Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1188-33
MoT File No. NAP6504-P333540-027383

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Bruno Touret, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautical Communications Standards and Procedures Order (Air Navigation Order, Series I, No. 2), s.2(1)
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s. 7.7
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c. 2, ss 101(1), 521d)
Mandatory Communication Order, (Air Navigation Order, Series V, No. 34), ss 2, 5, 6, 12

Turning in the vicinity of an aerodrome


Review Determination
Michel Larose


Decision: June 25, 1996

TRANSLATION

The Tribunal confirms the minister of transport's decision to the effect that the respondent contravened paragraph 521(d) of the Air Regulations, but the Tribunal reduces to $100 the amount of the monetary penalty set at $200 by the Minister of Transport. The penalty of $100 is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days following service of this determination.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Friday, March 22, 1996 at 10:00 hours and resumed on May 17, 1996 at 13:00 hours at Montreal, Quebec.

SUBJECT OF THE APPEAL HEARING

Transport Canada, through Mr. Umberto Tamborriello asked the Civil Aviation Tribunal to confirm a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty issued to the Respondent, Mr. Bruno Touret, on November 17, 1995. The Notice of Assessment was in the amount of $200. Mr. Touret was required to pay this amount by December 18, 1995 at the latest, that is to say within a specified time frame. The penalty had been assessed pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, as follows:

7.7.(1) Where the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister shall notify the person of the allegations against the person in such form as the Governor in Council may by regulation prescribe, specifying in the notice, in addition to any other information that may be so prescribed,

(a) subject to any regulations made under paragraph 7.6(1)(b), the amount that is determined by the Minister, in accordance with such guidelines as the Minister may make for the purpose, to be the amount that must be paid to the Minister by the person as the penalty for the contravention in the event that the person does not wish to appear before a member of the Tribunal to make representations in respect of the allegations; and

(b) the time, being not less than thirty days after the date the notice is served or sent, at or before which and the place at which the amount is required to be paid in the event referred to in paragraph (a).

(2) A notice under subsection (1) shall be served personally or by ordinary mail sent to the latest known address of the person to whom the notice relates.

It is alleged that the Respondent contravened paragraph 521(d) of the Air Regulations which states:

521. The pilot-in-command of an aircraft operated on or in the vicinity of an aerodrome shall

[...]

(d) make all turns to the left, when approaching for a landing and after taking off, unless otherwise directed by the Minister or unless an air traffic control unit has authorized a turn or partial turn to the right when desirable in specific instances;

PREAMBLE

On March 13, 1996, Mr. Umberto Tamborriello, Inspector – Regulatory Compliance, Transport Canada wrote to Mr. Bruno Touret (Exhibit R-7) to advise him that he would produce two eyewitnesses of the alleged incident which occurred on June 14, 1995, namely; Messrs Carol Bergeron and Serge Morin.

HEARING OF MARCH 22, 1996

After the Hearing Officer had explained the rules of procedure to the parties, Mr. Tamborriello made a preliminary motion to introduce as evidence, in addition to the two witnesses already announced, the original audio cassette containing the recording of communications on the mandatory frequency for Baie-Comeau for June 14, 1995 (Exhibit R-7).

The member of the Civil Aviation Tribunal then withdrew. Mr. Touret, after listening to the cassette (taken from the Mont-Joli control tower which serves Baie-Comeau) was of the opinion that it contained discrepancies and wanted to add certain comments. The member of the Tribunal, as a matter of natural justice, stated that Transport Canada had not given sufficient notice, which was the equivalent of refusing to provide the Respondent with an opportunity to make representations or to introduce evidence in order to ensure the right to full answer and defence, and therefore dismissed the preliminary motion presented by Transport Canada.

The member of the Tribunal then ordered Transport Canada to make a full transcript of the tape and to make a copy of the aforementioned original audio cassette.

The hearing was consequently adjourned sine die and Transport Canada executed the Tribunal's request on April 11, 1996 (Exhibit R-7) by providing the Respondent and the Tribunal Member with the audio cassette and the full transcript requested earlier.

RESUMPTION OF THE HEARING ON MAY 17, 1996 – THE FACTS

1. Testimonial Evidence by the Applicant

  • Mr. Carol Bergeron – Inspector, Air Carrier Operations, Quebec Region, Transport Canada

On June 14, 1995 at Baie-Comeau, Mr. Bergeron was conducting a flight test at approximately 13:30 hours on board a Piper Aztec registered as C-GUKA. The pilot was Mr. Serge Morin of Air Satellite. A third person was on board, namely; Mr. François Paquet who was chief-pilot for the same company at the time. The flight was an instrument-rating test for Mr. Serge Morin who was undergoing a pilot proficiency check (PPC).

Mr. Morin, the pilot, was on a short final approach, that is one and a half mile away on a back course towards runway 28, with circling minima of 509 ANS and 580 ASL (Exhibit R-2). His mandatory communications frequency (RCO/MF) was that of Mont-Joli; namely, 118.3 (Exhibit R-3). Four aircraft were on runway 28 of this uncontrolled airport. One aircraft (subsequently identified as C-GHVJ following a ground investigation and a check with the Mont-Joli flight service station) took off and, at an altitude of 500 feet – that is at the sight horizon of C-GUKA which was getting ready to land or even lower – made a right turn to the north-east.

Mr. Bergeron was even more concerned about a second aircraft (subsequently identified as C-GSCI following a ground investigation and a check with the Mont-Joli flight service station), as it was this second aircraft that had forced C-GHVJ to accelerate its procedures. The second aircraft also executed a hasty take-off and, at approximately 100 to 200 feet above the ground, also executed a right turn to the north-east in order to stay within the turn made by C-GHVJ and at 500 feet. As a result of a rapidly increasing rate of closure with the aircraft ahead, C-GSCI aborted its turn, levelled-off and passed behind C-GHVJ at a distance of some 100 to 200 feet. Accordingly, the Piper Aztec registered as C-GUKA turned left to climb to a higher altitude. After landing, Mr. Bergeron, who was more concerned about the second aircraft (C-GSCI), initiated an investigation. He met with the four pilots and communicated with the Mont-Joli flight service station. Upon completion of his investigation, Mr. Bergeron issued a Detection Notice dated June 14, 1995 (Exhibit R-1) which is the subject of the matter before the Tribunal.

Under cross-examination, Mr. Bergeron maintained that the first aircraft had time to take off, that the second aircraft made a right turn at an altitude of 100 to 200 feet, and that his decision to pull up (Piper Aztec C-GUKA) was made because of this second aircraft.

  • Mr. Tamborriello called Mr. Serge Morin as a second witness (Mr. Morin had been asked to withdraw from the courtroom while Mr. Bergeron testified).

Mr. Serge Morin, who was at the controls of Piper Aztec C-GUKA, was an Air Satellite pilot at the time; he is currently the company's chief-pilot. Mr. Morin corroborated Mr. Bergeron's testimony in every respect. Under cross-examination, he mentioned that his observation span at a speed of 100 knots ranged from 30 seconds to 2 minutes and that his decision to pull up was precipitated by these two aircraft. It would be redundant at this point to repeat Mr. Bergeron's testimony.

2. Documentary Evidence

Exhibit R-3, Canada Flight Supplement – the Baie-Comeau airport profile. The communications frequency for Baie-Comeau is that of Mont-Joli (RCO: remote communication outlet 118.3) and the mandatory communication outlet is also 118.3. Exhibit R-3 also includes an example of the Bagotville airport PRO, that is to say a provision for a special manoeuvre and, in the above example, a right hand circuit is permitted for runways 11 and 18, whereas at Baie-Comeau there is no PRO, and all circuits must be to the left.

Exhibit R-4, Air Navigation Order, Series V, No. 34 (ANO), entitled Mandatory Communications Order for aircraft operating on the manoeuvring area of or under VFR within specified areas in the vicinity of uncontrolled aerodromes, provides the following definition:

"flight service station" means a flight service station as defined in subsection 2(1) of the Aeronautical Communications Standards and Procedures Order; (station d'information de vol)

This same document also includes the following:

Reports on Operations on Manoeuvring Area

5. The pilot-in-command of an aircraft at an uncontrolled aerodrome for which a mandatory frequency has been designated, or at an uncontrolled aerodrome that lies within a specified area, shall

(a) report his intentions prior to entering the manoeuvring area of the aerodrome; and

(b) maintain a listening watch on the mandatory frequency while on the manoeuvring area.

Reports on Departure

6. The pilot-in-command of an aircraft departing from an uncontrolled aerodrome for which a mandatory frequency has been designated, or from an uncontrolled aerodrome that lies within a specified area, shall

(a) prior to moving onto the take-off runway, report his departure intentions;

(b) prior to take-off, ascertain by radio on the mandatory frequency and by visual observation that no other aircraft or vehicle is likely to come into conflict with the aircraft during take-off; and

(c) maintain a listening watch on the mandatory frequency

(i) during take-off, and

(ii) after take-off until outside the specified area.

[...]

Aircraft Without Radio

12. (1) The reporting requirements prescribed by this Order do not apply to a person who is

(a) unable to comply with these requirements because of a communications failure; or

(b) operating an aircraft without a radio pursuant to section 11.

Exhibit R-5 – Air Regulations:

"air traffic control unit" means

(a) an area control centre established to provide air traffic control service to IFR flights;

(b) a terminal control unit established to provide air traffic control service to IFR flights operating within a terminal control area; or

(c) an airport control tower unit established to provide air traffic control service to airport traffic,as the circumstances require; (organe du contrôle de la circulation aérienne)

(Baie-Comeau is not included in either (a), (b) or (c))

The Aeronautical Communications Standards and Procedures Order, Air Navigation Order, Series I, No.1, provides the following definition:

"flight service station" means a land station that is part of the aeronautical mobile service established by the Minister to provide advisory services to aircraft and a communications service for the safe movement of aircraft; (station d'information de vol)

Accordingly, for the Baie-Comeau aerodrome, this service is provided by Mont-Joli via its remote communication outlet (RCO).

Exhibit R-6, A.I.P. Canada

A non legal text which interprets Canadian Aviation Regulations and serves as a reference document for airmanship purposes.

RAC 4-15:

4.5.2 Traffic Circuit Procedures – Uncontrolled Aerodromes

[...]

(a) Joining the Circuit

[...]

(ii)

[...]

NOTES 1: Circuit normally flown at 1 000 feet AAE.

[...]

(c) Departing the Circuit or Airport

Aircraft departing the circuit or airport should climb straight ahead on the runway heading until reaching the circuit traffic altitude before commencing a turn in any direction to an en route heading. Turns back toward the circuit or airport should not be initiated until at least 500 feet above the circuit altitude.

Upon completion of the Applicant's evidence, the Respondent, Mr. Bruno Touret, did not have any documentary or testimonial evidence to submit before the Tribunal.

3. Material evidence

As the Respondent presented his own case, and in light of the adjournment of March 22, 1996, the Member, by virtue of his office, raised the issue of the transcript of communications on the Baie-Comeau mandatory frequency for June 14, 1995 produced from the original tape that was available at the Mont-Joli flight service station.

In fact, Mr. Touret experienced a communication problem with the Mont-Joli control tower (Exhibit R-7). Following a first contact at 17:25:59 hours his last contact was at 17:27:39 hours, as he was preparing to take off. He did not reply to Mont-Joli at 17:27:42 hours; rather it was C-GSCI (the second aircraft) which next contacted the station, at 17:28:10 hours. At 17:28:15, this second aircraft could see the Aztec on final approach. The Aztec took off at 17:28:30 hours and at 17:28:44 hours, advised Mont-Joli that it was leaving by the north-east; that is, by the right, and that it did not know what C-GHVJ was going to do. Contact between C-GHVJ and Mont-Joli was re-established at 17:28:08 hours.

ARGUMENTS OF THE PARTIES

The Applicant:

First, the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty is in order as no rebutting evidence was introduced to show that Mr. Bruno Touret was not the pilot-in-command aboard Cessna 182 C-GHVJ on June 14, 1995, and that he did not contravene paragraph 521(d) of the Air Regulations by making a right turn immediately after taking off from runway 28 at the Baie-Comeau airport. Two eyewitnesses, one of whom is a Transport Canada inspector, confirmed these facts.

Second, with respect to the penalty to be assessed, consideration must be given to the provisions of paragraph 521(d) of the Air Regulations which are intended to guide pilots and to A.I.P. (Exhibit R-6 – A reference document for achieving a high standard of airmanship). As the pilot was not alone in the sky and as air safety is the prime concern, the situation calls for applying the regulations to deter further offence and to set an example. The possibility of rehabilitation must also be taken into account.

Accordingly, in accordance with section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, subsection 7.6(2) states that "A person who contravenes a designated provision is guilty of an offence and liable to the punishment imposed in accordance with sections 7.7 to 8.2 and no proceedings against the person shall be taken by way of summary conviction."

It follows, therefore, according to the Designated Provisions Regulations (Air Regulations, Series I, No. 3) that :

3. (1) The provisions listed in Column I of the schedule are hereby designated as provisions the contravention of which may be dealt with under and in accordance with the procedure set out in sections 7.7 to 8.2 of the Act.

(2) the amount set out in an item of Column II of the schedule is the maximum amount that may be assessed as a penalty for the contravention of the provision set out in Column 1 of that item.

With respect to paragraph 521(d), it is clearly mentioned that the penalty for an individual is $500. With respect to this paragraph, the policy of Transport Canada (Exhibit R-10) is that "not all turns shall be made to the left in the vicinity of an airport" and the recommended penalty for the first offence is a suspension of 2 to 7 days or a monetary penalty of $200. To justify this penalty, the Minister's representative emphasized that the action was deliberate, that there were no operational constraints, that the pilot was required to exercise all reasonable care to control the situation and avoid the uncontrollable, thereby complying with the regulations, which the pilot did not do. Furthermore, the pilot in question holds a professional licence. He broke a fundamental regulation and did not set an example.

The Respondent, Mr. Touret, admits having taken the alleged action, but minimized its significance as a result of his communications problem with the Mont-Joli control tower, adding that because he felt pressed by the second aircraft, a twin-engine aircraft, that was close behind him, he left runway 28 and made a right turn at an altitude of 600 feet, according to his altimeter, in order to clear the way as quickly as possible. He also added that Mont-Joli knew full well that he was planning to undertake an air patrol to the north-east and would therefore have to make a right turn.

During re-examination, Mr. Tamborriello, on behalf of the Minister, emphasized that the Mont-Joli station is an advisory flight service station and not an air traffic control service, adding that although Mr. Touret had notified Mont-Joli that he intended to turn right to the north-east, neither Mr. Touret as pilot nor the Mont-Joli tower can authorize a breach of the regulations. In fact, by leaving the circuit by making a right turn, he acted without authorization and was not at an allowed altitude; for safety reasons, he should have followed the runway axis, exited the circuit by making a left turn before heading towards the north-east.

DISCUSSION

It is undeniable that the alleged offence took place. Besides, the Respondent admitted it in his summation. Furthermore there were two eyewitnesses, one of whom is a Transport Canada inspector who initiated an investigation on the ground and a check with the Mont-Joli FSS before issuing a Detection Notice dated June 14, 1995.

In light of all this, what about the reasons invoked by the Respondent?

It is true that there was a communications problem between his aircraft and the Mont-Joli control tower serving Baie-Comeau. It is also true, according to testimonial, documentary and material evidence, that a second aircraft seemed to have forced Mr. Touret to expedite his take-off procedures, but nothing prevented him from discontinuing his take-off along the runway 28 centre-line and from making a left turn at a minimum altitude of 1,000 to 1,500 feet, then to head towards the north-east.

Thus, the Respondent did not exercise all due diligence; there were no reasons requiring him to so breach the regulations. It should be noted that the Tribunal is well aware of the role played by the second aircraft, C-GSCI, but no allegations concerning the second pilot have been referred to the Tribunal.

DETERMINATION

The Tribunal confirms the decision of the Minister of Transport to the effect that the Respondent contravened paragraph 521(d) of the Air Regulations, but takes into account the fact that the Respondent is a young professional pilot, that this is his first contravention and that a second aircraft was a contributing although not a causal factor with respect to the alleged contravention, and therefore reduces to $100 the amount of the $200 monetary penalty assessed by the Minister of Transport.

Michel Larose, M.D.
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1188-33 (TAC)
Dossier no NAP6504-P333540-027383 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Bruno Touret, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Arrêté sur les communications obligatoires (Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série V, n° 34) art. 2, 5, 6 et 12
Arrêté sur les normes et méthodes des communications aéronautiques (Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série I, n° 1) par. 2(1)
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. 1978, ch. 2, par. 101(1) et al. 521d)

Virage aux abords d'un aérodrome


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Michel Larose


Décision : le 25 juin 1996

Le Tribunal confirme la décision du ministre des Transports selon laquelle l'intimé a contrevenu à l'alinéa 521d) du Règlement de l'Air, mais le Tribunal réduit à 100 $ le montant de l'amende fixée à 200 $ par le ministre des Transports. L'amende de 100 $ sera payable au Receveur général du Canada et devra être reçue par le Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les 15 jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le vendredi 22 mars 1996 à 10 h et reprise le 17 mai 1996 à 13 h à Montréal (Québec).

OBJET DE L'AUDIENCE EN RÉVISION

Transports Canada par l'entremise de M. Umberto Tamborriello demande au Tribunal de l'aviation civile de confirmer un avis d'amende pour contravention imposé à M. Bruno Touret, intimé, en date du 17 novembre 1995. Cet avis d'amende était au montant de 200 $, lequel montant se devait d'être acquitté par M. Bruno Touret au plus tard le 18 décembre 1995, soit dans un délai prescrit. Cette amende avait été imposée en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, l'informe des faits reprochés par un avis établi en la forme et comportant les renseignements que le gouverneur en conseil peut déterminer par règlement et y indique :

a) sous réserve des règlements d'application de l'alinéa 7.6(1)b), le montant qu'il détermine, conformément aux critères qu'il peut établir à cette fin, et qui doit être payé à titre d'amende pour la contravention lorsque la personne ne désire pas comparaître devant un conseiller pour présenter ses observations sur les faits reprochés;

b) la date limite, qui suit d'au moins trente jours celle de signification ou d'expédition de l'avis, et le lieu où le montant visé à l'aliéna a) doit être versé.

(2) L'avis est à signifier à personne ou par courrier ordinaire à la dernière adresse connue de l'intéressé.

L'intimé aurait contrevenu à l'alinéa 521d) du Règlement de l'Air, lequel article se lit ainsi :

521. Le pilote commandant de bord d'un aéronef évoluant sur un aérodrome ou aux abords d'un aérodrome devra

[...]

d) exécuter tous les virages à gauche quand il effectue une approche et après un décollage, sauf instructions contraires du ministre ou si un organe de contrôle de la circulation aérienne a autoriser (sic) un virage complet ou partiel à droite lorsque ce sens est préférable en certains cas déterminés;

PRÉAMBULE

Le 13 mars 1996, M. Umberto Tamborriello, inspecteur – Application des règlements, Transports Canada, faisait parvenir à M. Bruno Touret une lettre (pièce R-7) qui informait ce dernier qu'il ferait entendre deux témoins oculaires de l'événement reproché du 14 juin 1995, soit MM. Carol Bergeron et Serge Morin.

AUDIENCE DU 22 MARS 1996

Après avoir expliqué, en tant que conseiller du Tribunal de l'aviation civile, les règles de procédure aux parties en présence, M. Tamborriello présentait une motion préliminaire, à savoir, qu'il voulait introduire comme moyen de preuve, en plus de ses deux témoins annoncés, une cassette audio qui était la bobine originale des communications sur la fréquence obligatoire de Baie-Comeau en date du 14 juin 1995 (pièce R-7).

Le conseiller du Tribunal de l'aviation civile se retira et M. Bruno Touret, après avoir écouté cette bobine (bobine provenant de la tour de contrôle de Mont-Joli qui dessert Baie-Comeau) ne la trouvait pas conforme et voulait y apporter certains commentaires. Le conseiller du Tribunal, en regard des règles de justice naturelle, estima qu'il y avait eu défaut de préavis de la part de Transports Canada et que ce fait correspondait à refuser à l'intimé de faire des représentations ou de présenter une preuve afin de s'assurer une défense pleine et entière, rejeta donc cette motion préliminaire de Transports Canada.

Le conseiller du Tribunal enjoignit donc Transports Canada de faire faire une transcription intégrale et une reproduction sur cassette audio de la bobine originale précitée.

L'audience fut donc ajournée sine die et Transports Canada respecta la demande du Tribunal en date du 11 avril 1996 (pièce R-7) en fournissant à l'intimé et au conseiller du Tribunal de l'aviation civile la cassette audio ainsi que la transcription intégrale.

REPRISE D'AUDIENCE DU 17 MAI 1996LES FAITS

1. Preuve testimoniale du requérant

  • M. Carol Bergeron, inspecteur – Opérations des transporteurs aériens, Région du Québec, Transports Canada

Le 14 juin 1995 à Baie-Comeau, M. Bergeron, vers 13 h 30, était en test en vol à bord d'un « piper aztec » immatriculé C-GUKA, le pilote était M. Serge Morin d'Air Satellite et la troisième personne à bord était M. François Paquet, alors chef-pilote de la même compagnie. Ce vol s'effectuait aux instruments et M. Serge Morin passait son examen de contrôle de la compétence d'un pilote (PPC).

Le pilote, M. Morin, qui était en courte finale, c.-à-d. à un mille et demi pour la piste 28 en alignement arrière (back course) avec le minimum d'encerclement (circling) de 509 ANS, 580 ASL (pièce R-2) et sa fréquence obligatoire de communication (RCO/MF) était celle de Mont-Joli, soit 118.3 (pièce R-3). Quatre aéronefs étaient sur la piste 28 de cet aéroport non contrôlé et un premier aéronef (qui sera identifié plus tard suite à une enquête au sol et auprès de la station d'information de vol (FSS) Mont-Joli comme étant C-GHVJ) effectua son décollage et à une altitude de 500 pieds, soit la ligne d'horizon de C-GUKA qui s'apprêtait à atterrir et même un peu plus bas, effectua un virage à droite, direction nord-est.

M. Bergeron était encore plus préoccupé par un deuxième aéronef (aéronef qui sera identifié après une enquête au sol et auprès de la FSS Mont-Joli comme étant C-GSCI) car c'était ce dernier qui avait forcé C-GHVJ à accélérer ses procédures. Ce deuxième aéronef effectua aussi un décollage hâtif et, à environ 100 à 200 pieds du sol, il effectua aussi un virage à droite, direction nord-est, pour tenter de demeurer à l'intérieur du virage du C-GHVJ et à 500 pieds C-GSCI voyant son taux de rapprochement augmenter rapidement avec l'avion qui le précédait, il cessa son virage, fit un palier et passa derrière C-GHVJ à une distance de 100 à 200 pieds. Le « piper aztec » C-GUKA a donc dégagé vers la gauche pour effectuer une remontée. Après l'atterrissage, M. Bergeron étant beaucoup plus préoccupé par le deuxième aéronef, soit C-GSCI, entreprit une enquête, il rencontra les quatre pilotes et il communiqua avec la FSS de Mont-Joli. Suite à son enquête, M. Bergeron a émis, en date du 14 juin 1995, un avis de détection (pièce R-1) qui fait présentement l'objet du litige ici en cause.

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Bergeron affirma que le premier aéronef avait le temps de décoller et que le deuxième aéronef a tourné à droite à 100-200 pieds et que sa remontée (piper aztec C-GUKA) a été faite à cause de ce deuxième aéronef.

· Comme deuxième témoin, M. Tamborriello appela M. Serge Morin (ce dernier avait été exclu de la cour lors du témoignage de M. Bergeron).

M. Serge Morin, qui était celui qui était aux commandes du « piper aztec » C-GUKA, était pilote d'Air Satellite et aujourd'hui il en est le chef-pilote. M. Morin confirma intégralement le témoignage de M. Bergeron et en contre-interrogatoire, il mentionna que son temps d'observation à une vitesse de 100 noeuds avait été de 30 secondes à 2 minutes et que sa décision de remonter avait été prise à cause des deux aéronefs. Il serait donc ici redondant de reprendre le témoignage de M. Bergeron.

2. Preuve documentaire

En R-3, Canada Flight Supplement – C'est le profil de l'aéroport de Baie-Comeau. La fréquence de communication pour Baie-Comeau est celle de Mont-Joli (RCO pour installation radio télécommandée – remote communication outlet 118.3) et « mandatory outlet » 118.3 aussi. Dans ce document R-3 se trouve aussi un exemple de PRO pour l'aéroport de Bagotville, soit une case de prévue pour une procédure spéciale et dans l'exemple ci-dessus donné, un circuit à droite est permis pour les pistes 11 et 18 alors qu'à Baie-Comeau, il n'y a aucun PRO et tout doit se faire à gauche.

En R-4 – Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série V, N° 34 (ONA), soit l'Arrêté sur les communications obligatoires pour les aéronefs utilisés sur l'aire de manoeuvre des aérodromes non contrôlés ou en vol VFR à l'intérieur des zones spécifiées situées à proximité de ces aérodromes :

« station d'information de vol » S'entend au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de l'Ordonnance sur les normes et méthodes de communications aéronautiques. (flight service station)

Toujours dans cette même pièce :

Comptes rendus de circulation sur l'aire de manoeuvre

5. Le pilote commandant de bord d'un aéronef utilisé à un aérodrome non contrôlé pour lequel une fréquence obligatoire est assignée ou qui est situé à l'intérieur d'une zone spécifiée doit respecter les exigences suivantes :

a) signaler ses intentions avant de pénétrer l'aire de manoeuvre de l'aérodrome;

b) maintenir l'écoute sur la fréquence obligatoire pendant qu'il circule sur l'aire de manoeuvre.

Comptes rendus de départ

6. Le pilote commandant de bord d'un aéronef qui est sur le point d'effectuer son départ d'un aérodrome non contrôlé pour lequel une fréquence obligatoire est assignée ou qui est situé à l'intérieur d'une zone spécifiée doit respecter les exigences suivantes :

a) signaler son intention de décoller avant de s'engager sur la piste de décollage;

b) avant de décoller, s'assurer par observation visuelle et par radio en utilisant la fréquence obligatoire, qu'il n'y a aucun risque de collision avec un autre aéronef ou véhicule pendant le décollage;

c) maintenir l'écoute sur la fréquence obligatoire :

(i) pendant le décollage,

(ii) après le décollage jusqu'à ce que l'aéronef soit hors de la zone spécifiée.

[...]

Aéronefs non munis d'un poste de radio

12. (1) Les exigences de comptes rendus prévues au présent arrêté ne s'appliquent pas aux personnes :

a) qui ne peuvent s'y conformer en raison d'une panne de communications;

b) qui utilisent un aéronef non muni d'un poste de radio, conformément à l'article 11.

En R-5 – Règlement de l'Air :

« organe du contrôle de la circulation aérienne » désigne, selon les circonstances,

a) un centre de contrôle régional établi afin d'assurer le service du contrôle de la circulation aérienne aux aéronefs qui effectuent des vols IFR,

b) un organe de contrôle terminal établi afin d'assurer le service du contrôle de la circulation aérienne aux aéronefs qui effectuent des vols IFR dans une région de contrôle terminale, ou c) une tour de contrôle d'aéroport établie afin d'assurer le service du contrôle de la circulation aérienne pour la circulation d'aéroport. (air traffic control unit)

(Baie-Comeau n'étant pas inclus soit dans a), b) ou c))

L'Arrêté sur les normes et méthodes des communications aéronautiques, Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série 1, n°1 :

« station d'information de vol » désigne une station terrestre faisant partie du service mobile des communications aéronautiques établi par le ministre pour la prestation de services consultatifs aux aéronefs et d'un service de communication pour la sécurité des mouvements d'aéronefs; (flight service station)

Donc, pour l'aérodrome de Baie-Comeau, c'est Mont-Joli qui assure ce service par son installation radio télécommandée – remote communication outlet (RCO).

En R-6, A.I.P. Canada

Texte non-légal mais un document qui est une interprétation des règlements et qui s'avère être un document de référence pour la discipline de l'air (airmanship).

RAC 4-17 :

4. 5.2Circuit d'aérodrome aux aérodromes non contrôlés

[...]

a) Intégration au circuit

[...]

(ii)

[...]

NOTES1 : Circuit normalement effectué à 1 000 pieds AAE.

[...]

c) Sortie du circuit ou de l'aéroport

Les aéronefs qui quittent le circuit ou l'aéroport devraient monter directement au cap de piste jusqu'à l'altitude du circuit avant d'effectuer un virage dans une direction quelconque pour prendre leur cap en route. Les virages dans la direction du circuit ou de l'aéroport ne devraient pas être effectués tant que les aéronefs ne se trouvent pas au moins à 500 pieds au-dessus de l'altitude du circuit.

La preuve du requérant étant close, l'intimé, soit M. Benoît Touret n'avait aucune preuve documentaire ou testimoniale à fournir au Tribunal.

3. Preuve matérielle

Étant donné que l'intimé se représentait seul, le conseiller soulève d'office, en regard de l'ajournement du 22 mars 1996, de commenter la transcription des communications sur la fréquence obligatoire de Baie-Comeau en date du 14 juin 1995 produit à l'écoute même de la bande originale disponible à la station d'information de vol de Mont-Joli.

En effet, M. Touret a eu un problème de communication avec la tour de contrôle de Mont-Joli (pièce R-7) car après un premier contact à 17 h 25:59, un dernier contact, alors qu'il s'apprêtait à décoller, eut lieu à 17 h 27:39. Il ne répondit pas à Mont-Joli à 17 h 27:42 mais c'est plutôt C-GSCI qui prit la relève à 17 h 28:10, soit le deuxième aéronef puis à 17 h 28:15 ce deuxième aéronef avait en vue l'aztec en final et à 17 h 28:30, il décolle et à 17 h 28:44, il informe Mont-Joli qu'il va quitter par le nord-est, c'est-à-dire à droite et qu'il ne sait pas ce que C-GHVJ va faire. Le contact entre C-GHVJ et Mont-Joli fut rétabli à 17 h 28:08.

ARGUMENTATION DES PARTIES

Requérant :

Premièrement, l'avis d'amende est conforme car aucune contre-preuve n'a été faite à l'effet que M. Benoît Touret était commandant de bord du Cessna 182 C-GHVJ le 14 juin 1995 et qu'il a contrevenu à l'alinéa 521d) du Règlement de l'Air en effectuant un virage à droite immédiatement après le décollage de la piste 28 à l'aéroport de Baie-Comeau. Le tout confirmé par ses deux témoins oculaires dont un inspecteur de Transports Canada.

Deuxièmement, quant à la sanction à être imposée, il faut tenir compte de l'alinéa 521d) du Règlement de l'Air qui sert à guider les pilotes et de l'A.I.P. (pièce R-6 – document de référence pour avoir une bonne discipline de l'air (airmanship)). Le pilote n'étant pas seul dans le ciel et la sécurité aérienne étant la ligne directrice, elle commence donc par l'observation des règlements pour éviter une récidive, pour donner l'exemple et il faut aussi tenir compte de la possibilité de réhabilitation.

Ainsi donc, conformément à l'article 7.7 de la Loi de l'aéronautique, se référant au paragraphe 7.6(2) : « Quiconque contrevient à un texte désigné commet une infraction et encourt la sanction prévue aux articles 7.7 à 8.2. Aucune poursuite ne peut être intentée contre lui par procédure sommaire. »

Ainsi il en découle, se référant au Règlement sur les textes désignés (Règlement de l'Air, Série I, n°3) :

3. (1) Les textes indiqués à la colonne I de l'annexe sont désignés comme textes d'application dont la transgression est traitée conformément à la procédure prévue aux articles 7.7 à 8.2 de la Loi.

(2) Les montants indiqués à la colonne II de l'annexe représentent les montants maximaux de l'amende à payer au titre d'une contravention aux textes désignés figurant à la colonne I.

En regard de l'alinéa 521d), il est clairement mentionné le montant de 500 $ pour une personne physique. Toujours en référence à cet alinéa 521d), la politique de Transports Canada (pièce R-10) est : « Ne pas exécuter tous les virages à gauche aux abords d'un aérodrome », la sanction recommandée à la première infraction est de 2 à 7 jours de suspension ou encore 200 $ d'amende. Pour motiver cette amende, le représentant du ministre fait valoir que l'acte a été délibéré, qu'il n'y avait aucune contrainte opérationnelle, que le pilote devait prendre toutes les mesures pour une situation contrôlable et ainsi éviter les incontrôlables, donc respecter la réglementation, ce que le pilote n'a pas fait. De plus, ce pilote a une licence professionnelle et il a manqué à un règlement élémentaire et n'a pas donné l'exemple.

Quant à M. Touret, l'intimé, ce dernier admet le geste reproché mais il en minimise la portée car il a eu un problème de communication avec la tour de contrôle de Mont-Joli et que, de plus, se sentant pressé par le deuxième aéronef se trouvant immédiatement derrière lui, qui était un bimoteur, il a quitté la piste 28 et selon lui, il a effectué un virage à droite à 600 pieds d'altitude sur son altimètre pour dégager dans les plus brefs délais et que Mont-Joli savait très bien qu'il effectuait une patrouille direction nord-est donc se devant d'effectuer un virage à droite.

En réinterrogatoire, M. Tamborriello, au nom du ministre, fit valoir que la station de Mont-Joli est une station d'information de vol consultatif et non pas un service de contrôle de circulation aérienne et que, même s'il a averti Mont-Joli qu'il allait tourner à droite, soit direction nord-est, ce n'est pas M. Touret en tant que pilote ni la tour de Mont-Joli qui autorise une dérogation au règlement. De ce fait, en quittant le circuit du côté droit, il n'avait pas l'autorité de le faire, il n'était pas à une altitude permise et que pour des raisons de sécurité, il aurait dû garder l'axe de piste, quitter par la gauche et par la suite prendre sa direction nord-est.

DISCUSSION

Il est indéniable que le geste reproché a été commis, d'ailleurs l'intimé l'admet lui-même lors de sa plaidoirie, en plus de deux témoins oculaires dont un des deux est un inspecteur de Transports Canada, qui a effectué une enquête au sol et auprès de la FSS Mont-Joli avant d'émettre un avis de détection en date du 14 juin 1995.

Ceci étant, qu'en est-il des raisons invoquées par l'intimé?

Il est vrai qu'il y a eu une panne de communication entre lui et la tour de contrôle de Mont-Joli desservant Baie-Comeau. Il est aussi vrai, selon la preuve testimoniale, documentaire et matérielle, qu'un deuxième aéronef semble avoir forcé M. Touret à accélérer ses procédures de décollage mais rien ne l'empêchait de ne pas continuer son envol dans l'axe de la piste 28 et d'effectuer son virage à une altitude minimale de 1 000 à 1 500 pieds à gauche et par la suite, se diriger vers la région nord-est située à droite.

Ainsi donc, l'intimé n'a pas pris toutes les mesures nécessaires, et il n'y avait pas non plus raison de nécessité pour commettre une telle infraction. À remarquer, que le Tribunal est très conscient du rôle joué par le deuxième aéronef, soit C-GSCI, mais il n'est pas saisi d'aucun litige concernant ce deuxième pilote.

DÉCISION

Le Tribunal confirme la décision du ministre des Transports selon laquelle l'intimé a contrevenu à l'alinéa 521d) du Règlement de l'Air mais tenant compte que l'intimé est un jeune pilote professionnel, qu'il en était à une première infraction et qu'un deuxième aéronef C-GSCI a été un facteur contributif mais non causal de l'infraction reprochée, le Tribunal réduit à 100 $ le montant de l'amende fixée à 200 $ par le ministre des Transports.

Michel Larose, m.d.
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile