extension à NVA, jusqu'à 4 000 heures, en ce qui concerne le TBO des hélices du C-GNVB étant donné que NVA avait un bon dossier. M. Kokai-Kuun a dit que l'observation des révisions aurait automatiquement entraîné le respect de la C.N.

M. Kokai-Kuun a de plus mentionné qu'en dépit du fait que ni la révision, ni la C.N. n'avaient été effectuées sur l'hélice, l'hélice avait été posée et retirée de l'aéronef à plusieurs reprises à l'occasion d'autres maintenances, notamment la révision du moteur.

M. Kokai-Kuun a dit qu'il estimait que NVA, M. Hales et lui avaient fait preuve de diligence raisonnable pour s'assurer que les C.N. soient respectées et il a dit que la C.N. de l'hélice leur avait échappé en raison du fait que Transports Canada avait prolongé le TBO. La C.N. n'a pas été respectée parce qu'elle venait à échéance avant la révision. M. Kokai-Kuun a dit que si une date erronée est entrée à l'ordinateur, il en ressort une date erronée et c'est ce qui s'est produit dans le cas en l'espèce.

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Kokai-Kuun a admis qu'il n'est pas TEA.

ARGUMENTS

M. Bulfone, au nom du ministre des Transports, a plaidé que la preuve avait établi tous les éléments de l'infraction. Il a dit que bien que l'observation de la C.N. leur ait échappé, le règlement était clair et il s'agit-là d'une infraction de responsabilité stricte. Il a plaidé que la défense de diligence raisonnable requiert qu'une personne exerce tous les soins et l'attention dont on est en droit de s'attendre et que ce qui constitue de la diligence raisonnable dépend des circonstances. Il a fait valoir que la diligence raisonnable ne s'appliquait pas à cette infraction. Il a dit qu'il incombait à Transports Canada de s'assurer que les règlements soient respectés et d'envoyer un message tant aux individus qu'à l'ensemble du milieu de l'aviation afin de combattre toute tendance à la présomption.

En ce qui concerne le montant de l'amende, M. Bulfone a plaidé que les conséquences reliées à la sécurité qui découlent du défaut de respecter une C.N sont substantielles. Il a dit que la peine maximale pour une contravention à l'alinéa 605.84(1)c) du RAC est de 25 000 $ et que 5 000 $ constituent la peine recommandée pour une première infraction.

M. Kokai-Kuun a plaidé qu'il croit que toutes les lignes aériennes doivent respecter le RAC et les C.N. et qu'elles doivent répondre de l'omission de le faire. Il n'a pas contesté les faits présentés par le ministre, même s'il a dit qu'il aurait pu contester certaines preuves. Il s'est plaint que les témoins du ministre avaient donné des réponses évasives à des questions simples au sujet de la maintenance. M. Kokai-Kuun a signalé que la C.N. coïncidait avec les heures de révision habituelles pour l'hélice en cause. Il a admis qu'à sa connaissance, le constructeur n'avait pas prolongé la C.N. pour la faire coïncider avec la prolongation du TBO de Transports Canada reliée à l'hélice. Il a indiqué que NVA n'avait pas été accusée d'outrepasser le temps de révision de l'hélice.

Il a plaidé que, dans la cause en l'espèce, le manque de respect de la C.N. ne soulevait aucune question de sécurité parce que l'hélice était inspectée à toutes les 100 heures, quoi qu'il en soit. Par ailleurs, il a concédé que les C.N. doivent être respectées et que Transports Canada a comme mandat de s'assurer qu'elles le sont.

En dernier lieu, M. Kokai-Kuun a mentionné que NVA n'exerçait plus ses opérations à titre de ligne aérienne. Il a dit que ce fait n'avait rien à voir avec Transports Canada mais qu'il avait vendu l'actif de NVA et qu'il avait volontairement laissé tomber son certificat d'exploitation. Il a dit que NVA n'avait pas la capacité de payer une amende. Il a dit que le fait que NVA ait enfreint une C.N. était important; il a admis que NVA avait perdu (à l'audience) mais il a dit que le ministre des Transports avait fait piètre figure parce que les témoins étaient évasifs. Pour ces motifs, il a demandé que l'amende soit la moindre possible.

DISCUSSION

Après avoir entendu la preuve et les arguments des deux parties, il est clair que le ministre a prouvé les infractions alléguées. La seule question dont je dois décider est le montant de l'amende.

L'amende imposée par le ministre s'approche plus du minimum que du maximum permis pour l'infraction. Il est très important que les exploitants respectent les C.N. et qu'ils aient un système à sécurité intégrée pour s'assurer de leur respect. Il peut y avoir de très sérieuses conséquences reliées à la sécurité advenant le défaut de respecter une C.N.

J'ai déjà commenté ci-dessus l'attitude évasive des témoins et je ne la considère pas pertinente pour l'issue de cette affaire.

Je retiens des propos de M. Kokai-Kuun que NVA n'a pas la capacité de payer une amende, puisque les éléments d'actif de NVA ont été vendus. J'en déduis donc qu'aucun tort ne sera causé en confirmant l'amende imposée par le ministre.

Considérant les éléments susmentionnés, je ne vois aucune raison de modifier l'amende imposée par le ministre.

DÉCISION

Le ministre a prouvé l'infraction alléguée et je confirme l'amende imposée.

Sandra K. Lloyd
Conseillère
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada