Decisions

TATC File No. P-2794-37
MoT File No. EMS 47309

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

James Edgar Darwin, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 605.03, par. 605.84(1)(b) and (c) and sub. 605.86(1)


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: September 30, 2003

The Minister has proven each element of the offence relating to section 605.03 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. Mr. Darwin has pleaded guilty to the other counts. I uphold the penalty of $2,500.00 imposed by the Minister. The payment shall be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, September 11, 2003 at 10:00 hours at the People Place Society, in Vernon, British Columbia.

BACKGROUND

On May 30, 2002, a Civil Aviation Daily Occurrence Report (CADORS) was filed at the Vernon, British Columbia airport. This report variously stated that a Stinson 108 3 aircraft had flipped over while departing Vernon or alternatively, during a landing at Vernon, the nose gear on its amphibious landing gear had collapsed causing the aircraft to overturn on the runway.

In any event the report was significant enough to come to the attention of Transport Canada. Transport Canada inspectors investigated the incident and enquired into the aircraft's maintenance history.

The ensuing investigation convinced the inspectors that certain maintenance / airworthiness deficiencies existed. Consequently the following allegations were made:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulation 605.03, in that on or about May 30, 2002, at or near Vernon, British Columbia, you conducted a takeoff in an aircraft registered as C-FRPJ when the flight authority was not in effect in respect of the aircraft, because the aircraft was equipped with amphibious floats of a type not approved for installation on said aircraft.

Penalty: $250.00

Canadian Aviation Regulation subsection 605.84(1)(b), in that you permitted a take-off to be conducted in an aircraft that was in your legal custody and control, when the aircraft did not meet the requirement of an airworthiness directive issued under section 593.02, to wit:

Aircraft C-FRPJ was permitted to take-off on or about May 30, 2002, at or near Vernon, British Columbia, when Airworthiness Directive CF 90-03R2 was overdue for compliance.

Penalty: $1000.00

Canadian Aviation Regulation subsection 605.84(1)(c), in that you permitted a take-off to be conducted in an aircraft that was in your legal custody and control, when the aircraft did not meet the requirements of a notice equivalent to an airworthiness directive issued by the competent authority of the foreign state that, at the time the notice was issued, was responsible for the type certification of the aircraft, engine, propeller or appliance, to wit:

Aircraft C-FRPJ was permitted to take-off on or about May 30, 2002, at or near Vernon, British Columbia, when Airworthiness Directive AD- 50-17-02 was overdue for compliance.

Penalty: $1000.00

Canadian Aviation Regulations subsection 605.86(1), in that on or about May 30, 2002, at or near Vernon, British Columbia, you permitted a take-off to be conducted in aircraft C-FRPJ, which was in your legal custody and control, when the aircraft was not maintained in accordance with a maintenance schedule that complied with the Aircraft Equipment and Maintenance Standards, specifically the following items in Appendix "C" of section 625 were overdue:

1) Item 7 - Annual Tachometer accuracy check

2) Item 9 - Annual Compass Swing

3) Item 11 - Annual Emergency Locator Transmitter (ELT) check

Penalty: $250.00

EVIDENCE

Each one of the four counts alleges that on May 30, 2002, Mr. Darwin, as the registered owner of aircraft C-FRPJ, conducted or permitted a take-off to be conducted in that aircraft when the aircraft's maintenance or airworthiness status was deficient in some manner.

The Minister provided extensive documentation to illustrate each of the alleged deficiencies such that I would have accepted each of the counts as proven. Mr. Darwin had come to the same conclusion at the end of the Minister's evidentiary presentation and conceded that he was guilty of the latter three charges, paragraphs 605.84(1)(b), 605.84(1)(c) and subsection 605.86(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs). However he still wished to contest the first charge, section 605.03.

Evidence — 605.03

The charge stipulates: "on or about May 30, 2002, at or near Vernon, British Columbia, you conducted a take-off in an aircraft registered as C-FRPJ when the flight authority was not in effect in respect of the aircraft, because the aircraft was equipped with amphibious floats of a type not approved for installation on said aircraft."

The time, date and location of the incident are not in question. The identity of the pilot is unknown but Mr. Darwin has been established as the registered owner, and he may be pursued under the Aeronautics Act in that capacity.

That the flight authority was not in effect was established by documentary evidence provided by the Minister's Exhibits M-5 and M-6. The aircraft specification sheet A-767 issued by the Department of Transportation of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) provides that the only approved floats for that aircraft were Edo Model 44-2425's. The pictorial evidence Exhibits M-7 to M-11 and the testimony of Inspector Rosa establish that the floats attached to the aircraft on the day of the incident were not Edo 2425's.

ISSUE

The outstanding issue is whether or not Mr. Darwin conducted a take-off in RPJ when the flight authority was not in effect.

Evidence of a take-off was tendered through an eyewitness, Mr. John Mitchell. He is an aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) who holds an approved maintenance organization (AMO) certificate and has his operation at the Vernon airport. As such he is interested in and knowledgeable about aircraft. He had returned home for lunch on that day. His home is located adjacent to the airport and provides a vantage point wherein he can see the entire airport. He observed a Stinson 108 fly away from the airport. He said that he took note of it because it was the only Stinson he had ever seen on amphibious landing gear. Mr. Mitchell had observed that the aircraft was blue and white. He was also able to witness the aircraft's return to the airport not too long after its departure. He observed it approach, land and subsequently flip over on its back on the runway. Mr. Mitchell called 911.

Mr. Darwin chose not to testify on his own behalf. Therefore, I have no evidence before me of his version of that day's events.

ARGUMENT

Mr. Darwin argued that a take-off was never accomplished, but rather at the time of the incident the aircraft was being subject to taxi tests. The aircraft was subjected to higher taxi speeds on the runway. It experienced a shimmy in the nose gear, which eventually broke off and the aircraft flipped over.

The Minister submits that all elements of the offence have been proven. An eyewitness attested to the fact of a take-off and the documentary evidence shows that the flight authority was not in effect.

DISCUSSION

I accept the Minister's versions of events. The sole evidence of the aircraft's movement comes from the Minister's witness, Mr. Mitchell. I accept his version of the flight sequence. His knowledge of aircraft and his unimpeded view of the flight activity leave me no doubt that he observed aircraft RPJ in flight that day. Therefore, the element of conducting a take-off has been established. For reasons stated earlier I accept that the flight authority was not in effect.

Mr. Darwin's argument is inconsistent with his plea of being guilty on the other counts. Each of those counts includes as an element, the conduct of a take-off or permission to conduct a take-off. Having said that he was guilty of these charges, he nevertheless argues that there was no take-off regarding the 605.03 charge. However, each of these charges is grounded by the same flight, ie. take-off. I must reject his argument, that the aircraft was doing a high speed taxi only, because his admission on the other charges has settled the fact of the flight and that is corroborated by the evidence of Mr. Mitchell.

HELD

The Minister has proven each element of the offence relating to section 605.03 of the CARs. Mr. Darwin has pleaded guilty to the other counts. I uphold the quantum of the fines imposed by the Minister.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada


Appeal decision
David S. Ahmed, Faye H. Smith, Herbert Lee


Decision: April 1, 2004

The appeal is dismissed and the review determination is confirmed. The payment in the amount of $2,500.00 is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada within fifteen days of service of this decision.

In accordance with the Notice of Hearing which was duly served, a hearing on the above matter was convened on Thursday, February 26, 2004 at 10:00 hours at the Kelowna Law Court, 1355 Water Street, Kelowna, B.C. to hear the appeal requested by James Edgar Darwin regarding the review determination of Allister Ogilvie, Vice-Chairperson of the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada, on September 30, 2003.

The Respondent was represented by Mr. Neil E. Sandler. The Appellant, Mr. James Edgar Darwin, failed to appear.

A Notice of Hearing dated January 19, 2004 had been served on both parties setting out February 26, 2004 at 10:00 hours at the Kelowna Law Court, as the date, time and location of the appeal to be held at Kelowna, British Columbia. More specifically, the Chairperson's appeal book contained a copy of a document certifying that the said Notice of Hearing was personally served on Mr. James Edgar Darwin at the time and address indicated therein as signed by the person who effected service.

Upon Mr. Darwin's failure to appear, the Chairperson contacted the Tribunal Registrar who contacted Mr. Darwin on his cellular telephone and was informed that he was in Seattle, Washington and had forgotten about the appeal.

Upon being so informed, the Respondent's representative requested the opportunity to address the issue of costs on the basis that Mr. Darwin was absent and his reason was not sufficient, citing the Tribunal's authority for such award of costs being paragraph 19(1)(b) of the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada Act (TATC Act). He further submitted that the Minister should be reimbursed for its expenses thrown away including costs related to travel, hotel, and preparation time, the latter being on the basis that the Federal Court has established that this is one of the grounds for costs.

The issue of the award of costs is a novel one for this Tribunal. The Civil Aviation Tribunal had no such power. The discretionary power to the Tribunal to award costs was added with the enactment of the TATC Act on June 30, 2003 establishing the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada which replaced the Civil Aviation Tribunal established under Part IV of the Aeronautics Act.

Section 19 of the TATC Act reads as follows:

19. (1) The Tribunal may award any costs, and may require the reimbursement of any expenses incurred in connection with a hearing, that it considers reasonable if

(a) it is seized of the matter for reasons that are frivolous or vexatious;

(b) a party that files a request for a review or an appeal and does not appear at the hearing does not establish that there was sufficient reason to justify their absence; or

(c) a party that is granted an adjournment of the hearing requested the adjournment without adequate notice to the Tribunal.

In his submission, the Respondent's representative maintained that paragraph 19(1)(b) applies to the case at hand since the Act was in effect since June 2003 hence it would apply to this matter of Mr. Darwin's failure to appear. He also indicated that he would supply details of the transportation costs from Ottawa to Kelowna together with hotel expenses and other costs as requested.

The Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty which was sent to Mr. Darwin by the Minister to initiate this process was dated March 14, 2003, a date which is prior to June 30, 2003, the date of enactment of the TATC Act. The relevant date for payment of the monetary penalty as set out in the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty was April 14, 2003. The Aeronautics Act, as it then was, provided that the Minister must, within 15 days of non-payment of the assessed penalty, notify the Tribunal of such non-payment and as the Act required, the Tribunal proceeded to schedule a review hearing.

These facts are relevant to our consideration of section 32 of the TATC Act which reads as follows:

32. (1) Proceedings relating to any matter before the former Tribunal on the coming into force of section 44, including any matter that is in the course of being heard by the former Tribunal, shall be continued by the new Tribunal.

(2) Unless the Governor in Council, by order, directs that proceedings continued under this section are to be dealt with in accordance with the provisions of this Act, the proceedings shall be dealt with and determined in accordance with the provisions of the Aeronautics Act as that Act read immediately before the coming into force of section 44.

(3) The Governor in Council may, by order, direct that proceedings in respect of any class of matter referred to in subsection (1) in respect of which no decision or order is made on the coming into force of section 44 shall be discontinued or continued by the new Tribunal, as the case may be, on the terms and conditions specified in the order for the protection and preservation of the rights and interests of the parties.

Respecting the facts before us, subsection (2) specifically mandates that the Darwin matter continued in the new Tribunal be dealt with in accordance with the provisions of the Aeronautics Act as it read immediately before the coming into force of section 44.[1] My reading of this section is that we are to conduct the matter as if Part IV were not repealed. If that were so, then subsection 37(7) of the Aeronautics Act would provide our direction as to costs rather than section 19 of the TATC Act.

Subsection 37(7) of the Aeronautics Act reads as follows:

(7) No costs may be awarded by the Tribunal or a member thereof on the disposition of any matter under this Act.

To finalize this issue of costs, this appeal panel is of the view that we are prevented from awarding costs as the matter was initiated before the Civil Aviation Tribunal and hence must be continued under the process which existed prior to the repeal of Part IV of the Aeronautics Act that is, according to subsection 37(7) which prohibits an award of costs.

CONCLUSION

In view of the Appellant's failure to appear, and in view of the fact that he was personally served with the Notice of Hearing in this matter, there was then no case for the Respondent to meet. The Tribunal has decided to dismiss the appeal and uphold the review determination. We are not inclined to make an order as to costs for reimbursement of expenses in this matter, and we note that each case must be judged on its own facts. However, we would not rule out an award of reasonable costs in a similar case in the future as the legislation was specifically drafted to cover the situation before us which has arisen only four times in the eighteen-year history of this Tribunal.

The appeal is dismissed and the review determination is confirmed.

Reasons for Appeal Decision by:

Faye Smith, Chairperson

Concurred:

Dr. David Ahmed, Member
Herbert Lee, Member


[1] Which repeals Part IV of the Aeronautics Act (which established the Civil Aviation Tribunal).

Décisions

Dossier no P-2794-37 (TATC)
Dossier no EMS 47309 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

James Edgar Darwin, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 605.03, al. 605.84(1)b) et c) et paragr. 605.86(1)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 30 septembre 2003

TRADUCTION

Le ministre a prouvé chaque élément de l'infraction de l'article 605.03 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. M. Darwin a plaidé coupable aux autres chefs d'accusation. Je maintiens la peine de 2 500 $ imposée par le ministre. Ce montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les quinze jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision de l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 11 septembre 2003 à 10 h à la People Place Society de Vernon (Colombie-Britannique).

HISTORIQUE

Le 30 mai 2002, un rapport du système de comptes rendus quotidiens des événements de l'aviation civile (CADORS) a été déposé à l'aéroport de Vernon (Colombie-Britannique). Le rapport déclarait de diverses façons qu'un aéronef Stinson 108-3 avait capoté en décollant de Vernon ou que son train d'atterrissage amphibie avant s'était écrasé entraînant le capotage de l'aéronef sur la piste, au moment de l'atterrissage à Vernon.

À tout événement, le rapport était suffisamment important pour qu'il soit porté à l'attention de Transports Canada. Les inspecteurs de Transports Canada ont enquêté sur l'événement et se sont renseignés sur l'historique de la maintenance de l'aéronef.

L'enquête qui a suivi a convaincu les inspecteurs qu'il y avait certaines défectuosités de maintenance / navigabilité. Par conséquent, les allégations suivantes ont été formulées :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Article 605.03 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, le ou vers le 30 mai 2002, aux environs de Vernon (Colombie-Britannique), vous avez effectué un décollage d'un aéronef immatriculé C-FRPJ alors que l'autorité de vol de l'aéronef n'était pas en vigueur, parce que l'aéronef était équipé de flotteurs amphibies d'un type dont l'installation n'est pas approuvée pour ledit aéronef.

Amende : 250 $

Alinéa 605.84(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, vous avez permis qu'un décollage soit effectué à bord d'un aéronef dont vous aviez la garde et la responsabilité légales, alors que l'aéronef ne respectait pas les exigences de la consigne de navigabilité délivrée en vertu de l'article 593.02, à savoir :

L'aéronef C-FRPJ a été autorisé à décoller le ou vers le 30 mai 2002, aux environs de Vernon (Colombie-Britannique), alors que la consigne de navigabilité CF 90-03R2 n'avait pas été respectée.

Amende : 1 000 $

Alinéa 605.84(1)c) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, vous avez permis qu'un décollage soit effectué à bord d'un aéronef dont vous aviez la garde et la responsabilité légales, alors que l'aéronef ne respectait pas les exigences de l'avis qui équivaut à une consigne de navigabilité délivrée par l'autorité compétente de l'État étranger, qui était, au moment où les avis ont été délivrés, responsable de la délivrance du certificat de type de l'aéronef, des moteurs, des hélices ou des appareillages, à savoir :

L'aéronef C-FRPJ a été autorisé à décoller le ou vers le 30 mai 2002, aux environs de Vernon (Colombie-Britannique), alors que la consigne de navigabilité AD- 50-17-02 n'avait pas été respectée.

Amende : 1 000 $

Paragraphe 605.86(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, le ou vers le 30 mai 2002, aux environs de Vernon (Colombie-Britannique), vous avez permis qu'un décollage soit effectué à bord d'un aéronef C-FRPJ dont vous aviez la garde et la responsabilité légales, alors que la maintenance de l'aéronef n'était pas effectuée conformément à un calendrier de maintenance qui est conforme aux Normes relatives à l'équipement et à la maintenance des aéronefs, plus particulièrement alors que les éléments suivants de l'Annexe « C » de l'article 625 étaient en souffrance :

1) Article 7 – Le contrôle annuel de la précision du tachymètre

2) Article 9 – Compensation compas annuelle

3) Article 11 – Le contrôle annuel des radiobalises de repérage d'urgence (ETL)

Amende : 250 $

LA PREUVE

Chacun des quatre chefs d'accusation allègue que le 30 mai 2002, M. Darwin, à titre de propriétaire enregistré de l'aéronef C-FRPJ, a effectué ou a permis qu'un décollage soit effectué à bord dudit aéronef alors que la maintenance de l'aéronef ou son état de navigabilité étaient déficients.

Le ministre a présenté une documentation exhaustive pour démontrer chacune des défectuosités alléguées afin que j'accepte chacun des chefs d'accusation tel que prouvé. M. Darwin en était venu à la même conclusion à la fin de la présentation de la preuve du ministre et il a admis qu'il était coupable des trois derniers chefs d'accusation, soit les infractions aux alinéas 605.84(1)b), 605.84(1)c) et au paragraphe 605.86(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). Toutefois, il désirait toujours contester le premier chef, l'infraction à l'article 605.03.

La preuve — 605.03

Le chef d'accusation énonce que : « le ou vers le 30 mai 2002, aux environs de Vernon (Colombie-Britannique), vous avez effectué un décollage à bord d'un aéronef immatriculé C-FRPJ alors que l'autorité de vol de l'aéronef n'était pas en vigueur parce que l'aéronef était équipé de flotteurs amphibies d'un type dont l'installation n'est pas approuvée pour ledit aéronef ».

L'heure, la date et le lieu de l'événement ne sont pas en cause. L'identité du pilote est inconnue mais il a été établi que M. Darwin était le propriétaire enregistrée et, à ce titre, il peut être poursuivi en vertu de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

La preuve documentaire fournie par les pièces M-5 et M-6 du ministre a permis d'établir que l'autorité de vol n'était pas en vigueur. La fiche signalétique de l'aéronef A-767 délivrée par le ministère des transports de la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) prévoit que les seuls flotteurs approuvés pour cet aéronef sont ceux de modèle Edo 44-2425. La preuve illustrée (pièces M-7 à M-11) et le témoignage de l'inspecteur Rosa établissent que les flotteurs fixés à l'aéronef le jour de l'événement n'étaient pas des Edo 2425.

QUESTION EN LITIGE

La question en litige consiste à établir si M. Darwin a effectué ou non un décollage sur le RPJ alors que l'autorité de vol n'était pas en vigueur.

La preuve d'un décollage a été présentée par un témoin oculaire, M. John Mitchell. Il est technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA) et titulaire d'un certificat d'organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA) qui exerce ses activités à l'aéroport de Vernon. À ce titre, il s'intéresse aux aéronefs et connaît bien le sujet. Ce jour-là, il est retourné chez lui pour le dîner. Son domicile est adjacent à l'aéroport et constitue un point d'observation sur l'ensemble de l'aéroport. Il a vu un Stinson 108 en vol s'éloignant de l'aéroport. Il a dit qu'il l'a remarqué parce que c'est le seul Stinson qu'il n'ait jamais vu muni d'un train d'atterrissage amphibie. M. Mitchell avait remarqué que l'aéronef était bleu et blanc. Il a aussi vu l'aéronef retourner à l'aéroport peu après son départ. Il a vu son approche, son atterrissage et par la suite il l'a vu capoter sur la piste. M. Mitchell a appelé le 911.

M. Darwin a choisi de ne pas témoigner en son propre nom. Je n'ai donc aucune preuve devant moi de sa version des événements, ce jour-là.

ARGUMENTS

M. Darwin a prétendu qu'un décollage ne s'était jamais produit mais qu'au moment de l'événement, l'aéronef faisait l'objet d'essais de circulation à la surface. L'aéronef a été soumis à des vitesses de circulation supérieures sur la piste. Il s'est produit un shimmy du train avant, lequel s'est éventuellement décroché et l'aéronef a capoté.

Le ministre plaide que tous les éléments de l'infraction ont été prouvés. Un témoin oculaire a attesté du fait qu'il y a eu un décollage et la preuve documentaire montre que l'autorité de vol n'était pas en vigueur.

DISCUSSION

J'accepte la version des événements du ministre. La seule preuve selon laquelle l'aéronef s'est déplacé provient du témoin du ministre, M. Mitchell. J'accepte sa version de la séquence du vol. Ses connaissances en aéronautique et sa vision non obstruée des activités du vol ne me laissent aucun doute qu'il a vu l'aéronef RPJ en vol ce jour-là. Pour ces motifs, l'élément d'avoir effectué un décollage a été établi. Pour les raisons susmentionnées, j'accepte que l'autorité de vol n'était pas en vigueur.

Les arguments de M. Darwin ne sont pas compatibles avec son plaidoyer de culpabilité relié aux autres chefs. Chacun de ces chefs d'accusation comprend comme élément d'effectuer un décollage ou la permission d'effectuer un décollage. Tout en disant qu'il était coupable de ces trois chefs d'accusation, il plaide néanmoins qu'il n'y a pas eu de décollage eu égard au chef d'accusation 605.03. Par ailleurs, chacun de ces chefs repose sur le même vol, c.-à-d. le décollage. Je dois rejeter son argument selon lequel l'aéronef ne faisait que circuler à la surface à haute vitesse parce que son admission des autres chefs d'accusation a établi le fait du vol, lequel est corroboré par la preuve de M. Mitchell.

MAINTENU

Le ministre a prouvé chaque élément de l'infraction de l'article 605.03 du RAC. M. Darwin a plaidé coupable aux autres chefs d'accusation. Je maintiens le montant des amendes imposées par le ministre.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada


Décision à la suite d'un appel
David S. Ahmed, Faye H. Smith, Herbert Lee


Décision : le 1er avril 2004

TRADUCTION

L'appel est rejeté et la décision à la suite d'une révision est confirmée. Le montant de 2 500 $ est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit être reçu par le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada dans les quinze jours de la signification de cette décision.

Selon l'Avis d'audience qui a été dûment signifié, une audience de l'affaire en rubrique a eu lieu le jeudi 26 février 2004 à 10 h au Kelowna Law Court, au 1355, rue Water, à Kelowna (C.-B.), pour entendre l'appel demandé par James Edgar Darwin concernant la décision à la suite d'une révision d'Allister Ogilvie, vice-président du Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada, le 30 septembre 2003.

L'intimé était représenté par Me Neil E. Sandler. L'appelant, M. James Edgar Darwin, n'a pas comparu.

Un Avis d'audience en date du 19 janvier 2004 avait été signifié aux deux parties, fixant la date, l'heure et le lieu de l'audience en appel, soit le 26 février 2004 à 10 h à la Kelowna Law Court, Kelowna, (Colombie-Britannique). Plus particulièrement, le cahier d'appel de la présidente contenait une copie d'un document attestant que ledit Avis d'audience avait été signifié personnellement à M. James Edgar Darwin, à l'heure et à l'adresse indiquées, comme en fait foi la signature de la personne qui a effectué la signification.

Compte tenu du fait que M. Darwin n'a pas comparu, la présidente a communiqué avec la greffière du Tribunal qui a appelé M. Darwin sur con cellulaire et a été informé qu'il se trouvait à Seattle (Washington), et qu'il avait oublié l'appel.

Dès qu'il a été informé de cela, le représentant de l'intimé a demandé l'autorisation de se prononcer sur la question des dépens parce que M. Darwin était absent pour des raisons qui ne sont pas valables et il a cité l'alinéa 19(1)b) de la Loi sur le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada (Loi sur le TATC) pour démontrer que le Tribunal avait compétence pour accorder les dépens. Il a de plus plaidé que le ministre devrait être remboursé pour ses dépenses, y compris les frais de déplacement, d'hébergement, le temps de préparation, ce dernier, en raison du fait que la Cour fédérale a établi qu'il s'agit d'un motif de dépens.

La question d'accorder des dépens est nouvelle pour ce Tribunal. Le Tribunal de l'aviation civile n'avait pas ce pouvoir. Le pouvoir discrétionnaire du Tribunal d'accorder des dépens est venu s'ajouter avec l'adoption, le 30 juin 2003, de la Loi sur le TATC créant le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada, lequel remplaçait le Tribunal de l'aviation civile établi en vertu de la partie IV de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

L'article 19 de la Loi sur le TATC se lit comme suit :

19. (1) Le Tribunal peut condamner l'une des parties aux dépens et exiger d'elle le remboursement de toute dépense engagée relativement à l'audience qu'il estime raisonnables dans les cas où :

a) il est saisi d'une affaire pour des raisons frivoles ou vexatoires;

b) le requérant ou l'appelant a, sans motif valable, omis de comparaître;

c) la partie qui a obtenu un ajournement de l'audience lui en avait fait la demande sans préavis suffisant.

Dans ses plaidoiries, le représentant de l'intimé a maintenu que l'alinéa 19(1)b) s'applique à la cause en l'espèce; comme la Loi était en vigueur depuis juin 2003, elle s'appliquerait à cette affaire, eu égard à l'absence de comparution de M. Darwin. Il a de plus indiqué qu'il fournirait des détails sur les frais de déplacement d'Ottawa à Kelowna, sur les dépenses d'hébergement et sur d'autres frais, tel que demandé.

L'Avis d'amende pour contravention qui a été envoyé à M. Darwin par le ministre pour initier ce processus était en date du 14 mars 2003, soit avant le 30 juin 2003, la date de la promulgation de la Loi sur le TATC. La date pertinente du paiement de l'amende citée dans l'Avis d'amende pour contravention était le 14 avril 2003. La Loi sur l'aéronautique, celle en vigueur à ce moment, prévoyait que le ministre doit, dans les 15 jours de non-paiement d'une amende imposée, aviser le Tribunal dudit non-paiement et comme l'exige la Loi, le Tribunal a procédé à fixer une audience en révision.

Ces faits sont pertinents et nous incitent à considérer l'article 32 de la Loi sur le TATC qui se lit comme suit :

32. (1) Les procédures relatives à une question pendante devant l'ancien Tribunal au moment de l'entrée en vigueur de l'article 44, notamment toute question faisant l'objet d'une audience, sont poursuivies devant le nouveau Tribunal.

(2) Sauf décret prévoyant qu'elles doivent être poursuivies conformément à la présente loi, les procédures poursuivies au titre du présent article le sont conformément à la Loi sur l'aéronautique dans sa version antérieure à l'entrée en vigueur de l'article 44.

(3) Le gouverneur en conseil peut, par décret, ordonner que les procédures relatives à une catégorie de questions visées au paragraphe (1) à l'égard desquelles, au moment de l'entrée en vigueur de l'article 44, aucune décision n'a encore été rendue soient, selon les modalités spécifiées dans le décret pour assurer la protection et le maintien des droits des parties, abandonnées ou poursuivies devant le nouveau Tribunal.

En tenant compte des faits qui sont devant nous, le paragraphe (2) nous mandate plus particulièrement pour continuer l'affaire Darwin devant le nouveau Tribunal, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, dans sa version antérieure à l'entrée en vigueur de l'article 44[1]. Ma compréhension de cet article est que nous devons conduire cette affaire comme si la partie IV n'était pas abrogée. Si c'était le cas, le paragraphe 37(7) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique nous fournirait une orientation concernant les dépens au lieu de l'article 19 de la Loi sur le TATC.

Le paragraphe 37(7) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique se lit comme suit :

(7) Il n'est accordé aucuns dépens au titre d'affaires engagées sous le régime de la présente loi.

Pour trancher la question des dépens définitivement, ce comité d'appel est d'avis que le fait que cette affaire ait été initiée devant le Tribunal de l'aviation civile nous empêche d'accorder les dépens et nous devons poursuivre ce processus en vertu de ce qui existait avant l'abrogation de la partie IV de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, soit, conformément au paragraphe 37(7), lequel interdit d'accorder les dépens.

CONCLUSION

En raison de la non-comparution de l'appelant et du fait qu'un Avis d'audience lui a été signifié personnellement dans cette affaire, l'intimé n'avait donc aucune défense à présenter. Le Tribunal a décidé de rejeter l'appel et de maintenir la décision à la suite d'une révision. Nous ne sommes pas portés à faire une ordonnance relative aux dépens pour le remboursement des dépenses dans cette affaire et nous soulignons que chaque cause doit être jugée selon les faits qui lui sont propres. Toutefois, nous n'écartons pas la possibilité d'accorder des dépens raisonnables pour un cas similaire à l'avenir, étant donné que la loi a expressément été conçue pour couvrir la situation qui est devant nous, laquelle a été soulevée uniquement quatre fois au cours des dix-huit ans d'existence de ce Tribunal.

L'appel est rejeté et la décision à la suite d'une révision est confirmée.

Motifs de la décision à la suite d'un appel :

Me Faye Smith, présidente

Y souscrivent :

Dr David Ahmed, conseiller
M. Herbert Lee, conseiller


[1] Lequel abroge la partie IV de la Loi sur l'aéronautique (laquelle a établi le Tribunal de l'aviation civile).