Decisions

TATC File No. P-2868-62
MoT File No. 5802-365426

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Joseph A. Konkin, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)


Review Determination
William Thornton Tweed


Decision: January 6, 2004

The matter is referred back to the Minister for reconsideration. Having considered the written submission of the Minister and the Applicant, I hereby stay the suspension pending a review by the Minister.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Monday, October 27, 2003 at 10:00 hours at Robson Square in Vancouver, British Columbia.

BACKGROUND

On April 28, 2003, the approved check pilot (ACP), Mr. Joseph Anthony Konkin, carried out a pilot proficiency check (PPC) on First Officer C P H. The ride was assessed as a pass.

Mr. Konkin is a newly appointed ACP. The report that resulted in his suspension was the report he submitted for his fourth check ride as an ACP.

Inspector Henk van Erkelens, in his role as Superintendent Rotorcraft, Commercial and Business Aviation, reviewed the flight test report as submitted by Mr. Konkin. He observed what he believed may have been a discrepancy between the satisfactory with briefing "S/B" assessment in box 7A of the report and the written comments in the "comments - general assessment" section of the report. The comments suggested to him that, pursuant to section 10.10.22 of the Approved Check Pilot Manual, an unsatisfactory "U" assessment might have been more appropriate in the circumstances. Inspector van Erkelens expressed his concern in a letter to Mr. Konkin dated May 8, 2003. The letter "invited" Mr. Konkin to provide his comments.

Based on the evidence submitted, there was no direct communication between Mr. Konkin and Inspector van Erkelens. Mr. Konkin discussed the report with Mr. Kim Carswell, his supervisor, and a training pilot for Helijet. Mr. Carswell discussed the report with Mr. van Erkelens.

Without further notice to Mr. Konkin or Helijet, his employer, Inspector van Erkelens issued a Notice of Suspension, pursuant to paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, on June 6, 2003 withdrawing Mr. Konkin's ACP authority.

The document holder presented two expert witnesses, Mr. Kim Carswell and Mr. Dennis Anthony Rigo, both ACPs with considerable experience. The Minister accepted both witnesses as expert. Mr. Jenner, the document holder's agent, described to both experts the circumstances of the PPC that lead to Mr. Konkin's assessment of an S/B and his written comments. Both witnesses agreed that given the circumstances of the ride the S/B assessment and the overall assessment of a pass was appropriate. They both agreed that the report would have been clearer if the S/B had been indicated opposite the particular emergency for which the comments were made and that the comments could have better described the reason for the S/B assessment. However, they both agreed the S/B assessment, as indicated in box 7A, was acceptable. Their evidence was not challenged.

There was no evidence that the candidate pilot should have failed or that flight safety was compromised.

THE ISSUE

Was the withdrawal of Mr. Konkin's ACP delegation of authority carried out as required in section 2.6 of the ACP Manual?

The evidence does not support a finding under paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act that Mr. Konkin is incompetent, has ceased to meet the necessary qualifications, or that the public interest warrants the suspension of his ACP authority. The unchallenged evidence of the experts was that assessment of the candidate was appropriate in the circumstances. There was no evidence to suggest that Mr. Konkin assessed a pass when he should have assessed a failure. Mr. Konkin's report made sense when he explained it. His challenge will be to write his reports so they make sense without the need of an explanation.

Section 2.6 of the ACP Manual sets out the criteria for the withdrawal of the ACP authority and the procedure that shall be followed prior to the removal of the ACP authority.

Section 2.6.2 of the ACP Manual:

2.6.2 The issuing authority may withdraw an ACP's authority if evidence shows that the ACP

(a) ceases to have the qualifications necessary for issuance of the document or to meet or comply with the conditions subject to which the document was issued

(b) at any time, acted in a manner which is in contravention of any of the requirements contained in this manual;

(c) placed a personal interest, or the interest of the company, ahead of the interest of the traveling public;

(d) required instruction to maintain the required standards or to follow proper procedures;

(e) fraudulently used ACP authority or has acted in any other way that would discredit the Minister;

(f) breached the Aeronautics Act or Canadian Aviation Regulations;

(g) exercised poor judgment in assessing candidates performance in relation to the standards; or

(h) demonstrated to a TC Inspector during the course of a flight check, monitor, or inspection that they no longer meet TC standards and that holding an ACP authority is therefore no longer in the public interest.

The ACP will be informed verbally, upon completion of the flight check or monitor, or the TC Inspector may stop the flight at the time the problems occur.

There is no evidence to support a finding pursuant to paragraphs 2.6.2(a) through (h).

The ACP Manual sets out at paragraph 2.6.3(a) the procedures that shall be followed prior to the withdrawal of an ACP authority:

2.6.3 When it has been alleged that any ACP has acted in a manner specified in 2.6.2, the issuing authority shall, prior to making a final decision in the matter, ensure:

(a) a comprehensive report from an Inspector who has investigated the matter has been submitted for consideration; and

[...] [emphasis added]

In this case the inspector and the issuing authority were the same person. A comprehensive report was not done. Although the regulation does not state it explicitly, it is implicit that the investigating inspector and the issuing authority be different people. The procedural safeguards required under the Aeronautics Act, as specifically stated at section 2.6.4 of the ACP Manual, are compromised when the same person is the investigator and the decision maker.

Paragraph 2.6.3(b) of the ACP Manual:

2.6.3 When it has been alleged that any ACP has acted in a manner specified in 2.6.2, the issuing authority shall, prior to making a final decision in the matter, ensure:

[...]

(b) the ACP and where applicable, the company in question have been given a formal opportunity to respond to the allegations, either verbally or in writing. [emphasis added]

Section 2.6.4 of the ACP Manual:

2.6.4 If the decision of the issuing authority is to suspend or cancel the ACP's authority, a notice of suspension or cancellation shall be issued to the ACP as per section 7.1(1)(b) or (c) of the Aeronautics Act. ACPs are entitled to procedural safeguards, under the Aeronautics Act, including recourse to the Civil Aviation Tribunal (CAT).

Neither Mr. Konkin nor his company knew the authority was considering withdrawing his ACP authority or given the opportunity to respond to the allegations. There is no evidence the company was ever advised of the pending withdrawal in advance of the "Notice of Suspension". Inspector van Erkelens' letter of May 8, 2003 to Mr. Konkin cannot reasonably be interpreted as notice he was considering withdrawing Mr. Konkin's ACP authority. To meet a minimum threshold of a "formal opportunity to respond" the authority must at least state the fact that the withdrawal of the ACP authority is being considered and the reasons for the proposed withdrawal. To require otherwise is to make "a formal opportunity to respond to the allegations" meaningless.

DETERMINATION

The evidence before the Tribunal does not support a finding that the withdrawal of Mr. Konkin's ACP delegation of authority was appropriate in the circumstances. Further, the suspension was not done in a manner consistent with the requirements of the ACP Manual. I therefore refer the matter back to the Minister for reconsideration.

STAY DETERMINATION

Having considered the written submission of the Minister and the Applicant, I hereby stay the suspension pending a review by the Minister.

As previously stated in my reasons, there is no evidence before the Tribunal to show that aviation safety was compromised. The Minister did not challenge the evidence of the Applicant's two expert witnesses, both of whom stated that in the circumstance of the pilot candidate's performance during the ride, a SB was an appropriate assessment for the two procedures noted and that the overall assessment of a pass was appropriate. The Minister presented no evidence to show that Mr Konkin breached his duty to ensure the pilot candidate met the necessary standard before assessing a pass on the pilot candidate's PPC. The Minister's evidence that Mr Konkin's report writing, as shown on one report, needs some work cannot reasonably be found to be a threat to aviation safety.

Therefore, pursuant to subsection 7.1(8) of the Aeronautics Act, and for the reasons stated I have determined that granting a stay does not constitute a threat to aviation safety. A stay of the suspension of the Applicant's approved check pilot delegation of authority is granted until the reconsideration from the Minister is concluded.

William T. Tweed
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no P-2868-62 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-365426 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Joseph A. Konkin, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.1(1)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William Thornton Tweed


Décision : le 6 janvier 2004

TRADUCTION

L'affaire est renvoyée au ministre pour réexamen. Après avoir examiné les arguments écrits du ministre et du requérant, j'accorde le sursis de la suspension jusqu'à ce que le ministre ait réexaminé sa décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le lundi 27 octobre 2003 à 10 h, au Robson Square à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique).

HISTORIQUE

Le 28 avril 2003, le pilote vérificateur agréé (PVA) Joseph Anthony Konkin, a effectué un contrôle de la compétence du pilote (CCP) du premier officier C. P. H. Le vol a été réussi.

M. Konkin est un nouveau PVA. Le rapport qui a donné lieu à sa suspension était son quatrième rapport de vol de contrôle de la compétence à titre de PVA.

L'inspecteur Henk van Erkelens, surintendant des aéronefs à voilure tournante, Aviation commerciale et d'affaires, a examiné la carte d'examen en vol présentée par M. Konkin. Il a constaté qu'il lui semblait y avoir un écart entre une évaluation satisfaisante avec conseils « S/B » à la case 7A du rapport et les commentaires écrits à la section des « commentaires – évaluation générale » du rapport. Les commentaires lui laissaient croire qu'en vertu de l'article 10.10.22 du Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé, un « U » pour insatisfaisant aurait sans doute été plus approprié dans les circonstances. L'inspecteur van Erkelens a exprimé ses préoccupations dans une lettre à M. Konkin, en date du 8 mai 2003. La lettre « invitait » M. Konkin à présenter ses commentaires.

Selon la preuve présentée, il n'y a eu aucune communication directe entre M. Konkin et l'inspecteur van Erkelens. M. Konkin a discuté du rapport avec M. Kim Carswell, son superviseur et avec un pilote d'entraînement chez Helijet. M. Carswell a discuté du rapport avec M. van Erkelens.

Sans autre avis à M. Konkin ou à Helijet, son employeur, l'inspecteur van Erkelens a délivré un Avis de suspension, en vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le 6 juin 2003, retirant à M. Konkin son pouvoir de PVA.

Le titulaire du document a présenté deux témoins experts, M. Kim Carswell et M. Dennis Anthony Rigo, deux PVA qui possèdent une expérience considérable. Le ministre a reconnu les deux témoins comme expert. M. Jenner, le mandataire du titulaire du document, a décrit aux deux experts les circonstances du CCP, celles qui ont incité M. Konkin à inscrire S/B et ses commentaires écrits. Les deux témoins convenaient qu'étant donné les circonstances du vol, l'évaluation S/B et l'évaluation globale de réussite étaient appropriées. Tous deux ont convenu qu'il aurait été plus clair d'indiquer S/B près de l'urgence qui faisait précisément l'objet de commentaires et que la description des motifs de l'évaluation S/B aurait pu être plus précise. Toutefois, tous deux ont convenu que l'évaluation S/B, telle qu'indiquée à la case 7A, était acceptable. Leurs témoignages n'ont pas été contestés.

Aucune preuve n'indiquait que le pilote candidat aurait dû subir un échec ou que la sécurité de vol avait été compromise.

QUESTION EN LITIGE

Le retrait de la délégation de pouvoir de PVA de M. Konkin a-t-il été effectué conformément à l'article 2.6 du Manuel du PVA?

La preuve ne corrobore pas la conclusion en vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, selon laquelle M. Konkin est inapte, qu'il ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou que l'intérêt public justifie la suspension de son pouvoir de PVA. La preuve non contestée des experts révélait que l'évaluation du candidat était appropriée dans les circonstances. Il n'y a eu aucune preuve selon laquelle M. Konkin aurait attribué une réussite alors qu'il aurait dû imposer un échec. Le rapport de M. Konkin était sensé lorsqu'il l'a expliqué. Son prochain défi sera de rédiger ses rapports pour qu'ils prennent tout leur sens sans qu'il n'ait à les expliquer.

L'article 2.6 du Manuel du PVA établit les critères d'un retrait de pouvoir d'un PVA et la procédure qui devrait être suivie avant de procéder au retrait du pouvoir d'un PVA.

L'article 2.6.2 du Manuel du PVA :

2.6.2 L'autorité habilitante peut retirer les pouvoirs confiés à un PVA si les faits démontrent que, selon le cas, ce dernier :

a) cesse d'avoir les qualifications nécessaires à la délivrance du document conférant ces pouvoirs ou ne répond, ni ne satisfait plus, aux conditions en vertu desquels le document a été délivré;

b) à un moment ou à un autre, a agi en contravention d'une des exigences contenues dans le présent manuel;

c) a fait passer ses intérêts personnels ou ceux de l'entreprise avant ceux du public voyageur;

d) a dû recevoir des instructions afin de [pouvoir] répondre aux normes exigées ou de [pouvoir] suivre les bonnes procédures;

e) a utilisé frauduleusement ses pouvoirs de PVA ou a agi de manière susceptible de jeter le discrédit sur le Ministre;

f) a enfreint la Loi sur l'aéronautique ou le Règlement de l'aviation canadien;

g) a fait preuve d'un piètre jugement en évaluant la qualité de la prestation de candidats par rapport aux normes;

h) démontre pendant une vérification, un contrôle ou une inspection en vol [à un] inspecteur de TC, qu'il ne répondait plus aux normes de TC et que, par conséquent, ses pouvoirs de PVA n'allaient plus dans le sens de l'intérêt public.

Le PVA sera informé verbalement, après la vérification ou le contrôle en vol, ou l'inspecteur de TC peut mettre un terme au vol dès que le problème survient.

Aucune preuve ne vient appuyer une conclusion en vertu de l'alinéa 2.6.2a) à h).

Le Manuel du PVA expose à l'alinéa 2.6.3a) les procédures qui doivent être suivies avant le retrait d'un pouvoir de PVA :

2.6.3 En cas d'allégation voulant qu'un PVA ait agi d'une des façons énumérées à la rubrique 2.6.2, l'autorité habilitante doit, avant de trancher définitivement la question, veiller à ce que :

a) l'inspecteur qui a enquêté sur le cas ait envoyé un rapport détaillé à des fins d'examen;

[...] [nous soulignons]

Dans cette cause, l'inspecteur et l'autorité habilitante étaient la même personne. Aucun rapport détaillé n'a été fait. Même si le règlement ne le prévoit pas de façon explicite, il est implicite que l'inspecteur qui enquête et l'autorité habilitante doivent être des personnes différentes. Les procédures de protection en vertu de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, expressément mentionnées à l'article 2.6.4 du Manuel du PVA, sont compromises lorsque la même personne est à la fois l'enquêteur et celui qui prend la décision.

L'alinéa 2.6.3b) du Manuel du PVA :

2.6.3 En cas d'allégation voulant qu'un PVA ait agi d'une des façons énumérées à la rubrique 2.6.2, l'autorité habilitante doit, avant de trancher définitivement la question, veiller à ce que :

[...]

b) le PVA et, s'il y a lieu, l'entreprise concernée aient eu la possibilité de répondre en bonne et due forme, soit verbalement, soit par écrit, aux allégations; [nous soulignons]

L'article 2.6.4 du Manuel du PVA :

2.6.4 Si l'autorité habilitante décide de suspendre ou d'annuler les pouvoirs d'un PVA, un avis de suspension ou d'annulation doit être envoyé au PVA en question, conformément aux dispositions du paragraphe [7.1(1)] de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. En vertu de cette même loi, les PVA disposent de moyens de recours, par exemple l'appel au Tribunal de l'aviation civile (TAC).

Ni M. Konkin ni sa compagnie ne savaient que l'autorité habilitante envisageait de lui retirer son pouvoir de PVA, et il n'a pas eu l'occasion de réfuter les allégations. Il n'y a aucune preuve que la compagnie a été avisée du retrait possible avant l'« Avis de suspension ». La lettre de l'inspecteur van Erkelens à M. Konkin, en date du 8 mai 2003, ne peut vraisemblablement être interprétée comme un avis selon lequel son retrait de pouvoir de PVA était envisagé. Pour respecter le seuil minimal de la « possibilité formelle de répondre », l'autorité doit au moins énoncer les faits pour lesquels elle envisage le retrait du pouvoir du PVA et les raisons du retrait proposé. Agir autrement vide de son sens la « possibilité formelle de répondre à l'allégation ».

DÉCISION

La preuve devant le Tribunal ne corrobore pas une conclusion selon laquelle le retrait de la délégation de pouvoir de PVA de M. Konkin était appropriée dans les circonstances. De plus, la suspension n'a pas été effectuée conformément aux exigences du Manuel du PVA. Je renvoie donc l'affaire au ministre pour réexamen.

DÉCISION DE SURSIS

Après avoir considéré les arguments écrits du ministre et du requérant, j'accorde le sursis de la suspension jusqu'à ce que le ministre ait réexaminé sa décision.

Comme je l'ai déjà mentionné dans mes motifs, aucune preuve devant le Tribunal ne démontre que la sécurité aéronautique n'était compromise. Le ministre n'a pas contesté la preuve des deux témoins experts du requérant, lesquels ont déclaré qu'étant donné la performance du candidat pilote pendant le vol, SB représentait l'évaluation appropriée pour les deux manoeuvres et que l'évaluation globale de réussite était appropriée. Le ministre n'a présenté aucune preuve pour démontrer que M. Konkin aurait échoué à son devoir pour s'assurer que le candidat pilote respecte les normes nécessaires avant d'évaluer son CCP comme réussi. La preuve du ministre selon laquelle la rédaction du rapport de M. Konkin doit être retravaillée, comme on l'indique dans un rapport, ne peut vraisemblablement pas constituer un danger pour la sécurité aéronautique.

Par ailleurs, en vertu du paragraphe 7.1(8) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique et pour les motifs mentionnés, j'ai décidé qu'accorder un sursis ne constitue pas un danger pour la sécurité aéronautique. J'accorde le sursis de suspension de la délégation de pouvoir du pilote vérificateur agréé du requérant jusqu'à ce que le ministre ait réexaminé sa décision.

William T. Tweed
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada