Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1530-33
MoT File No. NAP6504-C7857-29673

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Noël Cormier, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, s.7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 103.03, 103.08(1)

Suspension of Approved Maintenance Organization Certificate, Return of Canadian Aviation Document


Review Determination
Pierre Rivest


Decision: November 19, 1997

TRANSLATION

I conclude that the Minister has unequivocally proven the contravention of section 103.03 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. Given the good faith shown by the Respondent, and the fact that the contravention occurred because of ignorance on his part rather than deliberate intent not to comply with regulations, given also the fact that the Respondent has not done anything that might result in a threat to aviation safety, I reduce the monetary penalty from $500.00 to $50.00. The payment shall be made to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing in the above matter was held Monday, November 17, 1997 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in Montreal, Quebec. The witnesses were duly sworn.

BACKGROUND

The Respondent, Mr. Noël Cormier, of Aviation Cormier, is alleged to have contravened section 103.03 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), by failing to return his Approved Maintenance Organization certificate (AMO), number 318-91, following suspension of said certificate. A monetary penalty of $500.00 was assessed, pursuant to section 103.08 of the aforementioned Regulations.

THE LAW

Section 103.03 of the CARs stipulates as follows:

103.3 Where a Canadian aviation document has been suspended or cancelled, the person to whom it was issued shall return it to the Minister immediately after the effective date of the suspension or cancellation.

Subsection 103.08(1) of the CARs stipulates as follows:

103.08 (1) The provisions set out in column I of the schedule to this Subpart are hereby designated as provisions the contravention of which may be dealt with under and in accordance with the procedure set out in sections 7.7 to 8.2 of the Act.

Section 103.03 is included in column I of the schedule.

THE FACTS

On January 27, 1997, the Minister of Transport issued a Notice of Suspension by registered mail to Aviation Cormier, owned by Mr. Noël Cormier, for non-compliance with the procedures stipulated in the CARs.

The notice in question was sent to the two addresses known to the Department (Exhibits M-1a and M-1b). The Department filed in evidence Canada Post coupons (Exhibits M-2a and M-2b) showing that the Respondent had indeed received the mailings.

The suspended certificate, bearing No. 318-91, was initially issued on June 26, 1991. On March 18, 1992, the certificate was replaced by another document, "Limitations for Approval of an Approved Maintenance Organization" (Exhibit M-3).

The Department, not having received the aforementioned certificate on the date specified in its January 27, 1997 letter, decided to assess a monetary penalty of $500.00 to the Respondent. This monetary penalty, due September 25, 1997, has not been paid, hence the hearing today.

In responding to the above allegations, the Respondent indicated in substance that:

  • The certificate could not be returned because it had been inadvertently destroyed;
  • The Respondent had so advised Transport Canada's Enforcement Office in Montreal by telephone, saying that the Regional Manager's secretary, in this case Mr. Gosselin's secretary, had taken the call, advising that she would pass on the message to the appropriate person;
  • He had not intended to renew his certificate in any case, having ceased his operations;
  • He had advised the Montreal Airworthiness Office (by telephone once again) of his decision in the fall of 1996, before receiving the Notice of Suspension.
  • No letter, nor any witness (save for the Respondent himself), however, could be presented in evidence to support these affirmations.

Under cross-examination, the Respondent confirmed that his business was not doing very well between the fall of 1996 and the winter of 1997, and that he did not see any purpose in returning a document he no longer intended to use. That is the reason no effort was made to explain his situation to Transport Canada, except for the two aforementioned telephone calls.

As Mr. Gosselin was present, I asked him to testify in order to determine whether he was aware of Mr. Cormier's telephone call regarding the fact that his certificate was destroyed.

Mr. Gosselin replied in the negative, adding that any message of this nature is normally brought to his attention. Mr. Gosselin indicated that a temporary employee had been on duty in his office at that time of the year (January 1997), leaving open the possibility of an error. On the other hand, Mr. Gosselin added that a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty always includes an invitation to an informal meeting to discuss the issue at hand. Mr. Gosselin did not receive any calls from the Respondent.

Following this testimony, the Respondent repeated that it is impossible to know all the points of the law, that his business was really not going well and that he did not see what all the fuss was about, as he had ceased all activity as an AMO. He admitted, however, that as an individual, he was responsible for taking appropriate measures in such circumstances, adding that he had done so, by telephone.

In his argument, Mr. Tamborriello essentially summarized what had been heard, adding that this was a case of a deliberate act by the Respondent to avoid compliance with the Regulations, hence the monetary penalty in the amount of $500.00.

Mr. Cormier presented no arguments.

SUMMING UP

Section 103.03 is very specific and the Applicant clearly proved that the Respondent had not complied with its provisions. The Respondent does not deny the fact, giving as a reason the loss of the document.

Apparently, as a result of financial difficulties and a lack of experience in legal dealings, the Respondent did not realize the importance of not complying with the law, which he considers to be simply a set of procedures.

I do not believe, however, that the Respondent acted deliberately or in bad faith, as suggested by the Applicant. The Respondent did advise the Airworthiness Office that he did not intend to renew his certificate and the Enforcement Office that the certificate had been destroyed. All we can say is that his approach was awkward and that he should have made sure that everything was in order.

CONCLUSION

I conclude that the Minister has unequivocally proven the contravention of section 103.03 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. Given the good faith shown by the Respondent, and the fact that the contravention occurred as a result of ignorance on his part rather than deliberate intent not to comply with regulations, given also the fact that the Respondent has not done anything that might result in a threat to aviation safety, I reduce the monetary penalty from $500.00 to $50.00.

Pierre Rivest
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1530-33 (TAC)
Dossier no NAP6504-C7857-29673 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Noël Cormier, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'Aviation canadien, SOR/96-433, art. 103.03, 103.08(1)

Suspension du Certificat d'une organisme de maintenance agréé, Retour d'un document d'aviation canadien


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Pierre Rivest


Décision : le 19 novembre 1997

J'en viens à la conclusion que le ministre a prouvé sans équivoque l'infraction à l'article 103.03 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Vu la bonne foi de l'intimé et le fait qu'il a péché par ignorance plutôt que par malversation et qu'il n'a rien fait qui aurait pu mettre la sécurité aérienne en danger, je réduis l'amende de 500,00 $ à 50,00 $. L'amende est payable à l'ordre du receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le lundi 17 novembre 1997 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Montréal (Québec). Les témoins ont prêté serment.

HISTORIQUE

L'intimé, M. Noël Cormier d'Aviation Cormier, est accusé d'avoir contrevenu à l'article 103.03 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) en omettant de retourner son Certificat d'organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA), numéro 318-91 après que celui-ci fût suspendu. Une amende de 500,00 $ lui a été imposée en vertu de l'article 103.08 du même règlement.

LA LOI

L'article 103.03 du RAC stipule :

103.03 Lorsqu'un document d'aviation canadien est suspendu ou annulé, le titulaire doit le retourner au ministre immédiatement après la date de la prise d'effet de la suspension ou de l'annulation.

Pour sa part, le paragraphe 103.08(1) du RAC stipule :

103.08 (1) Les textes indiqués à la colonne I de l'annexe de la présente sous-partie sont désignés comme textes d'application dont la transgression est traitée conformément à la procédure prévue aux articles 7.7 à 8.2 de la Loi.

À la colonne I de l'annexe, on retrouve l'article 103.03.

LES FAITS

Le 27 janvier 1997, le ministre des Transports faisait parvenir, par courrier recommandé, un avis de suspension à Aviation Cormier, propriété de M. Noël Cormier, pour non conformité aux procédures stipulées dans le RAC.

L'avis en question a été envoyé aux deux adresses connues par le ministère (pièces M-1a et M-1b). Le ministère a déposé en preuve les coupons de Poste Canada (pièces M-2a et M-2b) à l'effet que les envois ont bien été reçus par l'intimé.

Le certificat suspendu porte le numéro 318-91 et fut originalement émis le 26 juin 1991. Le 18 mars 1992, ce certificat est remplacé par un autre document « Limites d'approbation applicables à un organisme de maintenance agréé » (pièce M-3).

Le ministère n'ayant pas reçu ledit certificat à la date spécifiée dans la lettre du 27 janvier 1997, décide d'imposer une amende de 500,00 $ à l'intimé. Cette amende, due le 25 septembre 1997, n'a pas été payée, d'où l'audience d'aujourd'hui.

À ces allégations, l'intimé répond en substance ce qui suit :

  • le certificat ne pouvait être retourné parce qu'il avait été détruit par mégarde;
  • l'intimé en a informé le bureau de l'Application de la loi de Transports Canada à Montréal par téléphone; c'est la secrétaire de M. Gosselin, gestionnaire régional, qui aurait pris l'appel confirmant qu'elle ferait le message à qui de droit;
  • de toute façon, l'intimé n'avait pas l'intention de renouveler son certificat, ayant mis un terme à ses opérations;
  • il a informé le bureau de navigabilité de Montréal (toujours par téléphone) de cette décision à l'automne 1996, avant même de recevoir l'avis de suspension;
  • cependant, aucune lettre ni aucun témoin (si ce n'est l'intimé lui-même) ne peut être présenté en preuve pour appuyer ces affirmations.

En contre-interrogatoire, l'intimé confirme que durant la période allant de l'automne 1996 à l'hiver 1997, ses affaires n'allaient pas bien et qu'il ne voyait pas l'utilité de retourner un document qu'il n'avait pas l'intention d'utiliser. C'est la raison pour laquelle aucune tentative pour expliquer sa situation à Transports Canada n'a été faite si ce n'est les deux appels téléphoniques mentionnés plus haut.

M. Gosselin étant présent dans la salle, je lui ai alors demandé de venir témoigner pour savoir si effectivement il était au courant de l'appel téléphonique de M. Cormier à l'effet que le certificat de celui-ci était détruit.

Sa réponse est négative, ajoutant que normalement tout message de cette nature lui est transmis. Toutefois, à cette période de l'année (janvier 1997), une préposée temporaire était en fonction à son bureau, laissant entendre qu'il aurait pu y avoir erreur. Par contre, M. Gosselin a ajouté que l'avis d'amende est toujours accompagné d'une invitation à une conférence informelle pour voir ce qui en est réellement. Il n'a reçu aucun appel de la part de l'intimé.

Après ce témoignage, l'intimé réitère le fait qu'il est impossible de connaître toute la loi, que ses affaires n'allaient pas bien du tout et qu'il ne voyait l'importance de tout cela, ayant cessé toute activité en tant qu'OMA. Il admet cependant qu'il a, en tant qu'individu, la responsabilité de prendre les mesures qui s'imposent dans un tel cas, ce qu'il a fait par téléphone.

Le plaidoyer de M. Tamborriello n'a fait que résumer ce que nous venions d'entendre ajoutant qu'il s'agissait d'un acte délibéré de la part de l'intimé de ne pas vouloir se soumettre à la réglementation, d'où le montant de 500,00 $ d'amende.

M. Cormier n'a présenté aucun plaidoyer.

RÉSUMÉ

L'article 103.03 est très précis et le requérant a prouvé clairement que l'intimé ne s'y était pas conformé, ce que finalement ce dernier ne nie pas, tout en en donnant la raison soit, la perte du document.

L'intimé, à cause, semble-t-il, de problèmes financiers et de son manque d'expérience dans la façon de traiter avec la loi, n'a pas réalisé l'importance de ne pas se conformer à la loi, qu'il prend pour de simples procédures.

Cependant, je ne crois pas qu'il s'agisse là d'un acte délibéré ou de mauvaise foi comme l'a laissé entendre le requérant. L'intimé a quand même informé le bureau de Navigabilité de ne pas vouloir renouveler son certificat et celui de l'Application de la loi quant à la perte de ce certificat. Tout ce que l'on peut dire, c'est qu'il s'y est mal pris et qu'il aurait dû s'assurer que tout était en ordre.

CONCLUSION

J'en viens donc à la conclusion que le ministre a prouvé sans équivoque l'infraction à l'article 103.03 du RAC mais, vu la bonne foi de l'intimé et le fait qu'il a péché par ignorance plutôt que par malversation et qu'il n'a rien fait qui aurait pu mettre la sécurité aérienne en danger, je réduis l'amende de 500,00 $ à 50,00 $.

Pierre Rivest
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile