Decisions

CAT File No. A-2136-10
MoT File No. MA5260-8419

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Exploits Valley Air Services Ltd., Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S., c. 33 (1st Supp.), s. 7.1 (1)b)
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/99-158, ss. 700.02(1), 702.07(1)(e), 702.07(2)(b)(ii), 702.09(c), 702.09(i), 700.01

Suspension, Air Operator Certificate


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: December 15, 2000

The Minister has established on a balance of probabilities that Exploits Valley Air Services Ltd. did not comply with the conditions subject to which the air operator certificate was issued. The decision to suspend the certificate is confirmed.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, November 30, 2000 at 10:00 hours at the Town Hall in Gander, Newfoundland.

BACKGROUND

In August of this year, in preparation for an upcoming audit, Transport Canada personnel had reason to question the status of the chief pilot position at Exploits Valley Air Services Ltd. (Exploits Valley). Their inquiries lead them to conclude that the person who had held the chief pilot position had left the company previously.

Pursuant to some telephone conversations and correspondence with the company the Minister concluded that Exploits Valley was no longer in compliance with the conditions of issue of its air operator certificate. By notice dated August 30, 2000 the certificate was suspended in the following form:

Pursuant to paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to suspend your Air Operator Certificate indicated above for the following reasons:

Failure to comply with Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) 700.02(1) and 700.02(2) in that

The air operator is not in compliance with Air Operator Certificate General Condition (as specified in CARs 702.09 and 703.09) which states:

'(c) the air operator shall employ managerial personnel who meet the Commercial Air Service Standards' in that the company does not have a Chief Pilot that meets the Commercial Air Service Standards.

Exploits Valley did not agree with that conclusion and applied for a review hearing, which was heard on November 30, 2000, in Gander, Newfoundland.

THE ISSUE

To justify the suspension of Exploits Valley's air operator certificate the Minister must prove that on August 30 the company no longer complied with the conditions of issue, specifically that it no longer had managerial personnel employed on a full-time basis performing the function of chief pilot.

THE LAW

Requirements for Air Operator Certificate

700.02 (1) No person shall operate an air transport service unless the person holds and complies with the provisions of an air operator certificate that authorizes the person to operate that service.

Issuance or Amendment of Air Operator Certificate

702.07 (1) Subject to section 6.71 of the Act, the Minister shall, on receipt of an application submitted in the form and manner required by the Commercial Air Service Standards, issue or amend an air operator certificate where the applicant demonstrates to the Minister the ability to

[...]

(e) meet the Commercial Air Service Standards for the operation; and

[...]

(2) For the purposes of subsection (1), an applicant shall have

[...]

(b) managerial personnel who meet the Commercial Air Service Standards, are employed on a full-time basis and perform the functions related to the following positions, namely,

[...]

(ii) chief pilot, and

General Conditions of Air Operator Certificate

702.09 An air operator certificate shall contain the following general conditions:

[...]

(c) the air operator shall employ managerial personnel who meet the Commercial Air Service Standards;

[...]

(i) the air operator shall notify the Minister within 10 working days after any change in its legal name, trade name, base of operations or managerial personnel; and

Interpretation

700.01 In this Part,

[...]

"employed on a full-time basis" means working for an air operator on a continuous basis for at least the number of hours required to carry out the duties of the position for the safe operation of the commercial air service;

Similar provisions are included in Subpart 3-Air Taxi Operations.

DISCUSSION

Exploits Valley held Air Operator Certificate 8419. Among the conditions of issue was the requirement to employ managerial personnel who meet the Commercial Air Service Standards. At issue here is the position of chief pilot.

Mr. Winsor had been the chief pilot for Exploits Valley for some time. It had come to Transport Canada's attention in August of this year that he was employed at Prince Edward Air (PEA). Transport Canada thought that such employment was incompatible with his position as chief pilot at Exploits Valley and investigated his status.

According to three different Transport Canada witnesses—Mr. Tataryn, Mr. Pert and Mr. Allan—Mr. Winsor indicated to them that he was no longer at Exploits Valley but was employed at PEA.

Mr. Ed Tataryn had spoken to him by telephone on about August 23rd. He testified that Mr. Winsor said he left Exploits Valley about three months previously and had been working for PEA since then. When specifically asked if he had said that, Mr. Winsor rather equivocally stated that he may have.

Mr. Pert and Mr. Allan also spoke to Mr. Winsor, and both made handwritten notes of those conversations (Exhibits M-8, M-11). Both indicated that he was currently employed at PEA.

Although the testimony of Transport Canada personnel amounts to hearsay, the relaxed evidentiary rules of the Tribunal (s. 37 of the Aeronautics Act) permit it. Here three persons corroborate the same finding. Two have made notations of the conversations in the normal course of their business operations. Mr. Winsor was available to confirm or deny the testimony. As a result I find that Transport Canada personnel's testimony is reliable, relevant and necessary to the finding.

I take Mr. Winsor's statement at the hearing that he may have made such a statement to Mr. Tataryn to be a yes. I do so because he could have simply denied it but did not. As the evidence unfolded it became apparent that Mr. Winsor's statement to Mr. Tataryn that he had left Exploits Valley some three months prior caused his former employer some unintended consternation. I believe he tempered his answer at the hearing in an attempt to ameliorate that fact.

From August 23 through August 30 faxes and telephone calls were exchanged between the parties trying to clarify the issue. Mr. Winsor, by letter dated August 30, 2000 (fax date August 24) informed Mr. Tataryn that from August 30 until September 14 he appointed Mr. Patrick White as chief pilot. Operations manager, Mrs. White, submitted a chief pilot nomination form to Transport Canada with Mr. Patrick White as nominee.

Much evidence was adduced as to Mr. Winsor's status with Exploits Valley since joining PEA. It was asserted that he remained as chief pilot, although no longer a resident in Gander and flying for PEA out of St. John's. Evidence was also adduced as to his status at PEA, that he was a contract pilot, free to turn down trips. The implication being that he would be free to fulfill his functions at Exploits Valley. While flying for PEA, he was working to develop standard operating procedures for an Exploits Valley aircraft.

Evidence was also lead by both parties as to Mr. Patrick White's employment status as training pilot with the water bombing division of the Newfoundland Government, at the time that he was nominated for the chief pilot function.

CONCLUSION

Most of the evidence and argument just referred to is extraneous to the issue. By August 25, by Mr. Winsor's own albeit reluctant admission, he was not functioning as Exploits Valley chief pilot. Much of the evidence was adduced in an attempt to resurrect that status, after the fact.

I find his equivocal testimony in answer to Mr. Tataryn's evidence indicates as much. He was initially candid with Mr. Tataryn, but upon finding out that having been so, placed Mr. White in an awkward position, he did his utmost, short of refuting his statement, to ameliorate it.

As he was not functioning as chief pilot he could not place Mr. White in his position. I use the words not functioning as chief pilot rather than employed, as there was evidence of an ongoing relationship between Mr. Winsor and Exploits Valley but Mr. Winsor himself said that he no longer thought of himself as chief pilot.

Mrs. White as operations manager could nominate Mr. White to be chief pilot but she too was precluded from putting him in that position as the nomination needed the Minister's approval.

Having ascertained that Mr. Winsor was not the chief pilot at Exploits Valley on August 25 and no replacement having been approved, the Minister was justified in coming to the conclusion that Exploits Valley was not, at the time, in conformity with the conditions of issue.

However I do feel that this case is a tempest in a teapot. Here we are addressing what amounts to a one-man operation, as far as the section 703 operation is concerned. The "employed on a full-time basis" as defined applies to all commercial carriers. But, the number of hours required to carry out the duties, where essentially the chief pilot is supervising himself, needs to be regarded on a case by case basis. Although the Minister was technically justified in coming to the conclusion he did, it seems to me that this case should have been resolved between the parties.

DETERMINATION

The Minister has established on a balance of probabilities that Exploits Valley Air Services Ltd. did not comply with the conditions subject to which the air operator certificate was issued. The decision to suspend the certificate is confirmed.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no A-2136-10 (TAC)
Dossier no MA5260-8419 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Exploits Valley Air Services Ltd., requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R., c. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.1(1)b)
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/99-158, art. 700.02(1), 702.07(1)e), 702.07(2)b)(ii), 702.09c) et i), 700.01

Certificat d'exploitation aérienne, Suspension


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 15 décembre 2000

TRADUCTION

Le ministre a établi, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que Exploits Valley Air Services Ltd. ne s'est pas conformée aux conditions d'établissement du certificat d'exploitation aérienne. La décision de suspendre le certificat est confirmée.

Une audience en révision relativement à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 30 novembre 2000 à 10 h à l'hôtel de ville de Gander (Terre-Neuve).

HISTORIQUE

En août cette année, au moment où ils se préparaient à une vérification, les membres du personnel de Transports Canada avaient des raisons de s'interroger sur le poste de pilote en chef chez Exploits Valley Air Services Ltd. (Exploits Valley). Une enquête les a menés à conclure que la personne ayant auparavant occupé le poste avait quitté la compagnie.

À la suite de quelques conversations téléphoniques et de communications avec la compagnie, le ministre à conclu que Exploits Valley ne se conformait plus aux conditions d'établissement de son certificat d'exploitation aérienne. Par un avis en date du 30 août 2000, ledit certificat a été suspendu selon les modalités suivantes :

En vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de suspendre votre certificat d'exploitation aérienne susmentionné pour les raisons suivantes :

Défaut de conformité au Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) 700.02(1) et 700.02(2), à savoir

L'exploitant aérien ne se conforme pas à la condition générale du certificat d'exploitation aérienne (précisée à 702.09 et 703.09 du RAC) qui stipule :

« c) l'exploitant aérien a à son service du personnel de gestion qui satisfait aux Normes de service aérien commercial », puisque la compagnie n'a pas de pilote en chef pour satisfaire aux Normes de service aérien commercial.

Exploits Valley n'a pas accepté la conclusion et a demandé une audience en révision qui a eu lieu le 30 novembre 2000 à Gander (Terre-Neuve).

LA QUESTION EN LITIGE

Pour justifier la suspension du certificat d'exploitation aérienne de Exploits Valley, le ministre doit prouver que le 30 août, la compagnie ne se conformait plus à ses conditions d'établissement et plus précisément, qu'elle n'avait plus à son service de personnel de gestion à temps plein exerçant les fonctions de pilote en chef.

LA LOI

Exigences relatives au certificat d'exploitation aérienne

700.02 (1) Il est interdit d'exploiter un service de transport aérien à moins d'être titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne qui autorise l'exploitation d'un tel service et de se conformer à ses dispositions.

Délivrance ou modification du certificat d'exploitation aérienne

702.07 (1) Sous réserve de l'article 6.71 de la Loi, le ministre délivre ou modifie un certificat d'exploitation aérienne si le demandeur qui lui en fait la demande en la forme et de la manière exigées par les Normes de service aérien commercial lui démontre qu'il est en mesure de satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :

[...]

e) satisfaire aux Normes de service aérien commercial applicables à l'exploitation;

[...]

(2) Pour l'application du paragraphe (1), le demandeur doit :

[...]

b) disposer de personnel de gestion qui satisfait aux Normes de service aérien commercial, est employé à temps plein et exerce les fonctions liées aux postes suivants :

[...]

(ii) pilote en chef,

Conditions générales relatives au certificat d'exploitation aérienne

702.09 Le certificat d'exploitation aérienne contient les conditions générales suivantes :

[...]

c) l'exploitant aérien a à son service du personnel de gestion qui satisfait aux Normes de service aérien commercial;

[...]

i) l'exploitant aérien informe le ministre de tout changement apporté à sa dénomination sociale, à son nom commercial, à sa base d'exploitation ou à son personnel de gestion dans les 10 jours ouvrables suivant le changement;

Définitions

700.01 Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente partie.

[...]

« employé à temps plein » Est employé à temps plein quiconque travaille de façon ininterrompue pour un exploitant aérien pendant le nombre minimal d'heures nécessaire pour exercer les fonctions de son poste afin d'assurer l'exploitation sécuritaire du service aérien commercial.

Des dispositions semblables figurent à la sous-partie 3 - Exploitation d'un taxi

DISCUSSION

Exploits Valley était titulaire du certificat d'exploitation aérienne 8419. Les conditions d'établissement stipulaient entre autres d'embaucher du personnel de gestion répondant aux Normes de service aérien commercial. Le poste dont il est question ici est celui de pilote en chef.

M. Winsor avait été pilote en chef chez Exploits Valley pendant quelque temps. En août cette année, Transports Canada avait eu vent qu'il était passé au service de Prince Edward Air (PEA). Transports Canada a jugé que son embauche était incompatible avec son poste de pilote en chef chez Exploits Valley et a mené une enquête sur sa situation.

Selon trois différents témoins de Transports Canada—M. Tataryn, M. Pert et M. Allan—M. Winsor leur avait signalé qu'il n'était plus au service de Exploits Valley mais chez PEA.

M. Ed Tataryn lui avait parlé au téléphone vers le 23 août. Il a témoigné que M. Winsor avait dit avoir quitté Exploits Valley environ trois mois auparavant et qu'il travaillait depuis chez PEA. Quand on lui a demandé s'il avait effectivement dit cela, M. Winsor a vaguement répondu qu'il aurait pu l'avoir dit.

M. Pert et M. Allan ont également parlé à M. Winsor et ils ont tous deux pris des notes sur ces conversations (pièces M-8, M-11). Tous les deux ont indiqué qu'il travaillait actuellement chez PEA.

Même si le témoignage du personnel de Transports Canada équivaut à du ouï-dire, la souplesse de la règle de preuve du Tribunal (art. 37 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique) le permet. Nous sommes en présence de la corroboration d'une même affirmation par trois personnes différentes. Deux d'entre elles ont pris des notes sur une conversation s'étant déroulée dans le cours normal de leurs activités professionnelles. On pouvait compter sur M. Winsor pour confirmer ou infirmer le témoignage. En conséquence, j'estime que le témoignage du personnel de Transports Canada est fiable, pertinent et nécessaire à la conclusion.

J'estime que la déclaration de M. Winsor à l'audience, selon laquelle il pourrait avoir fait une déclaration du genre à M. Tataryn, équivaut à une affirmation. Je la considère comme une affirmation parce qu'il aurait pu nier, ce qu'il n'a pas fait. Au fur et à mesure de la présentation de la preuve, il devenait évident que la déclaration de M. Winsor à M. Tataryn, selon laquelle il avait quitté Exploits Valley quelque trois mois auparavant, a causé une consternation non voulue chez son ancien employeur. Je crois qu'il a formulé une réponse tempérée à l'audience dans une tentative pour atténuer le fait.

Entre le 23 et le 30 août, les parties ont échangé des appels téléphoniques et des télécopies en vue de clarifier la question. M. Winsor, par lettre du 30 août 2000 (télécopie en date du 24 août) a avisé M. Tataryn que du 30 août au 14 septembre, il avait nommé M. Patrick White pilote en chef. La responsable de l'exploitation, Mme White, a présenté à Transports Canada un formulaire de nomination de pilote en chef portant le nom de M. Patrick White.

On a présenté plusieurs preuves concernant la situation de M. Winsor chez Exploits Valley après qu'il se soit joint à PEA. On a affirmé qu'il était demeuré pilote en chef, même s'il n'habitait plus Gander et qu'il pilotait pour le compte de PEA à partir de St. John's. On a également présenté une preuve de sa situation de pilote contractuel chez PEA lui permettant de refuser des voyages. On insinuait ainsi qu'il était libre d'exercer ses fonctions chez Exploits Valley. Tout en pilotant pour le compte de PEA, il travaillait à l'établissement des procédures d'utilisation normalisées d'un aéronef d'Exploits Valley.

Les deux parties ont également présenté la preuve de la situation de M. Patrick White comme pilote de formation auprès de la division d'arrosage aérien du gouvernement terre-neuvien, au moment où il a été désigné pilote en chef.

CONCLUSION

La grande partie de la preuve et des arguments susmentionnés sont étrangers à la question en litige. En date du 25 août, conformément à l'admission hésitante de M. Winsor, il n'était pas pilote en chef chez Exploits Valley. Presque toute la preuve présentée visait à ranimer un statut d'employé, après coup.

J'estime que son témoignage équivoque en réponse à la preuve de M. Tataryn abonde dans ce sens. Il s'est d'abord montré franc avec M. Tataryn, mais en constatant que cette attitude plaçait M. White dans une étrange position, il a tout fait pour améliorer la situation, réfutant en quelque sorte sa déclaration.

Même s'il n'agissait pas à titre de pilote en chef, il ne pouvait désigner M. White comme pilote en chef. J'utilise les termes « n'agissait pas » plutôt que « employé » puisqu'on a prouvé le maintien d'une relation entre M. Winsor et Exploits Valley mais M. Winsor lui-même ne se considérait plus comme pilote en chef.

À titre de responsable de l'exploitation, Mme White aurait pu nommer M. White pilote en chef mais elle ne pouvait le faire car la nomination devait se faire avec l'approbation du ministre.

Ayant établi que M. Winsor n'était pas pilote en chef chez Exploits Valley le 25 août et qu'on n'avait approuvé aucun candidat pour le remplacer, le ministre était parfaitement en droit de conclure que Exploits Valley ne se conformait alors pas aux conditions d'établissement du certificat d'exploitation aérienne.

J'estime cependant que cette cause constitue une tempête dans un verre d'eau. Il s'agit en effet d'une compagnie concernant une seule personne, en vertu de l'article 703 de l'exploitation. La définition de « employé à temps plein » s'applique à tous les transporteurs commerciaux. Toutefois, le nombre d'heures nécessaires à l'exécution des fonctions, dans le cas où le pilote en chef se supervise essentiellement lui-même, doit être examiné en fonction de chaque cas. Même si la conclusion du ministre se justifie sur le plan technique, il me semble que cette cause aurait pu être réglée entre les parties.

DÉCISION

Le ministre a établi selon la prépondérance des probabilités que Exploits Valley Air Services Ltd. ne se conformait pas aux conditions d'établissement de son certificat d'exploitation aérienne. La décision de suspendre le certificat est confirmée.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal de l'aviation civile