Decisions

TATC File No. P-2954-33
MoT File No. EMS 051249

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Captain Grant A. Wagstaff, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.96(3)(d)


Review Determination
William Thornton Tweed


Decision: June 15, 2004

The evidence does not show that C-GJAW came within 50 metres of either vessel during the landing in question. Therefore, the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty is set aside.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, April 27, 2004 at 10:00 hours at Premiere Verbatim Reporting in Vancouver, British Columbia.

FACTS

It was not contested that on July 7, 2003 a West Coast Air DHC 6 Twin Otter float plane Canadian registered C-GJAW did at approximately 09:05 local time land in the designated landing area "A" at Victoria Harbour, B.C. Grant A. Wagstaff was the pilot-in-command.

After circling to allow for separation with marine traffic JAW approached along the "Gorge" then turned right on to final. On approach JAW passed between a harbour ferry and a tug towing a barge then landed in designated landing area "A" of the harbour.

ISSUE

Did Captain Wagstaff violate the provisions of paragraph 602.96(3)(d) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) by failing to maintain a distance of 50 metres from a surface vessel during landing in Victoria Harbour?

THE EVIDENCE

There were three witnesses that testified that in their opinion the aircraft was less than 50 metres from the two vessels when it passed above and between the two vessels. Two individuals that reside in a condominium complex adjacent to the harbour and the Captain of the tug towing a barge referred to in the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty. The fact that both of the witnesses that live just north of the harbour have in the past filed numerous complaints concerning landing aircraft causes me to question their objectivity. However, given the corroborating evidence of the tug boat Captain I find that C-GJAW was within 50 metres of the two surface vessels on its approach to land.

The Minister also presented a surveillance video. In the circumstances, without any expert evidence to confirm the accuracy of the video, the distance and angle of the camera from the aircraft, I am not prepared to rely on the video.

Captain Wagstaff stated that he believes a landing begins as you touch down.

There was no evidence to show that JAW was less than 50 metres from either vessel during or immediately preceding the landing.

The evidence does not support a finding that the approach or landing was in any way unsafe.

Both pilots said the aircraft was not within 50 metres of either vessel during the landing.

THE LAW

The Canada Flight Supplement for Victoria Harbour BC (water aerodrome) Restriction 3 states: "Pursuant to CAR 602.96(3)(d), acft shall maintain a distance of at least 50 m (165') from surface vessels during tkof or ldg." (the italics are mine)

The Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty reads: "You failed to maintain a distance of 50 meters from a harbour ferry (a tugboat and barge) while landing."

In the CARs at subsection 101.01(1):

"landing" means

(a) in respect of an aircraft other then an airship, the act of coming into contact with a supporting surface, and includes the acts immediately preceding and following the coming into contact with that surface, and ...

"Immediately" is defined in Blacks Law Dictionary: "Without interval of time, without delay, straightway, or without any delay or lapse of time."

CONCLUSION

In the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty the reference to "while landing" suggests that the 50-metre separation requirement includes the approach. In my opinion the approach is not subject to Restriction 3.

The only act that immediately follows the landing is the deceleration (roll out if on wheels). Certainly the drafters of the restriction did not intend the restriction to apply while the aircraft is being taxied to the dock, the act that immediately follows deceleration.

The acts that immediately precede a landing are the change of attitude of the aircraft to bring about the required round-out and subsequent hold-off to touchdown. (See Flight Instructor Guide 02/2000 published by Transport Canada; The Approach and Landing advice to instructors (12) page 105). Given there are two intervening acts between the approach and the coming into contact with the surface the approach does not immediately precede the landing. If the drafters of the regulation intended the 50-metre separation to include the approach, Restriction 3 in the Canada Flight Supplement should have made that clear. As it is not, I must interpret the regulation in favour of the document holder.

The evidence does not show that C-GJAW came within 50 metres of either vessel during the landing in question. Therefore, the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty is set aside.

William T. Tweed
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no P-2954-33 (TATC)
Dossier no EMS 051249 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Commandant Grant A. Wagstaff, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.96(3)d)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William Thornton Tweed


Décision : le 15 juin 2004

TRADUCTION

La preuve ne démontre pas que le C-GJAW est venu à moins de 50 mètres d'un navire ou de l'autre pendant l'atterrissage en question. Pour ces motifs, l'Avis d'amende pour contravention est rejeté.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 27 avril 2004 à 10 h au Premiere Verbatim Reporting à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique).

LES FAITS

Il n'a pas été contesté qu'un hydravion canadien DHC 6 Twin Otter de West Coast Air portant l'immatriculation C-GJAW ait effectivement atterri vers 9 h 05 (heure locale) en date du 7 juillet 2003, dans la zone d'atterrissage désignée «  A  », à Victoria Harbour, en C.-B. avec Grant A. Wagstaff comme pilote commandant de bord.

Après avoir effectué une approche indirecte afin de se tenir à l'écart de la circulation maritime, le JAW s'est approché le long de la «  Gorge  » puis a tourné à droite pour effectuer une approche finale. Lors de l'approche, JAW est passé entre un navire du port et un remorqueur qui tirait une barge, puis il a atterri dans la zone d'atterrissage désignée «  A  » dans le port.

LA QUESTION EN LITIGE

Le commandant Wagstaff a-t-il contrevenu aux dispositions de l'alinéa 602.96(3)d) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) en ne maintenant pas une distance de 50 mètres d'un navire de surface pendant l'atterrissage à Victoria Harbour ?

LA PREUVE

Trois témoins ont témoigné qu'à leur avis, l'aéronef était à moins de 50 mètres des deux navires quand il est passé au-dessus et entre eux. Deux personnes qui habitent le condominium adjacent au port et le capitaine du remorqueur qui tirait une barge visé à l'Avis d'amende pour contravention. Le fait que les deux témoins qui vivaient juste au nord du port ont, dans le passé, déposé un certain nombre de plaintes concernant l'atterrissage d'aéronefs m'amène à m'interroger sur leur objectivité. Toutefois, étant donné la preuve corroborante du capitaine du remorqueur, je considère que le C-GJAW était dans les limites de 50 mètres des deux navires de surface lors de son approche à l'atterrissage.

Le ministre a de plus présenté un film-vidéo de surveillance. Vu les circonstances, à savoir l'absence de preuve d'expert pour confirmer le degré d'exactitude du film-vidéo, notamment la distance et l'angle de la caméra à partir de l'aéronef, je ne suis pas prêt à m'appuyer sur la vidéo.

Le commandant Wagstaff a déclaré qu'il est d'avis qu'un atterrissage commence lorsqu'on touche la surface.

Il n'y a eu aucune preuve pour démontrer que le JAW était à moins de 50 mètres de l'un ou l'autre navire pendant ou immédiatement avant l'atterrissage.

La preuve n'appuie pas la conclusion selon laquelle l'approche ou l'atterrissage était dangereux d'une quelconque façon.

Les deux pilotes ont dit que l'aéronef n'était pas dans les limites de 50 mètres de l'un ou l'autre navire pendant l'atterrissage.

LA LOI

Dans le Supplément de vol-Canada du Victoria Harbour, en C.-B. (hydroaérodrome), la restriction 3 prévoit : «  En vertu de l'alinéa 602.96(3)d) du RAC, l'aéronef doit maintenir une distance d'au moins 50 mètres (165 pi) des navires de surface pendant le décollage ou l'atterrissage.  » [nos italiques]

L'Avis d'amende pour contravention se lit comme suit : «  Vous n'avez pas maintenu une distance de 50 mètres d'un transbordeur de port (un remorqueur et une barge) en atterrissant  ».

Au paragraphe 101.01(1) du RAC :

«  atterrissage  »

a) Dans le cas d'un aéronef autre qu'un dirigeable, l'action de prendre contact avec une surface d'appui, y compris les opérations qui précèdent et suivent immédiatement cette action;

Dans le Blacks Law Dictionary «  Immédiatement  » est définit comme suit : «  Sans intervalle de temps, sans délai, directement, ou sans aucun délai ou laps de temps  ».

CONCLUSION

Dans l'Avis d'amende pour contravention, la désignation «  en atterrissant  » laisse entendre que la prescription du 50 mètres de séparation inclut l'approche. À mon avis, l'approche n'est pas sujette à la restriction 3.

La seule manoeuvre qui suit immédiatement l'atterrissage est la décélération (le roulement, lorsque l'aéronef est sur roues). Les rédacteurs de la restriction n'avaient certainement pas l'intention de l'appliquer lorsque l'aéronef circule à la surface en direction du quai, donc à la manœuvre qui vient immédiatement à la suite de la décélération.

Les manœuvres qui précèdent immédiatement un atterrissage sont le changement d'assiette de l'avion pour arrondir comme il convient et le maintien du vol subséquent jusqu'au point de toucher. (Voir Guide de l'instructeur de vol 02/2000 publié par Transports Canada; les conseils à l'instructeur concernant l'approche et l'atterrissage (12) page 105. Étant donné qu'il y a deux manœuvres entre l'approche et le contact avec la surface, l'approche ne précède pas immédiatement l'atterrissage. Si les rédacteurs de la loi avaient l'intention d'inclure la séparation de 50 mètres dans l'approche, ils l'auraient précisé à la restriction 3 du Supplément de vol-Canada. Comme ils ne l'ont pas fait, je dois interpréter le règlement en faveur du titulaire de document.

La preuve ne démontre pas que le C-GJAW était dans les limites de 50 mètres de l'un ou l'autre navire au moment de l'atterrissage en question. Pour ces raisons, l'Avis d'amende pour contravention est rejeté.

William T. Tweed
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada