Decisions

TATC File No. A-3013-35
MoT File No. Z5504-053109

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Earl G. Penny, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 571.10(1), 605.85

Maintenance release


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: November 18, 2004

Mr. Earl G. Penny did contravene subsection 571.10(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. I am satisfied that he has learned from this incident and that he is fully cooperative with Transport Canada. In the circumstances, I find that $1,000.00 is a harsh penalty. Accordingly I shall reduce the fine to $500.00. The total penalty of $500.00 must be paid to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Tribunal within thirty-five days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, November 9, 2004 at 9:00 hours at the Career and Learning Centre in the John Cabot Building, in St. John's, Newfoundland.

BACKGROUND

On May 16, 2003, Mr. Earl G. Penny, an aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) licence 204262, signed a maintenance release for Piper PA-31 Navajo aircraft, C-­GMHX, owned by Natuashish Construction Ltd. of Goose Bay Labrador. In the course of a routine inspection of the aircraft maintenance records of the company, on June 23, 2003, Transport Canada maintenance inspector, Mr. Garry Davis, issued a Notice of Suspension suspending the certificate of airworthiness (C of A) of C-GMHX. The Notice of Suspension listed five grounds for the suspension, among which was: "4. The right hand engine cowl flap and motor are unserviceable."

An investigation ensued and Transport Canada Enforcement issued a Notice of Monetary Penalty dated May 6, 2004, under section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, levying a fine of $1,000.00. Mr. Penny applied to the Tribunal for a review, hence this hearing in St. John's Newfoundland on Tuesday, November 9, 2004.

THE LAW

Subsection 571.10(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) states:

571.10 (1) No person shall sign a maintenance release required pursuant to section 605.85 or permit anyone whom the person supervises to sign a maintenance release, unless the standards of airworthiness applicable to the maintenance performed and stated in Chapter 571 of the Airworthiness Manual have been complied with and the maintenance release meets the applicable requirements specified in section 571.10 of the Airworthiness Manual.

Section 605.85 of the CARs states:

605.85 (1) Subject to subsections (2) and (3), no person shall conduct a take-off in an aircraft, or permit a take-off to be conducted in an aircraft that is in the legal custody and control of the person, where that aircraft has undergone maintenance, unless the maintenance has been certified by the signing of a maintenance release pursuant to section 571.10.

(2) Where a maintenance release is conditional on the satisfactory completion of a test flight pursuant to subsection 571.10(4), the aircraft may be operated for the purpose of the test flight if no person is carried on board other than flight crew members and persons necessary for the purpose of making observations that are essential to the test flight.

(3) Following a test flight conducted pursuant to subsection (2), the pilot-in-command shall enter the results of the test flight in the journey log and, where the entry indicates that the results of the test flight are satisfactory, that entry completes the maintenance release required by subsection (1).

(4) No maintenance release is required in respect of tasks identified as elementary work in the Aircraft Equipment and Maintenance Standards.

EVIDENCE

The Minister led evidence and 14 exhibits from two witnesses, both of whom are Transport Canada inspectors. Mr. Garry Davis did the audit of the maintenance records of the aircraft, PA-31 Navajo C-GMHX, and suspended the aircraft's C of A on June 23, 2003. He then turned the matter over to the Enforcement Branch, and Inspector Gary Perry was assigned to the case. The burden of proof as to whether an unserviceable cowl flap motor and transmission voids the C of A of the Piper PA-31 aircraft rests with the Minister. In the course of the evidence given and in his cross-examination of Mr. Davis, Mr. Penny admitted that it had been unserviceable for over one year.

Reference to cowl flaps and their operation in the Piper Progressive Inspection 50 Hour Cycle Manual is scant (Exhibit M-10). One has to reference Exhibit M-6, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Type Certificate Data Sheet A20SO, which, inter alia, states engine limits. Also, Exhibit M-7: Civil Aeronautics Manual 3, which, inter alia, prescribes engine cooling provisions and the operation and use of cowl flaps, and the Pilot's Operating Manual, Exhibit M-11, which references the use of the cowl flaps to keep engine temperatures within limits.

The two witnesses, Messrs. Davis and Perry, referenced these documents throughout their evidence, while establishing the certification basis for the PA-31 in Canada.

Mr. Coomber exhaustively referenced these exhibits through his witnesses, Messrs. Perry and Davis, both of whom I found highly credible in the direct and straightforward manner they delivered their evidence. Mr. Coomber particularly highlighted the safety aspect of a possible left engine failure in flight, when the right engine would have been stressed beyond its temperature limits with the right cowl flap wired closed.

Mr. Penny took the stand but really had little to say in his own defence. He acknowledged that he had made a mistake. At no time did Mr. Penny seek to hide the fact that he had wired the right engine cowl flap closed. He acknowledged that ignorance of the law is no excuse, but said that he could find no specific reference to the importance of the cowl flaps in the maintenance manual detailing their effect on the C of A. He finds that the fine imposed upon him is harsh in the circumstances.

DETERMINATION

Mr. Penny has admitted his mistake. He has never sought to hide what he did and Transport Canada found him fully cooperative at all times. The flow of cooling air is of critical importance through a close-cowled engine, such as the Lycoming TIO-540 fitted to the Navajo. Mr. Penny should know this as an experienced AME. Further, he should have cross-referenced the other documents under reference above. However, the fact that the aircraft flew for over one year with an inoperative right cowl flap in the relatively cool environment in Labrador is a matter of luck, and may have clouded his judgment as to the importance of this component and its effect on the airworthiness of the aircraft.

I am satisfied that Mr. Penny has learned from this incident and that he is fully cooperative with Transport Canada. In the circumstances, I find that $1,000.00 is a harsh penalty. Accordingly I shall reduce the fine to $500.00. I urge Mr. Penny to work with Transport Canada to resolve any future doubts and issues he may have relative to his work as a qualified AME.

At the conclusion of this hearing I have determined that Mr. Earl G. Penny did contravene subsection 571.10(1) of the CARs. For the reasons given above I shall reduce the fine to $500.00.

Philip D. Jardim
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no A-3013-35 (TATC)
Dossier no Z5504-053109 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Earl G. Penny, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, article 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, articles 571.10(1), 605.85

Certification après maintenance


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 18 novembre 2004

TRADUCTION

M. Earl G. Penny a effectivement contrevenu au paragraphe 571.10(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Je suis convaincu qu'il a appris de cet incident et qu'il collabore pleinement avec Transports Canada. Dans les circonstances, je considère que 1 000 $ est une peine sévère. Je réduis donc l'amende de 500 $. L'amende totale de 500 $ est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les trente-cinq jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire citée en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 9 novembre 2004 à 9 heures au Career and Learning Centre dans l'édifice John Cabot de St. John's (Terre-Neuve).

HISTORIQUE

Le 16 mai 2003, M. Earl G. Penny, un technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA), licence 204262, a signé une certification après maintenance pour un aéronef Piper PA-31 Navajo, C-GMHX, propriété de Natuashish Construction Ltd. de Goose Bay, au Labrador. Lors d'un contrôle systématique des dossiers de maintenance de l'aéronef de la compagnie, le 23 juin 2003, l'inspecteur de maintenance de Transports Canada, M. Garry Davis, a délivré un Avis de suspension concernant le certificat de navigabilité (C de N) du C-GMHX. L'Avis de suspension comprenait cinq motifs de suspension, notamment : « 4. Le volet de capot droit et le moteur ne sont pas en état de service. »

Une enquête de l'application de la loi de Transports Canada a eu lieu par la suite et un Avis d'amende pour contravention en date du 6 mai 2004 a été délivré, en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, pour prélever une amende de 1 000 $. M. Penny a demandé une révision au Tribunal, d'où cette audience à St. John's (Terre-Neuve), le mardi 9 novembre 2004.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 571.10(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) prévoit :

571.10 (1) Il est interdit à toute personne de signer une certification après maintenance exigée en vertu de l'article 605.85, ou de permettre à une personne qu'elle supervise de signer une telle certification, à moins que les normes de navigabilité qui sont applicables aux travaux de maintenance effectués et qui sont énoncées au chapitre 571 du Manuel de navigabilité n'aient été respectées et que la certification après maintenance ne satisfasse aux exigences applicables énoncées à l'article 571.10 du Manuel de navigabilité.

L'article 605.85 du RAC prévoit :

605.85 (1) Sous réserve des paragraphes (2) et (3), il est interdit à toute personne d'effectuer le décollage d'un aéronef dont elle a la garde et la responsabilité légales ou de permettre à toute personne d'effectuer un tel décollage lorsque l'aéronef a été soumis à un travail de maintenance, à moins que ce travail n'ait été certifié au moyen d'une certification après maintenance signée conformément à l'article 571.10.

(2) Lorsqu'un aéronef doit réussir un vol d'essai pour obtenir une certification après maintenance en application du paragraphe 571.10(4), il peut être utilisé à cette fin pourvu que seuls soient transportés à bord les membres d'équipage de conduite et les personnes nécessaires pour noter les observations essentielles au vol d'essai.

(3) À la suite d'un vol d'essai effectué en application du paragraphe (2), le commandant de bord de l'aéronef doit inscrire les résultats du vol d'essai dans le carnet de route et, lorsque l'inscription indique que les résultats du vol d'essai sont satisfaisants, cette inscription termine le processus de la certification après maintenance exigée en application du paragraphe (1).

(4) Une certification après maintenance n'est pas exigée dans le cas de travaux élémentaires visés dans les Normes relatives à l'équipement et à la maintenance des aéronefs.

LA PREUVE

Le ministre a présenté sa preuve, soit 14 pièces par l'entremise de deux témoins qui sont tous deux des inspecteurs de Transports Canada. M. Garry Davis a effectué la vérification des dossiers de maintenance de l'aéronef, PA-31 Navajo C-GMHX et a suspendu le C de N de l'aéronef, le 23 juin 2003. Il a ensuite transféré l'affaire à la Division de l'application de la loi et l'inspecteur Gary Perry a été assigné à ce cas. Le fardeau de la preuve à savoir si le volet du capot du moteur et la transmission annulent le C de N de l'aéronef Piper PA-31 repose sur le ministre. En présentant sa preuve lors de son contre-interrogatoire de M. Davis, M. Penny a admis qu'il était hors de service depuis plus d'un an.

Les références aux volets du capot et à leur fonctionnement dans le manuel d'inspection Piper Progressive Inspection 50 Hour Cycle sont insuffisantes (pièce M-10). Il faut se référer à la pièce M-6, la fiche de données de certificat de type A20SO de la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), laquelle établit, entre autres, les limites du moteur. De plus, à la pièce M-7, le Civil Aeronautics Manual 3, on indique notamment les dispositions de refroidissement du moteur, le fonctionnement et l'utilisation des volets du capot, et dans le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion, à la pièce M-11, on traite de l'utilisation des volets du capot pour maintenir la température du moteur dans les limites.

Les deux témoins, MM. Davis et Perry, ont fait référence à ces documents tout au long de leur preuve, en exposant les fondements de la certification du PA-31, au Canada.

M. Coomber a abondamment fait référence à ces pièces par l'intermédiaire de ses témoins, MM. Perry et Davis, qui étaient, à mon avis, tous deux crédibles dans la façon franche et honnête avec laquelle ils ont livré leur témoignage. M. Coomber a plus particulièrement abordé la question de la sécurité relative à une défectuosité possible du moteur gauche lors d'un vol, alors que le moteur droit aurait dépassé ses limites de température avec le volet droit du capot fermé par un fil.

M. Penny a témoigné mais avait vraiment peu à dire pour sa propre défense. Il a reconnu qu'il avait fait une erreur. M. Penny n'a aucunement cherché à cacher le fait qu'il avait attaché le volet de capot du moteur droit pour le fermer. Il a reconnu que l'ignorance de la loi ne constitue pas une excuse mais il a dit qu'il ne pouvait trouver aucune référence précise à l'importance des volets du capot dans le manuel de maintenance et le détail des incidences sur le C de N. Il considère que, dans les circonstances, l'amende imposée est sévère.

DÉCISION

M. Penny a admis son erreur. Il n'a jamais cherché à cacher ce qu'il avait fait et Transports Canada a considéré qu'il avait toujours été entièrement coopératif. La circulation d'air de refroidissement est d'une importance critique pour un moteur dont le volet est fermé, tel le Lycoming TIO-540 sur le Navajo. M. Penny aurait dû savoir cela à titre de TEA expérimenté. De plus, il aurait dû faire un recoupement avec les autres documents susmentionnés. Néanmoins, le fait que l'aéronef ait volé pendant plus d'un an avec un volet de capot droit inopérant dans un environnement relativement frais du Labrador est une affaire de chance et a sans doute entaché son jugement quant à l'importance de cette composante et son incidence sur la navigabilité de l'aéronef.

Je suis convaincu que M. Penny a appris de cet incident et qu'il est entièrement coopératif avec Transports Canada. Dans les circonstances, je considère que 1 000 $ constitue une peine sévère. En conséquence, je réduis l'amende à 500 $. J'incite M. Penny à travailler avec Transports Canada pour résoudre tout autre doute éventuel et les questions qu'il est susceptible d'avoir concernant son travail à titre de TEA qualifié.

À la conclusion de cette audience, j'ai décidé que M. Earl G. Penny a effectivement contrevenu au paragraphe 571.10(1) du RAC. Pour les raisons susmentionnées, je réduis l'amende à 500 $.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada