Decisions

CAT File No. A-1596-49
MoT File No. MB6602-71-A151

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Robert Mazerolle, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)(b)

Suspension, Security Penetration Exercise, Security Officer Certificate, Carry On Luggage, Airport Security, X-ray Machine


Review Determination
Faye H. Smith


Decision: July 7, 1998

The Tribunal confirms the Minister's decision of March 20, 1998 to suspend Robert Mazerolle's Security Officer Certificate - endorsement for the use of The X-ray Machine.

A Review Hearing was held Tuesday, June 23, 1998 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada, Discovery Room in Halifax, Nova Scotia into the matter of a suspension of the Security Officer Certificate - endorsement for the use of The X-ray Machine issued to Robert Mazerolle.

BACKGROUND

On March 20, 1998 Transport Canada issued a Notice of Suspension which reads as follows:

Pursuant to paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister has decided to suspend your Canadian aviation document indicated above for the following reasons:

On March 20, 1998, at approximately 16:30 hrs, at the Halifax International Airport screening point, as a result of a penetration exercise conducted by Transport Canada Inspector Gisele McLaughlin, you Robert Mazerolle, a Security Officer designated by the Minister of Transport pursuant to Section 4.7 of the Aeronautics Act, while conducting the search of a passenger with the assistance of the x-ray machine--did fail to detect a knife located in a carry on piece of luggage. You thereby demonstrated that you cease to have the qualifications necessary to correctly respond when metal is detected by the x-ray machine by identifying all passenger belongings which could pose a threat to the security of civil aviation, as laid out in part II of Security Notice #6, an approved Transport Canada Policy Document.

The grounds for the suspension summarized above were repeated at page two of the Notice which also contained Conditions for Reinstatement as follows:

The suspension of the x-ray endorsement, remains in effect until such time as you have received appropriate retraining by your company, in the Airport Pre-Board Passenger Screener course, are re-tested and re-certified by Transport Canada.

THE LAW

"Security Officer" means:

Such person as may be designated by the Minister to be a security officer for the purposes of this section.

Section 6.6 of the Aeronautics Act:

6.6 In sections 6.7 to 7.2, "Canadian aviation document" includes any privilege accorded by a Canadian aviation document.

Subsection 7.1(1) of the Aeronautics Act:

7.1 (1) Where the Minister decides

(...)

(b) to suspend or cancel a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that the holder of the document is incompetent or the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to have the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to meet or comply with the conditions subject to which the document was issued, or

(...)

the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the holder or to the owner or operator of the aircraft, airport or facility, as the case may be, at the latest known address of the holder, owner or operator, notify the holder, owner or operator of the Minister's decision.

THE FACTS

On March 20, 1998 Robert Mazerolle was working as a Security Officer at the Halifax International Airport in the employ of Shanahan Security. On that date at approximately 16:30 hours Inspector Gisele McLaughlin conducted a penetration exercise related to the use of the x- ray machine which was being operated by Mr. Mazerolle and as a result of this exercise it is alleged that Mr. Mazerolle failed to detect a knife located in a piece of carry-on baggage. As a consequence his Security Officer Certificate - endorsement for the use of the x-ray machine was suspended by Notice of Suspension dated March 20, 1998 effective immediately and remained suspended until the conditions for reinstatement contained in the Notice were met.

Upon receipt of the above-mentioned Notice of Suspension, Mr. Mazerolle made a timely request for review of the Minister's decision to suspend which resulted in this hearing.

MINISTER'S EVIDENCE

The Minister called three witnesses and introduced 16 documents in evidence. The Minister's first witness, Gisele Dupuis McLaughlin indicated that she had been an employee of Transport Canada for seven years and has occupied her current position for four years. Her current duties as a Security Inspector are to monitor inspections, conduct investigations, assist clients with compliance measures and germane to this case, she is an on-site Inspector whose delegations and credentials were acknowledged by the Applicant.

It was the evidence of Ms. McLaughlin that the Applicant was certified and designated as an Airport Security Officer (airport pre-board passenger screener) and as such he had met minimum qualification requirements and had successfully completed the Transport Canada Airport Pre-Board Passenger Screener Course (APPS Course). She specifically noted the section of the course relating to the use of x-ray machines as identified in Exhibit M-7 which sets out what the Security Officer must know and demonstrate and indicated that successful applicants were designated by Transport Canada pursuant to subsection 4.7(1) of the Aeronautics Act.

Ms. McLaughlin further referred to Security Notice #6, a document which describes in detail the "Designation and Certification Standards for Security Officers" and which she stated is used for all security officers and companies. She indicated as well that the suspension given to Mr. Mazerolle was a partial suspension and that following the suspension of his x-ray machine endorsement Mr. Mazerolle was still able to use the other endorsements on his certificate and thus was re-assigned to those other duties.

Ms. McLaughlin next identified that part of the participant's manual of the course which identified knives (blade under 4" (10 cm) if not concealed) as dangerous articles that could be used to threaten the safety of passengers or the safety of the aircraft. She then advised that the x-ray screening of carry-on baggage involves the making of decisions for which guidance may be found in the participant's manual for the APPS Course under heading 13 entitled "X-ray screening of carry-on baggage: making decisions. Essentially this guidance suggests that where a dangerous article above referred to is seen on the x-ray monitor then the initial response is to request a manual search of the bag in order to verify what you see on the monitors or to activate a police response. The guidelines are set out in detail at section 13.1 of Exhibit M-12 filed at this review.

Ms. McLaughlin stated that on the date in question she was conducting a security penetration test. She was aware that Ms. Kim Langille was going on vacation to Paris and had asked her to participate in this test. Ms. McLaughlin inserted a knife with a blade length of about 6", as depicted in Exhibit M-15, between the foam and the hard part of Ms. Langille's carry-on case and then asked Ms. Langille to go through the screening point. Ms. McLaughlin observed that Ms. Langille proceeded through the machine located on the right side and was asked by Security Officer White to produce her boarding pass and her luggage was put on the x-ray machine. Her baggage went through the x-ray machine and as Mr. Mazerolle was on x-ray it was his duty to identify items. Ms. McLaughlin monitored Mr. Mazerolle during this process and noted that he hesitated when he saw the case and he asked to have it go through again and the second time he was still uncertain and he asked Ms. White at the front to look and they agreed that it was not dangerous and let it go. Ms. Langille then retrieved her carry-on case and proceeded to the aircraft boarding area.

At this time Ms. McLaughlin took the case to Mr. Mazerolle and told him he had failed to find the knife. Ms. McLaughlin put the case through the x-ray machine again and was told by Mr. Mazerolle that he thought that the object was an engraver. Ms. McLaughlin stated that the item could be seen on the top as a dark line showing up as a dark metal object. Inspector McLaughlin put the case through again and Mr. Mazerolle then saw the item. She stated that she then told Mr. Mazerolle that her decision stands and that he had failed the test and she accordingly informed the Supervisor that Mr. Mazerolle would have to be reassigned. She then requested Supervisor Ada Boyle to look at the screen and upon seeing the item, Ms. Boyle commented that it was a big knife. In concluding, Ms. McLaughlin stated that she saw a long line of metal and knew it to be a knife and that she failed Mr. Mazerolle because he should have conducted a manual search and he did not.

The Minister's second witness Kimberley Ann Langille confirmed her participation in this test. She stated that she arrived at the screening point, took off her jacket, knapsack and her case (which contained the knife) and a person put these items through the machine and she walked through and waited. She indicated that the first time the case went through it was lying flat. She said that when she picked up the other items she noticed that the case was now standing on end. She indicated that no one asked her to open the case and so she started to walk away. She stated that no one other than herself had touched the case at that time.

The next witness was Mr. Mazerolle's supervisor, Ms. Ada Boyle, who has been a Security Officer and Supervisor with Shanahan Security for 13 years at Halifax International Airport. Ms. Boyle read in the brief statement marked as Exhibit M-16 which she had earlier provided to Mr. Short. She confirmed that she had been requested on the relevant date by Ms. McLaughlin to come over to the monitor where Mr. Mazerolle had failed the penetration test. She indicated that she looked at the screen and saw a large knife lying flat in a case. In her testimony she added that she saw the knife and said that she would have conducted a secondary search.

APPLICANT'S EVIDENCE

The Applicant called Marguerite White as his witness. Ms. White had worked in the pre-board screening area for two years and had witnessed the Transport Canada test on the date in question. On that date, she was working up front and could see the monitor and could see the bag put through the machine. Ms. White reviewed the photographs contained in the Minister's Exhibit M-15 and indicated that photograph number 12, the mid picture is the only one that resembles what the case looked like. She indicated that the first time that she saw the case go through she could not tell it was a knife and she was only able to see the knife on the fourth time that the case went through. On cross-examination Mr. Short made the following statement: When you are not positively sure what it is, you are required to do a secondary search. Ms. White responded "that is right".

Ms. White confirmed that when it went through x-ray the first time, the bag was flat and Mr. Mazerolle said to put it through a second time straight up. She stated that this time she saw the item in photograph number 12 to the right and it looked like shaded dark electronics. In response to the question by the Minister's representative of what you do when it is just electronics and you do not know what it is, i.e. you cannot positively identify it, she stated "I must make a secondary search of the bag".

Ms. White said that she did not talk to Mr. Mazerolle about what to do, she looked at the picture on the monitor and it was up to him and they had no conversation regarding the contents. She stated that when she saw Ms. McLaughlin put the bag through, she knew it was a penetration test.

Ms. White said that she was behind the person on the monitor and the first time she saw an image as in photograph number 12 on the right side. She then stated that this was not accurate and that none of the pictures was accurate. She said she did not see a knife the first time and the second time she saw dark electronics, and added that it looked like normal computer equipment.

Mr. Mazerolle gave evidence that on March 20th last he did not see a knife go through and that he only saw it on the fourth time. He indicated that this had happened on an earlier instance and that he believed that what happened here again is that the image was not there. In summary Mr. Mazerolle stated that he did not see the knife and that his witness Ms. White would not have gotten it either.

DISCUSSION

The Minister of Transport is responsible for the safe operation of the civil aviation security system. In furtherance of this objective, the Minister carries out routine tests of its security system as was done on the date in question by Ms. McLaughlin relative to the duties of Mr. Mazerolle a Security Officer so designated by the Minister and employed by Shanahan Security. Prior to receiving his delegated authority as Security Officer, Mr. Mazerolle was trained and certified according to the Minister's national standards. It was Mr. Mazerolle's alleged failure to demonstrate his continued adherence to these national security standards which resulted in the partial suspension of his Security Officer Certificate.

The case for the Minister is that the knife was placed in the hand luggage by Ms. McLaughlin as depicted in photographs 8 to 13 of Exhibit M-15 and although the image seen on the monitor on the date in question may not have been a replica of those photographs, it was the evidence of Inspector McLaughlin and Supervisor Boyle that the knife was there to be seen and was seen by them and each testified that they would have conducted a secondary search of the bag. The contents of the bag raised the suspicion of Mr. Mazerolle as well since he had asked that the bag be put through the x-ray machine a second time. It was during this second pass through that Mr. Mazerolle had requested Ms. White to also view the monitor. While Ms. White indicated that she was not able to tell it was a knife the first time she saw the item go through, and was only aware that it was a knife the fourth time it passed through, she did concur that a secondary search is required when one is not positively sure as to the contents of the bag.

The Minister's witness Inspector McLaughlin gave evidence that Security Notice #6 regarding the Designation and Certification Standards for Security Officers contains specific directions respecting the ability of Security Officers to respond correctly to images of dangerous articles depicted on the x-ray monitor. Specific details relating to the x-ray equipment and its operation are contained in the Transport Canada Pre-Board Passenger Screener Course. It was the evidence of the Minister's witnesses and also that of the witness called by the Applicant that in the circumstances of this case, a secondary search is required. The evidence indicates that Mr. Mazerolle could not identify the item in the bag and he was thus obligated to do a secondary manual search. That Mr. Mazerolle saw something is evident from the fact that he asked that the bag be put through the x-ray machine a second time and conferred with his colleague about it. Mr. Mazerolle's explanation that he thought the item was an engraver does not excuse him from the requirement to do a secondary manual search in order to positively identify the object as required by the guidelines contained in the national security standards.

DETERMINATION

The Tribunal confirms the Minister's decision of March 20, 1998 to suspend Robert Mazerolle's Security Officer Certificate - endorsement for the use of The X-ray Machine.

Faye Smith
Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no A-1596-49 (TAC)
Dossier no MB6602-71-A151 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Robert Mazerolle, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C., ch. A-2, al. 7.1(1)b)

Suspension, Sûreté aéroportuaire, Exercice d'infiltration, Certificat d'agent de sûreté, Bagages de cabine, Appareil à rayons X


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Faye H. Smith


Décision : le 7 juillet 1998

TRADUCTION

Le Tribunal confirme la décision du ministre du 20 mars 1998 de suspendre le certificat d'agent de sûreté de Robert Mazerolle en ce qui a trait à l'annotation pour l'utilisation des appareils de radioscopie.

Une audience en révision a été tenue le mardi 23 juin 1998 à 10 h dans une salle servant à la communication préalable de la Cour fédérale du Canada à Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) relativement à l'affaire de la suspension du certificat de l'agent de sûreté Robert Mazerolle, en ce qui a trait à l'annotation pour l'utilisation des appareils de radioscopie.

HISTORIQUE

Le 20 mars 1998, Transports Canada a établi un Avis de suspension qui se lit comme suit :

En vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre a décidé de suspendre votre document d'aviation canadien susmentionné pour les raisons suivantes :

Le 20 mars 1998, vers 16 h 30, au poste de contrôle de l'Aéroport international d'Halifax, lors d'un essai d'infiltration dirigé par l'inspectrice Gisèle McLaughlin de Transports Canada, vous, Robert Mazerolle, agent de sûreté désigné par le ministre des Transports, en vertu de l'article 4.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, en effectuant la fouille d'un passager à l'aide d'un appareil de radioscopie, avez fait défaut de détecter un couteau situé dans un bagage de cabine. Vous avez ainsi démontré que vous n'aviez plus les qualités nécessaires pour réagir correctement lorsque l'appareil de radioscopie détecte du métal, en repérant tous les effets d'un passager qui peuvent constituer une menace pour la sécurité de l'aviation civile, conformément à la partie II de l'avis de sécurité no 6, un document de politique de Transports Canada.

Les motifs de la suspension qui sont résumés ci-dessus ont été repris à la page 2 de l'Avis qui comprenait de plus les conditions de réintégration suivantes :

La suspension de l'annotation concernant les appareils de radioscopie demeure en vigueur jusqu'à ce que l'entreprise pour laquelle vous travaillez vous donne de nouveau une formation appropriée, soit le cours s'adressant au personnel préposé à l'inspection des passagers avant l'embarquement, et que vous soyez de nouveau soumis à l'examen et à l'accréditation de Transports Canada.

LA LOI

« Agent de sûreté » signifie :

Quiconque est désigné à ce titre par le ministre pour l'application du présent article.

L'article 6.6 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

6.6 Pour l'application des articles 6.7 à 7.2, est assimilé à un document d'aviation canadien tout avantage qu'il octroie.

Le paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

7.1 (1) Lorsque le ministre décide ... soit de suspendre ou d'annuler un document parce que le titulaire du document est inapte ou que le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise le document ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document, ... il expédie un avis de la mesure par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé à la dernière adresse connue du titulaire ou du propriétaire, exploitant ou utilisateur en cause.

LES FAITS

Le 20 mars 1998, Robert Mazerolle travaillait comme agent de sûreté à l'Aéroport international d'Halifax, au service de Shanahan Security. À ladite date, vers 16 h 30, l'inspectrice Gisèle McLaughlin a dirigé un essai d'infiltration lié aux appareils de radioscopie que M. Mazerolle faisait fonctionner et à la suite de cet exercice, on a allégué que M. Mazerolle avait fait défaut de détecter un couteau placé dans un bagage de cabine. Conséquemment, on a dès lors suspendu son certificat d'agent de sûreté en ce qui a trait à l'annotation pour l'utilisation des appareils de radioscopie, par un Avis de suspension en date du 20 mars 1998, le certificat demeurant suspendu jusqu'à ce qu'on ait répondu aux conditions de réintégration stipulées dans l'avis.

À la suite de la réception de l'Avis de suspension susmentionné, M. Mazerolle a demandé, dans les délais prescrits, une révision afin de suspendre la décision du ministre, d'où la présente audience.

LA PREUVE DU MINISTRE

Le ministre a appelé trois témoins et présenté 16 documents en preuve. Le premier témoin du ministre, Gisèle Dupuis McLaughlin, a précisé qu'elle était au service de Transports Canada depuis sept ans et qu'elle occupait son poste actuel depuis quatre ans. Ses fonctions actuelles à titre d'inspectrice de sûreté consistent à surveiller les inspections, diriger les enquêtes, aider les clients à observer les règlements et, relativement à ce dossier, elle est l'inspectrice sur place dont le requérant a reconnu les pouvoirs et les compétences.

Mme McLaughlin a témoigné que le requérant était accrédité et désigné comme agent de sûreté aéroportuaire (inspecteur des passagers avant l'embarquement) et, qu'à ce titre, il avait répondu aux normes de sélection minimales et avait complété avec succès le cours de Transports Canada formant le personnel préposé à l'inspection des passagers avant l'embarquement. Elle a souligné en particulier la partie du cours portant sur l'utilisation des appareils de radioscopie (pièce M-7), où l'on définit ce qu'un agent de sûreté doit savoir et démontrer et a indiqué que Transports Canada désigne les candidats qui ont réussi en vertu du paragraphe 4.7(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

Mme McLaughlin a de plus mentionné l'avis de sécurité no 6, un document qui décrit en détail les « Normes de désignation et d'accréditation des agents de sûreté » et elle a déclaré qu'il était destiné à tous les agents de sûreté et aux entreprises. Elle a aussi indiqué que la suspension donnée à M. Mazerolle était partielle et qu'à la suite de la suspension de son annotation pour l'utilisation de l'appareil de radioscopie, M. Mazerolle pouvait toujours utiliser les autres annotations de son certificat et a ainsi été assigné à ces autres tâches.

Mme McLaughlin a ensuite signalé la partie du manuel du participant qui stipule que les couteaux (lame non dissimulée de moins de 4 po (10 cm)) sont des articles dangereux qui peuvent être utilisés pour menacer la sécurité des passagers ou la sécurité de l'aéronef. Elle a ensuite expliqué que l'inspection des bagages de cabine aux rayons X entraîne une prise de décisions; on trouve les indications concernant celles-ci dans le manuel du participant à la rubrique 13, intitulée « X-ray screening of carry-on baggage: making decisions » (processus décisionnel de l'inspection aux rayons X des bagages de cabine). Essentiellement, selon ces indications, lorsqu'on voit aux rayons X un article dangereux comme celui qui est décrit plus haut, on doit d'abord réagir en demandant une fouille manuelle du sac, afin de vérifier ce qu'on voit sur les écrans ou en déclenchant une intervention policière. Les normes sont exposées en détail dans l'article 13.1 de la pièce M-12 déposée lors de cette révision.

Mme McLaughlin a déclaré qu'à la date en question, elle dirigeait un essai d'infiltration de sécurité. Elle savait que Mme Kim Langille partait en vacances à Paris et lui avait demandé de participer à cet essai. Mme McLaughlin a introduit un couteau à lame d'une longueur de 6 po environ, comme illustré à la pièce M-15, entre la mousse et la partie solide du bagage de cabine de Mme Langille et lui a demandé de passer par le poste de contrôle. Mme McLaughlin a fait remarqué que Mme Langille avait franchi l'appareil situé du côté droit, que l'agent de sûreté White lui avait demandé de présenter sa carte d'embarquement et qu'on avait mis son bagage dans l'appareil de radioscopie. Son bagage est passé dans l'appareil et comme M. Mazerolle était à ce poste, il était de son devoir de repérer les objets. Mme McLaughlin a surveillé M. Mazerolle pendant ce processus; elle a remarqué qu'il avait hésité en voyant le sac, qu'il avait demandé qu'on le repasse de nouveau, et la deuxième fois, il était encore incertain et a demandé à Mme White qui était devant, de regarder; ils ont convenu que ce n'était pas dangereux et ont décidé de le laisser passer. Mme Langille a ensuite récupéré son bagage de cabine et s'est dirigée vers l'aire d'embarquement de l'aéronef.

À ce moment-là, Mme McLaughlin a apporté le sac à M. Mazerolle et lui a dit qu'il avait fait défaut de trouver le couteau. Mme McLaughlin a de nouveau mis le sac dans l'appareil de radioscopie et M. Mazerolle lui a dit qu'il pensait que l'objet était un burin. Mme McLaughlin a déclaré qu'on pouvait voir l'objet sur le dessus comme une ligne épaisse indiquant un objet métallique foncé. L'inspectrice McLaughlin a de nouveau mis le sac dans l'appareil et M. Mazerolle a alors vu l'objet. Elle a déclaré qu'elle a alors dit à M. Mazerolle qu'elle maintenait sa décision, qu'il avait failli l'essai et elle a conséquemment informé la superviseure que M. Mazerolle devrait être affecté ailleurs. Elle a ensuite demandé à la superviseure Ada Boyle de regarder à l'écran et en regardant l'objet, Mme Boyle a remarqué qu'il s'agissait d'un gros couteau. En conclusion, Mme McLaughlin a déclaré qu'elle avait vu une longue trace de métal, qu'elle savait qu'il s'agissait d'un couteau et qu'elle avait recalé M. Mazerolle parce qu'il aurait dû faire une fouille manuelle, ce qu'il n'a pas fait.

Le deuxième témoin du ministre, Kimberley Ann Langille, a confirmé sa participation à l'essai. Elle a déclaré qu'elle est arrivée au poste de contrôle, a enlevé son veston, son sac à dos et son sac (qui contenait le couteau) et qu'une personne a mis ces articles dans l'appareil; elle est passée et a attendu. Elle a précisé que lorsque le sac est passé pour la première fois, il était à plat. Elle a dit que lorsqu'elle a pris les autres articles, elle a remarqué que le sac était alors debout. Elle a précisé que personne ne lui a demandé d'ouvrir le sac, elle a donc commencé à s'éloigner. Elle a déclaré que personne d'autre n'a touché le sac, à ce moment-là.

Le prochain témoin était la superviseure de M. Mazerolle, Mme Ada Boyle, qui a été agent de sûreté et superviseure chez Shanahan Security pendant 13 ans, à l'Aéroport international d'Halifax. Mme Boyle a lu une courte déclaration, la pièce M-16, qu'elle avait fournie antérieurement à M. Short. Elle a confirmé que, le jour en question, Mme McLaughlin lui avait demandé de venir à l'écran où M. Mazerolle avait échoué l'essai d'infiltration. Elle a précisé qu'elle a regardé à l'écran et a vu un grand couteau qui était à plat dans un sac. Dans son témoignage, elle a ajouté qu'elle avait vu le couteau et a dit qu'elle aurait fait une deuxième fouille.

LA PREUVE DU REQUÉRANT

Le requérant a appelé Marguerite White comme témoin. Mme White travaillait au poste de contrôle avant l'embarquement depuis deux ans et a été témoin de l'essai de Transports Canada, à la date en question. À ladite date, elle travaillait en avant et pouvait voir l'écran et le sac qui était mis dans l'appareil. Mme White a examiné les photographies de la pièce M-15 du ministre et a souligné que la photographie numéro 12, celle du milieu, est la seule qui ressemble au sac. Elle a indiqué que la première fois qu'elle a vu le sac passer, elle ne pouvait dire s'il s'agissait d'un couteau et qu'elle a été uniquement capable de voir le couteau lorsque le sac est passé pour la quatrième fois. En contre-interrogatoire, M. Short a fait la déclaration suivante : « Quand vous n'êtes pas absolument certain de ce que c'est, vous devez faire une deuxième fouille. » Mme White a répondu : « C'est exact. »

Mme White a confirmé que le sac était à plat, lorsqu'il est passé aux rayons X pour la première fois et que M. Mazerolle a dit de le passer debout, une seconde fois. Elle a déclaré que cette fois-là, elle a vu l'objet représenté sur la photographie numéro 12, à droite, qui ressemblait à une ombre foncée, à l'électronique. En réponse à la question du représentant du ministre quant à ce qu'il faut faire si, à l'électronique, on ne sait pas ce que c'est, c'est-à-dire qu'on ne peut identifier un objet avec certitude, elle a déclaré : « Je dois faire une deuxième fouille du sac. »

Mme White a dit qu'elle n'a pas parlé à M. Mazerolle au sujet de ce qui devait être fait; elle a regardé la photographie sur l'écran. C'était à lui de décider et ils n'ont pas discuté du contenu. Elle a déclaré que lorsqu'elle a vu Mme McLaughlin mettre le sac dans l'appareil, elle savait qu'il s'agissait d'un essai d'infiltration.

Mme White a dit qu'elle était derrière la personne qui était à l'écran et que la première fois, elle a vu une image comme sur la photographie numéro 12, sur le côté droit. Elle a ensuite déclaré que ce n'était pas précis et qu'aucune des images n'était précise. Elle a dit ne pas avoir vu de couteau la première fois, avoir vu des rayons foncés la deuxième fois et a ajouté que l'équipement informatique semblait normal.

M. Mazerolle a témoigné que le 20 mars dernier, il n'a pas vu de couteau passer et qu'il l'a seulement vu, la quatrième fois. Il a indiqué qu'il avait déjà expérimenté un phénomène semblable et qu'il croyait qu'il s'agissait d'une absence de l'image. En résumé, M. Mazerolle a déclaré qu'il n'a pas vu le couteau et que son témoin, Mme White, ne pouvait le voir non plus.

DISCUSSION

Le ministre des Transports est responsable du bon fonctionnement du système de sécurité de l'aviation civile. À ces fins, le ministre procède à des essais systématiques de son système de sécurité comme Mme McLaughlin l'a fait, à la date en question, relativement aux tâches de l'agent de sûreté M. Mazerolle, désigné par le ministre et employé de Shanahan Security. Avant de recevoir ses pouvoirs d'agent de sûreté, M. Mazerolle a été formé et accrédité selon les normes nationales du ministre. C'est le défaut de M. Mazerolle de faire preuve d'un respect constant de ces normes de sécurité nationales qui a entraîné la suspension partielle de son certificat d'agent de sûreté.

Pour le ministre, le litige est lié au fait que Mme McLaughlin a placé le couteau dans le bagage de cabine, comme l'illustrent les photographies 8 à 13 de la pièce M-15, et même si l'image sur l'écran, à la date en question, peut ne pas représenter une réplique de ces photographies, les témoignages de l'inspectrice McLaughlin et de la superviseure Boyle révèlent que le couteau était visible, qu'elles l'avaient vu et chacune a témoigné qu'elles auraient effectuer une deuxième fouille du sac. Le contenu du sac avait aussi éveillé les soupçons de M. Mazerolle, étant donné qu'il avait demandé qu'on fasse passer le sac aux rayons X une deuxième fois. Lors du deuxième passage, M. Mazerolle a demandé à Mme White si elle pouvait aussi regarder l'écran. Bien que Mme White ait indiqué qu'elle n'était pas capable de dire s'il s'agissait d'un couteau lorsqu'elle a vu passer l'objet la première fois, qu'elle a uniquement su qu'il s'agissait d'un couteau quand il est passé la quatrième fois, elle s'est ralliée au point de vue qu'une deuxième fouille était nécessaire quand on est pas absolument certain du contenu du sac.

Le témoin du ministre, l'inspectrice McLaughlin a témoigné que l'avis de sécurité no 6 en ce qui a trait aux Normes de désignation et d'accréditation des agents de sûreté prévoit des directives particulières concernant la capacité des agents de sûreté de donner suite correctement aux images d'articles dangereux illustrés sur l'écran des rayons X. Le cours de Transports Canada s'adressant au personnel préposé à l'inspection des passagers avant l'embarquement contient les détails particuliers liés à l'équipement des rayons X et à son fonctionnement. Les témoignages des témoins du ministre, ainsi que ceux du témoin appelé par le requérant, révèlent que dans les circonstances en l'espèce, une deuxième fouille était nécessaire. La preuve indique que M. Mazerolle ne pouvait identifier l'article dans le sac et qu'il devait donc faire une fouille manuelle. Il est évident que M. Mazerolle a vu quelque chose, étant donné qu'il a demandé que le sac soit mis dans l'appareil de radioscopie, une deuxième fois et en a discuté avec sa collègue. M. Mazerolle a expliqué qu'il pensait que l'article était un burin, ce qui ne l'exemptait nullement de faire une deuxième fouille manuelle pour identifier correctement l'objet, comme le prescrivent les directives sur les normes de sécurité nationales.

DÉCISION

Le Tribunal confirme la décision du ministre du 20 mars 1998, de suspendre le certificat de l'agent de sûreté Robert Mazerolle en ce qui a trait à l'annotation pour l'utilisation des appareils de radioscopie.

Faye Smith
Présidente
Tribunal de l'aviation civile