Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1314-37
MoT File No. NAP6504-P386904-28207

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Robert Nault, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., c. A-2, ss 7.7, 8.4(1)
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c. 2, s. 534(2)(b)

Low altitude flight, Civil liability of the owner of the aircraft


Review Determination
Pierre Rivest


Decision: November 8, 1996

TRANSLATION

I dismiss the allegations of the Minister of Transport and the $750.00 monetary penalty assessed against the Respondent, Mr. Robert Nault.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, October 22, 1996, at 10:00 hours, at the Federal Court of Canada in Montreal, Quebec.

All the witnesses were sworn in. I asked that the witnesses be excluded.

BACKGROUND

The Respondent, Robert Nault, is being proceeded against pursuant to subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act, as the owner of the aircraft registered as C-GUBP. A $750.00 monetary penalty was assessed against him pursuant to section 7.7 of the Act and the Designated Provisions Regulations (Air Regulations, Series I, No. 3), for contravening paragraph 534(2)(b) of the Air Regulations on May 23, 1996, at about 20:27 hours (local time), at Vaudreuil-sur-le-Lac, Quebec.

As the monetary penalty was not paid by the deadline of July 29, 1996, the matter was referred to the Civil Aviation Tribunal for review.

THE LAW

Paragraph 534(2)(b) is considered a designated provision by which the Minister is entitled to assess a maximum penalty of $1,000.00 against an individual.

This paragraph states:

(2) Except as provided in subsections (4), (5) and (6), or except in accordance with an authorization issued by the Minister, unless he is taking off, landing or attempting to land, no person shall fly an aircraft

(a) (...)

(b) elsewhere than over the built-up area of any city, town or other settlement or over any open air assembly of persons at an altitude less than 500 feet above the highest obstacle within a radius of 500 feet from the aircraft.

Subsection 8.4(1) of the Aeronautics Act states:

8. 4 (1) The registered owner of an aircraft may be proceeded against in respect of and found to have committed an offence under this Part in relation to the aircraft for which another person is subject to be proceeded against unless, at the time of the offence, the aircraft was in the possession of a person other than the owner without the owner's consent and, where found to have committed the offence, the owner is liable to the penalty provided as punishment therefor.

INTRODUCTION

After the usual introductions and an explanation of the procedures of the Tribunal, the parties involved confirmed that, other than the documents and oral exchanges that preceded the hearing and pertain to it, there have been no other documents, oral or written exchanges between the parties.

However, the Respondent, Mr. Robert Nault, felt it necessary to fault Transport Canada for not providing him with a copy of the infraction report concerning him, although he had requested one. Later in the hearing, he was also critical of the fact that a document from the Mirabel Control Centre had not been delivered to him until very late on the eve of the hearing.

Regarding the first criticism, Umberto Tamborriello, representing the Applicant, explained that at the time in question it had been necessary to keep confidential the identity of the witnesses; he stated that he had orally informed Mr. Nault of the content of the report.

No valid explanation was given regarding the second criticism.

I then informed the Respondent that, if he believed he had been aggrieved, he could seek an adjournment. He did not consider such action necessary.

WITNESSES FOR THE APPLICANT

The first witness, Inspector Douglas Gough, merely produced and explained the report (Exhibit R-1) which he himself prepared on May 24, 1996, that is, the day following the incident.

The entry in the report, giving the time of the offence as "8:27", does not show whether this refers to the morning or evening. In his testimony, Mr. Gough stated that it was the morning, an assertion repeated in cross-examination, whereas the event occurred in the evening!

The other two witnesses are Mr. and Mrs. Vicinzo. Each describes in the same way the aircraft manoeuvres they observed near their house on May 23, 1996, at about 20:27 hours (local time).

In referring to certain reference points, including a 15-foot-high clothesline pole, a fence, their house, the dimensions of their lot and a tree in a nearby field (see photographs in R-2, R-3 and R-4), they confirm that the aircraft flew partly over their lot, that is, about 50 feet from their house, at an altitude three to four times higher than the clothesline pole, or at a maximum aboveground altitude of about 100 feet.

The two witnesses read the aircraft's registration, but it was Mrs. Vicinzo who wrote it down on a piece of paper and, the next day, gave it to Transport Canada over the telephone.

In cross-examination, the witnesses could not establish the speed of the aircraft other than to say it was moving fairly fast. They were, however, certain of the registration letters, seen underneath the wing, and the colours of the aircraft, white and yellow.

As additional evidence, Mr. Tamborriello submitted a copy of the Certificate of Registration for aircraft C-GUBP (Exhibit R-5), a Cessna 182P, registered to the name Robert Nault.

RESPONDENT'S TESTIMONY

Mr. Nault testified in his own behalf. At first, he again complained of Transport Canada's cavalier attitude, and was surprised at the version of events compared to the telephone conversations he had had; to see three witnesses instead of the two he had been led to expect; and to have not received an incriminating document until 16:00 hours on the eve of the hearing.

He also pointed out to the Tribunal that Inspector Gough had twice stated that the incident occurred in the morning, when it had in fact occurred in the evening.

I repeated my initial comment that he could request an adjournment, and he again declined to do so.

In his testimony, Mr. Nault simply stated that on May 23, 1996, neither he nor his aircraft had flown.

The following documents and comments were placed in evidence:

  • copy of the journey log for the aircraft (Exhibit I-1);
  • copy of the technical log (Exhibit I-2);
  • copy of the pilot's log (Exhibit I-3).

None of these three documents contained a flight time entry for May 23, 1996.

Note: I noticed that there was an entry for the flight of May 25, 1996, in the journey log and pilot's log, but not in the technical log for the aircraft. However, the total flight time was identical in all cases. Again, flight times from May 31 to June 26 are not compiled in the technical log, but are entered in the other two logs.

  • Although this bears no relation to the flight of May 23, a letter from the Aero Dynamic company (Exhibit I-4) confirms that as of May 27, the aircraft was undergoing a mechanical inspection.
  • Finally, the Respondent stated that on May 23, between 19:00 hours and 21:00 hours (local time), he was at a business meeting with a printer named Jean-Claude Crête.

In cross-examination, the Respondent, in answer to a question put by Mr. Tamborriello, confirmed that a second pilot uses his aircraft, but that on the date of the incident, that person was in Sept-Iles. He is positive of this, and repeated that on May 23, 1996, his aircraft was not flown.

Mr. Tamborriello then produced two documents. The first, from Statistics Canada, confirms that on May 23, 1996, an aircraft registered as C-GUBP made a Stop-and-Go flight at the Mascouche airport (identified as SK3 on the second page of the document). The time was 0012 (universal time), or 20:12 hours local time.

The second document was a letter sworn by a representative from the Mirabel control tower stating that the same aircraft, C-GUBP, had at that same time made a Stop-and-Go at Mirabel then to return to Mascouche.

In reexamination, the Respondent limited his comments to the following:

  • He questions the credibility of the reports submitted by the Applicant. To prove his argument, he cites the fact that at the top of page two, the Statistics Canada report mentions two movements at Mascouche, while the second document mentions a Stop-and-Go at Mirabel, coming from, then returning to Mascouche. Which is true?

On page 2 of another report (Exhibit I-7), dated May 6, 1996 (06056), it is stated that his aircraft, C-GUBP, allegedly left an airport identified as S7N at Dorval (YUL); on May 14, 1996, C-GUBP allegedly flew from Mascouche (SK3) to this airport, S7N. Now, there is no airport with this designation; there is, however, SN7, which is the Farnham airport (S7N has been corrected to SN7 on the report in question by the Respondent himself); the Respondent therefore attributes little credibility to the Statistics Canada reports. The Respondent states he has never been to Farnham.

  • Finally, Mr. Nault claims he could not have travelled from Mascouche (in the documents submitted by the Applicant, the aircraft allegedly departed from Mascouche) to Vaudreuil in the 15 minutes it would take to get there by 20:27 hours (local time), as the aircraft was not fast enough to do so (120 knots).

After an exchange of questions and comments, each party's position remained unchanged.

The second witness for the Respondent, Mr. Jean-Claude Crête, was the printer with whom Mr. Nault met on May 23, 1996, from 19:00 hours to 21:00 hours. Mr. Crête corroborated what was said earlier in this regard. He did not change his statement on cross-examination, and added that this meeting was recorded in his appointment book and he had even checked this date again when Mr. Nault telephoned him after being informed by Transport Canada of the complaint. Mr. Crête did not have his appointment book with him at the hearing.

This concluded the Respondent's evidence.

ARGUMENTS

Applicant's Argument

First, the Applicant repeated the applicable legislative provisions. He then stressed the fact that the witnesses who had seen the aircraft at a low altitude had not been contradicted.

He attributes little credibility to the logs placed in evidence by the Respondent, as they were compiled by the Respondent himself.

Rather, it is the documents submitted by Statistics Canada and the Mirabel air traffic control that prove that C-GUBP flew on May 23, 1996.

As for the Respondent's alibi, since the witness Crête did not have his appointment book with him at the hearing, attributing much importance to it is difficult.

Finally, it is realistic for an aircraft flying at 120 to 130 knots to cover a distance of 30 to 35 nautical miles in 15 minutes.

On a balance of probabilities, on May 23, 1996, at about 20:27 hours, at Vaudreuil-sur-le-Lac, aircraft C-GUBP did indeed fly over a residence at an altitude less than 500 feet and within a radius of 500 feet.

The purpose of the regulations is to maintain aviation safety, and the penalty assessed today pursuant to the regulation is intended to prevent offences from being repeated and to serve as an example to others.

Mr. Tamborriello went on to say that he reserves the right to make a written representation if, following the determination, the Tribunal decides to reduce the amount of the $750 monetary penalty.

Respondent's Argument

Mr. Nault reaffirmed that neither he nor his aircraft flew on May 23, 1996.

As for the eye witnesses, he doubts they would be able to read the five identification letters of an aircraft flying overhead at 120 knots, at an estimated altitude of 100 feet, especially when, at that time of day (20:27 hours), if facing the direction mentioned, they would be looking into the sun.

The documents of Statistics Canada and the Mirabel air traffic controller not only contradict each other, but state that somehow the aircraft allegedly returned to Mascouche or remained there; therefore, it could not have flown from Mascouche to Vaudreuil in 15 minutes.

SUMMARY AND CONCLUSION

The Applicant must show, on a balance of probabilities, four points:

  • that there was an infraction of paragraph 534(2)(b);
  • that this infraction was committed:
  • by an aircraft registered as C-GUBP;
  • at Vaudreuil-sur-le-Lac;
  • that this aircraft is registered to the Respondent.

On the first point, there is every reason to believe the eye witnesses as to the distance and altitude at which the aircraft flew on May 23, 1996, at about 20:27 hours contravening paragraph 534(2)(b).

As for the second point, evidence to the contrary notwithstanding, the same may be said of the witnesses Vicinzo as to the registration of the aircraft. The documents of Statistics Canada and the Mirabel control tower tend to confirm that a Cessna 182 aircraft, C-GUBP, flew that day, but these documents state that the aircraft either returned to Mascouche, or remained there after the Stop-and-Go. The credibility of these documents is diminished as they are not consistent with each other regarding where the flight was made before the alleged infraction.

Finally, no mention has been made of the flight to Vaudreuil-sur-le-Lac before 20:27 hours or about its return to Mascouche (radio communication) after 20:27 hours. No tape of radio communications has been placed in evidence. As no one from Statistics Canada nor the air traffic controller testified, knowing what to make of this is impossible. While a balance of probabilities is sufficient as to the identification of the aircraft by the eye witnesses, it is very weak as to where the flight was made.

Regarding the fourth point, there is no doubt that the aircraft registered as C-GUBP is owned by Mr. Robert Nault.

Now, in defence, the Tribunal has no reason not to believe the witness Crête, who stated under oath that he was with the Respondent, Mr. Nault, from 19:00 hours to 21:00 hours on May 23, 1996. Moreover, the logs submitted by Mr. Nault show no record of a flight on May 23, 1996. I find it difficult to believe that the owner of the aircraft would wait to find out whether he would be accused of an offence before entering his flight times in the appropriate logs to omit the flight of May 23, particularly as the aircraft flew on May 25, and as of May 27 was undergoing a mechanical inspection, long before he heard anything about Transport Canada. In any event, such an omission has not been proven or challenged.

In short, it is my opinion that while the Applicant has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that an aircraft violated paragraph 534(2)(b) of the Air Regulations, he has not sufficiently proven that it was aircraft C-GUBP, and even less so, where the flights were made. Even had this been sufficiently proven, the Tribunal, after hearing the Respondent and his witness, must conclude that aircraft C-GUBP had been flown without the knowledge of its owner.

Now, the end of subsection 8.4(1) cited by the Applicant states:

... unless, at the time of the offence, the aircraft was in the possession of a person other than the owner without the owner's consent....

DETERMINATION

For the foregoing reasons, I dismiss the Minister's allegations and the $750 monetary penalty assessed against the Respondent, Mr. Robert Nault.

Pierre Rivest
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1314-37 (TAC)
Dossier no NAP6504-P386904-28207 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Robert Nault, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7, par. 8.4(1)
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. 1978, ch. 2, al. 534(2)b)

Responsabilité civile du propriétaire de l'aéronef, Vol à basse altitude


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Pierre Rivest


Décision : le 8 novembre 1996

Je rejette les allégations du ministre ainsi que l'amende de 750 $ imposée à l'intimé, M. Robert Nault.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire citée en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 22 octobre 1996, à 10 h, à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Montréal (Québec).

Les témoins ont tous prêté serment. J'ai demandé l'exclusion des témoins.

HISTORIQUE

Robert Nault, l'intimé, est poursuivi en vertu du paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique en tant que propriétaire de l'aéronef immatriculé C-GUBP. Il s'est vu imposer une amende de 750 $ en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la même loi et du Règlement sur les textes désignés (Règlement de l'Air, série I, no 3) et ce, pour avoir contrevenu à l'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de l'Air, le 23 mai 1996, vers 20 h 27 (heure locale), à Vaudreuil-sur-le-Lac (Québec).

L'amende n'ayant pas été payée à la date limite du 29 juillet 1996, la cause a été portée à l'attention du Tribunal de l'aviation civile pour révision.

LA LOI

L'alinéa 534(2)b) est considéré comme étant un texte désigné par lequel le ministre est en droit d'imposer une amende maximale de 1 000 $ pour une personne physique.

Cet alinéa dit :

(2) Sauf dans les cas prévus aux paragraphes (4), (5) et (6) ou sauf en conformité avec une autorisation délivrée par le ministre, à moins de décoller, d'atterrir ou tenter d'atterrir, il est interdit à quiconque pilote un aéronef a) (...)

b) ailleurs qu'au-dessus des agglomérations urbaines, villageoises ou autres ou des rassemblements de personnes en plein air, de voler à une altitude inférieure à 500 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé dans un rayon de 500 pieds de l'aéronef.

Pour sa part, le paragraphe 8.4(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique dit :

8.4 (1) Lorsqu'une personne peut être poursuivie en raison d'une infraction à la présente partie ou à ses textes d'application relative à un aéronef, le propriétaire enregistré peut être poursuivi et encourir la peine prévue, à moins que, lors de l'infraction, l'aéronef n'ait été en possession d'un tiers sans le consentement du propriétaire.

INTRODUCTION

Après les présentations d'usage et l'explication des procédures utilisées par le Tribunal, les parties en cause ont confirmé qu'à l'exception des documents et des échanges verbaux qui ont précédé l'audience et qui y sont reliés, aucun autre document, échange verbal ou écrit n'a été fait ou aurait besoin d'être fait.

Cependant, l'intimé, M. Robert Nault, a senti le besoin de reprocher à Transports Canada de ne pas lui avoir fourni copie du rapport d'infraction qui le concernait malgré qu'il en avait fait la demande. De plus, il reprochera, plus tard durant l'audience, le fait de lui avoir soumis un document en provenance du Centre de contrôle de Mirabel que très tard la veille de l'audience.

Au sujet du premier reproche, le représentant du requérant, M. Umberto Tamborriello, explique qu'il se devait, à ce moment-là, de garder confidentielle l'identité des témoins; il confirme qu'il avait donné verbalement le contenu du rapport à M. Nault.

Il n'y a pas eu d'explication valable quant au deuxième reproche.

J'ai alors signifié à l'intimé que, s'il se croyait lésé dans ses droits, il pouvait demander un ajournement, ce qu'il n'a pas jugé opportun de faire.

LES TÉMOINS DU REQUÉRANT

Le premier témoin, l'inspecteur Douglas Gough, ne fait que produire et expliquer le rapport (pièce R-1) qu'il avait lui-même complété le 24 mai 1996, soit le lendemain de l'événement.

L'heure de l'infraction, « 08:27 », telle qu'indiquée sur le rapport, ne dit pas s'il s'agit de l'avant-midi ou du soir. Au cours de son témoignage, M. Gough confirme qu'il s'agit du matin, affirmation répétée en contre-interrogatoire. Or, l'événement a eu lieu le soir!

Les deux autres témoins sont M. et Mme Vicinzo. Ils décrivent, chacun de la même façon, les manoeuvres de l'aéronef qu'ils ont observées près de leur maison, le 23 mai 1996, vers 20 h 27 (heure locale).

En se référant à certains points de repère dont, entre autres, un poteau de corde à linge de 15 pieds de haut, une clôture, leur maison, les dimensions de leur terrain et un arbre dans un champ voisin (voir photos en R-2, R-3 et R-4), ils confirment que l'aéronef a volé en partie au-dessus de leur terrain, soit à environ 50 pieds de leur maison, à une altitude de 3 à 4 fois plus élevée que le poteau de corde à linge, soit à environ 100 pieds du sol au maximum.

L'immatriculation de l'aéronef aurait été lue par les deux témoins mais c'est Mme Vicinzo qui l'a inscrite sur un papier pour, le lendemain, la donner par téléphone à Transports Canada.

En contre-interrogatoire, les témoins ne peuvent déterminer la vitesse de l'aéronef sauf pour dire qu'il passait assez vite. Toutefois, les témoins sont sûrs des lettres d'immatriculation, observées en dessous de l'aile, ainsi que des couleurs de l'aéronef, soit blanc et jaune.

En complément de preuve, M. Tamborriello soumet une copie du certificat d'immatriculation de l'aéronef C-GUBP (pièce R-5), un Cessna 182P, enregistré au nom de Robert Nault.

TÉMOIGNAGE DE L'INTIMÉ

M. Nault témoigne pour lui-même. Au début, il se plaint de nouveau de la façon cavalière d'agir de Transports Canada alors qu'il se voit surpris de la version des faits comparée aux conversations téléphoniques qu'il avait eues, de voir trois témoins au lieu de deux contrairement à ce qu'on lui avait laissé entendre et de n'avoir reçu un document incriminant qu'à 16 h la veille de l'audience.

De plus, il fait remarquer au Tribunal qu'à deux reprises, l'inspecteur Gough a déclaré que l'incident avait eu lieu dans l'avant-midi alors qu'il s'agit de la soirée.

J'ai réitéré ma remarque du début en lui disant qu'il pouvait demander un ajournement, ce qu'il a de nouveau refusé.

Quant à son témoignage, M. Nault déclare simplement que le 23 mai 1996, ni lui ni son aéronef n'a volé.

À preuve, les documents et les commentaires suivants :

  • copie du carnet de route de l'aéronef (pièce I-1);
  • copie du carnet technique (pièce I-2);
  • copie du carnet du pilote (pièce I-3).

Dans les trois cas, il n'y a pas de temps de vol d'inscrit pour le 23 mai 1996.

Note : j'ai remarqué que le vol du 25 mai 1996, inscrit dans le carnet de route et dans le carnet du pilote, est absent dans le carnet technique de l'aéronef. Toutefois, par la suite, le total des heures de vol est partout identique. Toujours dans le carnet technique, à partir du 31 mai jusqu'au 26 juin, les heures de vol ne sont pas compilées alors qu'elles sont inscrites dans les deux autres carnets.

  • Quoique cela n'ait pas de rapport avec le vol du 23 mai, une lettre de la compagnie Aero Dynamic (pièce I-4) confirme qu'à partir du 27 mai, l'aéronef est en révision mécanique;
  • finalement, l'intimé affirme que le 23 mai, entre 19 h et 21 h (heure locale), il était en réunion d'affaire avec un imprimeur du nom de Jean-Claude Crête.

En contre-interrogatoire, l'intimé, à la suite d'une question de M. Tamborriello, confirme qu'il y a un deuxième pilote qui utilise son aéronef mais qu'à la date de l'événement, celui-ci était à Sept-Îles. Il est formel sur ce point et réaffirme que le 23 mai 1996, son aéronef n'a pas volé.

M. Tamborriello exhibe alors deux documents. Le premier, de Statistiques Canada, confirme qu'un aéronef immatriculé C-GUBP a, le 23 mai 1996, fait un vol « posé/décollé » (Stop and Go) à l'aéroport de Mascouche (identifié comme étant SK3 sur la deuxième page du document). L'heure est 0012 (temps universel), soit 20 h 12 heure locale.

Le deuxième document est une lettre assermentée d'un représentant de la tour de contrôle de Mirabel, lettre qui stipule que le même aéronef C-GUBP a fait, à la même heure, un « posé/décollé » à Mirabel pour ensuite s'en retourner à Mascouche.

En réinterrogatoire, l'intimé s'est contenté de faire les commentaires suivants :

  • Il met en doute la crédibilité des rapports soumis par le requérant. Il en a pour preuve le fait que le rapport de Statistiques Canada, en haut de la page deux, parle de deux mouvements à Mascouche tandis que le deuxième document parle d'un « posé/décollé » à Mirabel, en provenance de Mascouche, puis retour à Mascouche. Lequel est vrai ?

Dans un autre rapport (pièce I-7), page 2, en date du 6 mai 1996 (06056), on indique que son aéronef, C-GUBP, serait allé d'un aéroport identifié comme étant S7N à Dorval (YUL); le 14 mai 1996, C-GUBP, aurait volé de Mascouche (SK3) à ce même aéroport S7N. Or, une telle identification d'aéroport n'existe pas; il s'agirait plutôt de SN7 qui identifie l'aéroport de Farnham (les corrections de S7N en SN7 sur le rapport en question sont de l'intimé lui-même); d'où le peu de crédibilité que l'intimé attache aux rapports issus de Statistiques Canada. D'après l'intimé, celui-ci n'a jamais été à Farnham;

  • finalement, M. Nault prétend qu'il n'aurait pas pu passer de Mascouche (dans les documents soumis par le requérant, l'aéronef serait toujours parti de Mascouche) à Vaudreuil dans les 15 minutes nécessaires pour arriver à 20 h 27 (heure locale), l'aéronef n'étant pas assez vite pour cela (120 noeuds).

Après un certain échange de questions et de commentaires, chacune des parties est restée sur ses positions.

Le deuxième témoin de l'intimé, M. Jean-Claude Crête est l'imprimeur chez qui M. Nault se trouvait le 23 mai 1996 entre 19 h et 21 h. M. Crête corrobore donc ce qui s'était dit auparavant à ce sujet. Il maintient son affirmation en contre-interrogatoire en ajoutant que ce rendez-vous avait été inscrit à son agenda et qu'il avait même consulté de nouveau cette date lorsque M. Nault lui a téléphoné suite à la plainte dont Transports Canada lui a fait part ultérieurement. À l'audience, M. Crête n'avait pas son agenda avec lui.

Fin de la preuve de l'intimé.

PLAIDOYERS

Plaidoyer du requérant

Le requérant a d'abord répété les articles de la réglementation en cause. Puis, il a insisté sur le fait que les témoins qui avaient vu l'aéronef à basse altitude n'ont pas été démentis.

Il accorde peu de crédibilité aux carnets exhibés par l'intimé, ces derniers étant compilés par le défendeur lui-même.

Ce sont plutôt les documents soumis par Statistiques Canada et par le Contrôle aérien de Mirabel qui font foi du vol de C-GUBP le 23 mai 1996.

Pour ce qui est de l'alibi de l'intimé, le témoin Crête n'ayant pas son agenda avec lui à l'audience, il est difficile d'y donner beaucoup d'importance.

Finalement, avec un aéronef qui vole entre 120 à 130 noeuds, parcourir de 30 à 35 miles nautiques en 15 minutes est très réaliste.

Selon la prépondérance des probabilités, le 23 mai 1996, vers 20 h 27, à Vaudreuil-sur-le-Lac, l'aéronef C-GUBP a bien volé au-dessus d'une résidence en dessous de 500 pieds d'altitude et à moins de 500 pieds horizontalement.

L'objectif de la réglementation est de maintenir la sécurité aérienne et l'amende imposée aujourd'hui, en conformité avec le règlement, a pour but d'éviter la récidive et de faire un exemple pour les autres.

M. Tamborriello ajoute qu'il se réserve le droit de faire une représentation écrite si, après la décision, le Tribunal décide de diminuer le montant de l'amende imposé de 750 $.

Plaidoyer de l'intimé

M. Nault réaffirme que ni lui ni son aéronef n'a volé le 23 mai 1996.

Quant aux témoins oculaires, il met en doute leur capacité de lire, sur un aéronef qui vole à 120 noeuds, à la hauteur estimée de 100 pieds, les 5 lettres d'identification d'un aéronef qui leur passe au-dessus de la tête d'autant plus qu'à cette heure de la journée (20 h 27), en regardant dans la direction mentionnée, ils ont le soleil de face.

Les documents de Statistiques Canada et du contrôleur aérien de Mirabel, en plus de se contredire, indiquent toujours que, d'une façon ou d'une autre l'aéronef serait retourné à Mascouche ou y serait même resté, d'où l'impossibilité, par la suite, de voler de Mascouche à Vaudreuil en 15 minutes.

RÉSUMÉ ET CONCLUSION

Le requérant doit démontrer, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, quatre choses :

  • qu'il y a eu infraction de l'alinéa 534(2)b);
  • que cette infraction a été commise :
  • par un aéronef immatriculé C-GUBP;
  • à Vaudreuil-sur-le-Lac;
  • que cet aéronef est enregistré au nom de l'intimé.

Sur le premier point, il y a tout lieu de croire les témoins oculaires quant à la distance et à l'altitude auxquelles a passé l'aéronef le 23 mai 1996 vers 20 h 27 et ce, en contravention avec l'alinéa 534(2)b).

Pour ce qui est du deuxième point, à moins de preuves contraires, il pourrait en être de même pour l'immatriculation de l'aéronef observée par les témoins Vicinzo. Les documents de Statistiques Canada et de la Tour de contrôle de Mirabel tentent de confirmer qu'un aéronef Cessna 182, C-GUBP a volé cette journée-là mais, dans les deux documents, on dit que l'aéronef a soit retourné à Mascouche, soit y est resté après le « posé/décollé ». Ne disant pas la même chose eu égard à l'endroit où le vol a été effectué avant la soi-disant infraction, ces mêmes documents deviennent moins crédibles.

Finalement, aucune mention n'est faite sur le vol vers Vaudreuil-sur-le-Lac avant 20 h 27 ni sur le retour de l'aéronef à Mascouche (communication-radio) après 20 h 27. Aucune bande d'enregistrement de communication-radio n'a été produite en preuve. Personne de Statistiques Canada n'ayant témoigné pas plus que le contrôleur aérien, il est impossible de savoir ce qui en est. Si la prépondérance des probabilités demeure suffisante quant à l'identification de l'aéronef par les témoins oculaires, elle devient très faible eu égard au lieu où le vol a été effectué.

Quant au quatrième point, il n'y a aucun doute que l'aéronef immatriculé C-GUBP appartient à M. Robert Nault.

Maintenant, en défense, le Tribunal n'a aucune raison de ne pas croire le témoin Crête qui, sous serment, confirme que le 23 mai 1996 entre 19 h et 21 h, il était en compagnie de l'intimé, M. Nault. D'autre part, les carnets soumis par M. Nault n'indiquent aucun vol le 23 mai 1996. Je vois difficilement le propriétaire de l'aéronef attendre de savoir s'il sera accusé de quoique ce soit avant d'inscrire ses heures de vol dans les carnets appropriés de façon à omettre le vol du 23 mai d'autant plus que le 25 mai l'aéronef a volé et que dès le 27 il entrait pour une inspection mécanique et ce, bien avant d'entendre parler de Transports Canada. De toute façon, une telle omission n'a pas été prouvée ni même mise en cause.

En résumé, je suis d'avis que si le requérant a prouvé selon la prépondérance des probabilités qu'un aéronef a violé l'alinéa 534(2)b) du Règlement de l'Air, il n'a pas suffisamment prouvé qu'il s'agissait de C-GUBP et surtout, encore moins à quel endroit les vols ont été effectués. Et même si la preuve eût été suffisante, le Tribunal, après avoir entendu l'intimé et son témoin, est obligé de conclure que l'aéronef C-GUBP a été piloté à l'insu de son propriétaire.

Or, le paragraphe 8.4(1) invoqué par le requérant dit, à la fin du paragraphe :

... à moins que, lors de l'infraction, l'aéronef n'ait été en possession d'un tiers sans le consentement du propriétaire.

DÉCISION

Pour toutes les raisons invoquées ci-dessus, je rejette les allégations du ministre ainsi que l'amende de 750 $ imposée à l'intimé, M. Robert Nault.

Pierre Rivest
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile