Decisions

CAT File No. A-2177-33
MoT File No. 5504-042560

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Dale Robert Langthorne, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S., c. 33 (1st Supp), s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.14(2)(b)

Failure to Appear at Hearing, Low Flying


Review Determination
Ronald E. McLeod


Decision: March 9, 2001

I feel that the Minister's case has been proven. Mr. Langthorne was in violation of paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, and the assessed monetary penalty of $250.00 is warranted. The payment shall be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Monday, February 19, 2001 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in the city of Halifax, Nova Scotia.

BACKGROUND

The Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty in this matter states:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulations, s. 602.14(2)(b), in that on or about the 17th day of August, 2000, while at or in the vicinity of Williamswood, in the province of Nova Scotia, and while acting as pilot in command of an aircraft, to wit: a Cessna 172M bearing Canadian registration marks C-GXVU, you did operate the aforementioned aircraft at a distance of less than five hundred feet from persons and/or structures.

A monetary penalty of $250.00 was assessed.

The hearing was scheduled to commence at l0:00 hours but was delayed to 10:15 hours to allow for the appearance of the Respondent Mr. Dale Robert Langthorne. Mr. Langthorne failed to appear for the hearing. Nevertheless, the hearing did proceed as the burden is on the Minister to prove the case.

All witnesses were sworn prior to giving testimony.

MINISTER'S CASE PRESENTATION

The first witness called was Mr. Larry Powell. Mr. Powell stated that he resided in Williamswood, Halifax County, Nova Scotia. On the night of August 17, 2000 at approximately 9:30 to 9:45, after it had gotten dark, he was standing in the doorway of his home when he first heard and then saw lights overhead coming towards the home. He could identify a white and a green light from a small aircraft. The engine noise was quiet as the plane passed overhead with the engine becoming louder once the aircraft had passed overhead. He stated that the aircraft was so low that he could see the wheels hanging down from the aircraft. He estimated that the aircraft was approximately 150 to 200 feet above the height of his home. He based his estimation on a neighbour's television aerial which is approximately 60 feet in the air and felt that the plane was two times higher than this. He stated that once the aircraft passed overhead the engine noise became louder and the aircraft made a hard right turn and proceeded on its way gaining altitude as it flew towards the Northwest Arm (a body of water between the Halifax Peninsula and Spryfield).

The next witness was Mrs. Tracy E. Powell who lives at the same address. She stated that on the night in question, August 17, 2000, she was inside the home when her husband yelled to her to come to the door to see this low approaching aircraft. She observed an aircraft which was quite low as it passed over their home so low that it woke their daughter from sleep. She stated that she was not exactly certain of the height of it but was certainly less than 500 feet. She stated she was concerned for her family's safety and was also concerned about the occupants in the aircraft as she felt it was so low she was worried it was in danger of crashing and because of this she dialed 911 and spoke to the nearest RCMP detachment at Tantallon, Nova Scotia.

Constable Phillip MacLellan, RCMP, testified that on the evening of August 17, 2000 at approximately 21:49 hours a call was received from Mrs. Tracy Powell which had been routed to them from 911. Entered in evidence at this time was Exhibit M-1 which was an RCMP incident report which had been faxed to the Transport Canada Enforcement Branch outlining the phone call they had received from Mrs. Powell about the complaint of a low flying aircraft. The call was received at the RCMP detachment at approximately 21:49 and Constable MacLellan estimated that the call to 911 would have been made two to three minutes prior to that which established the time of Mrs. Powell's call to 911 at approximately 9:45 p.m. local time.

Mr. Alan Coomber, Aviation Enforcement Inspector, Department of Transport, identified a preliminary report labelled as Exhibit M-2 which is a summation of a narrative given to the RCMP by Mrs. Powell. (Complainant stated to RCMP Tantallon Detachment that aircraft flew low over her house. The estimated altitude was 20 feet above their house. The aircraft was so low that cars stopped to look at it. It was a single engine aircraft and the engine was sputtering as it headed towards Shearwater.)

Mr. Terrill (Terry) Thompson, Civil Aviation Safety Inspector, Department of Transport, testified that he was the main investigating officer in this complaint. He stated that as the area adjacent to the Powells' home is a training area and the only Flying Club operating in the region is the Shearwater Flying Club. He contacted the Shearwater Flying Club and spoke to a flight dispatcher and asked if they had any aircraft in that region at that time of day. They stated yes, there was one aircraft in the region that was conducting training at that time, and the pilot-in-command was Mr. Dale Langthorne.

He then spoke with Mr. Langthorne who admitted that he was in that general area during that time period. Mr. Langthorne stated that he departed Shearwater at 21:18 hours local and returned at 22:37 hours local. He was teaching night flying to a student named Matthew Bradbury and he was showing him what a forced landing would look like at night. When asked at what altitude he overshot, he said at about 400 feet above ground level. When asked if he could remember what the altimeter reading was he said "no". This conversation was submitted as Exhibit M-3. Also submitted at this time was a document detailing Mr. Langthorne's aviation licences and credentials showing that he held a commercial pilot licence for single and multi-engine, an instructor rating Class 3, an instrument rating Group 1, and was medically fit. This was submitted as Exhibit M-4. A photocopy of the Shearwater Flying Club's daily log for August 17, 2000 was then submitted as Exhibit M-5. It was pointed out by Mr. Thompson that this identified the flight in question with Mr. Langthorne and the student Bradbury. It shows the times as up at 0018z and down at 0137z. It was agreed that these were probably zulu times and would correspond to local time of 9:18 p.m. to 10:37 p.m.. Air time was 1.3 hours, total time was 1.6 hours and this was also entered under the night column. This was submitted as Exhibit M-5. Submitted as Exhibit M-6 by Mr. Thompson is a photocopy of a certificate of registration for one aircraft C-GXVU, 172M owned by the Shearwater Flying Club. Submitted as Exhibit M-7 were photocopies of the local weather at that time as well as an activated flight plan for C-GXVU.

I asked Mr. Thompson why he contacted the Shearwater Flying Club as an initial attempt to identify the plane and the pilot. He stated that there was only one active flying club in that region, the Shearwater Flying Club. The area adjacent, across the road from where the Powells live, is a training area and it would sound from the type of incident that this was most likely a training flight and the most logical place to begin would be the Shearwater Flying Club. The fact that they had a plane in the area at that time carrying out night training and the admission by Mr. Langthorne that it was probably his aircraft responsible for the low flying, contributed to his belief that they had adequately identified the aircraft and the pilot. When asked whether any further attempt was made to identify any other aircraft in the region, he stated that no other attempt was made as he was fairly confident that the proper identification of aircraft and pilot had been made.

Offered by Mr. Thompson as Exhibit M-8 is a typed telephone conversation which he had with Mrs. Tracy Powell on August 23, 2000:

Spoke with Tracy ref case and she confirmed that it was pitch dark when the incident occurred. Her husband was out on the back deck at the time and seen the aircraft coming down. There were also three vehicles that stopped on the road. She said the aircraft woke her six year old daughter who was sleeping upstairs and she started crying. She said there is a what they call 'barrens' just across from their residence (perfect place to practice forced landing into) and the aircraft levelled off right over the barrens and travelled a ways down the field before it climbed away. Her husband stated that he could clearly make out that it was a single engine aircraft and that it was so low he could see the wheels even at night because their back yard is lit up by a security light. I asked her if she would be willing to testify if required and she said she would but her husband would be the best witness. I asked if she thought that he would be willing to testify and she stated she thinks so and she will check with him and call me back. His mother also witnessed the event and may be willing to give a statement. Husband works for Sambro fisheries offices.

Exhibit M-9, text of a telephone call in which arrangements were made for Mr. Powell to meet with Mr. Thompson.

Introduced as Exhibit M-10, is a photocopy of an interview that Mr. Thompson conducted with Mr. Powell on August 25, 2000. Mr. Powell indicated that he would be willing to testify at a Tribunal hearing if needed. He stated that on the evening of August 17, 2000 he witnessed an aircraft fly overhead his personal residence at 3057 Old Sambro Road. The aircraft came from the southeast heading towards the northwest and passed over his home at approximately 150 feet, plus or minus 50 feet. It was dark at that time but they do have an outside security light in the backyard which does provide lighting around the home. He stated that as the aircraft passed over the home the engine was operating but it was more like the sound a car would make with no muffler and as he passed over the top of the house he added power, and the engine became a lot louder causing his six-year-old daughter to wake from sleep. Mr. Powell said that, not only himself but also his wife and mother observed the aircraft as it passed over their home.

Mr. Thompson introduced a series of photos that he took of the Powell residence showing both the front and the back of the home as well as the adjacent area. Using the photographs, Mr. Thompson was able to point out the direction that the aircraft took as it passed over the house.

Mr. Thompson then asked to introduce Exhibit M-12 which is a copy of a telephone conversation that he had with Mr. Langthorne on August 30, 2000. In that conversation Mr. Langthorne stated that he was in agreement with the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) because he was an authorized flight instructor and according to subparagraph 602.15(2)(b)(iv) of the CARs he was entitled to fly lower than the 500 feet for the purposes described. Mr. Thompson stated "I told him that I didn't disagree with this provided he did not create a hazard to person or property." Mr. Langthorne then stated that he would provide a written statement within the time frame allowed in the letter.

Submitted as Exhibit M-13 by Mr. Thompson was a conversation he had with Mr. Mike Whorley, Safety Inspector for Transport Canada, in which he asked Mr. Whorley as to whether it was prudent to be conducting night training for forced approaches. Mr. Whorley stated that it was certainly not prudent and that they would not condone such an action. It is simply not standard practice to teach students forced approaches after dark.

Exhibit M-14 is a letter received by Mr. Thompson from Mr. Dale Langthorne dated September 23, 2000. In that letter Mr. Langthorne admitted that, on the evening of August 17, 2000, he was conducting a training flight with a student beginning his night rating training. He stated that during the first flight of all night ratings he liked to introduce the student to all the emergencies that could possibly happen to them and the differences between night and day and what limited options were available. Mr. Langthorne stated that they did do a forced approach in the training area and the aircraft did descend to approximately 500 feet at which time he asked the student to apply power and do an overshoot, but admitted in the letter that by the time the aircraft had begun to climb it may have descended another 100 to 150 feet.

Mr. Mike Whorley, Safety Inspector for the Department of Transport, stated that his responsibility was flight training in the Atlantic Region. When asked a question regarding training areas he stated that it was not his responsibility to approve training areas used by local flying clubs. Offered as Exhibit M-15 is a copy of a Flight Instructor Guide[1] for aircraft, in particular Exercise 25, Night Flying. Mr. Whorley highlighted number (2) in the advice to instructors which states that when teaching emergency procedures, do not create situations that add risk to the flight. In other words, do not practice accidents. He also highlighted the section on Instruction and Student Practice number (l)(d) which is:

(1) Demonstrate and have the student practise simulated emergency situations including:

[...]

(d) Forced landing procedure while in the circuit;

Mr. Whorley also emphasized that it was not necessary to descend below 500 feet while doing a practice forced approach.

SUMMATION

Mr. Miles, on behalf of the Minister, summed up his case by stating that on balance Mr. Langthorne was in violation of paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs and warranted a monetary penalty. He stated that both Mr. and Mrs. Powell gave testimony that indicated on the night of August 17, 2000 a small single engine aircraft passed low over their home at probably less than 200 feet altitude. Subsequent investigation by Mr. Coomber and Mr. Thompson lead to the identification of the aircraft and the identification of the pilot-in-command as Mr. Dale Langthorne. Mr. Langthorne, in both a telephone conversation with Mr. Thompson as well as a written letter, indicated that it was most likely his aircraft that flew low over the Powells' home on the night in question. Mr. Langthorne felt that as the flight was a training flight that under subparagraph 602.15(2)(b)(iv) that he was allowed to descend below 500 feet. Mr. Miles stated that this is only applicable if the aircraft in question does so without causing a hazard to persons or property on the surface. As Mr. Miles stated, an accident does not need to occur for the hazard to exist.

DISCUSSION

It is unfortunate that Mr. Langthorne, or his student pilot Mr. Bradbury, chose not to attend the hearing.

Certainly the onus is on the Minister to prove that the violation did occur and the monetary penalty is warranted. The testimony of Mr. and Mrs. Powell confirm that there was an aircraft that flew very low over their home on the night of August 17, 2000. The actual altitude of the aircraft cannot be determined as there is some question as to the height of the aircraft but the general consensus of testimony is that the aircraft was probably at no more than 200 feet above ground level.

Although there was only limited investigation as to the identity of the aircraft, the flight log for C-GXVU shows that aircraft was in the immediate area at the time of the low flying incident. The pilot-in-command of that aircraft has been established as Mr. Dale Langthorne. Mr. Langthorne has admitted, both through a telephone conversation that was recorded by Mr. Thompson as well as in a written letter signed by himself to Mr. Thompson, that most likely the aircraft was the aircraft he was in command of and, yes, it is possible they did descend below 500 feet although they were engaged in a training procedure.

As pointed out by both Mr. Thompson and Mr. Whorley, training for forced landing approach at night should only be done in an airport circuit and not off the circuit. The fact that Mr. Langthorne allowed this type of training to be done off the airport exposed not only himself but also the student pilot as well as anyone on the ground to an unnecessary risk. As Mr. Whorley stated, it is not necessary for a training procedure to be carried out at less than 500 feet of altitude and it would appear that during this training procedure the aircraft did descend below an altitude of 500 feet.

For the above reasons I feel that the Minister's case has been proven. Mr. Langthorne was in violation of paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs, and the assessed monetary penalty of $250.00 is warranted.

Dr. Ronald McLeod
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] Published by Transport Canada, TP 975.

Décisions

Dossier no A-2177-33 (TAC)
Dossier no 5504-042560 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Dale Robert Langthorne, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R., ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, al. 602.14(2)b)

Vol à basse altitude, Omission de comparaître à l'audience


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Ronald E. McLeod


Décision : le 9 mars 2001

TRADUCTION

J'estime que le ministre a prouvé sa cause. M. Langthorne a contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et l'imposition d'une amende de 250 $ est justifiée. Ce montant est payable à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le lundi 19 février 2001 à 10 h, à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse).

HISTORIQUE

L'avis d'amende pour contravention déclare ce qui suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Règlement de l'aviation canadien, art. 602.14(2)b), en ce que le ou vers le 17e jour du mois d'août 2000, alors que vous étiez dans les environs de Williamsford, dans la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse, et que vous agissez à titre de commandant de bord d'un aéronef, à savoir, un Cessna 172M portant la marque d'immatriculation canadienne C-GXVU, vous avez utilisé l'aéronef mentionné ci-dessus à une distance inférieure à cinq cents pieds de toute personne ou toute structure.

Une amende de 250 $ a été imposée.

L'audience était prévue pour 10 h mais a été reportée à 10 h 15 pour permettre la comparution de M. Dale Robert Langthorne. M. Langthorne a fait défaut de comparaître. Néanmoins, l'audience a été tenue car le fardeau de preuve appartient au ministre.

Tous les témoins ont été assermentés antérieurement à leur témoignage.

PRÉSENTATION DE LA CAUSE DU MINISTRE

Le premier témoin appelé à comparaître était M. Larry Powell. M. Powell a déclaré qu'il réside à Williamswood, comté de Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Le soir du 17 août 2000, à environ 21 h 30 à 21 h 45, après que la nuit fut tombée, il se trouvait sur le porche de sa maison lorsqu'il a entendu un bruit et a vu ensuite des lumières au-dessus de lui qui se dirigeaient vers sa maison. Il a pu identifier une lumière blanche et une lumière verte provenant d'un petit aéronef. Le moteur faisait peu de bruit alors que l'avion passait au-dessus de lui et le bruit s'est intensifié une fois qu'il a continué sa route. Il a déclaré que l'aéronef allait si lentement qu'il lui était possible de voir les roues qui pendaient de l'aéronef. Il a estimé l'altitude de l'aéronef à environ 150 à 200 pieds au-dessus de sa maison. Il base son estimation d'après l'antenne de télévision d'un voisin qui a une hauteur approximative de 60 pieds et a estimé que l'aéronef se trouvait à une altitude deux fois supérieures à cette hauteur. Il a déclaré qu'une fois que l'aéronef a passé au-dessus de lui, le bruit du moteur s'est intensifié et l'aéronef a effectué un virage serré à droite et a continué sa route en gagnant de l'altitude pour se diriger vers le Northwest Arm (une masse d'eau entre la péninsule de Halifax et Spryfield).

Le témoin suivant était Mme Tracy E. Powell qui demeure à la même adresse. Elle a déclaré que le soir en question, soit le 17 août 2000, elle se trouvait à l'intérieur de la maison lorsque son mari lui a crié de venir à la porte pour voir l'aéronef qui volait très bas vers eux. Elle a remarqué un aéronef qui était à une altitude assez basse alors qu'il volait au-dessus de leur maison, si basse en fait, qu'il a réveillé leur fille qui dormait à ce moment-là. Elle a déclaré qu'elle ne connaissait pas exactement l'altitude de l'aéronef mais qu'il devait certainement se trouver à moins de 500 pieds. Elle a déclaré qu'elle s'inquiétait de la sécurité des membres de sa famille et des occupants de l'aéronef car ce dernier volait à si basse altitude qu'elle craignait qu'il ne s'écrase; elle a donc appelé le 911 et a parlé à une personne du détachement de la GRC le plus proche à Tantallon en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Gendarme Phillip MacLellan, de la GRC, a témoigné que le soir du 17 août 2000, à environ 21 h 49, un appel a été reçu de Mme Tracy Powell que le 911 leur avait acheminé. La pièce M-1 a été déposée en preuve à ce moment, laquelle consistait en un rapport d'incident de la GRC qui a été transmis par télécopieur à la direction de la surveillance de Transports Canada traçant les grandes lignes de l'appel téléphonique reçu de Mme Powell relativement à une plainte portant sur la basse altitude d'un aéronef. L'appel a été reçu par le détachement de la GRC à environ 21 h 49 et le gendarme MacLellan a estimé que l'appel au 911 aurait été fait deux à trois minutes avant celui-là, qui établit l'heure de l'appel de Mme Powell au 911 à environ 9 h 45, heure locale.

M. Alan Coomber, inspecteur du service Application des règlements de l'aéronautique, ministère des Transports, a identifié un rapport préliminaire, coté M-2, qui consiste en un résumé de la narration donnée par Mme Powell à la GRC. (La plaignante a déclaré au détachement Tantallon de la GRC qu'un aéronef volait à une basse altitude au-dessus de leur maison. L'altitude estimée était de 20 pieds au-dessus de la maison. L'aéronef était si bas que des autos se sont arrêtées pour y jeter un coup d'oeil. Il s'agissait d'un aéronef monomoteur et le moteur en question avait des ratés alors qu'il amorçait sa route vers Shearwater.)

M. Terrill (Terry) Thompson, inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation civile, ministère des Transports, a témoigné qu'il était l'officier principal dans le cadre de cette plainte. Il a déclaré que la zone adjacente à la maison des Powell est une zone d'entraînement et le seul aéroclub dans la région est le Shearwater Flying Club. Il est entré en contact avec un agent d'opérations du Shearwater Flying Club et lui a demandé si un aéronef se trouvait dans cette région à ce moment de la journée. Il a répondu à l'affirmative, qu'il y avait bel et bien un aéronef dans la région qui dispensait de l'entraînement en vol à ce moment-là et que le commandant de bord était M. Dale Langthorne.

Il a parlé ensuite à M. Langthorne qui a admis qu'il se trouvait dans cette région durant cette période de temps. M. Langthorne a déclaré qu'il avait quitté Shearwater à 21 h 18, heure local et est revenu à 22 h 37 heure locale. Il enseignait le vol de nuit à un étudiant qui se nommait Matthew Bradbury et il lui montrait ce qu'un atterrissage forcé aurait l'air durant la nuit. Lorsqu'on lui a demandé à quelle altitude il a remis les gaz, il a répondu à environ 400 pieds au-dessus du sol. Lorsqu'on lui a demandé s'il se rappelait ce que l'altimètre indiquait, il a répondu « non ». Cette conversation a été déposée sous la cote M-3. Un autre document a été déposé décrivant les licences d'aviation et autres titres de compétence de M. Langthorne et qui démontrait qu'il détenait une licence de pilote professionnel pour aéronefs monomoteurs et multimoteurs, une qualification d'instructeur de vol de classe 3, une qualification de vol aux instruments de groupe 1 et qu'il était physiquement apte. Cette preuve a été déposée sous la cote M-4. Une photocopie du carnet de route du Shearwater Flying Club pour la journée du 17 août 2000 a été ensuite déposée comme pièce M-5. M. Thompson a fait remarquer que ce carnet permettait d'identifier le vol en question ayant à son bord M. Langthorne et l'étudiant Bradbury. Il démontre les heures de décollage à 0018z et d'atterrissage à 0137z. On a convenu qu'il s'agissait probablement d'heures zulu qui correspondaient aux heures locales s'échelonnant de 21 h 18 à 22 h 37. Le temps de vol réel était de 1,3 heure, le temps total de 1,6 heure et ces données étaient indiquées dans la colonne de nuit. Déposée sous la cote M-6 par M. Thompson se trouve une photocopie d'un certificat d'immatriculation C-GXVU, 172M pour un aéronef appartenant au Shearwater Flying Club. Déposées sous la pièce M-7 se trouvent des photocopies de la météo locale à ce moment-là ainsi qu'un plan de vol activé pour le C-GXVU.

J'ai demandé à M. Thompson les raisons pour lesquelles il était entré en contact avec le Shearwater Flying comme tentative initiale d'identifier l'avion et le pilote. Il déclara qu'il s'agissait du seul aéroclub actif de la région. Dans la région adjacente, qui se situe en face de l'endroit où habitent les Powell, se trouve une zone d'entraînement et l'incident semble typique d'un vol d'entraînement et l'endroit le plus logique où commencer les recherches était le Shearwater Flying Club. Le fait que dans la région à ce moment-là se trouvait un avion qui enseignait le vol de nuit et l'admission de M. Langthorne selon laquelle son aéronef était probablement responsable de l'incident de basse altitude, a confirmé ses soupçons voulant qu'ils avaient identifié avec exactitude l'aéronef et le pilote. Lorsqu'on lui a demandé si on avait tenté d'identifier d'autres aéronefs qui se trouvaient dans la région, il a déclaré qu'aucune autre tentative n'avait été effectuée car il était confiant qu'on avait identifié adéquatement l'aéronef et le pilote.

M. Thompson a déposé en pièce M-8 une reproduction dactylographiée d'une conversation téléphonique qu'il a eue avec Mme Tracy Powell le 23 août 2000 :

J'ai parlé à Mme Tracy [Powell] concernant sa cause et elle m'a confirmé qu'il faisait nuit noire lorsque l'incident est survenu. Son mari se trouvait à l'extérieur sur le patio arrière à ce moment-là et avait vu l'aéronef descendre. Trois véhicules ont arrêté également sur le bord de la route. Elle a affirmé que l'aéronef avait réveillé sa fille de six ans qui dormait en haut et que cette dernière s'est mise à pleurer. Elle a dit qu'il y a ce qu'ils appellent les « landes » juste en face de leur résidence (la place idéale pour pratiquer l'atterrissage forcé) et l'aéronef s'est redressé vers la droite par-dessus les landes et est descendu vers le terrain pour reprendre de l'altitude. Son mari a déclaré qu'il pouvait clairement affirmer qu'il s'agissait d'un monomoteur et qu'il se trouvait à si basse altitude qu'il pouvait repérer les roues même s'il faisait nuit, car leur cour arrière se trouve à être illuminée par des lampes de sécurité. J'ai demandé à Mme Powell si elle était prête à venir témoigner et elle pensait que oui et qu'elle vérifierait auprès de son mari et qu'elle me rappellerait. Sa mère a également été témoin de l'événement et serait peut-être prête à rendre un témoignage. Son mari travaille au bureau des Sambro fisheries.

La pièce M-9 consiste en un texte qui relate l'appel téléphonique aux termes duquel des dispositions ont été prises afin que M. Powell puisse rencontrer M. Thompson.

Une photocopie d'une entrevue que M. Thompson a menée auprès de M. Powell le 25 août 2000 a été déposée sous la cote M-10. M. Powell a indiqué qu'il était prêt à témoigner dans le cadre d'une audience du Tribunal si cela s'avérait nécessaire. Il a déclaré que le soir du 17 août 2000, il a constaté qu'un aéronef volait au-dessus de sa résidence personnelle située au 3057, Old Sambro Road. L'aéronef provenait du sud-est et se dirigeait vers le nord-ouest et a passé au-dessus de sa maison à environ 150 pieds, plus ou moins 50 pieds. Il faisait noir à ce moment-là mais la lampe de sécurité qui se trouve dans la cour arrière fournit de l'éclairage autour de la maison. Il a affirmé que tandis que l'aéronef passait au-dessus de leur maison, le moteur fonctionnait mais il s'agissait plutôt d'un bruit qui rappelle celui d'une voiture n'ayant pas de silencieux et, alors qu'il passait au-dessus de la maison, il a mis les gaz et le bruit du moteur s'est intensifié ce qui a réveillé sa fille de six ans. M. Powell a affirmé qu'il avait non seulement lui-même observé l'aéronef alors qu'il volait au-dessus de leur maison et qu'il en était de même pour son épouse et la mère de celle-ci.

M. Thompson a produit une série de photos qu'il a prises de la résidence des Powell montrant à la fois le devant et l'arrière de la maison ainsi que la zone adjacente. À l'aide des photographies, M. Thompson a été en mesure d'indiquer la direction vers laquelle l'aéronef se dirigeait après avoir passé par-dessus la maison.

M. Thompson a demandé ensuite à produire en preuve la pièce M-12 qui est une copie de la conversation téléphonique qu'il a eue avec M. Langthorne le 30 août 2000. Dans cette conversation, M. Langthorne a déclaré qu'il se conformait au Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) car il était un instructeur de vol autorisé et que conformément au sous-alinéa 602.15(2)b)(iv) du RAC, il était autorisé à piloter à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds pour les fins qui y sont décrites. M. Thompson a déclaré : « Je lui ai dit que je ne m'opposais pas à cela en autant que la situation ne mettait pas en danger une personne ou une propriété. » M. Langthorne a déclaré ensuite qu'il fournirait une déclaration écrite dans les délais accordés dans la lettre.

Déposée comme pièce M-13 par M. Thompson se trouve une conversation que ce dernier a eue avec M. Mike Whorley, inspecteur de la sécurité pour Transports Canada, et dans laquelle il demande à M. Whorley s'il était prudent de dispenser de l'entraînement de vol de nuit dans le cadre d'approches forcées. M. Whorley a déclaré que cela n'était certainement pas prudent et que ce genre de comportement ne saurait être toléré. Enseigner aux étudiants les approches forcées durant la nuit ne constitue vraiment pas une pratique courante.

La pièce M-14 consiste en une lettre datée du 23 septembre 2000 de M. Dale Langthorne reçue par M. Thompson. Dans cette lettre, M. Langthorne admet que, le soir du 17 août 2000, il pilotait un vol d'entraînement avec un étudiant dans le but de débuter l'entraînement de qualification de vol de nuit de ce dernier. Il a déclaré que, lors de leur premier vol de qualification de vol de nuit, il aime initier les étudiants à toutes les situations d'urgence auxquelles ils peuvent être confrontés et aux différences entre le jour et la nuit et aux options restreintes qui s'offrent à eux. M. Langthorne a déclaré qu'il avait effectivement fait une approche forcée et que l'aéronef était descendu à environ 500 pieds et qu'alors, il a demandé à l'étudiant de mettre les gaz et d'effectuer un débordement, mais a admis dans sa lettre que, le temps que l'aéronef amorce sa montée, il a pu redescendre d'une altitude de 100 à 150 pieds.

M. Mike Whorley, inspecteur de la sécurité du ministère des Transports, a déclaré qu'il avait la responsabilité de l'entraînement en vol pour la région de l'Atlantique. Lorsqu'on lui a posé une question relative aux zones d'entraînement, il a déclaré qu'il ne lui incombait pas d'approuver les zones d'entraînement utilisées par les aéroclubs locaux. Produite en preuve comme pièce M-15 se trouve une copie du Guide de l'instructeur de vol[1] pour les aéronefs, plus particulièrement l'exercice 25 intitulé vol de nuit. M. Whorley a soulevé le numéro (2) au chapitre des conseils à l'instructeur qui affirme que pendant l'enseignement de procédures d'urgence, il ne faut pas créer de situations qui menacent la sécurité du vol. En d'autres mots, il ne faut pas s'exercer à faire des accidents. Il a souligné également la section portant sur l'instruction et l'excercice de l'étudiant au numéro (1)(d) qui dispose ce qui suit :

(1) Démontrer comment se sortir de situations d'urgence simulées et demander ensuite à l'étudiant de s'y exercer :

[...]

(d) procédure d'atterrissage forcé dans le circuit;

M. Whorley a souligné également qu'il n'était pas nécessaire de descendre à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds alors qu'on s'exerce à effectuer une approche forcée.

RÉSUMÉ DE LA PREUVE

M. Miles, au nom du ministre, a résumé sa cause en déclarant que, selon la balance des probabilités, M. Langthorne violait l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du RAC, ce qui justifiait l'imposition d'une amende. Il a déclaré que M. et Mme Powell avaient offert un témoignage qui indiquait que le soir du 17 août 2000, un petit aéronef monomoteur a passé à basse altitude au-dessus de leur maison, soit à une altitude probable inférieure à 200 pieds. Une enquête ultérieure menée par M. Coomber et M. Thompson a permis d'identifier l'aéronef et d'identifier le commandant de bord comme étant M. Dale Langthorne. M. Langthorne, tant lors d'une conversation téléphonique avec M. Thompson qu'aux termes d'une lettre, a indiqué que c'est possiblement son aéronef qui volait à basse altitude le soir en question. M. Langthorne estimait que comme il s'agissait d'un vol d'entraînement, que le sous-alinéa 602.15(2)b)(iv) lui permettait de descendre à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds. M. Miles a déclaré que cette disposition s'applique uniquement dans les cas où l'aéronef en question vole à une telle altitude sans causer de danger aux personnes ou aux propriétés en surface. Et comme l'a ajouté M. Miles, un accident n'a pas à survenir pour que le danger existe.

DISCUSSION

Il est malheureux que M. Langthorne, ou son pilote étudiant M. Bradbury, ait choisi de ne pas se présenter à l'audience.

Chose certaine, le fardeau de prouver qu'il y a eu violation et qu'une amende était justifiée appartenait au ministre. Le témoignage de M. et Mme Powell confirme qu'un aéronef volait à basse altitude au-dessus de leur maison le soir du 17 août 2000. L'altitude réelle de l'aéronef ne peut être déterminée car on ne s'entend pas sur la hauteur de l'aéronef mais selon tous les témoignages, l'avis unanime est que l'aéronef volait probablement à une altitude maximum de 200 pieds au-dessus du sol.

Bien que peu d'enquêtes aient été menées pour identifier l'aéronef, le carnet de route du C-GXVU montre que l'aéronef se trouvait dans la zone immédiate au moment où l'incident de basse altitude s'est produit. Le commandant de bord de cet aéronef a été identifié comme étant M. Dale Langthorne. M. Langthorne a admis, tant dans une conversation téléphonique enregistrée par M. Thompson que dans une lettre signée par lui, qu'il s'agissait probablement de l'aéronef qu'il pilotait et que, oui, il est possible qu'ils aient descendu à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds, bien qu'ils aient entrepris une procédure d'entraînement.

Comme l'ont souligné MM. Thompson et Whorley, l'entraînement visant à effectuer une approche d'atterrissage forcé durant la nuit ne devrait être exercé que dans un circuit d'aéroport et non hors circuit. Le fait que M. Langthorne a permis que ce type d'entraînement se fasse à l'extérieur d'un circuit d'aéroport non seulement l'exposait, lui, à un risque inutile mais exposait également le pilote étudiant ainsi que quiconque se trouvait sur la surface. Comme M. Whorley l'a déclaré, il n'est pas nécessaire qu'une procédure d'entraînement soit menée à moins de 500 pieds d'altitude et il semble que durant la procédure d'entraînement qui nous concerne, l'aéronef est descendu effectivement à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds.

Pour toutes ces raisons, j'estime que la cause du ministre a été prouvée. M. Langthorne a violé l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du RAC et l'amende de 250 $ est justifiée.

Dr Ronald McLeod
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] Publié par Transports Canada, numéro TP 975.