Who Are We?

The Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada is a quasi-judicial body established in 2003 pursuant to the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada ActThe Tribunal replaced the Civil Aviation Tribunal, which was established under Part IV of the Aeronautics Act in 1986. In addition to aviation, its jurisdiction extends to the marine, railway, and international bridges and tunnels sectors.

The Tribunal's jurisdiction is expressly provided for under the Aeronautics Act, the Canada Shipping Act, 2001, the Canada Marine Act, the Marine Transportation Security Act, the Railway Safety Act, the International Bridges and Tunnels Act, the Canada Transportation Actand the Navigation Protection Act.

The Tribunal has a commitment to openness and cooperation and is mandated to conduct informal, expeditious and fair hearings. It is led by one full-time member and comprises 24 part-time members, appointed by the Governor in Council, who render decisions on cases referred to the Tribunal. All members are Canadian citizens from across the country who have expertise in one or more modes of transport within the jurisdiction of the Tribunal. Members are supported by a staff of ten public servants working from its headquarters in Ottawa, Ontario.

Qui sommes-nous?

Le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada est un organisme quasi judiciaire établi en 2003 en vertu de la Loi sur le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada. Il a remplacé le Tribunal de l'aviation civile, qui avait été créé en vertu de la partie IV de la Loi sur l'aéronautique en 1986. En plus du secteur de l'aviation, sa compétence s'étend aux secteurs maritime, ferroviaire et des ponts et des tunnels internationaux.

La compétence du Tribunal est prévue à la Loi sur l'aéronautique, la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada, la Loi maritime du Canada, la Loi sur la sûreté du transport maritime, la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire, la Loi sur les ponts et tunnels internationauxla Loi sur les transports au Canada et la Loi sur la protection de la navigation.

Le Tribunal, par son engagement envers la transparence et la collaboration, œuvre à remplir son mandat de tenir ses audiences équitablement, rapidement et sans formalisme. Il est dirigé par un conseiller à temps plein et comprend 24 conseillers à temps partiel, nommés par le gouverneur en conseil, qui rendent des décisions sur les affaires portées devant le Tribunal. Tous les conseillers sont des citoyens canadiens d'un peu partout au pays qui ont une expertise dans un ou plusieurs modes de transport relevant de la compétence du Tribunal. Les conseillers sont soutenus par une équipe de dix fonctionnaires qui travaillent à l'administration centrale à Ottawa, en Ontario.