Decisions

TATC File No. A-2865-33
MoT File No. MA5504-048624

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Bradley MacKay, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, section 602.01


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: December 23, 2003

The Minister has not proven each element of the allegation. The low flight over the farm has not been established. Therefore the additional issue of whether the flight was conducted in a negligent or reckless manner does not arise. The allegation is dismissed.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, November 20, 2003 at 10:00 hours at the Truro Justice Centre Court House, in Truro, Nova Scotia.

BACKGROUND

The Rockey family resides on a farm at 2752 Highway 289 in the general vicinity of Middle Stewiacke, Nova Scotia. On September 1, 2002 in the early evening, Mr. and Mrs. Rockey were in their residence on the farm and their son Corey was working in a garage yard close to the house.

At about 6:30 p.m. their attention was drawn by a loud noise. Mrs. Rockey was inside the house and was not afforded a view but stated that she had heard an aircraft fly low overhead. Mr. Rockey was in the house watching television but looked out the window toward the barn where he saw an aircraft approaching from that direction. It continued on and accelerated over the property. Mr. Corey Rockey, outside in the yard, also saw an aircraft approach from over the barn and fly over the property. Neither of the gentlemen was able to ascertain a registration number but both were later able to provide a general description of the aircraft.

Mr. Rockey contacted Transport Canada to complain about the incident. An investigator came out after the weekend to look into the matter. The general description of the aircraft provided by the men matched that of an aircraft which was utilized on a nearby airfield for a parachute school. After further inquiries about the parachute school the inspector concluded that a contravention had taken place. Transport Canada made an allegation against the person they believed to have operated the aircraft in the following form:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulations, s. 602.01, in that at approximately 18:30 hours local time, on or about September 1, 2002, at or near Middle Stewiacke, Nova Scotia, you operated a Cessna 182 aircraft bearing Canadian Civil Registration marks C-FNXM, in such a reckless or negligent manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person.

Specifically, by flying low over a farm, you endangered the lives and property of persons on that farm.

[Penalty: $1,000.00]

THE LAW

602.01 No person shall operate an aircraft in such a reckless or negligent manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person.

EVIDENCE

Transport Canada

The residents of the Rockey household provided the direct evidence for the Minister's case.

Mr. and Mrs. Rockey were in the house at about 6:30 p.m. when they heard a loud noise. Mrs. Rockey did not see the aircraft but testified to having heard a very loud aircraft noise passing from the back to the front of the house. Mr. Rockey's attention was drawn to the window by the noise. Upon looking out the window he observed an aircraft overfly the barn and descend further such that he could see the wheels below the barn's roof when it was between the barn and house. Then it accelerated over the house and out of sight. Although he did not see the registration numbers he noted that it had a black belly and was otherwise grey but with black wing tips. He was familiar with this aircraft as he had seen it many times before. He estimated that the flight would have been about 25 feet above ground level. Mr. Rockey expressed concern for the safety of his house and livestock as he thought the aircraft was dangerously low.

Mr. Corey Rockey was working in the yard between the house and garage when he heard a noise and looked up toward the barn. There he saw an aircraft skim low over the barn, swoop down lower over the corral before revving up and flying over the house. He did not get the registration but was able to see that it was grey and black. The black was on the hood, the belly and the wing tips. He too was familiar with the aircraft as he had seen it before and knew it was based at a field down the road. Mr. Corey Rockey also expressed concerns for the safety of the flight. He and his father went to check on the horses after the incident.

Photographs of the house, barn, yard, and other outbuildings and surrounding areas and a photo of an aircraft, CF-NXM (NXM) were entered through Transport Canada's investigator. She ascertained that this aircraft was a Cessna 182 registered to Skydive Unlimited.

The picture of the aircraft shows that it is grey with the lower portion of the fuselage, top of the cowling, wing tips and tops of the vertical stabilizer and rudder being black.

A hand drawn depiction of the general area of the flight estimates the distance between the barn and the house to be about 125 feet (Exhibit M-5).

Document Holder

Bradley MacKay admits to being the pilot-in-command of Cessna 182, CF-NXM on September 1, 2002 between 09:35 and 20:10 local time. He denies having overflown the Rockey property.

The aircraft was being utilized as a jump plane for paradrop operations. Mr. MacKay says that he remembers the day in question because it was the busiest day of the year. He flew 17 loads of jumpers during the course of the day. It would have been a waste of his time to go over the Rockey residence.

An aerial photo of the area depicts the paradrop area, airfield and surroundings including the Rockey farm. Mr. MacKay illustrated on the map the approach he makes to the airfield which is at a 45-degree angle to it. That flight path would avoid overflying adjacent property such as the complainant's.

Mr. MacKay is of the opinion that the flight, as described by the Rockeys, could not be accomplished. The aircraft could not descend to the level stated in the space available and climb out again given the close proximity of the house, trees and power lines.

DISCUSSION

It is incumbent upon the Minister to prove each element of the alleged offence on a balance of probabilities. In this case he must establish:

  • that Mr. MacKay was the pilot-in-command of Cessna 182 CF-NXM at about 6:30 p.m., on September 1, 2002 near Middle Stewiacke, Nova Scotia;
  • that Mr. MacKay flew low over the farm in a negligent or reckless manner;
  • that in doing so he endangered the lives and property of persons on that farm.

ISSUE

The time, date and place of a flight in NXM with Mr. MacKay as pilot-in-command are established by his agreed statement. What remains in issue is whether he flew low over the farm as alleged and if so did the flight endanger the life and property of persons on the farm.

The evidence in that regard is in stark contrast.

The Rockeys describe a low flight over their property by an aircraft which fits the description of NXM.

Mr. MacKay admits to being the pilot of the aircraft NXM at the time of the alleged flight but denies that he flew over the farm property.

Held:

The Minister has not proven each element of the allegation. The low flight over the farm has not been established.

REASONS

Certainly one party or the other has not been forthright with me, but I am unable to ascertain, on the evidence before me, which version of "the facts" is to be believed.

The Rockeys seemed forthright and honest in their testimony. Mr. Rees Rockey has complained about aircraft operations in the past. However, I know of no plausible reason as to why they would totally fabricate such a story, one that could be so easily refuted. The description of the flight descending below the level of the barn before pulling up to go over the house is most unlikely, given the close proximity of the buildings. However, I believe the description may be tempered by the perspective from which a moving object was viewed against the background coupled with an admitted ignorance by both witnesses of aircraft operations.

But the pilot was also believable in testimony. His described approach path would keep him clear of local buildings. He testified that on the busiest day of the year it would have been a waste of time to overfly the complainant's property. Why would he take the time on a busy day to fly low over a property that is known to be noise sensitive in a recognizable aircraft knowing that it would be sure to provoke a complaint?

The Minister has not provided sufficient evidence upon which to make a determination. I note from the testimony and viewing documentary evidence that there were sources of possible corroborative evidence that Transport Canada did not pursue. The series of photos entered show a residence across the road from the Rockeys that was noted as being in the aircraft's departure path. If the residents were at home surely they too would have seen or heard the aircraft. Passenger manifests of the staff and jumpers carried in the aircraft were available which would have named potential witnesses. It was stated that jump masters were on the paradrop flights, people who supervised the jumps and then returned with the aircraft. A jumpmaster returning on the aircraft on the salient flight could have been a witness to whatever event actually transpired.

It was suggested to Mr. MacKay in telephone conversation with the investigator that he might supply some of these items such as the manifests or jump masters' names. However, it is incumbent on the Minister to prove the elements of the offence not for the alleged offender to disprove them.

CONCLUSION

The Minister has not proven that the low flight over the farm took place. Therefore the additional issue of whether the flight was conducted in a negligent or reckless manner does not arise. The allegation is dismissed.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no A-2865-33 (TATC)
Dossier no MA5504-048624 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Bradley MacKay, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, article 602.01


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 23 décembre 2003

TRADUCTION

Le ministre n'a pas prouvé chacun des éléments de l'allégation. Le vol à basse altitude au-dessus de la ferme n'a pas été établi. Pour ces motifs, la question en litige additionnelle, à savoir si le vol a été piloté de façon imprudente ou négligente ne se pose pas. L'allégation est rejetée.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 20 novembre 2003 à 10 h au Truro Justice Centre Court House, à Truro (Nouvelle-Écosse).

HISTORIQUE

La famille Rockey réside sur une ferme au 2752, route 289 dans le voisinage de Middle Stewiacke (Nouvelle-Écosse). Le 1er septembre 2002 en début de soirée, M. et Mme Rockey étaient à l'intérieur de leur maison sur la ferme et leur fils Corey travaillait dans la cour d'un garage près de la maison.

Vers 18 h 30, un bruit intense a attiré leur attention. Mme Rockey était à l'intérieur de la maison et ne pouvait voir à l'extérieur mais elle a déclaré avoir entendu un aéronef voler à basse altitude. M. Rockey était à l'intérieur de la maison, en train d'écouter la télévision, mais il a regardé par la fenêtre vers la grange et il a vu un aéronef qui s'approchait en provenance de cette direction. L'aéronef a continué, et a accéléré pour survoler la propriété. M. Corey Rockey était à l'extérieur, dans la cour; il a aussi vu un aéronef s'approcher au-dessus de la grange et voler au-dessus de la propriété. Aucun des hommes n'a pu confirmer le numéro d'immatriculation mais les deux ont été capables par la suite de fournir une description générale de l'aéronef.

M. Rockey a communiqué avec Transports Canada pour se plaindre de l'incident. Un inspecteur est venu après la fin de semaine pour faire une enquête dans l'affaire. La description générale de l'aéronef fournie par les hommes correspondait à celle d'un aéronef qui était utilisé dans un champ avoisinant pour une école de parachutisme. À la suite d'autres vérifications au sujet de l'école de parachutisme, l'inspecteur a conclu qu'une contravention avait eu lieu. Transports Canada a formulé une allégation contre la personne qu'on croyait avoir utilisé l'aéronef de la façon qui suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

À l'article 602.01 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien puisque vers 18 h 30, heure locale, le ou vers le 1er septembre 2002, aux environs de Middle Stewiacke (Nouvelle-Écosse), vous avez utilisé un aéronef Cessna 182, portant les marques d'immatriculation civile canadienne, C-FNXM, de façon imprudente ou négligente qui constitue ou risque de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

Plus particulièrement, en pilotant à basse altitude, au-dessus d'une ferme, vous avez constitué un danger pour la vie et les biens des personnes sur cette ferme.

[Amende :  1 000 $]

LA LOI

602.01 Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef d'une manière imprudente ou négligente qui constitue ou risque de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

LA PREUVE

Transports Canada

Les résidents de la maison familiale des Rockey ont fourni la preuve directe de la cause du ministre.

M. et Mme Rockey étaient à l'intérieur de la maison vers 18 h 30 lorsqu'ils ont entendu un bruit intense. Mme Rockey n'a pas vu l'aéronef mais elle a témoigné avoir entendu un bruit très intense d'aéronef qui passait de l'arrière vers l'avant de la maison. Le bruit a attiré l'attention de M. Rockey vers la fenêtre. En regardant par la fenêtre, il a remarqué un aéronef qui survolait la grange et qui est descendu un peu de sorte qu'il a pu apercevoir les roues en-dessous de la ligne du toit de la grange alors qu'il était entre la grange et la maison. Il a par la suite accéléré avant de survoler la maison pour ensuite disparaître de son champ de vision. Bien qu'il n'ait pu voir le numéro d'immatriculation, il a remarqué que le ventre était noir, que ses autres parties étaient grises avec des bouts d'aile noirs. Il connaissait cet aéronef puisqu'il l'avait vu à maintes reprises auparavant. Il a estimé que le vol était à environ 25 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol. M. Rockey s'est dit préoccupé de la sécurité de sa maison et de son bétail puisqu'il pensait que l'aéronef était dangereusement bas.

M. Corey Rockey travaillait dans la cour entre la maison et le garage lorsqu'il a entendu un bruit et a regardé en direction de la grange. Il a ensuite vu un aéronef frôler la grange, descendre en piqué au-dessus de l'enclos avant d'accélérer en remontée et de survoler la maison. Il n'a pas vu l'immatriculation mais il a pu voir qu'il était gris et noir. Il était noir sur le capot, le ventre et les bouts d'aile. Lui aussi connaissait l'aéronef étant donné qu'il l'avait déjà vu et il savait qu'il était basé dans un champ en descendant la route. M. Corey Rockey s'est aussi dit préoccupé de la sécurité du vol. Lui et son père sont allés vérifier les chevaux après l'incident.

L'enquêteuse de Transports Canada a déposé en preuve des photographies de la maison, de la grange, de la cour, d'autres dépendances et des environs, de même qu'une photographie d'un aéronef, CF-NXM (NXM). Elle a confirmé que cet aéronef était un Cessna 182, immatriculé au nom de Skydive Unlimited.

Le portrait de l'aéronef montre que la partie inférieure du fuselage est grise et que le dessus du capot, les bouts d'ailes, la dérive et le gouvernail sont noirs.

Une illustration dessinée à la main de l'ensemble du secteur du vol permet d'estimer la distance entre la grange et la maison à 125 pieds environ (pièce M-5).

Titulaire du document

Bradley MacKay admet qu'il était le commandant de bord du Cessna 182, CF-NXM, le 1er septembre 2002, entre 9 h 35 et 20 h 10, heure locale. Il nie avoir survolé la propriété des Rockey.

L'aéronef a été utilisé en tant qu'avion de largage dans le cadre d'opérations de parachutage. M. MacKay dit qu'il se souvient du jour en question parce que c'était un des plus chargés de l'année. Il a effectué 17 voyages de parachutistes au cours de la journée. Survoler le domicile des Rockey aurait donc représenté une perte de temps.

Une photographie aérienne du secteur montre la zone de parachutage, le terrain d'aviation et les environs, y compris la ferme des Rockey. M. MacKay a illustré sur une carte, l'approche qu'il effectue sur le terrain d'aviation, dans un angle de 45 degrés. Cette trajectoire de vol permet d'éviter le survol des propriétés adjacentes, comme celle des plaignants.

M. MacKay est d'avis que le vol ne pouvait avoir été effectué de la façon dont les Rockey l'ont décrit. L'aéronef ne pouvait descendre au niveau mentionné dans l'espace disponible et remonter de nouveau étant donné la proximité de la maison, des arbres et des lignes de transport d'électricité.

DISCUSSION

Il incombe au ministre de prouver chacun des éléments de l'infraction alléguée selon la prépondérance des probabilités. Dans cette cause, il doit établir :

  • que M. MacKay était le commandant de bord du Cessna 182 CF-NXM vers 18 h 30, le 1er septembre 2002, près de Middle Stewiacke (Nouvelle-Écosse);
  • que M. MacKay a survolé la ferme de façon négligente ou imprudente;
  • que, ce faisant, il a constitué un danger pour la vie ou les biens des personnes sur cette ferme.

QUESTION EN LITIGE

L'heure, la date et le lieu d'un vol à bord du NXM dont M. MacKay est le commandant de bord sont établis dans l'exposé conjoint des faits. S'il a survolé la ferme tel qu'allégué et s'il a constitué un danger pour la vie et les biens des personnes sur la ferme demeurent des questions en litige.

La preuve à cet égard s'oppose vivement.

Les Rockey décrivent un vol à basse altitude au-dessus de leur propriété par un aéronef dont la description correspond au NXM.

M. MacKay admet être le pilote de l'aéronef NXM au moment du vol allégué mais nie avoir survolé la propriété de la ferme.

Maintenu :

Le ministre n'a pas prouvé chacun des éléments de l'allégation. Le vol à basse altitude au-dessus de la ferme n'a pas été établi.

MOTIFS

Il est certain qu'une des parties n'a pas été sincère avec moi, mais je suis incapable d'affirmer en me fondant sur la preuve qui est devant moi, quelle version des « faits » est crédible.

Les Rockey semblaient sincères et honnêtes dans leur témoignage. M. Rees Rockey s'est plaint d'opérations d'aéronef auparavant. Toutefois, je ne connais pas de raison plausible pour laquelle ils fabriqueraient de toutes pièces une histoire susceptible d'être réfutée si facilement. La description du vol descendant au-dessus du niveau de la grange avant de remonter pour survoler la maison est plutôt invraisemblable, compte tenu de la proximité des bâtiments. Toutefois, je crois que la description peut être influencée par la perspective dans laquelle un objet en mouvement est vu en juxtaposition sur un arrière-plan et l'ignorance avouée des deux témoins concernant les opérations aériennes.

Le pilote était aussi crédible dans son témoignage. La trajectoire de vol décrite le tenait à l'écart des bâtiments locaux. Il a témoigné qu'au cours d'une des journées les plus chargées de l'année, survoler la propriété des plaignants aurait été une perte de temps. Pourquoi aurait-il pris le temps, alors que la journée était déjà chargée, de survoler une propriété, sachant que ses résidents sont sensibles aux bruits et que son geste allait certainement provoquer une plainte ?

Le ministre n'a pas fourni suffisamment de preuve sur laquelle fonder une décision. Je remarque à partir du témoignage et de la preuve documentaire visuelle que Transports Canada n'a pas exploré certaines sources de preuve corroborante. Les séries de photos présentées montrent une résidence de l'autre côté de la route en face des Rockey qui est désignée comme la trajectoire de départ de l'aéronef. Si les résidants étaient à la maison, ils auraient sans doute vu ou entendu l'aéronef. Le manifeste des passagers citant les passagers et les parachutistes transportés dans l'aéronef était accessible et comprenait sûrement des noms de témoins potentiels. Il a été établi qu'il y avait des moniteurs de sauts sur des vols de parachutage, des gens qui supervisaient les sauts et qui, par la suite, revenaient à bord de l'aéronef. Un moniteur de saut qui revient à bord du dernier vol de l'aéronef aurait pu témoigner sur ce qui ressortait des événements.

Dans une conversation téléphonique avec M. MacKay, l'enquêteuse lui a suggéré de fournir certains de ces éléments, soit les manifestes ou les noms des moniteurs de sauts. Toutefois, il incombe au ministre de prouver les éléments de l'infraction et non au présumé contrevenant de l'infraction de les réfuter.

CONCLUSION

Le ministre n'a pas prouvé que le vol à basse altitude au-dessus de la ferme a eu lieu. Pour ces motifs, la question en litige additionnelle, à savoir si le vol a été conduit de façon négligente ou imprudente ne se pose pas. L'allégation est rejetée.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada