Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1138-37
MoT File No. NAP6504-C6788-026025

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Regionnair Inc., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Aircraft Seats and Safety-Belts Order, (Air Navigation Order, Series II, No. 2), s. 4(1)

Seats, Safety belts and Safety Harnesses


Review Determination
Suzanne Jobin


Decision: April 2, 1996

TRANSLATION

The Tribunal upholds the decision of the Minister of Transport that the Respondent contravened subsection 4(1) of the Aircraft Seats and Safety-Belts Order, Air Navigation Order, Series II, No. 2. In view of the fact that this was a first offence of the said Order, the Tribunal reduces the amount of the monetary penalty, set at $1,000 by the Minister of Transport, to $750. The $750 penalty is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and sent to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, March 19, 1996, at 10:00 hours at the Sept-Iles Courthouse, in Sept-Iles, Quebec.

BACKGROUND

On September 8, 1995, Transport Canada sent the Respondent a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty, which reads in part as follows:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s): Aircraft Seats and Safety-Belts Order (Air Navigation Order, Series II, No. 2, subsection 4(1)).

On December 12, 1994, at about 20:00 UTC, the aircraft registered as C-FJCL made a flight, landing at Tête-à-la-Baleine, during which there was no approved safety-belt for one of the passengers on board.

The Respondent, as the registered owner of the aircraft, was fined $1,000.

THE LAW

Section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act stipulates as follows:

7. 7 (1) Where the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister shall notify the person of the allegations against the person in such form as the Governor in Council may by regulation prescribe, specifying in the notice, in addition to any other information that may be so prescribed,

(a) subject to any regulations made under paragraph 7.6(1)(b), the amount that is determined by the Minister, in accordance with such guidelines as the Minister may make for the purpose, to be the amount that must be paid to the Minister by the person as the penalty for the contravention in the event that the person does not wish to appear before a member of the Tribunal to make representations in respect of the allegations;

Subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act stipulates as follows:

8. 4 (1) The registered owner of an aircraft may be proceeded against in respect of and found to have committed an offence under this Part in relation to the aircraft for which another person is subject to be proceeded against unless, at the time of the offence, the aircraft was in the possession of a person other than the owner without the owner's consent and, where found to have committed the offence, the owner is liable to the penalty provided as punishment therefor.

Subsections 4(1) and 4(2) of the Air Navigation Order, Series II, No. 2, entitled Aircraft Seats and Safety-Belts Order, makes the following provision:

4. (1) Subject to subsection (2), no person shall operate an aircraft, except for a purpose referred to in section 13 or 14, unless the aircraft is equipped with an approved seat that is equipped with an approved safety-belt for each person on board the aircraft who is not an infant.

(2) An aircraft may be operated without being equipped with an approved seat that is equipped with an approved safety-belt for a passenger who is carried on a stretcher or in an incubator or other similar device that is restrained by a device approved for that purpose.

Sections 13 and 14 referred to in subsection 4(1) concern, respectively, Parachute Operations and Special Purpose Operations, and are not applicable to the present case.

In the applicable Order, "safety-belt" is defined as follows:

means any device that is designed for use in an aircraft to restrain a person and that consists of either a lap strap or a lap strap combined with a shoulder harness; (ceinture de sécurité)

THE FACTS

On December 12, 1994, Lisa Green took flight GIO-1702 on board an aircraft registered as C-FJCL belonging to Regionnair. The aircraft, a DHC-6-200, was travelling from Chevery to Tête-à-la-Baleine.

Onil Chassé was the pilot-in-command of the aircraft and was assisted by a co-pilot, Mario Fafard. No other crew member or employee of the Respondent was on board the aircraft.

Boarding proceeded without formality; the seats had not been assigned, and passengers chose their seats themselves. Lisa Green went to the rear of the aircraft and settled into a seat near Wanda-Lee Evans. She noticed that the seat she had chosen was not equipped with a complete safety-belt. In fact, part of the strap of the safety-belt was being used to secure cargo placed on the floor.

According to her testimony, the flight was packed, and there was no other seat available on the aircraft. She decided not to inform the pilot or co-pilot of the situation for fear she would have to leave the plane. Mrs. Green claims that the crew members did not check, once the passengers had boarded, to ensure that the occupied seats were equipped with safety-belts. An illuminated sign, however, stating that safety-belts should be fastened, was visible at all times.

Wanda-Lee Evans had also noticed that part of the strap of the safety-belt of her companion's seat was being used to secure cargo placed in front. She tried unsuccessfully to notify a crew member of the situation, but did not make an issue of it. Mrs. Evans corroborates Mrs. Green's testimony that all other seats on the aircraft were occupied.

Mr. Onil Chassé maintains that flight GIO-1702 was not full. He states that there were vacant seats and that every seat on the aircraft was equipped with a regulation safety-belt.

This testimony is corroborated by Mario Fafard who explains that as co-pilot, he made the usual checks on December 12, 1994. In this regard, he maintains that before take-off, he made a visual inspection to ensure that all passengers had fastened their safety-belt.

DISCUSSION

The Applicant maintains that on December 12, 1994, the crew of flight GIO-1702 did not perform their duties. In this regard, the Applicant states that Regionnair, its employees or agents, failed to ascertain whether each and every seat on the aircraft occupied by a passenger was equipped with an approved safety-belt.

This reprehensible conduct constitutes a threat to the public safety and could have had unfortunate consequences. The Applicant is therefore asking the Tribunal to uphold the Minister's decision.

The representative for the Respondent maintains that Regionnair complied with the regulation in force. According to its claims, the seat occupied by Mrs. Green was equipped with a safety-belt.

The fact that part of this belt may have been used to secure cargo should not have prevented Lisa Green from using it. The part used to secure cargo on the floor was accessible and Mrs. Green should have retrieved it. At the very least, she could have informed aircraft personnel of the situation or moved to another seat.

Finally, the Respondent maintains that the Minister of Transport has not shown beyond a reasonable doubt that Regionnair committed the offence in question. It therefore asks the Tribunal to dismiss the application of the Minister of Transport.

DETERMINATION

The Aeronautics Act is silent on the applicable criterion for evaluating evidence. The Tribunal, however, maintains that the criterion to be met is the balance of probabilities or the preponderance of evidence. In previous determinations, the Tribunal has had to rule many times on this matter, notably in:

  • Minister of Transport and Thomas Ritchie Phillips
    CAT File C-0014-33
  • Stewart Lake Airways Ltd. and Minister of Transport
    CAT File C-0093-10
  • Minister of Transport and Norman A. Milne
    CAT File C-0090-33
  • Minister of Transport and Clifton W. Armstrong
    CAT File P-0094-33
  • Minister of Transport and 123582 Canada Inc.
    CAT File Q-0274-41
  • Selbstaedt and Minister of Transport
    CAT File C-0081-02
  • Springdale Aviation Ltd. and Minister of Transport
    File CAT A-1048-10

While we are not bound by these determinations, we share the rationale of them all with regard to the applicable criterion for evaluating evidence.

The Aircraft Seats and Safety-Belts Order requires that each seat occupied by a person on board an aircraft be equipped with an approved safety-belt. Now, the evidence presented at the hearing and, specifically, the testimony heard have convinced the Tribunal that on December 12, 1994, the seat occupied by Lisa Green was not equipped with an approved safety-belt as required by the regulation in force.

The evidence also showed that on December 12, 1994, Lisa Green did not conduct herself in a prudent and careful manner. She knew full well that the seat she occupied was not equipped with a complete safety-belt.

She knew, or should have known, the applicable regulatory requirements. This was not the first flight Lisa Green had taken. In this regard, she openly admits that a visible illuminated sign reminded passengers on board that they were to fasten their seat-belts for take-off. Mrs. Green chose not to notify crew members of the situation.

While Lisa Green's conduct was far from blameless, her behaviour cannot excuse the Respondent from its responsibility. Regionnair, its employees or agents should have ensured that all seats occupied during flight GIO-1702 were equipped with a complete approved safety-belt in proper working condition.

Therefore, the Tribunal must confirm the decision of the Minister of Transport that the Respondent contravened subsection 4(1) of the Aircraft Seats and Safety-Belts Order, Air Navigation Order, Series II, No. 2.

The maximum monetary penalty stipulated in the regulation for the contravention in question is now $5,000. The Minister of Transport set the amount of the monetary penalty at $1,000, to take into account the fact that this was the Respondent's first violation of the regulation in question. In the circumstances, the Tribunal reduces the amount of this penalty to $750.

Suzanne Jobin
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1138-37 (TAC)
Dossier no NAP6504-C6788-026025 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Regionnair Inc., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Arrêté sur les sièges et les ceintures de sécurité des aéronefs, (Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série II, n° 2 ) par. 4 (1)
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7

Ceintures de sécurité


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Suzanne Jobin


Décision : le 2 avril 1996

Le Tribunal confirme la décision du ministre des Transports selon laquelle l'intimé a contrevenu au paragraphe 4(1) de l'Arrêté sur les sièges et les ceintures de sécurité des aéronefs, Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série II, no 2. Tenant compte que l'intimé en était à une première infraction à la réglementation mentionnée, le Tribunal réduit à 750 $ le montant de l'amende fixée à 1 000 $ par le ministre des Transports. L'amende de 750 $, payable au Receveur général du Canada, devra être reçue par le Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 19 mars 1996 à 10 h, au Palais de justice de Sept-Îles, Sept-Îles (Québec).

HISTORIQUE

Le 8 septembre 1995, Transports Canada a transmis à l'intimé un Avis d'amende pour contravention qui se lit en partie comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu : à l'Arrêté sur les sièges et les ceintures de sécurité des aéronefs (Ordonnance sur la Navigation aérienne, Série II, Numéro 2, Article 4(1).

Le 12 décembre 1994, vers 2000 UTC, l'aéronef immatriculé C-FJCL a effectué un vol avec atterrissage à Tête-à-la-Baleine lors duquel il n'y avait pas de ceinture de sécurité homologuée de disponible pour un des passagers à bord.

L'intimé, en tant que propriétaire enregistré de l'aéronef, s'est vu imposé une amende de 1 000 $.

LE DROIT

L'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit ce qui suit :

7. 7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, l'informe des faits reprochés par un avis établi en la forme et comportant les renseignements que le gouverneur en conseil peut déterminer par règlement et y indique :

a) sous réserve des règlements d'application de l'alinéa 7.6(1)b), le montant qu'il détermine, conformément aux critères qu'il peut établir à cette fin, et qui doit être payé à titre d'amende pour la contravention lorsque la personne ne désire pas comparaître devant un conseiller pour présenter ses observations sur les faits reprochés.

Le paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique spécifie ce qui suit :

8. 4 (1) Lorsqu'une personne peut être poursuivie en raison d'une infraction à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application relative à un aéronef, le propriétaire enregistré peut être poursuivi et encourir la peine prévue, à moins que, lors de l'infraction, l'aéronef n'ait été en possession d'un tiers sans le consentement du propriétaire.

Les paragraphes 4(1) et (2) de l'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série II, no 2, intitulée Arrêté sur les sièges et les ceintures de sécurité des aéronefs prévoient ce qui suit :

4. (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (2), il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef, sauf aux fins visées aux articles 13 ou 14, à moins que cet aéronef ne soit équipé d'un siège homologué muni d'une ceinture de sécurité homologuée, pour chaque personne à bord qui n'est pas un enfant en bas âge.

(2) Un aéronef peut être utilisé sans siège homologué muni d'une ceinture de sécurité homologuée pour un passager transporté sur une civière, dans un incubateur ou à l'aide d'un dispositif semblable qui est retenu à bord de l'aéronef au moyen d'un dispositif de retenue homologué.

Les articles 13 et 14 auxquels il est fait référence au paragraphe 4(1) traitent respectivement de parachutage et de travail aérien spécialisé et ne sont pas applicables dans le cas qui nous occupe.

Les termes utilisés pour définir «  ceinture de sécurité  » dans l'Ordonnance applicable sont les suivants :

Tout dispositif qui est conçu pour être utilisé à bord d'un aéronef en vue de retenir une personne et qui se compose d'une sangle sous-abdominale ou d'un ensemble sangle sous-abdominale – ceinture-baudrier. (safety-belt)

LES FAITS

Le 12 décembre 1994, Lisa Green voyageait sur le vol GIO-1702 à bord d'un aéronef immatriculé C-FJCL appartenant à Regionnair. L'aéronef, un DHC-6-200 se rendait de Chevery à Tête-à-la-Baleine.

Onil Chassé était commandant de bord de l'aéronef et était assisté d'un co-pilote, Mario Fafard. Aucun autre membre d'équipage ou employé de l'intimé était présent à bord de l'aéronef.

L'embarquement s'est fait sans formalité, les sièges n'avaient pas été assignés et les passagers choisissaient eux-mêmes une place. Lisa Green s'est dirigée à l'arrière de l'aéronef et s'est installée dans un siège à proximité de Wanda-Lee Evans. Elle a remarqué que le siège sélectionné n'était pas muni d'une ceinture de sécurité complète. En effet, une partie de la courroie de la ceinture de sécurité servait à retenir du fret placé au sol.

Selon son témoignage, ce vol était bondé et il n'y avait aucun autre siège disponible dans l'aéronef. Elle a décidé de ne pas aviser le pilote ou le co-pilote de la situation, de crainte de devoir quitter l'aéronef. Mme Green prétend que les membres d'équipage n'ont fait aucune vérification, une fois les passagers embarqués, pour s'assurer que les sièges occupés étaient munis de ceinture de sécurité. Toutefois un signal lumineux indiquant de boucler les ceintures de sécurité était visible en tout temps.

Wanda-Lee Evans avait également remarqué qu'une partie de la courroie de la ceinture de sécurité du banc occupé par sa compagne servait à retenir le fret posé devant. Elle a tenté, sans succès, d'aviser un membre d'équipage de la situation mais n'a pas insisté. Mme Evans corrobore le témoignage de Mme Green à l'effet que tous les autres sièges de l'aéronef étaient occupés.

M. Onil Chassé prétend que le vol GIO-1702 n'était pas complet. Il affirme qu'il y avait des sièges inoccupés et que chacun des sièges de l'aéronef était muni d'une ceinture de sécurité réglementaire.

Ce témoignage est corroboré par Mario Fafard qui explique qu'en tant que premier officier il avait, le 12 décembre 1994, procédé aux vérifications d'usage. À cet égard, il soutient qu'avant le décollage il avait effectué une vérification visuelle afin de s'assurer que tous les passagers avaient bouclé leur ceinture de sécurité.

DISCUSSION

Le requérant soutient que, le 12 décembre 1994, l'équipage du vol GIO-1702 ne s'est pas acquitté de ses tâches. À cet égard, il mentionne que Régionnair, ses employés ou mandataires ont omis de vérifier si tous et chacun des sièges de l'aéronef utilisés par les passagers étaient équipés de ceinture de sécurité homologuée.

Cette conduite répréhensible représente une menace à la sécurité publique et aurait pu avoir des conséquences fâcheuses. Conséquemment, le requérant demande au Tribunal de confirmer la décision du ministre.

Le représentant de l'intimé maintient, pour sa part, que Regionnair s'est conformé à la réglementation en vigueur. Selon ses prétentions, le siège occupé par Mme Green était muni d'une ceinture de sécurité.

Le fait qu'une partie de cette ceinture ait pu servir à retenir du fret n'aurait pas dû empêcher Lisa Green de l'utiliser. La partie servant à retenir le fret au sol était accessible et Mme Green aurait dû la récupérer. Elle aurait pu, tout au moins, informer le personnel de l'aéronef de la situation ou s'installer dans un autre siège.

Finalement l'intimé prétend que le ministre des Transports n'a pas prouvé hors de tout doute raisonnable que Régionnair avait commis l'infraction reprochée. Il demande donc au Tribunal de rejeter la demande du ministre des Transports.

DÉCISION

La Loi sur l'aéronautique est muette sur le critère d'évaluation de la preuve applicable. Toutefois, le Tribunal soutient que le critère exigé doit être celui de la balance des probabilités ou de la prépondérance de la preuve. Dans des décisions antérieures, le Tribunal a eu à se prononcer à maintes reprises sur cette question, notamment dans :

  • Ministre des Transports et Thomas Ritchie Phillips

Dossier C-0014-33 (TAC)

· Stewart Lake Airways Ltd. et Ministre des Transports
Dossier C-0093-10 (TAC)

  • Ministre des Transports et Norman A. Milne

Dossier C-0090-33 (TAC)

  • Ministre des Transports et Clifton W. Armstrong
    Dossier P-0094-33 (TAC)
  • Ministre des Transports et 123582 Canada Inc.

Dossier Q-0274-41 (TAC)

  • Selbstaedt et Ministre des Transports
    Dossier C-0081-02 (TAC)
  • Springdale Aviation Ltd. et Ministre des Transports

Dossier A-1048-10 (TAC)

Bien que ne soyons pas lié par ces décisions, nous partageons le rationnel de l'ensemble de celles-ci sur la question relative au critère d'évaluation de la preuve applicable.

L'Arrêté sur les sièges et les ceintures de sécurité des aéronefs exige que chaque siège occupé par une personne à bord d'un aéronef soit muni d'une ceinture de sécurité homologuée. Or, la preuve présentée à l'audience et plus particulièrement les témoignages entendus ont convaincu le Tribunal que le 12 décembre 1994 le siège occupé par Lisa Green n'était pas muni d'une ceinture de sécurité homologuée tel qu'exigé par la réglementation en vigueur.

La preuve a également démontré que le 12 décembre 1994 Lisa Green ne s'était pas comportée en personne prudente et diligente. Elle savait pertinemment que le siège qu'elle occupait n'était pas muni d'une ceinture de sécurité complète.

Elle connaissait ou aurait dû connaître les exigences réglementaires applicables. Lisa Green n'en était pas à son premier vol. À cet égard, elle admet candidement, qu'une consigne lumineuse visible rappelait aux passagers à bord du vol qu'ils devaient attacher leur ceinture de sécurité en prévision du décollage. Mme Green a choisi de ne pas aviser les membres de l'équipage de la situation.

Bien que la conduite de Lisa Green soit loin d'être irréprochable, son comportement ne saurait exonérer l'intimé de sa responsabilité. Régionnair, ses employés ou mandataires devaient s'assurer que tous les sièges occupés sur le vol GIO-1702 étaient munis d'une ceinture de sécurité complète, homologuée et en bon état de fonctionnement.

Conséquemment, le Tribunal se doit de confirmer la décision du ministre des Transports selon laquelle l'intimé a contrevenu au paragraphe 4(1) de l'Arrêté sur les sièges et les ceintures de sécurité des aéronefs, Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série II, no 2.

Le montant maximal de l'amende prévu à la réglementation pour la contravention reprochée est maintenant de 5 000 $. Le ministre des Transports a fixé à 1 000 $ le montant de l'amende réclamé, tenant compte que l'intimé en était à une première infraction à la réglementation mentionnée. Dans les circonstances, le Tribunal réduit le montant de cet amende à 750 $.

Suzanne Jobin
Conseillère
Tribunal de l'aviation civile