Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1277-02
MoT File No. NAP6504-P331078-027947

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Alain Charron, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., c. A-2, s 6.9, 8.4(3), 8.5
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c. 2, s 505, 515

Vicarious liability, Controlled airspace, Parachuting


Review Determination
Suzanne Jobin


Decision: October 1, 1996

TRANSLATION

The Tribunal confirms the decision of the Minister of Transport and upholds the three-day suspension assessed by the Minister. Said suspension shall begin on the fifteenth day following service of this determination.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, September 11, 1996, at 10:00 hours at the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, Standard Life Centre, South Tower, 333 Laurier Avenue West, in the city of Ottawa, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

On April 30, 1996, Transport Canada sent the Applicant a notice that his commercial pilot licence was suspended for a period of three days. This Notice of Suspension reads in part as follows:

Pursuant to section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to suspend the above indicated Canadian aviation document on the grounds that you have contravened section 515 of the Air Regulations.

On March 8, 1996, at the airport in Gatineau, Quebec, you were the pilot-in-command of the aircraft registered as C-GZTE while parachute jumps were made in controlled airspace, without having obtained the required prior authorization of the Department of Transport.

As the pilot-in-command of said aircraft, you were proceeded against pursuant to subsection 8.4(3) of the Aeronautics Act.

On May 16, 1996, the Applicant filed a request for review and made an application for a Stay of Suspension. The application for a Stay of Suspension was granted by the Tribunal and a Notice of Review Hearing was served on the parties concerned, setting September 11 as the date of the Review Hearing.

At the start of the hearing, the Applicant's representative filed a preliminary motion asking the Tribunal to set aside immediately the Notice of Suspension, as the alleged facts were frivolous and groundless. The Tribunal denied this motion, deeming it premature.

THE LAW

Section 515 of the Air Regulations stipulates that:

515. Parachute descents, other than emergency descents, shall not be made

(a) in controlled airspace or within any air route designated as such by the Minister except in accordance with the written authorization of the Minister; or

(b) over the built-up areas of any city, town or other settlement, or over an open air assembly of persons except in accordance with the written authorization of the Minister.

Section 505 of these Regulations stipulates that:

505. Prior to the commencement of any flight, the pilot-in-command of an aircraft shall familiarize himself with all available information appropriate to the intended flight.

THE FACTS

On March 8, 1996, Mr. Alain Charron was the pilot-in-command of a Cessna 172 aircraft registered as C-GZTE. On this occasion, parachutists were dropped from the aircraft in controlled airspace without the necessary authorization having been obtained.

The Applicant's representative told the Tribunal that the facts submitted were not in dispute.

ARGUMENTS

The Applicant's representative argues that the evidence presented at the hearing did not show that Mr. Charron had committed the alleged offence or that he himself had, without authorization, made a parachute jump in controlled airspace. According to its allegations, the Respondent is attributing responsibility for a reprehensible act to the pilot-in-command of the aircraft who evidently committed no offence. Mr. Charron's representative is therefore asking that the Notice of Suspension be set aside.

Transport Canada argues that the Applicant is responsible for the offence in question, whether or not it was committed directly by him. It contends that the fact that Mr. Charron was the pilot-in-command of the aircraft at the time of the offence is sufficient to incur his responsibility. Mr. Charron should have been familiar with the applicable regulation and made sure no offence was committed on board the aircraft during flight time. The Respondent asks that the Tribunal confirm the Minister's decision and uphold the suspension.

DISCUSSION

During the Review Hearing, Transport Canada had to prove, on a balance of probabilities, that the alleged contravention took place. The Respondent also had to show that the Applicant was the pilot-in-command of the aircraft at the time of the alleged contravention. These elements of proof were essential to incur the Applicant's responsibility.

Once these elements were established, the Applicant had the burden of proving, on a balance of probabilities, that the offence was committed without the consent of the pilot-in-command, or that he had exercised all due diligence to comply with the applicable legislative provisions.

Subsection 8.4(3) of the Aeronautics Act stipulates as follows with respect to vicarious liability:

(3) The pilot-in-command of an aircraft may be proceeded against in respect of and found to have committed an offence under this Part in relation to the aircraft for which another person is subject to be proceeded against unless the offence was committed without the consent of the pilot-in-command and, where found to have committed the offence, the pilot-in-command is liable to the penalty provided as punishment therefor.

The Act defines "pilot-in-command" as follows:

"pilot-in-command" means, in relation to an aircraft, the pilot having responsibility and authority for the operation and safety of the aircraft during flight time;

Section 8.5 of this same Act states:

8.5 No person shall be found to have contravened a provision of this Part or of any regulation or order made under this Part if the person exercised all due diligence to prevent the contravention.

In the present case, the Applicant has invoked neither the exceptions nor the defences stipulated in the Aeronautics Act. The Applicant has the onus of establishing that he falls into the category of exceptions referred to in subsection 8.4(3) or section 8.5 of the Act in order to release himself from his responsibility.

CONCLUSION

On examining the evidence submitted, the Tribunal considers that Transport Canada has discharged its burden of proof. The Applicant has brought no evidence that would release him from his responsibility as pilot-in-command of the aircraft registered as C-GZTE.

The provisions of the Aeronautics Act respecting vicarious liability are clear and not open to interpretation. The allegations of the Applicant's representative to the effect that the pilot-in-command of an aircraft cannot be held responsible for contraventions committed by others while the aircraft is in flight are counter to the provisions of the Aeronautics Act which explicitly provide for vicarious liability in such circumstances.

Furthermore, it bears pointing out that according to the definition of the term "pilot-in-command" contained in the Aeronautics Act, Mr. Charron was the person having responsibility and authority for the operation and safety of the aircraft during flight time. The Tribunal cannot support the position expressed by the Applicant's representative.

DETERMINATION

The Tribunal therefore confirms the Minister's decision and upholds the suspension assessed.

Suzanne Jobin
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


Appeal decision
Carole Anne Soucy, Faye H. Smith, Michel Larose


Decision: April 22, 1997

The Appeal is dismissed. The three-day suspension is confirmed and shall begin on the fifteenth day following service of this determination.

An Appeal Hearing on the above matter was held March 19, 1997, at 13:00 hours at the Tribunal Offices at 333 Laurier Avenue West, in Ottawa, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

The Appellant is appealing the determination of Suzanne Jobin, Member, following a request for review filed by Alain Charron. The Minister of Transport assessed a three-day suspension of Mr. Charron's commercial pilot licence for a contravention of section 515 of the Air Regulations. The Notice of Suspension contained an assertion that Mr. Charron was proceeded against as pilot-in-command of the aircraft pursuant to subsection 8.4(3) of the Aeronautics Act.

GROUNDS FOR APPEAL

The Tribunal Member at review confirmed the decision of the Minister of Transport and upheld the three-day suspension assessed by the Minister. From that determination, the Appellant seeks redress on the following grounds set out in his Notice of Appeal filed on October 11, 1996:

  1. The review member erred in law, fact, and in jurisdiction by finding Alain Charron violated Air Regulation 515. The review member had no evidence that Alain Charron had made a parachute descent contrary to Air Reg. 515. The review member had evidence before her that two other persons made the parachute descents and at the time of the parachute descents Alain Charron was flying a commercial aircraft.
  2. The review member erred in law, fact and in jurisdiction by finding that the pilot of an [sic] commercial aircraft is responsible for the acts of other persons who make parachute descents. The Aeronautics Act, or Air Regulations at the time of the alleged offence did not contain such a legal presumption.

The Notice of Appeal also contained the following paragraphs:

Now under CAR 602.26 and CAR 603.37 the Minister includes the pilot in the category with the parachutists in the class of persons responsible for parachute descents but at the time of the alleged offence such a presumption did not exist.

The questions that the appeal hearing must answer are:

  1. Did Allan Charron make a parachute descent?
  2. If Allan Charron did not make a parachute descent who did and did they violate Air Regulation 515?
  3. If other persons violated Air Regulation 515 where in the Aeronautics Act, or Air Regulations does it state the pilot of the aircraft is responsible for the parachute descent of others (at the time of the alleged offence)?

If the appeal tribunal can not answer either question 1, or both questions 2 and 3 in the affirmative they must overturn the findings of the review member.

THE FACTS

The following statement of facts was not disputed by the Appellant's agent. On March 8, 1996, Mr. Alain Charron was the pilot-in-command of a Cessna 172 aircraft registered as C-GZTE when parachutists were dropped from the aircraft in controlled airspace at the airport in Gatineau, Quebec, without the necessary authorization having been obtained from Transport Canada.

THE LAW

Section 515 of the Air Regulations states that:

515. Parachute descents, other than emergency descents, shall not be made

(a) in controlled airspace or within any air route designated as such by the Minister except in accordance with the written authorization of the Minister; or

(b) over the built-up areas of any city, town or other settlement, or over an open air assembly of persons except in accordance with the written authorization of the Minister.

Subsection 8.4(3) of the Aeronautics Act is as follows:

(3) The pilot-in-command of an aircraft may be proceeded against in respect of and found to have committed an offence under this Part in relation to the aircraft for which another person is subject to be proceeded against unless the offence was committed without the consent of the pilot-in-command and, where found to have committed the offence, the pilot-in-command is liable to the penalty provided as punishment therefor.

APPELLANT'S ARGUMENT

By way of argument, the agent for the Appellant stated that the reference in section 515 of the Air Regulations was to a parachute descent and asserted that Mr. Charron did not make a parachute descent.

In response to the Appeal Panel's query as to the application of subsection 8.4(3) the agent submitted that this section does not apply to section 515 of the Air Regulations because he (Mr. Charron) did not make a parachute descent. He said that there was a lack of evidence that there was a parachute descent from the aircraft.

RESPONDENT'S ARGUMENT

The Minister's representative reviewed the evidence relevant to the allegation that Mr. Charron flew registered aircraft C-GZTE in controlled airspace. At page 25 of the transcript, jumps in controlled airspace are acknowledged as follows:

  • C'est Tango Echo, monsieur, puis on vient de dumper nos gars.
  • Zulu Tango Echo, Roger. Juliet India Xray, the para drops are just beginning at this time. They are dropped from 4,000 feet. They should be landing on the airport site.

The evidence of Mr. Gendron, a flight information specialist on duty at the time of the alleged incident, was that he had acknowledged receipt of a communication from Mr. Charron regarding parachute jumps. Mr. Charron communicated: "qu'il 'dumperait' des parachutes au-dessus de l'aéroport."

The facts of this case are not in dispute. Their admission may be found at page 45 of the transcript where the pilot's agent, Mr. Floyd, responded affirmatively to the question posed by the Hearing Officer as follows: "You admit the evidence that was given this morning by the Minister of Transport, everything?" ... Mr. Floyd: "Yes"

The Respondent's representative submitted that the fact that Mr. Charron, the pilot, did not personally make a parachute jump from the aircraft was irrelevant to the facts of the case as Mr. Charron was pursued as pilot-in-command of the aircraft pursuant to subsection 8.4(3) of the Aeronautics Act.

The Respondent's representative submitted further that the Appellant's reference to the Canadian Aviation Regulations is also irrelevant to the facts of this case as they were not in force at the time of the commission of the offence, and thus the action must be based on the law as it was at the time that the offence was committed.

CONCLUSION

The Appeal Panel finds that section 515 of the Air Regulations is the relevant wording for consideration in this matter and that the wording of the newly minted Canadian Aviation Regulations is neither relevant nor helpful to our determination. The wording of section 515 above is clear, as are the obligations it imposes.

As noted by the Tribunal member in the Review Determination, according to the definition of "pilot-in-command" found in the Aeronautics Act, Mr. Charron was the person having responsibility and authority for the operation of the aircraft during flight time. We find the question of whether Mr. Charron made a parachute descent to be irrelevant as well, as he was, by his own admission, pilot-in-command and was pursued in this capacity per subsection 8.4(3) of the Aeronautics Act. It is clear that the Minister of Transport has exercised its option to proceed vicariously by proceeding against the pilot-in-command of the aircraft and to hold the pilot-in-command responsible for the offence

It is equally clear, in this as in all strict liability offences, that once the Minister has established the facts of the case, the onus then shifts to the pilot to exculpate himself by proving that the offence was committed without his consent. The defence of due diligence is also available to the pilot in circumstances warranting its application as contemplated by section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act.

This panel is of the view that the Minister of Transport has made out its case on a balance of probabilities and that the Appellant has not met his burden of satisfying the Appeal Panel of the applicability of a defence. The Appellant has not produced any evidence that would absolve him of his responsibilities as pilot-in-command on the day in question.

Accordingly, we are satisfied with the conclusion reached by the Tribunal member at review and concur with her determination in all respects.

DETERMINATION

The Appeal is dismissed. The three-day suspension is confirmed.

Reasons for Appeal Determination:

Faye Smith, Chairperson

Concurred

Dr. Michel Larose, Member
Carole Anne Soucy, Member

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1277-02 (TAC)
Dossier no NAP6504-P331078-027947 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Alain Charron, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C 1985, ch. A-2, art. 6.9, 8.4(3) et 8.5
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. 1978, ch. 2, art. 505 et 515

Saut en parachute, Responsabilité du fait d'autrui, Espace aérien contrôlé


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Suzanne Jobin


Décision : le 1er octobre 1996

Le Tribunal confirme la décision du ministre et maintient la suspension imposée par le ministre pour une période de trois jours. Ladite suspension entrera en vigueur le quinzième jour suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 11 septembre 1996 à 10 h, au Tribunal Canadien du Commerce Extérieur, Centre Standard Life, Tour sud, 333, avenue Laurier ouest, dans la ville d'Ottawa (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Le 30 avril 1996, Transports Canada transmettait au requérant un avis indiquant que la licence de pilote professionnel qu'il détenait était suspendue pour une période de trois jours. Cet Avis de suspension se lit en partie comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de suspendre votre document d'aviation canadien mentionné ci-dessus parce que vous avez contrevenu à l'article 515 du Règlement de l'Air.

Le 8 mars 1996, à l'aéroport de Gatineau (Québec), vous avez agi en tant que pilote commandant de bord de l'aéronef immatriculé C-GZTE, alors que des sauts en parachutes étaient effectués dans l'espace aérien contrôlé, sans avoir obtenu au préalable, l'autorisation requise du Ministère des Transports.

Vous êtes poursuivi en tant que pilote commandant de bord dudit aéronef en vertu de l'article 8.4(3) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

Le 16 mai 1996, le requérant déposait une requête en révision accompagnée d'une demande de sursis. La demande de sursis fut accordée par le Tribunal et un Avis d'audience en révision fut délivré aux parties concernées fixant au 11 septembre l'audience en révision.

Au début de l'audition, une requête préliminaire fut présenté par le représentant du requérant. Celui-ci demandait au Tribunal le rejet immédiat de l'Avis de suspension considérant les faits allégués frivoles et sans fondement. Le Tribunal rejeta cette requête la jugeant prématurée.

LE DROIT

L'article 515 du Règlement de l'Air stipule ce qui suit :

515. Sauf en cas d'urgence, il ne sera pas effectué de descentes en parachute a) dans les espaces aériens contrôlés, ni dans les limites des routes aériennes désignées comme telles par le ministre, si ce n'est en conformité d'une autorisation écrite du ministre; ou b) au-dessus des zones bâties des villes ou autres agglomérations, ni au-dessus de rassemblements en plein air, si ce n'est en conformité d'une autorisation écrite du ministre.

L' article 505 du même règlement exige ce qui suit :

505. Avant d'entreprendre un vol quelconque, le pilote commandant de bord d'un aéronef devra étudier tous les renseignements qu'il pourra se procurer en rapport avec le vol projeté.

LES FAITS

Le 8 mars 1996 M. Alain Charron agissait à titre de commandant de bord d'un aéronef de type Cessna 172 immatriculé C-GZTE. À cette occasion des parachutistes furent largués de l'aéronef dans un espace aérien contrôlé sans que l'autorisation requise soit obtenue.

Le représentant du requérant indique au Tribunal que les faits présentés ne sont pas contestés.

ARGUMENTS

Le représentant du requérant soutient que la preuve présentée à l'audition n'a pas démontré que M. Charron avait commis l'infraction reprochée ou qu'il avait lui-même effectué, sans autorisation, un saut en parachute dans un espace aérien contrôlé. Selon ses prétentions l'intimé tient responsable d'un acte répréhensible le commandant de bord de l'aéronef qui, n'a de toute évidence, commis aucune infraction. Conséquemment, il demande le rejet de l'Avis de suspension.

Transports Canada maintient pour sa part, que le requérant est responsable de l'infraction peu importe qu'il ait commis directement ou non l'infraction reprochée. Selon ses prétentions, le fait que M. Charron ait été commandant de bord de l'aéronef au moment de l'infraction est suffisant pour engager sa responsabilité. Celui-ci se devait de connaître la réglementation applicable et devait s'assurer qu'aucune contravention n'était commise à bord de l'aéronef durant la période de vol. L'intimé demande que le Tribunal confirme la décision du ministre et maintienne la suspension.

DISCUSSION

Lors de l'audience en révision, Transports Canada devait prouver, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que la prétendue contravention avait eu lieu. L'intimé devait également démontrer que le requérant agissait comme commandant de bord de l'aéronef au moment de la contravention reprochée. Ces éléments de preuve étaient essentiels pour engager la responsabilité du requérant.

Une fois ces considérations établies, le fardeau de la preuve incombait au requérant d'établir, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que l'infraction avait été commise sans le consentement du commandant de bord ou que ce dernier avait pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour se conformer aux dispositions législatives applicables.

Le paragraphe 8.4(3) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit la responsabilité du fait d'autrui dans les termes suivants :

(3) Lorsqu'une personne peut être poursuivie en raison d'une infraction à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application relative à un aéronef, le commandant de bord de celui-ci peut être poursuivi et encourir la peine prévue, à moins que l'infraction n'ait été commise sans le consentement du commandant.

Le terme commandant de bord est définit comme suit dans la Loi :

« commandant de bord » Le pilote responsable, pendant le temps de vol, de l'utilisation et de la sécurité d'un aéronef.

L'article 8.5 de cette même loi mentionne ce qui suit :

8.5 Nul ne peut être reconnu coupable d'avoir contrevenu à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application s'il a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires pour s'y conformer.

Dans la présente cause, le requérant ne s'est pas prévalu des exceptions ni des défenses prévues à la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Il incombe au requérant d'établir qu'il tombe dans la catégorie des exceptions mentionnées au paragraphe 8.4(3) ou à l'article 8.5 de la loi pour se dégager de sa responsabilité.

CONCLUSION

À l'examen des preuves soumises, le Tribunal estime que Transports Canada s'est acquitté du fardeau de la preuve qui lui était imposé. Le requérant n'a présenté aucune preuve lui permettant de se dégager de sa responsabilité en tant que commandant de bord de l'aéronef immatriculé C-GZTE.

Les dispositions de la Loi sur l'aéronautique traitant de la responsabilité du fait d'autrui sont claires et ne laissent aucune place à l'interprétation. Les prétentions du représentant du requérant à l'effet que le commandant de bord d'un aéronef ne peut être tenu responsable de contraventions perpétrées par des tiers, alors que l'aéronef est en vol, va à l'encontre des dispositions de la Loi sur l'aéronautique qui prévoient expressément la responsabilité du fait d'autrui dans de telles circonstances.

De plus, il serait bon de souligner que selon le libellé de la définition du terme « commandant de bord » que l'on retrouve à la Loi sur l'aéronautique, M. Charron était pendant le temps de vol la personne responsable de l'utilisation et de la sécurité de l'aéronef. Le Tribunal ne peut soutenir la position exprimée par le représentant du requérant.

DÉCISION

Conséquemment, le Tribunal confirme la décision du ministre et maintient la suspension imposée.

Suzanne Jobin
Conseillère
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


Décision à la suite d'un appel
Carole Anne Soucy, Faye H. Smith, Michel Larose


Décision : le 22 avril 1997

TRADUCTION

L'appel est rejeté. La suspension de trois jours est confirmée et prendra effet le quinzième jour suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en appel relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le 19 mars 1997 à 13 heures dans les bureaux du Tribunal au 333, avenue Laurier ouest, à Ottawa (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

L'appelant en appelle de la décision de la conseillère Suzanne Jobin, faisant suite à une demande en révision présentée par Alain Charron. Le ministre des Transports avait imposé une suspension de trois jours de la licence de pilote professionnel de M. Charron en raison d'une contravention à l'article 515 du Règlement de l'Air. L'avis de suspension mentionnait que l'on poursuivait M. Charron à titre de commandant de bord de l'aéronef et en vertu du paragraphe 8.4(3) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

MOTIFS DE L'APPEL

Lors de la révision, la conseillère du Tribunal a confirmé la décision du ministre des Transports et a maintenu la suspension de trois jours imposée par le ministre. L'appelant demande réparation de cette décision pour les motifs suivants faisant partie de son avis d'appel déposé le 11 octobre 1996 :

  1. La conseillère en révision a commis une erreur de droit et de fait et a outrepassé sa compétence en concluant qu'Alain Charron a contrevenu au Règlement de l'Air 515. La conseillère en révision n'avait aucune preuve qu'Alain Charron avait effectué une descente en parachute contrairement aux dispositions du Règlement de l'Air 515. La conseillère en révision avait la preuve que deux autres personnes avaient effectué les descentes et au moment de ces descentes Alain Charron pilotait un aéronef commercial.
  2. La conseillère en révision a commis une erreur de droit et de fait et a outrepassé sa compétence en concluant que le pilote d'un aéronef commercial est responsable des gestes des autres personnes qui effectuent des descentes en parachute. Au moment des présumées contraventions, la Loi sur l'aéronautique, et le Règlement de l'Air ne contenaient pas de dispositions à cet égard.

L'Avis d'appel contenait également les alinéas suivants :

Par les articles 602.26 et 603.37 du RAC, le ministre inclut le pilote parmi les parachutistes dans la catégorie des personnes responsables des descentes en parachute mais au moment des présumées contraventions, cette présomption n'existait pas.

L'audience en appel doit répondre aux questions suivantes :

  1. Allan Charron [sic] a-t-il fait une descente en parachute?
  2. Si Allan Charron n'a pas fait de descente en parachute, qui l'a fait et ont-il enfreint le Règlement de l'Air 515?
  3. Si d'autres personnes ont enfreint le Règlement de l'Air 515, quelle partie de la Loi sur l'aéronautique ou du Règlement de l'Air stipule que le pilote de l'aéronef est responsable de la descente en parachute des autres (au moment de la présumé contravention)?

Si le Tribunal d'appel ne peut répondre par l'affirmative, soit à la question 1, soit aux questions 2 et 3, il devra infirmer la décision de la conseillère de l'audience en révision.

LES FAITS

L'exposé des faits suivant n'a pas été contesté par le mandataire de l'appelant. Le 8 mars 1996, M. Alain Charron était commandant de bord d'un aéronef Cessna 172 immatriculé C-GZTE au moment où des parachutistes sont descendus de l'aéronef en espace aérien contrôlé, à l'aéroport de Gatineau (Québec), sans avoir obtenu l'autorisation nécessaire de Transports Canada.

LA LOI

L'article 515 du Règlement de l'Air stipule ce qui suit :

515. Sauf en cas d'urgence, il ne sera pas effectué de descentes en parachute

a) dans les espaces aériens contrôlés, ni dans les limites des routes aériennes désignées comme telles par le ministre, si ce n'est en conformité d'une autorisation écrite du ministre; ou

b) au-dessus des zones bâties des villes ou autres agglomérations, ni au-dessus de rassemblements en plein air, si ce n'est en conformité d'une autorisation écrite du ministre.

Le paragraphe 8.4(3) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique se lit comme suit :

(3) Lorsqu'une personne peut être poursuivie en raison d'une infraction à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application relative à un aéronef, le commandant de bord de celui-ci peut être poursuivi et encourir la peine prévue, à moins que l'infraction n'ait été commise sans le consentement du commandant.

ARGUMENTATION DE L'APPELANT

En guise d'argumentation, le mandataire de l'appelant a déclaré que la référence à l'article 515 du Règlement de l'Air portait sur une descente en parachute et a affirmé que M. Charron n'avait pas fait de descente en parachute.

En réponse à l'interrogation du comité d'appel sur l'application du paragraphe 8.4(3), le mandataire a allégué que cette section ne s'applique pas à l'article 515 du Règlement de l'Air puisqu'il (M. Charron) n'a pas effectué de descente en parachute. Il a dit qu'il n'y avait pas de preuve suffisante pour démontrer qu'une descente en parachute avait été effectuée à partir de l'aéronef.

ARGUMENTATION DE L'INTIMÉ

Le représentant du ministre a examiné la preuve concernant les faits reprochés à M. Charron, à savoir qu'il avait piloté l'aéronef immatriculé C-GZTE dans un espace aérien contrôlé. La page 25 de la transcription relate les sauts en espace aérien contrôlé comme suit :

  • C'est Tango Echo, monsieur, puis on vient de dumper nos gars.
  • Zulu Tango Echo, Roger, Juliet India Xray, les descentes viennent de commencer. Ils sautent de 4 000 pieds. Ils devraient descendre sur le terrain de l'aéroport.

La preuve donnée par M. Gendron, un spécialiste de l'information de vol en fonction au moment de l'incident présumé, stipule qu'il avait donné une réponse accusé de réception d'un message de M. Charron concernant des sauts en parachute. M. Charron avait dit « qu'il dumperait des parachutes au-dessus de l'aéroport ».

Les faits de la cause ne sont pas contestés. Ils sont admis en page 45 de la transcription où le mandataire du pilote, M. Floyd, répond affirmativement à la question de l'agent d'audience : « Vous admettez la preuve présentée ce matin par le ministre des Transports, tout? » ... M. Floyd : « Oui ».

Le représentant de l'intimé a allégué que le fait que M. Charron, le pilote, n'ait pas personnellement fait une descente en parachute de l'aéronef est un élément sans rapport avec les faits de la cause puisque M. Charron était poursuivi à titre de commandant de bord de l'aéronef en vertu du paragraphe 8.4(3) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

Le représentant de l'intimé a de plus allégué que la référence de l'appelant au Règlement de l'aviation canadien est également sans rapport avec les faits de la présente cause puisqu'il n'était pas en vigueur au moment de la commission de l'infraction et que l'action doit reposer sur la loi telle qu'elle était au moment où l'infraction a été commise.

CONCLUSION

Le comité d'appel estime que l'article 515 du Règlement de l'Air constitue le libellé applicable dans ce cas alors que celui du nouveau Règlement de l'aviation canadien n'est ni approprié ni utile à l'égard de notre décision. Le libellé de l'article 515 susmentionné est clair, de même que les obligations qu'il impose.

Comme l'a souligné la conseillère du Tribunal dans sa décision à la suite de la révision, d'après la définition de « commandant de bord » de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, M. Charron était la personne qui avait la responsabilité, « pendant le temps de vol, de l'utilisation et de la sécurité de l'aéronef ». Nous estimons que la question de savoir si M. Charron a fait ou non une descente en parachute n'est pas non plus appropriée puisqu'il était, selon ses dires, commandant de bord et qu'il a été poursuivi à ce titre en vertu du paragraphe 8.4(3) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Il est évident que le ministre des Transports a exercé son option de recours à la responsabilité du fait d'autrui en poursuivant le commandant de bord de l'aéronef et en le tenant responsable de l'infraction.

Il est clair également que dans ce cas, comme dans tous les cas d'infraction de responsabilité stricte, une fois les faits de la cause établis par le ministre, il y a déplacement du fardeau de la preuve et il incombe alors au pilote de se disculper en démontrant que l'infraction a été commise sans son consentement. Le pilote peut invoquer la prise des mesures nécessaires comme moyen de défense lorsque les circonstances en justifient l'application, conformément aux stipulations de l'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

Le présent comité estime que le ministre des Transports a fondé son cas sur la prépondérance des probabilités et que l'appelant n'a pas réussi à satisfaire le comité quant à l'application d'une défense. L'appelant n'a produit aucune preuve le dégageant de ses responsabilités en tant que commandant de bord le jour en question.

Par conséquent, nous sommes satisfaits de la conclusion de la conseillère du Tribunal lors de l'audience en révision et souscrivons entièrement à sa décision.

DÉCISION

L'appel est rejeté. La suspension de trois jours est confirmée.

Motifs de la décision de l'appel :

Faye Smith, présidente

Y souscrivent :

Dr Michel Larose, conseiller
Carole Anne Soucy, conseillère