Decisions

CAT File No. A-1803-33
MoT File No. 6504-P-006397-032887

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

John Andrew Lockhart, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 103.03

Licence, Suspension, Failure to Surrender a Canadian Aviation Document, Aircraft Maintenance Engineer


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: June 16, 1999

I uphold the allegation of the Minister and reduce the penalty to $25.00. The payment shall be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, May 20, 1999 at 15:00 hours at the Court of Queen's Bench, in the city of Moncton, New Brunswick.

BACKGROUND

Dr. Lockhart resides and has practised medicine in Bath, New Brunswick. He also held a pilot licence and an aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) licence. In his spare time he enjoyed restoring and rebuilding aircraft.

Dr. Lockhart's AME licence was suspended pursuant to a Notice of Suspension dated June 5, 1998. The suspension was stayed until a review hearing could be concluded. A Civil Aviation Tribunal hearing was held to address the allegations on October 29, 1998. That suspension was based on alleged contraventions of certain provisions of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs). The decision was rendered on January 11, 1999. It concluded that the Minister had not proven the allegations and they were dismissed.

Between the time that the hearing was held and when that decision was rendered Transport Canada issued another Notice of Suspension, dated November 30, 1998, to be effective on December 11, 1998.

That suspension was based on the alleged incompetence of Dr. Lockhart. The Notice included the following statement:

On the effective date of the suspension you must return your Licence by bringing it or mailing it to the Transport Canada Regional Office indicated above. Failure to return a Document is an offence contrary to the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

No stay of suspension could be granted under this provision. As Transport Canada did not receive the licence, it issued a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty dated March 15, 1999 in the amount of $250.00 which states in part:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulations, s. 103.03, in that on or about December 11, 1998, at or near Bath, New Brunswick, you did fail to return to the Minister, a Canadian aviation document issued to you, namely your Aircraft Maintenance Engineer Licence M006397, when it was suspended.

As the monetary penalty was not paid, the Minister of Transport applied for a hearing of the matter. The Civil Aviation Tribunal scheduled a hearing for May 20, 1999, to be held in Moncton, New Brunswick, which is the matter currently before me.

EVIDENCE

Mr. Keith Whalen, Regional Manager of Aviation Enforcement, Atlantic Region, represented the Minister of Transport while Dr. Lockhart appeared on his own behalf.

The evidence establishes that the effective date of the suspension was December 11, 1998 and the licence was turned in to the RCMP on January 8, 1999. At the date of this hearing, the Minister has still not received the licence. It remains in the possession of the Florenceville RCMP and has been since January 8, 1999.

Dr. Lockhart had been advised by Mr. C. Daigle that he could surrender his licence to an officer of the RCMP as an alternative to sending it to the Transport Canada office.

LAW

Section 103.03 of the CARs:

103.03 Where a Canadian aviation document has been suspended or cancelled, the person to whom it was issued shall return it to the Minister immediately after the effective date of the suspension or cancellation.

DISCUSSION

In spite of attempts to obtain the licence, Transport Canada officials have yet to receive it. The problem seems to be whether the licence was "surrended" to the RCMP or given to them for safe keeping.

Dr. Lockhart was at first reluctant to turn it in because he was confident of success in the Tribunal hearing. He appears to have misunderstood why he had to return the licence. The requirement to return the licence to the Minister did not stem from the first suspension (October 29th hearing) but rather from the Notice dated November 30, 1998. As well he had been ill approaching Christmas and then the Christmas season overtook him. In the end result, his licence was given to an officer of the Florenceville, New Brunswick detachment on January 8, 1999.

Section 103.03 of the CARs stipulates that it shall be returned to the Minister immediately after the effective date of the suspension.

Since Mr. Daigle, the Transport Canada inspector who suspended the licence, advised him that turning the licence over to the RCMP was a satisfactory alternative to sending it to Mr. Daigle's office, I find that having done so is an effective return of the document. However, it was turned in some 28 days after the date of the suspension.

The fact that the Minister has not been able to get the document from the RCMP is very interesting but irrelevant for the purpose of this hearing. The issue is whether Dr. Lockhart returned the document immediately after the effective date of the suspension. The evidence proves that he did not. Twenty-eight days after the effective date cannot be construed as "immediate". Therefore, the Minister has proven his case.

The monetary penalty assessed was $250.00. This is the sanction recommended by Transport Canada. Section 103.03 of the CARs is a designated provision. In the schedule to that subpart the maximum penalty for a breach of section 103.03 for an individual is listed at $1,000.00. No minimum is listed. Regarding designated provisions a Tribunal member has the power to confirm Transport Canada's decision, dismiss the allegation or increase or decrease the penalty. Given that I have confirmed the Minister's decision, is the penalty appropriate?

The Civil Aviation Tribunal appeal determination of Minister of Transport and Kurt William M. Wyer[1] has often been used to provide guidance in assessing appropriate penalties. The Appeal panel enunciated the principles of determining an appropriate monetary penalty to include at least denunciation, deterrence, rehabilitation and enforcement. They considered the following factors which could be weighed in finding an appropriate balance of the principles of sentencing:

Without attempting to limit what such factors may include, the following may be considered:

1. Aggravating factors:

  • infractions involving dishonesty,
  • planned breaches,
  • premeditated breaches,
  • extent of harm to victims of the offence,
  • past record of similar offences,
  • prevalence of the offence.

2. Mitigating factors:

  • no previous offences,
  • time since last offence,
  • degree of remorse,
  • whether or not an admission of the offence,
  • degree of co-operation with authorities,
  • delay between the commission of the offence and the time of the sentence,
  • conduct (involvement) of any "victims"
  • restitution,
  • type of operation (commercial or private flight)
  • impact on aviation community,
  • special factual circumstances,
  • relevance of enforcement manual recommendations,
  • effect of a monetary v. suspension penalty on individual,
  • occurrence impact on aviation safety,
  • manner of proceeding by authorities.

Ultimately, the principles annunciated and the factors effecting the level of penalty must be considered on an individual basis in the context of the circumstances of the specific occurrence. The list noted above is not intended to be in any particular prioritized order nor is the list necessarily complete.

In this instance there does not appear to be any aggravating factors. As to mitigating factors, Dr. Lockhart admitted that he turned in the licence late. He was mistaken as to the requirement to do so, thinking that the requirement was pursuant to the first hearing. He works on his own aircraft as projects so has little if any impact on the aviation community. I do not see that the late return of his licence has any impact on aviation safety.

Regarding the principle to be considered in light of those factors, I do not believe that this is a case where denunciation is important and nor do I think that there is a need for personal deterrence as there is little likelihood of the recurrence of the circumstance leading to the requirement to return the licence. A penalty of $25.00 is sufficient to satisfy the principles of sanction in this case.

DETERMINATION

I uphold the allegation of the Minister and reduce the penalty to $25.00.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] CAT File No. O-0075-33.

Décisions

Dossier no A-1803-33 (TAC)
Dossier no 6504-P-006397-032887 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

John Andrew Lockhart, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., chap. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, SOR/96-433, art. 103.03

Technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs, Licence, Suspension, TEA, Défaut de retour d'un document d'aviation canadien


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 16 juin 1999

TRADUCTION

Je confirme les faits reprochés par le ministre et réduis l'amende à 25 $. Le paiement doit être versé au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi, 20 mai 1999 à 15 h à la Cour du Banc de la Reine de la ville de Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick).

HISTORIQUE

Dr Lockhart réside à Bath (Nouveau-Brunswick) où il a pratiqué la médecine. De plus, il détenait des licences de pilote et de technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs (TEA). Il s'adonnait à la reconstruction et à la réparation d'aéronefs dans ses temps libres.

On a suspendu la licence de TEA de Dr Lockhart par un avis de suspension daté du 5 juin 1998. On a accordé un sursis de suspension dans l'attente des conclusions d'une audience en révision. Le Tribunal de l'aviation civile a tenu une audience en révision concernant les faits reprochés, le 29 octobre 1998. La suspension reposait sur des présumées contraventions à certaines dispositions du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). La décision a été rendue le 11 janvier 1999. Elle établissait que le ministre n'avait pas prouvé les faits reprochés et ils ont été rejetés.

Entre le moment de cette audience et le moment auquel la décision a été rendue, Transports Canada a établi un autre avis de suspension daté du 30 novembre 1998 et devant prendre effet le 11 décembre 1998.

Cette suspension reposait sur l'incompétence présumée de Dr Lockhart. L'avis portait l'énoncé suivant :

Vous devez remettre, au plus tard à la date de prise d'effet de cette suspension, votre licence, en personne ou par la poste, au bureau régional de Transports Canada à l'adresse indiquée ci-dessus. Le fait de ne pas retourner un document d'aviation canadien suspendu constitue une infraction au Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Aucun sursis de suspension ne pouvait être accordé en vertu de cette disposition. N'ayant pas reçu la licence, Transports Canada a délivré un avis d'amende pour contravention au montant de 250 $ en date du 15 mars 1999 qui se lit en partie comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

L'article 103.03 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien : le ou vers le 11 décembre 1998, à ou près de Bath (Nouveau-Brunswick), vous avez fait défaut de remettre au ministre, un document d'aviation canadien qui vous avait été délivré, soit votre licence de technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs M006397, alors qu'elle avait été suspendue.

L'amende n'ayant pas été payée, le ministre des Transports a demandé une audience pour faire entendre les détails de l'affaire. Le Tribunal de l'aviation civile a fixé au 20 mai 1999 une audience à Moncton (Nouveau- Brunswick), affaire qui m'a été soumise.

LA PREUVE

M Keith Whalen, gestionnaire régional de l'Application des règlements de la région de l'Atlantique, représentait le ministre des Transports et Dr Lockhart se représentait lui-même.

La preuve établit que la date de prise d'effet de la suspension était le 11 décembre 1998 et que la licence a été remise à la GRC le 8 janvier 1999. Au moment de la présente audience, le ministre n'a pas encore reçu la licence. Elle est entre les mains de la GRC de Florenceville depuis le 8 janvier 1999.

M. C. Daigle avait prévenu Dr Lockhart qu'il pouvait remettre sa licence à un agent de la GRC au lieu de l'envoyer au bureau de Transports Canada.

LA LOI

L'article 103.03 du RAC :

103.03 Lorsqu'un document d'aviation canadien est suspendu ou annulé, le titulaire doit le retourner au ministre immédiatement après la date de la prise d'effet de la suspension ou de l'annulation.

DISCUSSION

En dépit des efforts mis en place pour récupérer la licence, les représentants de Transports Canada ne l'on pas encore reçue. Le problème semble surgir du fait de déterminer si la licence a été « remise » à la GRC ou si elle lui a été confiée pour être gardée en lieu sûr.

Dans un premier temps, Dr Lockhart hésitait à remettre la licence parce qu'il avait confiance au succès de l'audience du Tribunal. Il semble avoir mal compris pourquoi il devait la retourner. L'obligation de retourner la licence au ministre ne provenait pas de la première suspension (audience du 29 octobre) mais plutôt de l'avis du 30 novembre 1998. De plus, il avait été malade à l'approche de Noël et il a été emporté par le tourbillon des Fêtes. Sa licence a été remise en bout de ligne à un agent de Florenceville (Nouveau-Brunswick) le 8 janvier 1999.

L'article 103.03 du RAC stipule qu'elle devait être retournée au ministre immédiatement après la date de la prise d'effet de la suspension.

Étant donné que M. Daigle, l'inspecteur de Transports Canada qui avait suspendu la licence, l'avait informé que le fait de remettre la licence à la GRC était une solution acceptable au lieu de l'envoyer au bureau de M. Daigle, je considère qu'il s'agit d'un véritable retour de document. Par contre, la licence a été retournée quelque 28 jours après la date de la suspension.

Le fait que le ministre ait été incapable d'obtenir le document de la GRC se révèle intéressant mais non pertinent aux fins de la présente audience. La question consiste à déterminer si Dr Lockhart a retourné le document immédiatement après la date de prise d'effet de la suspension. La preuve démontre qu'il ne l'a pas fait. Vingt-huit jours après la date de prise d'effet ne peut être considéré comme « immédiat ». Par conséquent, le ministre a prouvé sa cause.

L'amende imposée a été fixée à 250 $. C'est la sanction recommandée par Transports Canada. L'article 103.03 du RAC constitue un texte désigné. L'annexe de cette sous-partie prévoit une amende maximale de 1 000 $ pour une contravention à l'article 103.03 par une personne physique; elle ne prévoit pas de montant minimal. En ce qui a trait aux textes désignés, un conseiller du Tribunal a le pouvoir de confirmer la décision de Transports Canada, de rejeter les faits reprochés ou d'augmenter ou de réduire l'amende. Étant donné que j'ai confirmé la décision du ministre, l'amende est-elle appropriée?

La décision du Tribunal de l'aviation civile à la suite d'un appel dans Ministre des Transports et Kurt William M. Wyer[1] a souvent servi de guide à la détermination des amendes. Le comité d'appel a relevé les principes de détermination d'une amende appropriée et inclut au moins la dénonciation, la dissuasion, la réhabilitation et l'application de la loi. Les facteurs suivants peuvent servir à définir l'équilibre des principes de la sanction :

Sans tenter de limiter l'envergure de ces facteurs, disons qu'on peut faire entrer en ligne de compte les éléments suivants :

1. Facteurs aggravants :

  • infractions où il y a malhonnêteté,
  • violations planifiées,
  • violations préméditées,
  • étendue des torts causés aux victimes de l'infraction,
  • bilan d'infractions semblables,
  • fréquence de l'infraction.

2. Facteurs atténuants :

  • absence d'infractions antérieures,
  • laps de temps écoulé depuis la dernière infraction,
  • degré de remords,
  • aveu ou désaveu de l'infraction,
  • degré de collaboration avec les autorités,
  • délai qui s'est écoulé entre la perpétration de l'infraction et le prononcé de la peine,
  • conduite (participation) de toute « victime »,
  • dédommagement,
  • sorte de service (vol commercial ou privé),
  • répercussions sur le milieu de l'aviation,
  • circonstances spéciales,
  • pertinence des recommandations énoncées dans le Manuel sur l'application des règles,
  • conséquences sur la personne d'une amende par opposition à une suspension,
  • conséquences de l'infraction sur la sécurité aérienne,
  • façon de procéder des autorités.

Les principes énoncés et les facteurs qui influent sur la nature de la peine doivent en définitive être examinés pour chaque cas particulier dans le contexte des circonstances de l'infraction donnée. La liste précédente ne suit aucun ordre de priorité et n'est pas nécessairement exhaustive.

La présente cause ne semble pas présenter de facteurs aggravants. Quant aux facteurs atténuants, Dr Lockhart a admis qu'il avait remis la licence après la date requise. Il s'est trompé sur l'obligation de la remettre, croyant que l'exigence relevait de la première audience. Il effectue des travaux sur son propre aéronef, ce qui a peu d'incidences sur le milieu de l'aviation. Je ne peux conclure que le retard à remettre sa licence peut avoir des conséquences sur la sécurité aéronautique.

Compte tenu du principe à examiner à la lumière des facteurs cités, je ne crois pas que nous soyons en présence d'une cause où la dénonciation est importante ni que l'on doive avoir recours à la dissuasion tout comme il y a peu de probabilités que ne se reproduisent les circonstances qui ont entraîné l'obligation de remettre la licence. Une amende de 25 $ suffit à satisfaire les principes de la sanction dans le cas présent.

DÉCISION

Je confirme les faits reprochés par le ministre et réduis l'amende à 25 $.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] Dossier n° O-0075-33 (TAC).