Full-Time Members

John Badowski - Chairperson

Mr. John Badowski was appointed to the Tribunal as chairperson until December 31, 2018. He previously served the Tribunal as vice-chairperson for two years.

Mr. Badowski was a member of the Refugee Protection Division of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) since 2008 as a presiding member and, subsequently, as coordinating member and team leader. He is also the former chairperson of the IRB's Professional Development Committee and a former member of the International Association of Refugee Law Judges, where he served on its Expert Evidence Working Party. 

Mr. Badowski is a recipient of the Meritorious Service Medal of Canada (2002) as well as the Prague Medal from the Government of Romania (2003). He is also the former chairperson of the Heads of Federal Administrative Tribunals Forum. He holds a bachelor of science degree from the University of Toronto and is currently studying towards a master of science degree.