Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1191-02
MoT File No. NAP6504-P333724-027593

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Noël Parent, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., c. A-2, s. 6.9
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c. 2, s. 400

Seaplane, Lack of endorsement, Floatplane flight, Due diligence, Defences


Review Determination
Guy Racicot


Decision: July 10, 1996

TRANSLATION

The Tribunal upholds the suspension of the applicant's private pilot licence for a period of fourteen (14) days, as imposed by the Minister. Said suspension will take effect on the fifteenth day following service of this determination.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held April 16, 1996 at the Federal Court of Canada, in the city of Quebec, Quebec.

SUMMARY

The Minister alleges that the Applicant piloted a sea aeroplane, between June 6, 1995 and July 28, 1995, while his licence was not endorsed for this purpose. The Applicant maintains that he took training and that he is competent to fly a sea aeroplane. He also maintains that he thought he was authorized to fly sea aeroplanes by virtue of a form given to him by his instructor upon completion of his training.

THE FACTS

The Applicant obtained his private pilot licence on September 21, 1993, subsequently taking training to qualify as a sea aeroplane pilot. According to the Applicant's testimony, this training was provided by Mr. Émile Rhéault who, on October 1, 1993 gave the Applicant a document entitled Flight Crew Licence – Application for Endorsement. A copy of this document was produced as Exhibit M-4.

For reasons that were not revealed during the investigation, this application for endorsement was never processed. Consequently, the Applicant's private pilot licence was never endorsed for piloting sea aeroplanes.

The Applicant declared that he believed form M-4 authorized him to pilot a sea aeroplane. Accordingly he piloted a sea aeroplane without holding a valid licence (admission M-1) until July 1995. Early in September 1995, following a claim presented to his insurers, the Applicant realized that his licence was not valid for piloting sea aeroplanes and took steps to have it endorsed by his instructors, Rhéault and Dumont.

Lorraine Dumont refused to issue a "certificate of additional privileges" to him because too long a period, that is more than two (2) years, had elapsed between completion of his training and the request for issuance of a certificate of endorsement.

After applying to the Minister of Transport, Mr. Parent obtained a certificate authorizing him to pilot sea aeroplanes as of November 14, 1995.

On December 1, 1995, a Notice of Suspension was issued against Mr. Noël Parent for having piloted sea aeroplanes between June 6 and July 18, 1995, while his licenced was not endorsed for this purpose. Mr. Parent requests a review hearing with respect to this decision.

During his testimony, Mr. Parent indicated that, while he was completing his sea aeroplane pilot training, he was also taking night flying training. Nevertheless, because he had not received a document similar to that labelled M-4 with respect to night flying, he did not make any night flights. Mr. Parent introduced these facts in support of his claim according to which he thought he was authorized to pilot a sea aeroplane.

THE LAW

Section 400 of the Air Regulations states that no person shall fly as a flight crew member of an aircraft unless he is the holder of an appropriate licence or permit.

The Tribunal must determine whether Mr. Parent committed the alleged offence while he knew that he was competent to fly a sea aeroplane and believed that he held a valid authorization to do so.

ARGUMENT FOR THE MINISTER

The Minister's representative alleges Mr. Parent was negligent because he did not ask his instructor about the significance of the document the latter had given him, that is the application for endorsement of qualification, and because he did not carefully read the document which, in the opinion of the Minister's representative, clearly indicates that it is not an endorsement, but rather an application for endorsement.

The Minister's representative claims that Mr. Parent did not show reasonable care. He maintains that Mr. Parent cannot plead ignorance of the regulations. He claims that the period of nearly two years, from the Applicant's receipt of the application for endorsement to the day on which Mr. Parent realized that his pilot's licence was not endorsed, is in fact of such a length as to confirm Mr. Parent's negligence.

The Minister's representative submits that proof of the offence has been established and that Mr. Parent should be found guilty.

ARGUMENT FOR THE APPLICANT

The Applicant claims, through counsel, first that he was qualified and that the fact that his licence was not formally endorsed is of no great importance.

Secondly, the Applicant invokes a defence of reasonable care. He admits to having piloted without having the appropriate endorsement. He claims that he acted as a reasonable person and that rather than having shown undue disregard, he simply was confused by these new documents. He believed that he was authorized to pilot a sea aeroplane and continued to do so in good faith until he learned, from his insurers in September 1995, that his licence was not endorsed for piloting sea aeroplanes.

DISCUSSION

As Mr. Parent's alleged offence is a strict liability offence, the onus was on the Minister to prove the offence. The proof was established to the satisfaction of the Tribunal. The Applicant himself admitted having piloted sea aeroplanes. The documentary evidence has established that Mr. Parent's licence was not endorsed for piloting sea aeroplanes.

The Tribunal must determine whether, as alleged by counsel, Mr. Parent can successfully invoke a defence of reasonable care as established in the decision R. v. Sault Ste-Marie (1978) 2 S.C.R., 1299.

Case-law has established many times since the aforementioned decision that the evaluation of a defence of reasonable care makes reference to the actions of a reasonably prudent person in the performance of his functions. The evaluation of Mr. Parent's behaviour must therefore be considered with reference to his qualifications as a pilot and not in light of his status as an ordinary individual.

A pilot's training requires an individual to learn the applicable regulations in order to become aware of the privileges he is granted and the limits by which he must abide.

There is no value in discussing the principle that ignorance of the law does not constitute a defence. Mr. Parent knew, or should have known, that he needed an endorsement to pilot a sea aeroplane. He knew that it was not sufficient to be competent to pilot a sea aeroplane. His belief that the document which his instructor had given him was sufficient confirms that he knew he was required to obtain a formal endorsement.

The first line of the document tabled by the instructor, Mr. Rhéault (M-4) clearly indicates that it constitutes an application for endorsement of qualifications. Part C of said document further indicates clearly that it is a recommendation for a sea aeroplane endorsement.

In its evaluation of the Applicant's reasonable behaviour, the Tribunal notes that nearly two years went by between the issuance of document M-4 and the awareness of the lack of an endorsement. This is a very long period which should have raised questions in the mind of a reasonably attentive pilot.

CONCLUSION

Following a review of the Applicant's behaviour, the Tribunal concludes that the latter did not act as a normally prudent and careful pilot and finds that he was negligent. Under the circumstances, the Tribunal finds that the Applicant's defence is not consistent with the requirements of the defence of reasonable care.

DETERMINATION

In conclusion, the Tribunal upholds the suspension of the Applicant's pilot licence by the Minister for a period of fourteen (14) days.

Guy Racicot
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


Appeal decision
Caroline Desbiens, Faye H. Smith, Michel G. Boulianne


Decision: February 11, 1997

TRANSLATION

In the circumstances, the Appeal is dismissed, and the Review Determination is upheld. The Tribunal confirms the fourteen-day suspension of the Appellant's private pilot licence assessed by the Minister. The said suspension shall take effect on the fifteenth (15) day following service of this Determination.

An Appeal Hearing on the above matter was held December 11, 1996, at 10:00 hours, at the Federal Court of Canada, in Quebec City, Quebec.

The Appellant is appealing the Determination rendered July 10, 1996 by Guy Racicot, Member, following the Applicant's request for review.

The Applicant's private pilot licence was suspended for a period of fourteen (14) days pursuant to section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act, the said suspension was to take effect on the fifteenth day following service of the Determination.

THE FACTS

The Applicant obtained his private pilot licence on September 21, 1993, and subsequently underwent training to obtain a seaplane pilot rating. According to the Applicant's testimony, this training was given by Mr. Émile Rhéault, who issued to the Applicant, on October 1, 1993, a document entitled "Flight Crew Licence — Application for Rating Endorsement." A copy of this document was entered as Exhibit M-4.

For reasons not revealed during the investigation, this Application for Endorsement was never processed, and consequently the Applicant's private pilot licence was never endorsed for flying seaplanes.

The Applicant stated that he had believed form M-4 to be a document authorizing him to fly a seaplane, which he did without a valid licence (Exhibit M-1) until July 1995. Early in September 1995, following a claim to his insurers, the Applicant noticed that his licence had no endorsement for flying seaplanes, and he went to his instructors Rhéault and Dumont to have his licence validated.

Lorraine Dumont refused to issue him a "declaration granting additional privileges" because too much time, over two (2) years, had elapsed between completion of the training and the request for the issuance of a declaration.

After contacting the Minister of Transport, Mr. Parent obtained a declaration authorizing him to fly seaplanes as of November 14, 1995.

On December 1, 1995, a Notice of Suspension was issued against Mr. Noël Parent for seaplane flights made between June 6, 1995, and July 28, 1995, during which period his licence contained no endorsement for this purpose.

Mr. Parent subsequently requested a review of this decision on December 22, 1995. That same day, the Applicant was granted a stay of the said suspension until the Review Hearing consideration and Determination.

Following the Determination of member Guy Racicot of July 10, 1996, the Request for Appeal was filed on July 29, 1996, and a stay of the suspension being appealed was granted on August 20, 1996.

GROUNDS FOR APPEAL

The Appellant, through his counsel, argued in his Notice of Appeal of July 29, 1996, and orally at the hearing, as follows:

  1. the Member erred in fact as to the assessment of the evidence, particularly with regard to Exhibit M-4 and the evidence brought with regard to the receipt of this document;
  2. the Member erred in law as to the assessment of the defence of due diligence raised by the Appellant;
  3. the Member erred in fact and in law, and in his Determination should have nullified the fourteen-day suspension assessed by the Respondent Minister.

APPELLANT'S ARGUMENT

In addition to what the facts show and what can be gleaned from the testimony given during the Review, the Appellant argues that he did not act in bad faith and was unaware of the need to hold the rating document, that is, the licence endorsement, in order to be authorized to fly seaplanes.

According to the Appellant, it was not until the fall of 1995, when he filed a claim with his insurers, that he noticed his licence was not valid for flying seaplanes and took the necessary steps. It should be noted that more than two (2) years had passed between his training and the application for the issuance of a declaration.

The Appellant's principal argument therefore rests on the issue of good faith and due diligence.

RESPONDENT'S ARGUMENT

In its argument, the Respondent argues primarily that this concerns a strict liability offence, and that all the documents produced and the considerable time that passed leave no opening for acceptance of evidence of due diligence.

DISCUSSION

Document M-4 is a document which clearly states on its face that the Appellant has received the necessary training – and the Appellant was aware of this, since he signed it on October 1, 1993.

At the same time, the instructor Rhéault certified that the candidate received the training and experience prescribed in the Personnel Licensing Handbook and is qualified for the attendant ratings.

If this document is compared with M-5, which pertains to night flying, we note that Part D has been duly completed; that is, it includes a declaration of licensed privileges by a duly authorized person, in this case Lorraine Dumont, for night flying. There are several copies of this document, including the version produced as Exhibit M-7, showing that it was signed by the Appellant on December 22, 1994, and authorized by Lorraine Dumont at the same time, that is, some seven (7) or eight (8) months before the sequence of events which occurred between June 6, 1995, and July 28, 1995.

It seems to us that the fact of obtaining his rating for night flying in late 1994 and early 1995, should have drawn the Appellant's attention to the fact that his seaplane rating form had not been completed by the Department as the form for night flying had been, and that he should have done what a prudent and reasonable pilot would do and checked this out himself, rather than wait until the events of the fall of 1995 to validate his ratings.

The alleged offence by Mr. Parent is a strict liability offence which has been amply proven by the documents filed and the testimony given during the Review. Proof has therefore been established to the satisfaction of the Tribunal. Moreover, an admission has been made by the Appellant.

As the Member rightly pointed out during the Review, the Appellant's conduct must be assessed in light of what the normal and reasonable conduct of an aeroplane pilot would be.

The evidence abundantly shows that there were sufficient indications in the documentation in his possession concerning his seaplane endorsement and his night flying endorsement to reasonably alert him, without any further knowledge being required, to the fact that he was contravening the law and was not authorized to fly seaplanes.

His reference to the sufficiency of the document suggests and implies that he knew of the existence of the official documentation, but considered the document of his instructor to be sufficient, without the need for him to await confirmation from the Department.

Evidence of due diligence might have been considered had the offence occurred within a few days of his instructor's endorsement; it cannot be considered after two (2) years given all the events known at the time of this hearing. We can only concur with the Member when he clearly states that this is a matter of an application for a rating endorsement followed by a recommendation for a seaplane rating.

Moreover, the parallel drawn earlier between the rating and the authorization for night flying in late 1994 is in itself an obvious red flag and was a clear indication to the Appellant, if it was not already apparent, that he had no seaplane rating.

CONCLUSION

After having studied the evidence and the documentation presented, the Tribunal cannot allow the Appellant's argument.

DETERMINATION

In the circumstances, the Appeal is dismissed, and the Review Determination is upheld.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS OF MEMBER CAROLINE DESBIENS

I subscribe to the Determination of my colleagues, but would add the following:

The Appellant, Noël Parent, cites as a second ground for appeal that the Member, during the Review, erred in law as to the application of the defence of due diligence in this case. In support of his argument, the Appellant cites the Supreme Court decision in Her Majesty the Queen v. Patrick Pontes and the Attorney General of Canada (1995) 3 S.C.R. 44, which, among other things, summarizes the conditions for application of the defence of due diligence to a strict liability offence. Specifically, the Honourable Justice Cory, on page 62 of the said decision, states as follows:

Defence of due diligence

The decision in Sault Ste. Marie, supra, established that a person accused of a strict liability offence may avoid conviction by proving, on the balance of probabilities, either that he had an honest but mistaken belief in facts which, if true, would render the act innocent, or that he exercised all reasonable care to avoid committing the offence. That is to say, he did what a reasonable person would have done in the circumstances to avoid the occurrence of the prohibited act.

In this case, the Appellant admits that he knew his licence had to be endorsed for seaplanes in order to comply with the law, but believed he was in compliance simply by holding Exhibit M-4, the application for endorsement. According to Mr. Parent, his ignorance as to the sufficiency of Exhibit M-4 is a factual error which would render the failure to obtain an endorsement an innocent act. In short, the Appellant claims that this ignorance constitutes one of the elements of the defence of due diligence, namely, an honest but mistaken belief in nonexistent facts.

With respect, this argument by the Appellant must be rejected. In fact, the Appellant's ignorance of the fact that his licence was not endorsed de facto constitutes, rather, ignorance of the fact that his licence was not valid to fly seaplanes under the provisions of the statute, and specifically of the Air Regulations and the Air Navigation Order, Series IV, No. 2. Rather, it is an error of law. I therefore concur with the Determination of the Member who presided over the Review that this error constitutes an error of law which is not admissible as a line of defence.

In view to the foregoing, I cannot accept this argument of the Appellant, and I subscribe to the conclusions of the Determination of my colleagues.

Reasons for Appeal Determination:

Michel Boulianne, Member

Concurring:

Faye Smith, Chairperson
Caroline Desbiens, Member

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1191-02 (TAC)
Dossier no NAP6504-P333724-027593 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Noël Parent, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 6.9
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. 1978, ch. 2, art. 400

Vol d'hydravion, Défense de diligence raisonnable, Absence d'annotation de qualification


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Guy Racicot


Décision : le 10 juillet 1996

Le Tribunal maintient la suspension de la licence de pilote privé du requérant imposée par le ministre pour une période de quatorze (14) jours. Ladite suspension entrera en vigueur le quinzième jour suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a eu lieu le 16 avril 1996 à la Cour fédérale du Canada dans la ville de Québec (Québec).

SOMMAIRE

Le ministre reproche au requérant d'avoir piloté un hydravion entre le 6 juin 1995 et le 28 juillet 1995 alors que sa licence n'était pas annotée à cette fin. Le requérant soumet qu'il a suivi la formation et qu'il est compétent pour piloter un hydravion. Il soumet qu'il se croyait autorisé à piloter des hydravions puisqu'il avait reçu de son instructeur un formulaire à cet effet à la fin de sa formation.

LES FAITS

Le requérant a obtenu sa licence de pilote privé le 21 septembre 1993 et a entrepris par la suite sa formation pour une qualification de vol sur hydravion. Selon le témoignage du requérant, cette formation a été donnée par M. Émile Rhéault qui lui a remis le ler octobre 1993 un document intitulé « Licence d'équipage – Demande d'annotation de qualification ». Une copie de ce document a été produite sous la cote M-4.

Pour des raisons non révélées durant l'enquête, cette demande d'annotation n'a jamais été traitée et en conséquence la licence de pilote privé du requérant n'a jamais été annotée pour le vol d'hydravions.

Le requérant a déclaré avoir cru que le formulaire M-4 était un document qui l'autorisait à piloter un hydravion ce qu'il a fait sans licence valide (admission M-1) jusqu'en juillet 1995. Au début de septembre 1995, suite à une réclamation à ses assureurs, le requérant a constaté l'invalidité de sa licence pour piloter des hydravions et il a entrepris des démarches auprès de ses instructeurs Rhéault et Dumont afin de faire valider sa licence.

Lorraine Dumont a refusé de lui émettre une « attestation conférant privilèges supplémentaires » parce qu'un délai trop long, plus de deux (2) ans, s'était écoulé entre la fin de la formation et la demande d'émission d'attestation.

Suite à des démarches auprès du ministre des Transports, M. Parent a obtenu une attestation autorisant le vol sur hydravions à partir du 14 novembre 1995.

Le 1er décembre 1995, un avis de suspension était émis à l'encontre de M. Noël Parent pour des vols sur hydravions effectués entre le 6 juin et 28 juillet 1995 alors que sa licence n'était pas annotée à cette fin. M. Parent demande la révision de cette décision.

Au cours de son témoignage, M. Parent a indiqué entre autre qu'à la même période où il complétait sa formation sur hydravions, il entreprenait sa formation pour le vol de nuit. N'ayant pas reçu pour son vol de nuit un document similaire au document M-4 pour le vol d'hydravions, il n'a pas effectué de vol de nuit. M. Parent a mis ces faits en preuve pour appuyer sa prétention qu'il se croyait autorisé à voler un hydravion.

LE DROIT

L'article 400 du Règlement de l'Air stipule que nul ne peut effectuer un vol à titre de membre d'équipage de conduite d'un aéronef sans être titulaire d'une licence ou d'un permis appropriés.

Le Tribunal a à décider si M. Parent a commis l'infraction reprochée alors qu'il se savait compétent pour voler un hydravion et qu'il croyait détenir une autorisation valide à cet effet.

ARGUMENT DU MINISTRE

Le représentant du ministre reproche à M. Parent sa négligence en ne s'informant pas auprès de son instructeur de la portée du document qu'il lui avait remis soit la demande d'annotation de qualification et en ne lisant pas attentivement ce document qui, selon le représentant du ministre indique clairement qu'il ne s'agit pas d'une annotation mais d'une demande d'annotation.

Le représentant du ministre soumet que M. Parent n'a pas fait preuve de diligence raisonnable. Il prétend que M. Parent ne peut plaider son ignorance de la réglementation. Il soumet que le délai de près de deux (2) ans qui s'est écoulé entre la réception de la demande d'annotation et la constatation par M. Parent que sa licence de pilote n'était pas annotée est un long délai qui confirme la négligence de M. Parent.

Le représentant du ministre soumet que la preuve de l'infraction étant faite, M. Parent devrait être déclaré coupable.

ARGUMENT DU REQUÉRANT

Par son procureur, le requérant soumet, dans un premier temps, qu'il détenait les qualifications requises et que le fait de ne pas détenir une annotation formelle est sans gravité objective.

Le requérant, dans un second temps, présente une défense de diligence raisonnable. Il admet avoir volé sans détenir une annotation et soumet qu'il s'est comporté comme une personne raisonnable, qu'il n'a pas fait preuve d'insouciance déraisonnable mais qu'il a été victime d'une confusion face à des documents nouveaux. Il croyait avoir droit de piloter et il a continué à le faire de bonne foi jusqu'a ce qu'il apprenne par ses assureurs en septembre 1995 que sa licence n'était pas annotée pour le vol d'hydravions.

DISCUSSION

L'infraction reprochée à M. Parent en étant une de responsabilité stricte, il appartenait au ministre de faire la preuve de l'infraction. Cette preuve a été faite à la satisfaction du Tribunal. Le requérant, lui-même, a admis avoir effectué des vols sur hydravions. La preuve documentaire établit que M. Parent ne détenait pas d'annotation pour le vol d'hydravions.

Il reste au Tribunal à décider si, comme l'allègue son procureur, M. Parent peut soulever avec succès la défense de diligence raisonnable, tel qu'établie dans l'arrêt R. c. Sault Ste-Marie (1978) 2 R.C.S. 1299.

Comme la jurisprudence l'a souvent repris depuis, l'appréciation de la diligence raisonnable se fait en référence à un homme raisonnablement prudent qui exerce habituellement ces fonctions. L'appréciation du comportement de M. Parent doit donc être vue en référence à un pilote d'avion et non en référence à un homme de la rue.

La formation du pilote oblige un individu à apprendre la réglementation applicable afin de connaître les privilèges qui lui sont conférés et les limites qui sont imposées.

Nul n'est besoin d'élaborer sur le principe que l'ignorance de la loi n'est pas une défense, M. Parent savait ou aurait dû savoir qu'il avait besoin d'une annotation pour voler un hydravion. Il savait qu'il ne lui suffisait pas d'avoir la compétence pour voler un hydravion. Sa croyance que le document remis par son instructeur était suffisant corrobore qu'il savait qu'il devait détenir une annotation formelle.

Le document remis par 1'instruction Rhéault (M-4 ) indique clairement à sa première ligne qu'il s'agit d'une demande d'annotation de qualification. À sa partie C, il apparaît encore clairement qu'il s'agit d'une recommandation pour une qualification d'hydravion.

Le Tribunal dans l'appréciation du comportement raisonnable du requérant note que près de deux (2) années se sont écoulées entre la remise du document M-4 et la prise de conscience de l'absence d'annotation. Un délai très long qui aurait dû soulever des interrogations auprès d'un pilote raisonnablement attentif.

CONCLUSION

Après avoir scruté le comportement du requérant, le Tribunal conclut que ce dernier ne s'est pas comporté comme un pilote normalement prudent et diligent et qu'il a été négligent. Dans les circonstances, le Tribunal conclut que la défense du requérant ne rejoint pas les conditions d'une défense de diligence raisonnable.

DÉCISION

En conclusion, le Tribunal maintient la suspension de la licence de pilote privé du requérant imposée par le ministre pour une période de quatorze (14) jours.

Guy Racicot
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


Décision à la suite d'un appel
Caroline Desbiens, Faye H. Smith, Michel G. Boulianne


Décision : le 11 février 1997

Dans les circonstances, l'appel est rejeté et le jugement en révision est maintenu. Le Tribunal maintient la suspension de la licence de pilote privé de l'appelant imposée par le ministre pour une période de quatorze (14) jours. Ladite suspension entrera en vigueur le quinzième jour suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en appel relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le 11 décembre 1996 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada dans la ville de Québec (Québec).

L'appelant se pourvoit contre le jugement rendu le 10 juillet 1996 par le conseiller, Me Guy Racicot, suite à la requête en révision du requérant.

La licence de pilote privé du requérant a été suspendue pour une période de quatorze (14) jours en vertu de 1'article 6.9 de la Loi sur 1'aéronautique, ladite suspension devait entrer en vigueur le quinzième jour suivant la signification de la décision.

LES FAITS

Le requérant a obtenu sa licence de pilote privé le 21 septembre 1993 et a entrepris par la suite sa formation pour une qualification de vol sur hydravion. Selon le témoignage du requérant, cette formation a été donnée par M. Émile Rhéault qui lui a remis le 1er octobre 1993 un document intitulé « Licence d'équipage de conduite – Demande d'annotation de qualification ». Une copie de ce document a été produite sous la cote M-4.

Pour des raisons non révélées durant 1'enquête, cette demande d'annotation n'a jamais été traitée et en conséquence la licence de pilote privé du requérant n'a jamais été annotée pour le vol d'hydravions.

Le requérant a déclaré avoir cru que le formulaire M-4 était un document qui 1'autorisait à piloter un hydravion, ce qu'il a fait sans licence valide (admission M-1) jusqu'en juillet 1995. Au début de septembre 1995, suite à une réclamation à ses assureurs, le requérant a constaté son absence de licence annotée pour piloter des hydravions et il a entrepris des démarches auprès de ses instructeurs Rhéault et Dumont afin de faire valider sa licence.

Lorraine Dumont a refusé de lui émettre une « attestation conférant privilèges supplémentaires » parce qu'un délai trop long, plus de deux (2) ans, s'était écoulé entre la fin de la formation et la demande d'émission d'attestation.

Suite à des démarches auprès du ministre des Transports, M. Parent a obtenu une attestation autorisant le vol sur hydravions à partir du 14 novembre 1995.

Le 1er décembre 1995, un avis de suspension était émis à 1'encontre de M. Noël Parent pour des vols sur hydravions effectués entre le 6 juin 1995 et le 28 juillet 1995 alors que sa licence n'était pas annotée à cette fin.

M. Parent a, par la suite, formulé une demande de révision de cette décision le 22 décembre 1995. Le même jour, le requérant obtenait un sursis à ladite suspension jusqu'à ce que la décision à la suite d'une révision soit rendue.

Suite à la décision du conseiller Guy Racicot le 10 juillet 1996, la requête en appel a été présentée le 29 juillet 1996, et un sursis de la suspension dont est porté appel a été accordé le 20 août 1996.

MOTIFS D'APPEL

L'appelant, par son procureur, a plaidé, dans son avis d'appel du 29 juillet 1996 et verbalement lors de l'audience, ce qui suit :

  1. le conseiller a erré en faits quant à 1'appréciation de la preuve, plus particulièrement en ce qui concerne la pièce M-4 et la preuve ayant été apportée en regard de la réception de ce document;
  2. le conseiller a erré en droit dans 1'appréciation de la défense de diligence raisonnable soumise par l'appelant;
  3. le conseiller a erré en faits et en droit et aurait dû, dans sa décision, annuler la suspension de quatorze (14) jours imposée par le Ministre intimé;

ARGUMENTATION DE APPELANT

L'appelant soutient, outre ce que les faits démontrent et ce que 1'on peut relever des témoignages recueillis lors de la révision, 1'absence de mauvaise foi et la conviction qu'il ignorait la nécessité de la possession du document de qualification, c'est-à-dire son annotation sur la licence pour être autorisé à piloter sur hydravions.

Selon 1'appelant, ce n'est qu'à 1'automne 1995, à 1'occasion d'une réclamation à ses assureurs, qu'il a constaté 1'invalidité de sa licence pour piloter des hydravions et qu'il a entrepris les démarches nécessaires. On doit se souvenir qu'il s'était écoulé plus de deux (2) ans après la formation reçue et la demande d'émission d'attestation.

La prétention principale de 1'appelant repose donc sur une question de bonne foi et de diligence raisonnable.

ARGUMENTATION DE L'INTIMÉ

Dans son argumentation, 1'intimé soutient principalement qu'il s'agit d'une infraction de responsabilité stricte, et que tous les documents produits de même que le long délai ne laissent aucune ouverture à la réception d'une preuve de diligence raisonnable.

DISCUSSION

Le document M-4 est un document qui à sa face même indique clairement que 1'appelant a reçu la formation nécessaire – et 1'appelant en a pris connaissance puisqu'il 1'a signé le 1er octobre 1993.

À cette même période, 1'instructeur Rhéault atteste que le candidat a reçu la formation et 1'expérience prescrites dans le Manuel de licences du personnel et qu'il est apte à recevoir les qualifications suivantes.

Si on établit une comparaison de ce document avec M-5 qui concerne le vol de nuit, on constate que la partie D a été dûment remplie, c'est-à-dire qu'il y a attestation de privilèges de licence par une personne dûment autorisée, en l'occurrence Lorraine Dumont, en ce qui concerne le vol de nuit. Ce document est repris à plusieurs exemplaires, dont entre autres dans sa version produite sous M-7, il démontre qui a été signé par 1'appelant le 22 décembre 1994, et autorisé par Lorraine Dumont pendant la même période, soit quelque 7 à 8 mois avant la séquence d'événements survenus entre le 6 juin 1995 et le 28 juillet 1995.

Il nous semble que le fait d'obtenir sa qualification de vol de nuit, à la fin de 1994 et au début de 1995, aurait dû dès ce moment attirer l'attention de 1'appelant à 1'effet que son formulaire de qualification sur hydravions n'avait pas été complété par le ministère que comme celui de vol de nuit, et il aurait dû exercer la conduite d'un pilote prudent et avisé et effectuer une vérification lui-même plutôt que d'attendre les événements de 1'automne 1995 pour valider ses qualifications.

L'infraction reprochée à M. Parent en est une de responsabilité stricte dont la preuve a été amplement faite par les documents déposés et les témoignages lors de la révision. Cette preuve est donc établie à la satisfaction du Tribunal. De plus, il y a admission de la part de 1'appelant.

Comme l'a souligné à bon droit et de justesse le conseiller, lors de la révision, 1'appréciation du comportement de 1'appelant doit donc être considérée en se référant à la conduite normale et avisée d'un pilote d'avion.

La preuve révèle abondamment qu'il y avait suffisamment d'indices tant sur la documentation qu'il avait entre les mains concernant son annotation sur hydravions que sur celle concernant le vol de nuit, pour 1'alerter d'une manière raisonnable, sans qu'aucune autre connaissance additionnelle ne soit requise, à 1'effet qu'il était dans une situation illégale et qu'il n'avait pas d'autorisation pour voler sur hydravions.

Sa référence à la suffisance du document laisse croire et sous-entendre qu'il connaissait l'existence de la documentation officielle, mais que le document de son instructeur était suffisant, selon lui, sans qu'il lui faille attendre la confirmation du ministère.

La preuve de diligence raisonnable aurait pu être considérée si 1'infraction avait eu lieu dans les quelques jours qui ont suivi 1'annotation par son instructeur; il ne peut en être ainsi lorsque deux (2) ans se sont écoulés avec tous les faits que l'on connaît au moment de cette audition. On ne peut qu'être d'accord avec le conseiller lorsqu'il indique bien qu'il s'agit d'une demande d'annotation de qualification suivie d'une recommandation pour une qualification d'hydravions.

En outre, le parallèle établi plus haut entre la qualification et 1'autorisation de vol de nuit dès la fin de 1994 constitue en soit un signal d'alerte évident et faisait constater d'une manière évidente à 1'appelant, si ce n'était déjà fait, que sa qualification de vol sur hydravion n'existait pas.

CONCLUSION

Après avoir analysé la preuve et la documentation fournie, le Tribunal ne peut retenir la prétention de 1'appelant.

DÉCISION

Dans les circonstances, l'appel est rejeté et le jugement en révision est maintenu.

COMMENTAIRES SUPPLÉMENTAIRES DE LA CONSEILLÈRE CAROLINE DESBIENS

Je souscris à la décision rendue par mes collègues mais j'ajouterais ce qui suit :

L'appelant, Noël Parent, invoque comme deuxième moyen d'appel que le conseiller, lors de la révision, aurait erré en droit quant à l'application de la défense de diligence raisonnable en la présente cause. Au soutien de sa prétention, l'appelant soumet la décision de la Cour suprême dans l'affaire Sa Majesté la Reine c. Patrick Pontes et le Procureur général du Canada (1995) 3 RCS 44, laquelle résume entre autres les conditions d'application de la défense de diligence raisonnable quant à l'infraction de responsabilité stricte. Plus particulièrement, l'honorable juge Cory s'exprime comme suit à la page 62 dudit jugement :

Le moyen de défense fondé sur la diligence raisonnable

L'arrêt Sault Ste-Marie, précité, établit qu'une personne accusée d'une infraction de responsabilité stricte peut éviter d'être déclarée coupable si elle prouve, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, soit qu'elle croyait sincèrement, mais à tort, à l'existence d'un état de faits qui, s'il avait existé, aurait rendu l'acte innocent, soit qu'elle a pris toutes les précautions raisonnables pour éviter de commettre l'infraction, c'est-à-dire qu'elle a fait, dans les circonstances, ce qu'une personne raisonnable aurait fait pour éviter d'accomplir l'acte prohibé.

En l'espèce, l'appelant admet qu'il savait que sa licence devait être annotée pour les hydravions afin d'être conforme à la loi mais il croyait être en règle en détenant simplement la pièce M-4 soit la demande d'annotation. Selon M. Parent, son ignorance quant à la suffisance de la pièce M-4 constituerait une erreur de fait qui rendrait l'omission d'obtenir une annotation innocente. En somme, l'appelant prétend que cette ignorance constitue l'un des aspects du moyen de défense fondé sur la diligence raisonnable, soit la croyance sincère à un état de faits inexistants.

Avec respect, cette prétention de l'appelant doit être rejetée. En effet, l'ignorance de l'appelant quant au fait que sa licence n'était pas annotée de facto constitue plutôt une ignorance du fait que sa licence n'était pas valide pour le vol d'hydravions en vertu des dispositions de la loi et plus particulièrement, du Règlement de l'Air et de l'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série IV, no 2. Ceci constitue plutôt une erreur de droit. Je suis par conséquent en accord avec la décision du conseiller ayant siégé en révision à l'effet que cette erreur constitue une erreur de droit qui n'est pas admissible comme moyen de défense.

En raison de ce qui précède, je ne peux retenir cette prétention de l'appelant et je souscris aux conclusions de la décision rendue par mes collègues.

Motifs de la décision à la suite d'un appel par :

Michel Boulianne, conseiller

Y souscrivent :

Faye Smith, présidente
Caroline Desbiens, conseillère